DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 11/26/2025 has been fully considered. Claim 4 is cancelled, claims 12-18 are withdrawn and claims 1-3 and 5-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “the electrode” in line 2 of claim 1 should be changed to the phrase “the lithium ion secondary battery electrode”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Choi discloses a lithium ion secondary battery electrode of a negative electrode (negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery; paragraph [0009]) comprising an electrolytic solution (negative electrode comprises a electrolytic solution; paragraphs [0070]-[0072]), the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising:
a current collector (Fig. 3 #100; paragraphs [0031] and [0037]) and a electrode material mixture layer stacked on the current collector (negative material disposed on the current collector; Fig. 3 #120; paragraph [0037]),
wherein the electrode material mixture layer comprises an electrode active material (negative electrode active material comprises active material particles; Fig. 3 #122; paragraph [0037]) and a first high dielectric oxide solid (insulating particles; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]), and
wherein the first high dielectric oxide solid is an oxide solid electrolyte (insulating particles comprising Al2O3; paragraph [0045]).
The thickness of the negative electrode active material in Fig. 3 shows the concentration of insulating particles decreasing from a surface opposite the current collector to a surface directly contacting the current collector. This is considered to be the first high dielectric oxide solid arranged to have a concentration gradient that is continuously reduced from a surface opposite to the current collector toward the current collector in a direction of thickness of the electrode material mixture layer.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery comprising a ratio of the first high dielectric oxide solid present in region A and the first high dielectric oxide solid present in region B being 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction.
However, it would have been obvious to adjust the concentration of the insulating particles in the negative electrode active material layer such that the a ratio of the insulating particles present in region A and the insulating particles present in region B is 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction because doing so would provide homogeneous distribution of local electric field density (paragraph [0042] of Choi).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the first high dielectric solid arranged in gaps of the electrode active material (insulating particles arranged in the gaps of the negative electrode material; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the electrode active material (active material particles; Fig. 3 #122; paragraph [0037]) and the first high dielectric oxide solid (insulating particles; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]).
The thickness of the negative electrode active material in Fig. 3 shows the concentration of insulating particles decreasing from a surface opposite the current collector to a surface directly contacting the current collector. This is considered to be the first high dielectric oxide solid arranged in a region one half or less of the thickness in the direction of the thickness from the surface opposite to the current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2) in view of Sasakawa et al (EP 3 379 605 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the first high dielectric oxide solid being a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 6 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte having a reduction decomposition potential that is lower than a Li/Li+ equilibrium by 1.5 V or less.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte having a reduction decomposition potential that is lower than a Li/Li+ equilibrium potential by 1.5 V or less (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improved lithium ion conductivity and allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 6 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte being Li7La3Zr2O12.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte being Li7La3Zr2O12 (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity and allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the electrode material mixture layer further comprising a second high dielectric oxide solid.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the electrode material mixture layer further comprising a second high dielectric oxide solid (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising LATP and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the LATP and Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity and allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 9 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising high dielectric oxide solid arranged in gaps of electrode active material (insulating particles arranged in the gaps of the negative electrode material; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]) and the insulating particles comprising Al2O3 (paragraph [0045]).
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the second high dielectric oxide solid.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the second high dielectric oxide solid (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising LATP; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]) and a first high dielectric oxide solid of a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the LATP and Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity and allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 9 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the second high dielectric oxide solid arranged substantially uniformly over the entirety of the electrode material mixture layer.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising an electrical insulation layer disposed thereon and between the negative electrode active material-containing layer and a positive electrode active material-containing layer; paragraph [0010]), wherein the second high dielectric oxide solid arranged substantially uniformly over the entirety of the electrode material mixture layer (the electrical insulation layer comprises electrically insulating particles; paragraph [0022]) and wherein the electrically insulating particles comprise two or more types of particles and comprising LATP and Li7La3Zr2O12 (second high dielectric oxide solid and a first high dielectric oxide solid of a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the electrical insulation layer comprising LATP of Sasakawa on the negative active material of Choi because high ionic conductivity is ensured and a micro short circuit can be prevented (paragraph [0028] of Sasakawa).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2) in view of Sasakawa et al (EP 3 379 605 A1) in view of Cho et al (US 2005/0079420 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the electrode active material (active material particles; Fig. 3 #122; paragraph [0037]) and the first high dielectric oxide solid (insulating particles; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]).
The thickness of the negative electrode active material in Fig. 3 shows the concentration of insulating particles decreasing from a surface opposite the current collector to a surface directly contacting the current collector. This is considered to be the first high dielectric oxide solid arranged in a region one half or less of the thickness in the direction of the thickness from the surface opposite to the current collector.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the first high dielectric oxide solid being selected from Li7La3Zr2O12.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the first high dielectric oxide solid being selected from Li7La3Zr2O12 (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the electrode material mixture layer further comprising a second high dielectric oxide solid of Li3PO4.
However, Cho discloses a lithium metal anode comprising the electrode material mixture layer further comprising a second high dielectric oxide solid of Li3PO4 (a protective layer of an inorganic material layer comprising lithium phosphate; paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of Choi to include the inorganic particles of lithium phosphate on the negative electrode active material of lithium metal of Choi because doing so inhibits the formation of lithium dendrites on the lithium metal surface (paragraph [0022] of Cho).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that using Sasakawa’s solid electrolyte as Choi’s insulating particles seem to be an obstacle.
This argument is not persuasive as Al2O3 and LLZ are used insulating particles in both Choi and Sasakawa. It would be obvious to substitute the Al2O3 for LLZ. Electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode of Sasakawa improves lithium ion conductivity allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa). The insulating particles of Choi provides improved distribution of electric field density (see paragraph [0041] of Choi). Based on these reasons, it would be obvious to substitute the Al2O3 for LLZ.
Applicants argue that a ratio of the first high dielectric oxide solid present in region A and the first high dielectric oxide solid present in region B being 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction is not disclosed or suggested in Choi and Sasakawa.
This argument is not persuasive as it would have been obvious to adjust the concentration of the insulating particles in the negative electrode active material layer such that the a ratio of the insulating particles present in region A and the insulating particles present in region B is 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction because doing so would provide homogeneous distribution of local electric field density (paragraph [0042] of Choi).
Applicants argue that an effect for a secure path for the electrolytic solution is not disclosed or suggested in Choi and Sasakawa.
This argument is not persuasive as this feature is not in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785