DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 31, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U).
Regarding claim 1, Hamada et al. teaches:
A lighting module [2G, Col. 10, Lines 52-58, Fig. 17(D)] comprising:
a circuit board [10 “substrate”, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)];
a plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on a first region [(Right), Fig. 17(D)] of the circuit board [10, Fig. 17(D)] and emitting a first color of light;
a plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on a second region [(left), Fig. 17(D)] of the circuit board [10, Fig. 17(D)];
a resin layer [50, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)] including a first resin portion [50 (right), Col. 5, Lines 22-26, Fig. 17(D)] sealing the plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)] and a second resin portion [50 (left), Col. 5, Lines 22-26, Fig. 17(D)] sealing the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)];
a phosphor portion [30, Col. 5, Lines 22-26, Fig. 17(D)] disposed between the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] and the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)];
a diffusion layer [55, Col. 7, Lines 26-37; Col. 10, Lines 58-67 to Col. 11, Lines 1-11, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)] disposed on the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)]; and
a reflective layer [62/42, Col. 10, Lines 3-20/Col. 9, Lines 58-67 to Col. 10, Lines 1-2, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on an upper surface [62, Fig. 17(D)] and an outer side surface [42, Fig. 17(D)] of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)],
wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)] and the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)] has at least one row in a first direction and is arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction [See Fig. 5-12],
wherein a width of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction is smaller than a width of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)], the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)], and the diffusion layer [55, Col. 10, Lines 58-67 to Col. 11, Lines 1-11, Fig. 17(D)] overlap in a vertical direction,
wherein the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)], the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)], and the reflective layer [62, Fig. 17(D)] overlap in the vertical direction,
wherein the diffusion layer [55, Col. 10, Lines 52-67, to Col. 11, Lines 1-11, Fig. 17(D)] is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of the resin layer [50, Fig. 17(D)] and has diffusion agents, [Col. 11, Lines 4-11; Col. 7, Lines 26-37, Fig. 17(D)]
such that an upper surface of the diffusion layer [55, Col. 10, Lines 52-67, to Col. 11, Lines 1-11, Fig. 17(D)] is higher than the upper surface of the second resin layer [50, Fig. 17(D)],
wherein an upper surface area of the diffusion layer [55, Col. 11, Lines 4-11, Fig. 17(D)] is smaller than an upper surface area of the resin layer [50, Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the diffusion layer [55, Fig. 17(D)] emits at least two colors of light incident through the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] of the resin layer [50, Fig. 17(D)]. [Col. 5, Lines 19-67 to Col. 6, Lines 1-13, Fig. 17(D)]
illuminating light through a diffusion layer [55, Fig. 17(D)]
Hamada et al. does not teach:
a plurality of second light emitting devices emitting a second color of light which is different from the first color of light.
wherein:
the first light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a first lighting mode while the second light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate white light,
the second light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a second lighting mode while the first light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate red light, and
both the first light emitting devices and the second light emitting devices are configured to be concurrently turned on in a third lighting mode in order to illuminate yellow light.
Qiu et al. teaches:
a plurality of second light emitting devices [13, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] emitting a second color of light which is different from the first color of light.
wherein:
the first light emitting devices [14, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] are configured to be turned on in a first lighting mode while the second light emitting devices [13, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] are turned off in order to illuminate white light,
the second light emitting devices [13, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] are configured to be turned on in a second lighting mode while the first light emitting devices [14, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] are turned off in order to illuminate red light, and
both the first light emitting devices [14, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] and the second light emitting devices [13, paragraph [0057-0058], Fig. 1-12] are configured to be concurrently turned on in a third lighting mode in order to illuminate yellow light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Qiu et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al. to include a plurality of second light emitting devices emitting a second color of light which is different from the first color of light. Wherein: the first light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a first lighting mode while the second light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate white light, the second light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a second lighting mode while the first light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate red light, and both the first light emitting devices and the second light emitting devices are configured to be concurrently turned on in a third lighting mode in order to illuminate yellow light, for the purpose of enabling multiple functions in one device.
Regarding claim 13, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
a light emission region [49, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)] from which light is emitted on the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)]; and
a non- emission region [area covered by 62, Fig. 17(D)] from which light is reflected on the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the non-light emission region [area covered by 62, Fig. 17(D)] is respectively disposed on both sides of the light emission region [49, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)]. [See Fig. 5-12]
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishimori et al. (US 8450929 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices is a first light emitting chip for emitting blue light; and a wavelength conversion layer disposed on a surface of the first light emitting chip,
wherein each of the first light emitting devices emits white light, and
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and the second light emitting devices in the first direction is in a range of 3 mm to 5 mm.
