DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 5, 10, and 13-17 are pending. Claims 2, 3, 6-9, 11, and 12 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 national stage patent application of International patent application PCT/JP2021/009075, filed on March 8, 2021. This application also claims the benefits of foreign priority to JP2020-040142, filed on March 9, 2020.
Specification - Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant is notified that any outstanding rejection or objection that is not expressly maintained in this office action has been withdrawn or rendered moot in view of applicant' s amendments and/or remarks.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For clarity, claim 17 should read:
“…wherein the ceramide NDS in the ceramide growth promoting agent has an acyl chain length of C18, and wherein, upon topical application of the ceramide growth promoting agent on skin of a human subject, ceramide NDSs having acyl chain lengths of C14, C16, C20, C22, C24, and C26 are increased within skin stratum corneum.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 15 and 16 recite “The method according to claim 2…”, however, claim 2 has been cancelled. Therefore, claims 15 and 16 are in improper dependent form as they are dependent on a non-existing claim.
Note: Even if claims 15 and 16 were intended to be dependent on claim 1 instead, the resulting claims would be a substantial duplicate of claims 4 and 5, respectively.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Note on 35 USC § 103 Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kaneko et al. (Kaneko) (US6355232B1; published March 12, 2002)
According to MPEP § 2114, section II:
“‘[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.’ Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.”
This can also be translated to a composition claim. A composition claim covers what a composition is, not what a composition does. Therefore, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art compound if the prior art composition teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Further note: instant claim 10 does not explicitly identify other components within the skin cosmetic, skin protective agent, lip care preparation, skin cleanser, or bath agent other than the ceramide growth promoting agent. Therefore, the skin cosmetic, skin protective agent, lip care preparation, skin cleanser, or bath agent of instant claim 10 can also be interpreted to simply be a ceramide growth promoting agent comprising a ceramide NDS such that 0.01 mass % to 5 mass % of the composition is made up of the ceramide NDS.
Although Kaneko does not explicitly disclose a specific working example of a composition comprising a ceramide NDS in an amount of 0.01 mass % to 5 mass % based on a total amount of the composition (i.e., Kaneko does not anticipate instant claim 10), Kaneko does teach that their invention encompasses instant claim 10:
Kaneko teaches that an embodiment of their invention (herein, referred to as embodiment-A) is a cosmetics product (i.e., a composition) wherein 0.01 – 20% of the product’s mass (preferably 0.05 to 10%, most preferably 0.1 to 5%) is made up of
(herein, referred to as ceramide-Kaneko; see col. 4, lines 29-39).
According to MPEP § 2112, section I:
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Therefore, even though Kaneko does not disclose that embodiment-A is a composition comprising ceramide-Kaneko wherein ceramide-Kaneko is a ceramide growth promoting agent, this “ceramide growth promoting” property is inherent to ceramide-Kaneko as supported by the instant specification. In instant example 1, the ceramide growth promoting agent comprises (2S, 3R)-2-octadecanoylaminooctadecane-1,3-diol as the ceramide NDS component which has the following structure:
and is encompassed by the following formula:
(i.e., structure of ceramide-Kaneko).
Therefore, Kaneko disclosing a composition comprising
(i.e., ceramide-Kaneko which is the same as (2S, 3R)-2-octadecanoylaminooctadecane-1,3-diol) wherein ceramide-Kaneko is in a most preferably amount of 0.1 mass % to 5 mass % based on a total amount of the composition is also inherently disclosing and encompassing a composition which is a ceramide growth promoting agent comprising (2S, 3R)-2-octadecanoylaminooctadecane-1,3-diol in an amount of 0.1 mass % to 5 mass % based on a total amount of the composition.
Therefore, instant claim 10 is rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claim 11 of U.S. Patent Application No. 6,355,232 B1 (‘232B1).
According to MPEP § 2114, section II:
“‘[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.’ Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.”
This can also be translated to a composition claim. A composition claim covers what a composition is, not what a composition does. Therefore, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art compound if the prior art composition teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Further note: instant claim 10 does not explicitly identify other components within the skin cosmetic, skin protective agent, lip care preparation, skin cleanser, or bath agent other than the ceramide growth promoting agent. Therefore, the skin cosmetic, skin protective agent, lip care preparation, skin cleanser, or bath agent of instant claim 10 can also be interpreted to simply be a ceramide growth promoting agent comprising a ceramide NDS such that 0.01 mass % to 5 mass % of the composition is made up of the ceramide NDS.
Although ‘232B1 does not explicitly disclose a claim directed to a composition comprising a ceramide NDS in an amount of specifically 0.01 mass % to 5 mass % based on a total amount of the composition, ‘232B1 does disclose that the invention encompasses instant claim 10 (see claim 11 of ‘232B1).
‘232B1 discloses that the claimed invention encompasses:
A composition comprising ceramide-Kaneko and a cosmetically or pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle therefore wherein the ceramide-Kaneko is in an amount of from about 0.01 to about 20% (see claim 11 of ‘232B1);
Note: claim 11 of ‘232B1 is dependent on claim 1 which recites a protective agent for skin or hair which comprises ceramide-Kaneko. Since no other components were explicitly disclosed in the protective agent, Examiner also interprets claim 1 of ‘232 B1 to include only the compound, ceramide-Kaneko. Hence, Examiner interprets claim 11 of ‘232B1 to also include a composition comprising the compound, ceramide-Kaneko, and a cosmetically or pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle therefore wherein the ceramide-Kaneko is in an amount of from about 0.01 to about 20%.
According to MPEP § 2112, section I:
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Therefore, even though ‘232B1 does not disclose that the composition of claim 11 comprises ceramide-Kaneko wherein ceramide-Kaneko is a ceramide growth promoting agent, this “ceramide growth promoting” property is inherent to ceramide-Kaneko as supported by the instant specification. In instant example 1, the ceramide growth promoting agent comprises (2S, 3R)-2-octadecanoylaminooctadecane-1,3-diol as the ceramide NDS component which has the following structure:
and is encompassed by the following formula:
(i.e., structure of ceramide-Kaneko).
Therefore, ‘232B1 disclosing a composition comprising
(i.e., ceramide-Kaneko which is the same as (2S, 3R)-2-octadecanoylaminooctadecane-1,3-diol) wherein ceramide-Kaneko is in an amount of 0.01 mass % to 20 mass % based on a total amount of the composition is also inherently disclosing and encompassing a composition which is a ceramide growth promoting agent comprising (2S, 3R)-2-octadecanoylaminooctadecane-1,3-diol in an amount of 0.01 mass % to 5 mass % based on a total amount of the composition.
Therefore, instant claim 10 is not patentably distinct from claim 11 of ‘232B1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4, 5, 13, and 14 allowed. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, 5, 13, and 14 allowed. Claim 17 is objected to. Claims 10, 15, and 16 are rejected. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTEN ROMERO whose telephone number is (571)272-6478. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM ET.
/KRISTEN W ROMERO/Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624