DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Note: This office action is in response to communication filed on 01/28/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 7-25 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-4 and 7-25 are examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/13/2024 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), applicant's amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 21 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, “the valve arranged in the instillation valve” should read -- the first valve arranged in the instillation valve --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 11, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662).
Regarding claim 1, Hofstetter discloses an apparatus for negative pressure treatment and instillation of wounds (Abstract and Fig. 1), comprising:
a dressing for covering a wound in a fluid-tight manner (a vacuum dressing 2 with airtight seal for creating a closed wound space: pg. 7, lines 8-15; and Fig. 1),
a drain line for extracting fluid from a wound (a suction line 22 that is capable of extracting fluid from a wound: Abstract; pg. 7, lines 35-40; and Fig. 1),
a negative pressure unit for generating negative pressure in said drain line (a vacuum source 27 for generating negative pressure in suction line 22: pg. 7, lines 30-42; and Fig. 1),
an instillation line for providing an instillation fluid (an instillation line 8 for providing an instillation fluid/solution within 40: pg. 7, lines 15-17; and Fig. 1),
a rinse line for providing a rinse fluid (a flushing line 21 comprises a flushing lumen 14: pg. 7, lines 9-17; and Fig. 1),
a main line connected to said dressing (a main line 4 connected to the dressing 2: pg. 7, lines 8-15; and Fig. 1),
wherein the main line (4) is connectable via a connection element (a plastic body 7 having Y-shape: pg. 7, lines 13-15; and Fig. 1) to two of a group of three lines consisting of the drain line, instillation line, and the rinse line (the main line is connectable via the connection element 7 to the drain line 22, the instillation line 8, and the rinse line 21: Fig. 1).
Hofstetter discloses the instillation line is connected to a syringe 40 (pg. 7, lines 15-17; and Fig. 1), but not an instillation container.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for wound therapy, Fleischmann discloses an apparatus for negative pressure treatment and instillation of wounds (Abstract and Fig. 1) comprising a dressing (an insert 12 is covered by a film 14 and sealed off: pg. 3, lines 25-28 and Fig. 1), a drain line 26 (a discharge line 26 for extracting fluid from a wound: pg. 3, lines 30-35, lines 45-50; and Figs. 1-2), and an instillation line for providing an instillation fluid (a feed line 22 for providing an instillation fluid in container 24: pg. 3, lines 31-35 and Fig. 1). Fleischmann further discloses the instillation line is connected to an instillation container (infusion container 24 connected to the instillation line to receiving an instillation fluid: pg. 3, lines 31-33 and lines 42-45; Fig. 1) for the benefit of storing liquid active ingredient (pg. 4, lines 59-60; and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter in view of Fleischmann by replacing the syringe with an instillation container, in order to store instillation fluid, as suggested in pg. 4, lines 59-60; and Fig. 1 of Fleischmann.
Hofstetter does not disclose a pump is arranged in the instillation line.
Fleischmann further discloses a pump is arranged in the instillation line (a pump is arranged in the instillation line 22: pg. 3, lines 57-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann in view of Fleischmann by incorporating a pump in the instillation line, motivated by the desires to assist in delivering instillation fluid into wound surface, as suggested in pg. 3, lines 57-58 of Fleischmann.
Hofstetter does not disclose a first check valve is arranged in the instillation line and prevents a backflow of fluid toward the instillation container.
Fleischmann further discloses a valve is arranged in the instillation line (a shut-off device 32: pg. 3, lines 34-35 and Fig. 1) for preventing a backflow of fluid into the instillation line (the valve 32 is capable of preventing backflow of fluid into the instillation line 22: pg. 3, lines 42-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann in view of Fleischmann by incorporating a first check valve in the instillation line, in order to prevent backflow of fluid into the instillation line, as suggested in pg. 3, lines 42-45 of Fleischmann. Thus, the first check valve of Hofstetter in view Fleischmann is capable of preventing a backflow of fluid toward the instillation container.
Hofstetter/Fleischmann does not disclose a second check valve is arranged in the drain line, blocks a flow of fluid in the direction of the dressing.
