Claims 2-5, 8-10, 12, 14, 16-18 and 39 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10, 12, 14, 16-18 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 20150246059) in view of Szente et al. (Fatty Acid-Cyclodextrin Complexes: Properties and Applications) and further in view Saenger (Cyclodextrin Inclusion Compounds in Research and Industry).
Freeman teaches the nitrated lipids and methods of making and using the nitrated lipids. See the abstract. The claimed compounds are taught in Para [0071]-[0087]. Freeman teaches that Parenteral administration of the composition, if used, is generally characterized by injection. Injectables can be prepared in conventional forms, either as liquid solutions or suspensions, solid forms suitable for solution of suspension in liquid prior to injection, or as emulsions. See Para [0107]. Freeman teaches that formulations for topical administration may include ointments, lotions, creams, gels, drops, suppositories, sprays, liquids and powders. Conventional pharmaceutical carriers, aqueous, powder or oily bases, thickeners and the like may be necessary or desirable. See Para [0114]. Freeman teaches that compositions for oral administration include powders or granules, suspensions or solutions in water or non-aqueous media, capsules, sachets, or tablets. Thickeners, flavorings, diluents, emulsifiers, dispersing aids or binders may be desirable See Para [0115]. Freeman teaches that in one aspect, the unsaturated lipid comprises oleic acid, linoleic acid, linolenic acid, arachidonic acid, eicosapentaenoic acid, or docosahexaenoic acid. See Para [0098]. The use of 10-nitro-9-octadecenic acid (oleic acid) is taught in claim 83.
Freeman differs from the claimed invention in the presence of cyclodextrin. Szente et al. teach that complexation of fatty acids (both saturated and unsaturated with various cyclodextrins and cyclodextrin derivatives greatly modifies their properties. Inclusion complex formation depending upon the type of host cyclodextrin may result in protection against the environment, in improved water solubility and bioavailability. Thus, lipid complexation enables the preparation of more reliable diagnostic reagents, better chromatographic separations and higher yields in biotechnological processes. See the abstract. The use of beta-cyclodextrin is taught in the experiments, on page 4. Saenger teaches the use of cyclodextrin for stability of compounds having a nitro. See Table 3,
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to add cyclodextrin to the composition of Freeman, motivated by the teachings of Szente, which teaches the inclusion of beta-cyclodextrin may result in protection against the environment, in improved water solubility and bioavailability of fatty acids. Saenger makes clear that cyclodextrin have been used for the stability of compounds having a nitro group.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-10, 12, 14, 16-18 and 39 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,869,850, claims 4-32 of U.S. Patent No. 10,751,310, claims 1-5 of the U.S. Patent No. 10,765,652, claims 17-20 of the U.S. Patent 8,309,526, claims 1-2 of the U.S. Patent 10,258,589 and claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent 8,735,449 in view of Szente et al. and Saenger (Cyclodextrin Inclusion Compounds in Research and Industry).
Szente et al. teach that complexation of fatty acids (both saturated and unsaturated with various cyclodextrins and cyclodextrin derivatives greatly modifies their properties. Inclusion complex formation depending upon the type of host cyclodextrin may result in protection against the environment, in improved water solubility and bioavailability. Thus, lipid complexation enables the preparation of more reliable diagnostic reagents, better chromatographic separations and higher yields in biotechnological processes. See the abstract. The use of beta-cyclodextrin is taught in the experiments, on page 4. Saenger teaches the use of cyclodextrin for stability of compounds having a nitro. See Table 3.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to add cyclodextrin to the composition of Freeman, motivated by the teachings of Szente, which teaches the inclusion of beta-cyclodextrin may result in protection against the environment, in improved water solubility and bioavailability of fatty acids. Saenger makes clear that cyclodextrin have been used for the stability of compounds having a nitro group
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the obviousness and double patenting have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that “Kadri describes the inclusion of complexes of 2-chloroethylnitrosulfamides (CENS) with ß- cyclodextrin. All the presently claimed compositions and methods recite an active compound that includes a nitro (-NO₂) group. CENS does not contain a nitro (-NO₂) group.”. The examiner has relied on Saenger to show that cyclodextrins have been previously used for stabilizing compounds having a nitro group. Furthermore, Szente, teaches the inclusion of beta-cyclodextrin may result in protection against the environment, in improved water solubility and bioavailability of fatty acids. Saenger makes clear that cyclodextrin have been used for the stability of compounds having a nitro group
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617