DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant filed for a pre-appeal brief review on 03/04/2026. Examiner issued a pre-appeal conference decision to reopen prosecution. Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2026 with respect to Irion et al. (US 20170154530 A1) in view of Casten (WO 2016206788 A1) and in further view of Droste et al. (US10341927B2), have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irion et al. (US 20170154530 A1) in view of Casten (WO 2016206788 A1) and in further view of Hunt (US 20140195071 A1), hereinafter referred to as Irion, Casten and Hunt respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 15, Irion discloses A system for uploading data from a main vehicle to a cloud server, the system being configured to be installed in the main vehicle (“Moreover, first vehicle 3 has a communication unit 13. Communication unit 13 is set up to transmit ascertained information about the free parking spaces to cloud computing system 1” [0046]), the system comprising:
a second sensor configured to monitor at least one first predetermined micro characteristic of a current environment of the main vehicle, and configured to monitor a speed of the main vehicle (“According to a specific embodiment, moreover, a size of the free parking space is ascertained and is communicated to the cloud computing system. According to the present invention, the ascertaining of the size takes place independent of whether markings of the parking space are present or not. The ascertaining of the size of the parking space preferably takes place using an ultrasound system, which is for example part of a parking assistant. When the vehicle is traveling past, the lateral distance to obstacles is measured, and via the vehicle's own movement it is recognized whether an open parking space is present, and what dimensions it has.” [0011]);
a communication unit configured to transmit a report to an external cloud server via a wireless communications network and to receive macro environment information from the external cloud server via the wireless communications network (“According to a preferred specific embodiment, the free parking space assistance system includes at least one vehicle having an environmental acquisition device and a communication unit, the environmental acquisition device being set up to ascertain free parking spaces and, ideally, additional meta-information about free and occupied parking spaces in the vicinity of the vehicle, and the communication unit being set up to transmit ascertained information to the cloud computing system.” [0026]),
said macro environment information indicating whether the main vehicle is in a city (“Further retrievable metadata about the parking space can for example include information about the part of the city, in particular whether events are currently taking place nearby and whether there is a connection to a public transportation system, for example a commuter train connection.” [0015]);
and an electronic control unit configured to: repeatedly generate reports by collecting and buffering the at least one first predetermined monitored micro characteristic and transmit the generated reports in predetermined time intervals via the communication unit (“In other words, information concerning the potential and publicly available parking space is stored on a server in the cloud, for example in the form of position data (GPS, etc.), width and length, and orientation (transverse and longitudinal parking), and can be retrieved by the traffic participant, the information being constantly updated through reports of the participating vehicles.” [0010]),
Irion does not explicitly teach a first sensor configured to obtain geo localization information of the main vehicle
However, Casten does teach a first sensor configured to obtain geo localization information of the main vehicle (“obtaining information of a location during a vehicle passing the location, by means of at least one laser scanner mounted on the vehicle; [Pg. 1 Para. 6]).
Both Irion and Casten teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Casten explicitly teaches a first sensor configured to obtain geo localization information of the main vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include a first sensor configured to obtain geo localization information of the main vehicle, as in Casten. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Casten, Pg.1 Para.2 and Para.4]).
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach and increase the predetermined time intervals when the speed of the main vehicle is above a predetermined threshold in order to reduce the costs for network traffic
However, Hunt does teach and increase the predetermined time intervals when the speed of the main vehicle is above a predetermined threshold in order to reduce the costs for network traffic (“A second predefined data logging paradigm is based on acquiring vehicle data based on specific sensor thresholds, such that certain types of vehicle data are logged when a specific threshold value is met. For example, a vehicle might be equipped with one or more of the following sensors: a door sensor, a speed sensor, a cruise control sensor “ [0047]; “Instead of collecting GPS location data based on time …………., intelligent logging is a logical method to determine when and where data points should be logged. ………..Data points are collected whenever starting and stopping a vehicle, as well as whenever speed and direction change. ……….. be batch processed at the vehicle to reduce data transmission costs associated with cellular or satellite data transmission.” [0048], see at least ]0047-0048]).