Ishimori et al. teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices [21, Col. 7, Lines 10-25, Fig. 2] is a first light emitting chip for emitting blue light; and a wavelength conversion layer [22, Col. 7, Lines 10-25, Fig. 2] disposed on a surface of the first light emitting chip [21, Fig. 2],
wherein each of the first light emitting devices emits white light [Col. 7, Lines 10-25], and
wherein a distance [D1, Col. 15, Lines 51-57, Fig. 5C] between the first light emitting devices and the second light emitting devices in the first direction is in a range of 3 mm to 5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishimori et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. to include wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices is a first light emitting chip for emitting blue light; and a wavelength conversion layer disposed on a surface of the first light emitting chip, wherein each of the first light emitting devices emits white light, and wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and the second light emitting devices in the first direction is in a range of 3 mm to 5 mm, for the purpose of more easily emitting white light because blue light has higher energy levels, converting light to desired wavelength, and improving heat dissipation, evenness of luminance, performance and efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein a phosphor content in the phosphor portion is in a range of 20wt% to 98wt%.
Ishimori et al. teaches:
wherein a phosphor content in the phosphor portion is in a range of 20wt% to 98wt%. [Col. 18, Lines 19-21]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishimori et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. to include wherein a phosphor content in the phosphor portion is in a range of 20wt% to 98wt%, for the purpose of increasing wavelength conversion efficiency. See also MPEP 2144.05(II) Routine Optimization.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U), and Ishimori et al. (US 8450929 B2) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Oyu et al. (JP 2016127154 A).
Regarding claim 3, Hamada et al., Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. teach the lighting module of claim 2.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Col. 5, lines 19-22, Fig. 17(D)] emits blue light,
wherein the phosphor portion [30, Col. 5, Lines 22-26, Fig. 17(D)] covers between the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] and the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] and emits red or yellow light [Col. 5, Lines 31-44, Fig. 17(D)].
Hamada et al., Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. do not teach:
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and an inner surface of the first resin portion is in a range of 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm.
Oyu et al. teaches:
wherein a distance [WD, paragraph [0046]] between the first light emitting devices and an inner surface of the first resin portion is in a range of 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oyu et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al. Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. to include wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and an inner surface of the first resin portion is in a range of 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm, for the purpose of increasing density, efficiency, performance, color accuracy, and durability, and preventing light leakage. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Claims 4, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Han et al. (KR 20190035491 A), Kotera (WO 2019098203 A1) and Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U).
Regarding claim 4, Hamada et al. teaches:
A lighting module [2G, Col. 10, Lines 52-58, Fig. 17(D)] comprising:
a circuit board [10 “substrate”, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)];
a plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on a first region [(Right), Fig. 17(D)] of the circuit board [10, Fig. 17(D)];
a plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on a second region [(Left), Fig. 17(D)] of the circuit board [10, Fig. 17(D)];
a resin layer [50, Col. 4, Lines 4-7, Fig. 17(D)] including a first resin portion [50 (right), Col. 5, Lines 22-26, Fig. 17(D)] sealing the plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)] and a second resin portion [50 (left), Col. 5, Lines 22-26, Fig. 17(D)] sealing the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)];
a reflective layer [62/42, Col. 10, Lines 3-20/Col. 9, Lines 58-67 to Col. 10, Lines 1-2, Fig. 14(B), 17(D)] disposed on an upper surface [62, Fig. 14(B), 17(D)] and an outer side surface [42, Fig. 14(B), 17(D)] of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)],
wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)] and the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)] has at least one row in a first direction and is arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, [See Fig. 5-12]
wherein a width of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction is smaller than a width of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)], the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)], and the reflective layer [62, Fig. 17(D)] overlap in the vertical direction.
Hamada et al. does not teach:
a phosphor layer disposed on the first resin portion;
an ink layer disposed on the phosphor layer; and
wherein the plurality of first light emitting devices, the first resin portion, the phosphor layer, and the ink layer overlap in a vertical direction,
wherein an upper surface of the phosphor layer is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of first resin layer.
wherein an upper surface of the ink layer is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of the phosphor layer,
wherein the ink layer emits at least two colors of light incident through the phosphor layer.
Illuminating light through an ink layer.
