DETAILED ACTION
Status
Applicant’s response dated 07 January 2026 to the previous Office action dated 08 August 2025 is acknowledged. Pursuant to amendments therein, claims 35-36 and 40-53 are pending in the application.
The claim objection made in the previous Office action is withdrawn in view of applicant’s cancelation of claim 39.
New rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 are made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 made in the previous Office action is withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments, but a new (modified) rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the previous Office action is withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments, but new (modified) rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 43-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 June 2025.
Claims 35-36, 40-42, and 49-53 are under current consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36, 51, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "said strain" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 51 and 53 recite that the composition has a concentration of about 50 nmol but fail to specify what the concentration is of (i.e., concentration of what?), thus rendering the claims indefinite. Prior art rejections cannot be made for these claims because it is unknown what the concentration refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-36, 41-42, and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cole et al. (Molecules, vol. 20, 10 April 2015, pages 6466-6487; of record).
Cole et al. discloses that GUMBOS formed from β-lactam antibiotics (i.e., effective in modulating the proliferation or viability of a carbanapem-resistant bacterial strain) and chlorhexidine diacetate (i.e., an antiseptic, effective in modulating the proliferation or viability of a gram-negative strain of a bacterial species when in contact with said strain) (1) extend the spectra of antibacterial activity with profound antibacterial activity; and (2) lower the concentration required to inhibit the growth of multi-drug-resistant bacteria better than the unreacted, stoichiometric equivalent of precursor ions (page 6484 section 4) wherein β-lactam antibiotics include carbenicillin (abstract) wherein GUMBOS are mixed with deionized water (i.e., a pharmaceutical carrier, formulated for delivery to a subject human or animal intravascularly or directly to a tissue of the subject) (page 6483 section 3.7).
Regarding the claimed recitations of “wherein the antiseptic and the antibiotic synergistically interact whereby the composition has a MIC against N. gonorrhoeae that is less than the sum of the MICs of the antiseptic and the antibiotic individually”, “wherein the antiseptic is effective in modulating the proliferation or viability of N. gonorrhoeae when in contact with said strain”, and “wherein the MIC is about 0.8-3.1 µM”, although Cole et al. does not explicitly recite such properties, the composition of Cole et al. as discussed above is presumed to inherently exhibit such properties because the claimed composition and the composition of Cole et al. are substantially identical per MPEP 2112(V) and 2112.01(I), and compositions that are physically the same must have the same properties per MPEP 2112.01(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-36, 40-42, and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. in view of Zhang (US 2009/0156518 A1; published 18 June 2009; of record).
Cole et al. discloses that GUMBOS formed from β-lactam antibiotics (i.e., effective in modulating the proliferation or viability of a carbanapem-resistant bacterial strain) and chlorhexidine diacetate (i.e., an antiseptic, effective in modulating the proliferation or viability of a gram-negative strain of a bacterial species when in contact with said strain) (1) extend the spectra of antibacterial activity with profound antibacterial activity; and (2) lower the concentration required to inhibit the growth of multi-drug-resistant bacteria better than the unreacted, stoichiometric equivalent of precursor ions (page 6484 section 4) wherein β-lactam antibiotics include carbenicillin (abstract) wherein GUMBOS are mixed with deionized water (i.e., a pharmaceutical carrier, formulated for delivery to a subject human or animal intravascularly or directly to a tissue of the subject) (page 6483 section 3.7).
Regarding the claimed recitations of “wherein the antiseptic and the antibiotic synergistically interact whereby the composition has a MIC against N. gonorrhoeae that is less than the sum of the MICs of the antiseptic and the antibiotic individually”, “wherein the antiseptic is effective in modulating the proliferation or viability of N. gonorrhoeae when in contact with said strain”, and “wherein the MIC is about 0.8-3.1 µM”, although Cole et al. does not explicitly recite such properties, the composition of Cole et al. as discussed above is presumed to inherently exhibit such properties because the claimed composition and the composition of Cole et al. are substantially identical per MPEP 2112(V) and 2112.01(I), and compositions that are physically the same must have the same properties per MPEP 2112.01(II).
Cole et al. does not disclose ceftriaxone as a β-lactam antibiotic as in claim 40.
Zhang discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising beta-lactam antibiotic (title; claim 1) wherein the beta-lactam antibiotic can be carbenicillin or ceftriaxone (claim 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cole et al. and Zhang by using the ceftriaxone of Zhang for the β-lactam antibiotic such as carbenicillin in the composition of Cole et al. as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to use therein a β-lactam known for use as an antibiotic in pharmaceutical compositions given that Cole et al. suggests using a β-lactam and Zhang teaches that ceftriaxone and carbenicillin are β-lactams known for use as antibiotics in pharmaceutical compositions, and given that it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (e.g., ceftriaxone and carbenicillin are β-lactams known for use as antibiotics in pharmaceutical compositions) per MPEP 2144.06(II), and given that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (e.g., β-lactams known for use as antibiotics in pharmaceutical compositions) supports a prima facie obviousness determination per MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 49 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano (US 2009/0111780 A1; published 30 April 2009).
Giordano discloses a composition comprising an antibacterial, an anti-inflammatory, and an anti-septic (claim 1) wherein the antibacterial can be carbenicillin (claim 3) and the anti-septic can be octenidine (claim 5).
Although Giordano does not disclose a specific formulation example comprising carbenicillin and octenidine, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Giordano as discussed above and to make the composition of Giordano as discussed above wherein the antibacterial is carbenicillin and the anti-septic is octenidine, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the claimed recitations of “wherein the antiseptic and the antibiotic synergistically interact whereby the composition has a MIC against N. gonorrhoeae that is less than the sum of the MICs of the antiseptic and the antibiotic individually” and “an antiseptic in ionic association with an antibiotic as an ion-pair solid-phase organic salt”, although Giordano does not explicitly recite such properties, the composition of Giordano as discussed above is presumed to inherently exhibit such properties because the claimed composition and the composition of Giordano are substantially identical per MPEP 2112(V) and 2112.01(I), and compositions that are physically the same must have the same properties per MPEP 2112.01(II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that since claim 40 was not anticipated by Cole et al. then claim 35 is not anticipated by Cole et al. (remarks page 6). In response, amended claim 35 encompasses subject matter that is not encompassed by claim 40, namely a composition comprising chlorhexidine and carbenicillin.
Applicant argues that applicant has shown unexpected results (remarks pages 6-7). In response, it is not readily clear from the specification examples exactly what inventive formulations (including all ingredients and concentrations thereof) and comparative formulations (including all ingredients and concentrations thereof), if any, were tested, and the results thereof that indicate unexpected results, such that it can be determined whether such asserted unexpected results are truly unexpected and whether such asserted unexpected results are commensurate in scope with the claimed subject matter. Applicant is encouraged to concisely indicate the inventive formulations (including all ingredients and concentrations thereof) and comparative formulations (including all ingredients and concentrations thereof) that were tested, and the results thereof that indicate unexpected results, and to do so in a declaration if all such information/data is not contained in the specification as filed. The burden is on applicant to establish that results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance, per MPEP 716.02(b). Such evidence of unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention per MPEP 716.02(d), and must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art (or closer) per MPEP 716.02(e).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617