Both Irion in view Casten and Hunt teach methods for determining and reporting vehicle data. However, Hunt explicitly teaches to increase the predetermined time intervals when the speed of the main vehicle is above a predetermined threshold in order to reduce the costs for network traffic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion in view of Casten to also include to increase the predetermined time intervals when the speed of the main vehicle is above a predetermined threshold in order to reduce the costs for network traffic, as in Hunt. Doing so improves network cost of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Hunt, 0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Irion discloses The system according to claim 1, wherein the first predetermined micro characteristic comprises free parking slots, at which the main vehicle is passing during traveling(“It is particularly advantageous if the traffic participants are vehicles, equipped with environmental acquisition devices and communication devices, that ascertain free parking spaces when traveling past them. Such systems, such as ultrasound systems, which are able to recognize whether parking spaces are occupied or free, and possibly also to measure these spaces, when traveling past them already exist in many modern vehicles, and can easily be expanded by additional software.” [0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 4, in case the following conditions is fulfilled:
the first predetermined micro characteristic comprises free parking slots, at which the main vehicle is passing during traveling (Irion discloses “It is particularly advantageous if the traffic participants are vehicles, equipped with environmental acquisition devices and communication devices, that ascertain free parking spaces when traveling past them.” [0009]),
Irion does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to shorten a current time interval until the next report is to be transmitted.
However, Casten does teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to shorten a current time interval until the next report is to be transmitted (Casten teaches “To achieve a real-time database of available parking spaces, the communication unit 103 can also send a time stamp together with the information of the location A. Therefore, all the information of available parking space could have a fixed expiration period, or an expiration period determined by a special rule. For example, for the areas with busy traffic, the expiration period of available parking spaces may be shorter, while for the areas without busy traffic, the expiration period of available parking spaces may be longer.” [Pg.4 Para.7]).
Both Irion and Casten teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Casten explicitly teaches the electronic control unit is configured to shorten a current time interval until the next report is to be transmitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include the electronic control unit is configured to shorten a current time interval until the next report is to be transmitted, as in Casten. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Casten, Pg.1 Para.2 and Para.4]).
Regarding claim 6, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 5, in case the following conditions, is not fulfilled:
the first predetermined micro characteristic comprises free parking slots, at which the main vehicle is passing during traveling(Irion discloses “It is particularly advantageous if the traffic participants are vehicles, equipped with environmental acquisition devices and communication devices, that ascertain free parking spaces when traveling past them.” [0009]),
Irion does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to pause the transmission of reports.
However, Casten does teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to pause the transmission of reports ( “If the communication counterpart 20 is one or more other vehicles, all of these two vehicles could have their own system 10 and share the information of available parking space with each other, or some of the vehicles have their own system 10 and the other vehicles receive information of available parking spaces.” [Pg.4 Para.5]).
Both Irion and Casten teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Casten explicitly teaches the electronic control unit is configured to pause the transmission of reports.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include the electronic control unit is configured to pause the transmission of reports, as in Casten. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Casten, Pg.1 Para.2 and Para.4]).
Regarding claim 13, Irion discloses The system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to segment an anticipated traveling route of the main vehicle into a plurality of route segments (“The environmental acquisition device is preferably already in series production use as part of a parking assistance system. In this way, the parking assistance system becomes a mobile sensor system that can ascertain information about the current parking space situation directly surrounding the vehicle along the travel route chosen by the driver.” [0027]),
wherein the predetermined time intervals are defined such that at the end of each route segment a report is transmitted (“According to a preferred specific embodiment, the free parking space assistance system includes at least one vehicle having an environmental acquisition device and a communication unit, the environmental acquisition device being set up to ascertain free parking spaces and, ideally, additional meta-information about free and occupied parking spaces in the vicinity of the vehicle, and the communication unit being set up to transmit ascertained information to the cloud computing system.” [0026]).
Regarding claims 16-18, Irion discloses The vehicle of claim 1, wherein: the second sensor is configured to monitor a number of free parking slots passed by the vehicle, and the speed of the vehicle (“It is particularly advantageous if the traffic participants are vehicles, equipped with environmental acquisition devices and communication devices, that ascertain free parking spaces when traveling past them. Such systems, such as ultrasound systems, which are able to recognize whether parking spaces are occupied or free, and possibly also to measure these spaces, when traveling past them already exist in many modern vehicles, and can easily be expanded by additional software.” [0009]);
and the electronic control unit is configured to: repeatedly generate reports by collecting and buffering the number of free parking slots passed by the vehicle and transmit the generated reports in predetermined time intervals via the communication unit (“In other words, information concerning the potential and publicly available parking space is stored on a server in the cloud, for example in the form of position data (GPS, etc.), width and length, and orientation (transverse and longitudinal parking), and can be retrieved by the traffic participant, the information being constantly updated through reports of the participating vehicles.” [0010]),
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach increase the predetermined time intervals based on the speed of the vehicle and the macro environment information.
However, Hunt does teach and increase the predetermined time intervals based on the speed of the vehicle and the macro environment information (“Instead of collecting GPS location data based on time (the first predefined data logging paradigm discussed above), intelligent logging is a logical method to determine when and where data points should be logged. Although there is a time component to the decision process, intelligent logging primarily uses speed and direction changes to determine when a vehicle location requires logging. Data points are collected whenever starting and stopping a vehicle, as well as whenever speed and direction change. Location and event based collection ensures that relevant data is collected while avoiding unneeded data "overhead". Logged data can be batch processed at the vehicle to reduce data transmission costs associated with cellular or satellite data transmission.” [0048]).