Han et al. teaches:
a phosphor layer [51, paragraph [0211-0214], Fig. 17] disposed on the first resin portion [47, paragraph [0211-0212], Fig. 17];
an ink layer [63, paragraph [0211-0214], Fig. 17] disposed on the phosphor layer [51, Fig. 17]; and
wherein the plurality of first light emitting devices [21, paragraph [0211], Fig. 17], the first resin portion [47, paragraph [0211], Fig. 17], the phosphor layer [51, paragraph [0211-0214], Fig. 17], and the ink layer [63, paragraph [0211-0214], Fig. 17] overlap in a vertical direction,
wherein an upper surface of the phosphor layer [51, paragraph [0211-0212], Fig. 17] is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of first resin layer [47, paragraph [0211-0212], Fig. 17],
wherein an upper surface of the ink layer [63, paragraph [0211-0212], Fig. 17] is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of the phosphor layer [51, paragraph [0211-0212], Fig. 17],
wherein the ink layer [63, paragraph [0214], Fig. 17] emits at least two colors of light incident through the phosphor layer [51, Fig. 17].
Illuminating light through an ink layer [63, paragraph [0211-0214], Fig. 17]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al. to include a phosphor layer disposed on the first resin portion; an ink layer disposed on the phosphor layer; and wherein the plurality of first light emitting devices, the first resin portion, the phosphor layer, and the ink layer overlap in a vertical direction, wherein an upper surface of the phosphor layer is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of first resin layer, wherein an upper surface of the ink layer is disposed at a position higher than an upper surface of the phosphor layer, wherein the ink layer emits at least two colors of light incident through the phosphor layer, and Illuminating light through an ink layer, for the purpose of emitting color of desired wavelength, and preventing a decrease in wavelength conversion efficiency. See also, MPEP2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Hamada et al. and Han et al. do not teach:
wherein an upper surface area of the ink layer is smaller than an upper surface area of the resin layer.
Kotera teaches:
wherein an upper surface area of the ink layer [16, paragraph [0055], Fig. 3] is smaller than an upper surface area of the resin layer [14, paragraph [0055], Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kotera into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Han et al. to include wherein an upper surface area of the ink layer is smaller than an upper surface area of the resin layer, for the purpose of improving precision, conversion properties, and output. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Hamada et al., Han et al. and Kotera do not teach:
the first light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a first lighting mode while the second light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate red light, and
the second light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a second lighting mode while the first light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate yellow light.
Qiu et al. teaches:
the first light emitting devices [14, paragraph [0053], Fig. 5-8] are configured to be turned on in a first lighting mode while the second light emitting devices [13, paragraph [0053], Fig. 5-8] are turned off in order to illuminate red light, and
the second light emitting devices [13, paragraph [0053], Fig. 5-8] are configured to be turned on in a second lighting mode while the first light emitting devices [14, paragraph [0053], Fig. 5-8] are turned off in order to illuminate yellow light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Qiu et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al. and Kotera to include the first light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a first lighting mode while the second light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate red light, and the second light emitting devices are configured to be turned on in a second lighting mode while the first light emitting devices are turned off in order to illuminate yellow light, for the purpose of enabling multiple functions in one device.
Regarding claim 8, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
a light emission region [49, Col. 9, Lines 38-46; Col. 10, Lines 6-11, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)] from which light is emitted on the first resin portion [50 (top), Fig. 15(B)/50 (right), Fig. 17(D); Corresponds to location of 22R, 23G, 24B]; and
a non- emission region [area covered by 62, Col. 10, Lines 11-16, Fig. 17(D)] from which light is reflected on the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the non-light emission region [area covered by 62, Fig. 17(D)] is respectively disposed on both sides of the light emission region [49, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)]. [See Fig. 5-12]
Regarding claim 11, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Hamada et al., and Kotera do not teach:
A lighting device for a vehicle having a lighting module according to claim 4.
Han et al. teaches:
A lighting device [800, paragraph [0272-0273], Fig. 40] for a vehicle [900, paragraph [0272-0273], Fig. 39] having a lighting module [100, paragraph [0057], Fig. 1-25] according to claim 4.
Qiu et al. teaches:
A lighting device for a vehicle having a lighting module [1, paragraph [0002], [0004], [0007-0009], [0011], [0024], [0026], [0042], [0058], [0060], Fig. 1-12] according to claim 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. or Qiu et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include a lighting device for a vehicle having a lighting module according to claim 4, for the purpose of utilizing the claimed invention in devices that require lighting.
