DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 6/15/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 4, 8-9 and 19 are cancelled, claims 12-18 are withdrawn and claims 1-3 and 5-7 and 10-18 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3, this claim does not further limit claim 1 as the limitations of claim 3 are already claimed in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2) in view of Sasakawa et al (EP 3 379 605 A1) in view of Cho et al (US 2005/0079420 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Choi et al (WO 2019/088758 A2).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Choi discloses a lithium ion secondary battery electrode of a negative electrode (negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery; paragraph [0009]) comprising an electrolytic solution (negative electrode comprises a electrolytic solution; paragraphs [0070]-[0072]), the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising:
a current collector (Fig. 3 #110; paragraphs [0031] and [0037]) and an electrode material mixture layer stacked on the current collector (negative material disposed on the current collector; Fig. 3 #120; paragraph [0037]),
wherein the electrode material mixture layer comprises an electrode active material (negative electrode active material comprises active material particles; Fig. 3 #122; paragraph [0037]) and a first high dielectric oxide solid (insulating particles; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]), and
wherein the first high dielectric oxide solid is an oxide solid electrolyte (insulating particles comprising Al2O3; paragraph [0045]).
The thickness of the negative electrode active material in Fig. 3 shows the concentration of insulating particles decreasing from a surface opposite the current collector to a surface directly contacting the current collector. This is considered to be the first high dielectric oxide solid arranged to have a concentration gradient that is continuously reduced from a surface opposite to the current collector toward the current collector in a direction of thickness of the electrode material mixture layer and the first high dielectric oxide solid arranged in a region one half or less of the thickness in the direction of the thickness from the surface opposite to the current collector.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery comprising a ratio of the first high dielectric oxide solid present in region A and the first high dielectric oxide solid present in region B being 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction.
However, it would have been obvious to adjust the concentration of the insulating particles in the negative electrode active material layer such that the a ratio of the insulating particles present in region A and the insulating particles present in region B is 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction because doing so would provide homogeneous distribution of local electric field density (paragraph [0042] of Choi).
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the first high dielectric oxide solid being selected from Li7La3Zr2O12.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the first high dielectric oxide solid being selected from Li7La3Zr2O12 (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the electrode material mixture layer further comprising a second high dielectric oxide solid of Li3PO4.
However, Cho discloses a lithium metal anode comprising the electrode material mixture layer further comprising a second high dielectric oxide solid of Li3PO4 (a protective layer of an inorganic material layer comprising lithium phosphate; paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of Choi to include the inorganic particles of lithium phosphate on the negative electrode active material of lithium metal of Choi because doing so inhibits the formation of lithium dendrites on the lithium metal surface (paragraph [0022] of Cho).
Regarding claim 2, Choi, Sasakawa and Cho disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the first high dielectric solid arranged in gaps of the electrode active material (insulating particles arranged in the gaps of the negative electrode material; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi, Sasakawa and Cho disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the electrode active material (active material particles; Fig. 3 #122; paragraph [0037]) and the first high dielectric oxide solid (insulating particles; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]).
The thickness of the negative electrode active material in Fig. 3 shows the concentration of insulating particles decreasing from a surface opposite the current collector to a surface directly contacting the current collector. This is considered to be the first high dielectric oxide solid arranged in a region one half or less of the thickness in the direction of the thickness from the surface opposite to the current collector.
Regarding claim 6, Choi, Sasakawa and Cho disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the first high dielectric oxide solid being a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, Sasakawa and Cho disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 6 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte having a reduction decomposition potential that is lower than a Li/Li+ equilibrium by 1.5 V or less.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte having a reduction decomposition potential that is lower than a Li/Li+ equilibrium potential by 1.5 V or less (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Al2O3 and Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improved lithium ion conductivity and allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 10, Choi, Sasakawa and Cho disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above and Choi discloses the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising high dielectric oxide solid arranged in gaps of electrode active material (insulating particles arranged in the gaps of the negative electrode material; Fig. 3 #132; paragraph [0041]) and the insulating particles comprising Al2O3 (paragraph [0045]).
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the second high dielectric oxide solid.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising the second high dielectric oxide solid (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising LATP; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]) and a first high dielectric oxide solid of a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte (electrically insulating particles comprising two or more types of particles and comprising Li7La3Zr2O12; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the LATP and Li7La3Zr2O12 of Sasakawa for the Al2O3 of Choi because having electrically insulating particles in the negative electrode improves lithium ion conductivity and allowing the secondary battery to have high output (paragraph [0050] of Sasakawa).
Regarding claim 11, Choi, Sasakawa and Cho disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode of claim 1 as noted above.
Choi does not disclose the lithium ion secondary battery electrode comprising the second high dielectric oxide solid arranged substantially uniformly over the entirety of the electrode material mixture layer.
However, Sasakawa discloses a negative electrode comprising an electrical insulation layer disposed thereon and between the negative electrode active material-containing layer and a positive electrode active material-containing layer; paragraph [0010]), wherein the second high dielectric oxide solid arranged substantially uniformly over the entirety of the electrode material mixture layer (the electrical insulation layer comprises electrically insulating particles; paragraph [0022]) and wherein the electrically insulating particles comprise two or more types of particles and comprising LATP and Li7La3Zr2O12 (second high dielectric oxide solid and a first high dielectric oxide solid of a reduction decomposition-resistant lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte; paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Choi to include the electrical insulation layer comprising LATP of Sasakawa on the negative active material of Choi because high ionic conductivity is ensured and a micro short circuit can be prevented (paragraph [0028] of Sasakawa).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 6/15/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Choi discloses the existence of a concentration gradient and does not disclose or suggest the specified ratio.
This argument is not persuasive as it would have been obvious to adjust the concentration of the insulating particles in the negative electrode active material layer of Choi such that the a ratio of the insulating particles present in region A and the insulating particles present in region B is 81:19 to 87:13 where region A is up to 25% of a thickness of the electrode material mixture layer from a surface layer of a side opposite to the current collector in a depth direction and region B is 25% to 50% of the thickness in the depth direction because doing so would provide homogeneous distribution of local electric field density (paragraph [0042] of Choi).
Applicants argue that the Examples in which the A:B ratio is in the range of 81:19 to 87:13 show c clear improvement in capacity retention rate compared to Comparative Example 1 without LLZO.
This argument is not persuasive as the claims are not commensurate in scope with Examples 3 and 4 of Applicant’s Specification. Examples 3 and 4 require a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode comprising a first high dielectric oxide solid of LLZO and a second high dielectric oxide solid of Li3PO-4- or LiNbO-2 with a ratio A:B of 87:13, while the claims broadly claim the materials for the first high dielectric oxide solid. Also, criticality has not been shown for the endpoints of the ratio A:B.
Applicants argue that Choi and Sasakawa combined due to a functional contradiction.
This argument is not persuasive as the insulating particles homogenizes the electric field density in the negative electrode active material layer (see paragraph [0041] of Choi). The insulation layer of LATP of Sasakawa creates a path of high ionic conductivity while preventing a micro-short circuit (see paragraph [0028] of Sasakawa).
Applicants argue that Sasakawa does not disclose the use of different types of particles in the active material layer and the insulating layer and that the lithium phosphate of Cho is not placed in the active material layer.
This argument is not persuasive as the combination of Choi, Sasakawa and Cho would result in the use of different types of particles in the active material layer and the insulating layer. The lithium phosphate of Cho is provided in a protective layer on the active material layer. This layer functions as an insulating layer.
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785