Both Irion and Hunt teach methods for determining and reporting vehicle data. However, Hunt explicitly teaches to increase the predetermined time intervals based on the speed of the vehicle and the macro environment information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include to increase the predetermined time intervals based on the speed of the vehicle and the macro environment information, as in Hunt. Doing so improves network cost of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Hunt, 0048]).
Claims 4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irion in view of Casten and further in view of Genc et al. (US 20130057686 A1), hereinafter referred to as Irion, Casten and Genc respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim1,
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one predetermined macro characteristic indicates whether the geographic region is urban or not.
However, Genc does teach wherein the at least one predetermined macro characteristic indicates whether the geographic region is urban or not (“As discussed above, it may be beneficial to first extract image features by edge or corner detection and transform the extracted features in the image for instance to find a match, before proceeding with additional steps. The reason for providing intermediate steps is the requirement for bandwidth to transmit large amounts of image data in an urban area which may be congested in wireless communication traffic.” [0071]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches at least one predetermined macro characteristic indicates whether the geographic region is urban or not.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include the at least one predetermined macro characteristic indicates whether the geographic region is urban or not, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a data storage for storing at least one of street map data and macro map information at least temporarily (Irion discloses “information concerning the potential and publicly available parking space is stored on a server in the cloud, for example in the form of position data (GPS, etc.), width and length, and orientation (transverse and longitudinal parking), and can be retrieved by the traffic participant, the information being constantly updated through reports of the participating vehicles.” [0010]),
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to: localize the main vehicle on a street map based on the obtained geo localization information (Irion discloses “Individual vehicles supply very limited local information. As soon as a sufficiently large number of vehicles is equipped with the corresponding software modules, the limited local information is fused inside the cloud, due to its multiplicity, to form a global, comprehensive, and up-to-date map about the parking space situation in the overall area of coverage of the free parking space assistance system.” [0024]),
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach collect the first monitored micro characteristic during passing a predetermined first segment on street map and transmit the report at the end of the segment
and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the collected the first monitored micro characteristic
However, Genc does teach collect the first monitored micro characteristic during passing a predetermined first segment on street map and transmit the report at the end of the segment (“Such maps provide the actual location of the parking sports, including parking meter locations, which can function as a landmark.” [0068]),
and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the collected the first monitored micro characteristic (“Based on geographical and map information the system has calculated that at the present latitude and longitude (usually processed in decimal form, and the example in FIG. 10 is in the Pacific Ocean) and with the orientation or heading of the camera it will take images of the parking spot p2 starting at time t=t.sub.p2 and for a following period of .DELTA.t.sub.p2 seconds. From moment t=t.sub.p3 an image can be taken from parking spot p3.” [0073]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches to collect the first monitored micro characteristic during passing a predetermined first segment on street map and transmit the report at the end of the segment and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the collected the first monitored micro characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include collecting the first monitored micro characteristic during passing a predetermined first segment on street map and transmit the report at the end of the segment and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the collected the first monitored micro characteristic, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 7, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to: predict the first monitored micro characteristic within a second distant segment in a traveling direction of the main vehicle based on the street map data (Irion discloses “The driver can thus for example navigate to the city center and park there, where he can specify preferences, for example avoiding parking garages. In addition, drivers can deliberately drive towards parts of streets, downtown areas, or parts of the city where the chance of a free parking space is particularly high at the current time. For this purpose, for example use can be made of usage statistics that are a function of time of day, calculated on the basis of the collected data in the cloud.” [0018]),
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach and modify the predetermined time intervals in addition as a function of the predicted the first monitored micro characteristic.
However, Genc does teach and modify the predetermined time intervals in addition as a function of the predicted the first monitored micro characteristic(“Based on geographical and map information the system has calculated that at the present latitude and longitude (usually processed in decimal form, and the example in FIG. 10 is in the Pacific Ocean) and with the orientation or heading of the camera it will take images of the parking spot p2 starting at time t=t.sub.p2 and for a following period of .DELTA.t.sub.p2 seconds. From moment t=t.sub.p3 an image can be taken from parking spot p3.” [0073]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches to modify the predetermined time intervals in addition as a function of the predicted the first monitored micro characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include modifying the predetermined time intervals in addition as a function of the predicted the first monitored micro characteristic, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 1,
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach wherein the communication unit is configured to receive network information from the external cloud server via the wireless communications network and the electronic control unit is configured to: modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the received network information.