Claims 5-6, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Han et al. (KR 20190035491 A), Kotera (WO 2019098203 A1) and Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Ishimori et al. (US 8450929 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting devices [21B, Col. 5, Lines 28-30, Fig. 17(D)] emits white light,
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)] and the second light emitting devices [21B, Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction is greater than a distance between the first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Fig. 17(D)] and a first side surface [42, Fig. 17(D)] of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction, and
wherein the first side surface [42, Fig. 17(D)] of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] faces an outer surface of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices emits blue light,
wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting devices include a second light emitting chip emitting blue light; and a wavelength conversion layer disposed on the surface of the second light emitting chip.
Ishimori et al. teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices [21, Col. 7, Lines 10-25, Fig. 2] emits blue light,
wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting devices [21, Col. 7, Lines 10-25, Fig. 2] include a second light emitting chip emitting blue light; and a wavelength conversion layer [22, Col. 7, Lines 10-25, Fig. 2] disposed on the surface of the second light emitting chip [21, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishimori et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting devices emits blue light, wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting devices include a second light emitting chip emitting blue light; and a wavelength conversion layer disposed on the surface of the second light emitting chip, for the purpose of converting light to desired wavelength, improving heat dissipation, evenness of luminance, performance and efficiency, and more easily emitting white light because blue light has higher energy levels.
Regarding claim 6, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. teach the lighting module of claim 5.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein the phosphor layer [30, Col. 5, Lines 31-44, Fig. 17(D)] comprises a red phosphor.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Hamada et al., Kotera, Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. do not teach:
wherein the ink layer includes red ink particles.
Han et al. teaches:
wherein the ink layer [63, paragraph [0207], [0214], Fig. 17] includes red ink particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Han et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al. and Ishimori et al. to include wherein the ink layer includes red ink particles, for the purpose of achieving desired wavelengths, and improving image quality and luminous flux.
Regarding claim 10, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. do not teach:
a reflective member between the resin layer and the circuit board,
wherein the reflective member is in contact with the reflective layer.
Ishimori et al. teaches:
a reflective member [41, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2] between the resin layer [22, Col. 10, Lines 4-17, Fig. 2] and the circuit board [10, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2],
wherein the reflective member [41, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2] is in contact with the reflective layer [80, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishimori et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include a reflective member between the resin layer and the circuit board, wherein the reflective member is in contact with the reflective layer, for the purpose of reflecting light back into the device to be converted and emitted, improving performance and efficiency. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 15, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. do not teach:
a reflective member between the resin layer and the circuit board,
wherein the reflective member is in contact with the reflective layer.
Ishimori et al. teaches:
a reflective member [41, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2] between the resin layer [22, Col. 10, Lines 4-17, Fig. 2] and the circuit board [10, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2],
wherein the reflective member [41, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2] is in contact with the reflective layer [80, Col. 10, Lines 23-32, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishimori et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include a reflective member between the resin layer and the circuit board, wherein the reflective member is in contact with the reflective layer, for the purpose of reflecting light back into the device to be converted and emitted, improving performance and efficiency. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Han et al. (KR 20190035491 A), Kotera (WO 2019098203 A1) and Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (JP 2015155490 A), and Oyu et al. (JP 2016127154 A).
Regarding claim 7, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein the width of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction is at least twice the width of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction.
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 2121.04 for more information on prior art drawings as "enabled disclosures." [MPEP 2125 Drawings as Prior Art]
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein the width of the first resin portion in the first direction is in a range of 5 mm to 15 mm.
Tanaka et al. teaches:
wherein the width of the first resin portion [paragraph [0054], Fig. 1] in the first direction is in a range of 5 mm to 15 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka et al into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include wherein the width of the first resin portion in the first direction is in a range of 5 mm to 15 mm, for the purpose of increasing density, and improving function of the device. Widths that fall outside the given range can cause the light function to deteriorate. See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al. and Tanaka et al. do not teach:
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and the second resin portion in the first direction in a range of 2.0 mm to 3.5 mm.
Oyu et al. teaches:
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and the second resin portion in the first direction in a range of 2.0 mm to 3.5 mm. [paragraph [0046]]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oyu et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al. and Tanaka et al. to include wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and the second resin portion in the first direction in a range of 2.0 mm to 3.5 mm, for the purpose of increasing density, efficiency, performance, color accuracy, and durability, and preventing light leakage. See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Han et al. (KR 20190035491 A), Kotera (WO 2019098203 A1) and Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hakamata (US 6930303 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
a light emission region [49, Col. 9, Lines 38-46; Col. 10, Lines 6-11, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)] from which light is emitted on the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)]; and
a non- emission region [area covered by 62, Col. 10, Lines 11-16, Fig. 17(D)] from which light is reflected on the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)].
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein the light emission region is respectively disposed on both sides of the non- light emission region.
Hakamata teaches:
wherein the light emission region [43, Col. 6, Lines 64-67 to Col. 7, Lines 1-2, Fig. 3] is respectively disposed on both sides of the non- light emission region [42, Col. 6, Lines 64-67 to Col. 7, Lines 1-2, Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hakamata into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include wherein the light emission region is respectively disposed on both sides of the non- light emission region, for the purpose of achieving a uniform light distribution over the entire device, and improving light emission, image performance and efficiency. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (JP 2015155490 A), and Oyu et al. (JP 2016127154 A).
Regarding claim 12, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein the width of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction is at least twice the width of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] in the first direction.
Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein the width of the first resin portion in the first direction is in a range of 5 mm to 15 mm.
Tanaka et al. teaches:
wherein the width of the first resin portion [paragraph [0054], Fig. 1] in the first direction is in a range of 5 mm to 15 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka et al into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. to include wherein the width of the first resin portion in the first direction is in a range of 5 mm to 15 mm, for the purpose of increasing density, and improving function of the device. Widths that fall outside the given range can cause the light function to deteriorate. See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Hamada et al., Qiu et al. and Tanaka et al. do not teach:
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and an inner surface of the first resin portion in the first direction in a range of 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm.
Oyu et al. teaches:
wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and an inner surface of the first resin portion in the first direction in a range of 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm. [paragraph [0046]]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oyu et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Qiu et al. and Tanaka et al. to wherein a distance between the first light emitting devices and an inner surface of the first resin portion in the first direction in a range of 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm, for the purpose of increasing density, efficiency, performance, color accuracy, and durability, and preventing light leakage. See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hakamata (US 6930303 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
a light emission region [49, Col. 9, Lines 38-46; Col. 10, Lines 6-11, Fig. 15(B), 17(D)] from which light is emitted on the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)]; and a non- emission region [area covered by 62, Col. 10, Lines 11-16, Fig. 17(D)] from which light is reflected on the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)].
Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein the light emission region is respectively disposed on both sides of the non- light emission region.
Hakamata teaches:
wherein the light emission region [43, Col. 6, Lines 64-67 to Col. 7, Lines 1-2, Fig. 3] is respectively disposed on both sides of the non- light emission region [42, Col. 6, Lines 64-67 to Col. 7, Lines 1-2, Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hakamata into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. to include wherein the light emission region is respectively disposed on both sides of the non- light emission region, for the purpose of improving light emission, image performance and efficiency. See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori (JP H0831349 A).
Regarding claim 17, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein a height of the phosphor portion [30, Fig. 17(D)] in a vertical direction is equal to a thickness of the first resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] or the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)].
Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein a width of the phosphor portion in the first direction is in a range of 200 µm to 500 µm.
Mori teaches:
wherein a width of the phosphor portion [5, paragraph [0026], Fig. 2-3] in the first direction is in a range of 200 µm to 500 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Mori into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. to include wherein a width of the phosphor portion in the first direction is in a range of 200 µm to 500 µm, for the purpose of increasing density, and improving light emission efficiency of the device. If a phosphor portion is too thick, it can cause blockage of light, thus lowering emission efficiency. See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of another embodiment of Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2). Another embodiment of Hamada et al. will hereby be referred to as Hamada et al. (Fig. 4(B)).
Regarding claim 18, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 1.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein the reflective layer [62/42, Fig. 17(D)] includes a first reflective portion [62, Col. 10, Lines 11-16, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on the upper surface of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)] and a second reflective portion [42, Col. 9, Lines 60-64, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on the outer side surface of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)].