However, Genc does teach wherein the communication unit is configured to receive network information from the external cloud server via the wireless communications network(“Such a device for instance is a communication device such as a wireless communication device, to provide data to a network which connects to another system.” [0099]),
said network information comprising at least one locally varying characteristic of the wireless communications network across the geographic region (“The camera orientation is calibrated by images of known landmarks and takes images provided with geographical and time stamps for a remote system and transmitted via a mobile network to which the phone is connected.” [0088]),
and the electronic control unit is configured to: modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the received network information (“Where image processing takes place and which system decides if the parking place is unoccupied depends on the configuration of the system and the data transmission requirements. In one embodiment of the present invention, all the processing and data access takes places on or from the vehicle in the processor 103 and a transmitter on the vehicle transmits data to the central or remote system related to the parking place being occupied or not, including a geographical stamp and a time stamp.” [0082]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches wherein the communication unit is configured to receive network information from the external cloud server via the wireless communications network and the electronic control unit is configured to: modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the received network information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include wherein the communication unit is configured to receive network information from the external cloud server via the wireless communications network and the electronic control unit is configured to: modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the received network information, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 1,
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to:
predict a reliability of the wireless communications network in an anticipated traveling direction of the main vehicle as a function of the received network information and the obtained geo localization information and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the predicted reliability.
However, Genc does teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to:
predict a reliability of the wireless communications network in an anticipated traveling direction of the main vehicle as a function of the received network information and the obtained geo localization information (“The reason for providing intermediate steps is the requirement for bandwidth to transmit large amounts of image data in an urban area which may be congested in wireless communication traffic.” [0071]),
and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the predicted reliability(“Where image processing takes place and which system decides if the parking place is unoccupied depends on the configuration of the system and the data transmission requirements. In one embodiment of the present invention, all the processing and data access takes places on or from the vehicle in the processor 103 and a transmitter on the vehicle transmits data to the central or remote system related to the parking place being occupied or not, including a geographical stamp and a time stamp.” [0082]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches to predict a reliability of the wireless communications network in an anticipated traveling direction of the main vehicle as a function of the received network information and the obtained geo localization information and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the predicted reliability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include predict a reliability of the wireless communications network in an anticipated traveling direction of the main vehicle as a function of the received network information and the obtained geo localization information and modify the predetermined time intervals as a function of the predicted reliability, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 9,
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to modify the predetermined time intervals, in case the received network information fulfills at least one of the following conditions: the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a signal quality and a signal strength below a respective predetermined threshold, and the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a reduced signal quality, and a signal strength at a distance from the main vehicle below a predetermined distance threshold.
However, Genc does teach wherein the electronic control unit is configured to modify the predetermined time intervals, in case the received network information fulfills at least one of the following conditions:
the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a signal quality and a signal strength below a respective predetermined threshold, and the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a reduced signal quality, and a signal strength at a distance from the main vehicle below a predetermined distance threshold(“The reason for providing intermediate steps is the requirement for bandwidth to transmit large amounts of image data in an urban area which may be congested in wireless communication traffic.” [0071]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches wherein the electronic control unit is configured to modify the predetermined time intervals, in case the received network information fulfills at least one of the following conditions: the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a signal quality and a signal strength below a respective predetermined threshold, and the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a reduced signal quality, and a signal strength at a distance from the main vehicle below a predetermined distance threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include wherein the electronic control unit is configured to modify the predetermined time intervals, in case the received network information fulfills at least one of the following conditions: the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a signal quality and a signal strength below a respective predetermined threshold, and the at least one locally varying characteristic indicates at least one of a reduced signal quality, and a signal strength at a distance from the main vehicle below a predetermined distance threshold, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Irion in view of Casten discloses The system according to claim 1,
Irion in view of Casten does not explicitly teach further comprising a data storage for storing street map data, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to anticipate a traveling direction of the main vehicle based on the street map data
However, Genc does teach further comprising a data storage for storing street map data, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to anticipate a traveling direction of the main vehicle based on the street map data (“The GPS unit either on-board the vehicle or in a central system that receives the image data of the moving vehicle associates the image with a parking spot which is indicated on a parking map. Such maps provide the actual location of the parking sports, including parking meter locations, which can function as a landmark. Such GPS associated parking maps will prevent the system from identifying an open spot where it is not allowed to park as a valid open parking spot.” [0068]).
Both Irion in view of Casten and Genc teach methods for determining and reporting available parking spaces near traveling vehicles. However, Genc explicitly teaches a data storage for storing street map data, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to anticipate a traveling direction of the main vehicle based on the street map data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reporting method of Irion to also include a data storage for storing street map data, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to anticipate a traveling direction of the main vehicle based on the street map data, as in Genc. Doing so improves quality of data reported regarding available parking spaces (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Genc, 0004]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668