Hamada et al. (Fig. 4(B)) teaches:
wherein light is emitted from an outer side surface [48, Fig. 4(B)] of the first resin portion [50 (top), Fig. 4(B)] and the outer side surface [48, Fig. 4(B)] of the first resin portion [50 (top), Fig. 4(B)] faces the second reflection portion [41, Fig. 4(B); Corresponds to 42 of Fig. 17(D)].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Nagai et al. (US 20040129946 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 18.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein the reflective layer [62, Fig. 17(D)] is in contact with the diffusion layer [55, Col. 11, Lines 4-11, Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the lighting module [2G, Fig. 17(D)] emits a first light emitted from the first light emitting devices [22R, 23G, 24B, Col. 5, Lines 51-67 to Col. 6, Lines 1-13, Fig. 17(D)],
wherein the lighting module [2G, Fig. 17(D)] converts a wavelength of a second light emitted from the second light emitting devices [21B, Col. 5, Lines 19-44, Fig. 17(D)] to emit the third light by the phosphor portion [30, Fig. 17(D)], and
wherein the first to third lights have lights of different colors.
Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein the upper surface of the second resin portion includes a concave curved portion,
wherein the first reflective portion is provided as a curved surface on the upper surface of the second resin portion.
Nagai et al. teaches:
wherein the upper surface of the second resin portion [21, paragraph [0053], Fig. 2] includes a concave [2a, Fig. 2] curved portion,
wherein the first reflective portion [27, paragraph [0053], Fig. 2] is provided as a curved surface on the upper surface of the second resin portion [21, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nagai et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al. and Qiu et al. to include wherein the upper surface of the second resin portion includes a concave curved portion, wherein the first reflective portion is provided as a curved surface on the upper surface of the second resin portion, for the purpose of improving image quality, clarity, and visibility, and improving resistance to moisture. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (US 10707189 B2), in view of Han et al. (KR 20190035491 A), Kotera (WO 2019098203 A1) and Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Qin et al. (US 20180062048 A1), Nagai et al. (US 20040129946 A1), and Lee et al. (US 20190309916 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. teach the lighting module of claim 4.
Hamada et al. further teaches:
wherein the reflective layer [62/42, Fig. 17(D)] includes a first reflective portion [62, Col. 10, Lines 11-16, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on the upper surface of the second resin portion [50 (right), Fig. 17(D)] and a second reflective portion [42, Col. 9, Lines 60-64, Fig. 17(D)] disposed on the outer side surface of the second resin portion [50 (left), Fig. 17(D)].
wherein the lighting module [2G, Fig. 17(D)] converts a wavelength of the first light emitted from the first light emitting devices by the phosphor layer and emits red light. [Col. 5, Lines 31-44]
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. do not teach:
wherein the reflective layer is in contact with the ink layer.
Qin et al. teaches:
wherein the reflective layer [14, paragraph [0034], Fig. 1-2] is in contact with the ink layer [16, paragraph [0034], Fig. 1-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Qin et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera and Qiu et al. to include wherein the reflective layer is in contact with the ink layer, for the purpose of preventing light leakage and improving emission quality. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al., and Qin et al. do not teach:
wherein the upper surface of the second resin portion includes a concave curved portion,
wherein the first reflective portion is provided as a curved surface on the upper surface of the second resin portion.
Nagai et al. teaches:
wherein the upper surface of the second resin portion [21, paragraph [0053], Fig. 2] includes a concave curved portion [2a, Fig. 2],
wherein the first reflective portion [27, paragraph [0053], Fig. 2] is provided as a curved surface on the upper surface of the second resin portion [21, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nagai et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al., and Qin et al. to include wherein the upper surface of the second resin portion includes a concave curved portion, wherein the first reflective portion is provided as a curved surface on the upper surface of the second resin portion, for the purpose of improving image quality, clarity, and visibility, and improving resistance to moisture. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al., Qin et al. and Nagai et al. do not teach:
wherein the lighting module converts a wavelength of the light emitted from the second light emitting devices and emits yellow light.
Lee et al. teaches:
wherein the lighting module converts a wavelength of the light emitted from the second light emitting devices and emits yellow light. [paragraph [0071]]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the teachings of Hamada et al., Han et al., Kotera, Qiu et al., Qin et al. and Nagai et al. to include wherein the lighting module converts a wavelength of the light emitted from the second light emitting devices and emits yellow light, for the purpose of emitting desired wavelength of light and improving performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues on pages 1-15, in remarks filed December 31, 2025 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 4. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 4 can be overcome by newly cited source Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U).
Applicant argues on pages 15-16, in remarks filed December 31, 2025 that claims 2-3, 5-18 and 21-22 depend on independent claims 1 and 4, and the dependent claims should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
In summary, the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 4 can be overcome by newly cited source Qiu et al. (CN 206459127 U). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1 and 4 are rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 02/18/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815