In the same field of endeavor, negative pressure wound therapy apparatus, Hartwell discloses a negative pressure wound therapy system 1100 comprising a wound dressing 1182 (¶0071 and Fig. 5A), a drain line (a distal conduit 1170 and a proximal conduit 1200: ¶0071 and Fig. 5A), and a pump assembly 1150 (¶0071 and Fig. 5A). Hartwell further discloses/suggests to have a check valve arranged in a proximal end of the drain line (¶0070) for the benefits of allowing fluid to flow towards the pump assembly while preventing fluid flow away from the pump assembly and towards the dressing (¶0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann in view of Hartwell by incorporating a second check valve in the drain line, in order to allow fluid to flow towards the negative pressure unit while preventing fluid flow away from the negative pressure unit and towards the dressing, as suggested in ¶0070 of Hartwell. Thus, the second check valve of Hofstetter in view Fleischmann and Hartwell is capable of blocking a flow of fluid in the direction of the dressing.
Regarding claim 2, Hofstetter further discloses the main line is connectable via the connection element either to the drain line and the instillation line or to the instillation line and the rinse line (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hofstetter further discloses the main line is connectable via the connection element to the installation line and the rinse line (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hofstetter further discloses a pressure sensor for measuring pressure in the drain line (a pressure sensor 26 for measuring pressure in the drain line 22: pg. 7, lines 39-40; and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hofstetter further discloses to have a ventilation valve 28 arranged in the rinse line 22 (pg. 7, lines 51-55; Fig. 1) with which the fluid communication within the rinse line can be interrupted (the ventilation valve 28 is capable of interrupting the fluid communication within the rinse line when the ventilation valve is closed or partially opened).
Regarding claim 11, Hofstetter further discloses a collection container (a container 23: pg. 7, lines 35-40 and Fig. 1) connected to the drain line for receiving the fluid extracted from the wound (23 is connected to the drain line 22 for receiving the fluid extracted from the wound: pg. 7, lines 35-40 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell discloses an apparatus for negative pressure treatment and instillation of wounds (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Hofstetter further discloses a method step of filling the dressing with an instillation fluid via the main line being connected to the instillation line (pg. 4, first paragraph; pg. 5, ¶10-11; pg. 7, lines 62-63).
In addition, since the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell meets the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, it will inherently perform the method steps as claimed (See MPEP § 2112.02 (I)).
However, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell is silent to the order of the method steps. Since it has been held that the changes in the order/transposition of steps or the splitting of one step into two where of is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (C)), the proposed modification is deemed obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art.
Thus, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell further discloses method steps:
a) filling the dressing with an instillation fluid via the main line being connected to the instillation line; and
b) during simultaneous, continuous or intermittent operation of said negative pressure unit, passing the rinse fluid through at least one of a group of lines consisting of the rinse line, the main line, the dressing and the drain line.
Regarding claim 14, since the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell meets the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, it will inherently perform the method steps as claimed (See MPEP § 2112.02 (I)).
In addition, Hofstetter further discloses method steps:
A1) building up negative pressure in the dressing by operating the negative pressure unit (pg. 5, ¶11: step ii), and
A2) filling the instillation line and the main line with instillation fluid (pg. 5, ¶11: step viii).
Regarding claim 15, since the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell meets the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, it will inherently perform the method steps as claimed (See MPEP § 2112.02 (I)).
However, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell is silent to the order of the method steps. Since it has been held that the changes in the order/transposition of steps or the splitting of one step into two where of is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (C)), the proposed modification is deemed obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art. Thus, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell performs the method steps:
c) building up negative pressure in the dressing by operating the negative pressure unit,
d) passing a rinse fluid through the rinse line, the main line, the dressing, and the drain line.
Regarding claim 16, since the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell meets the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus, it will inherently perform the method steps as claimed (See MPEP § 2112.02 (I)).
However, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell is silent to the order of the method steps. Since it has been held that the changes in the order/transposition of steps or the splitting of one step into two where of is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV) (C)), the proposed modification is deemed obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the prior art. Thus, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell performs the method steps:
steps a) to d) are repeated several times, the fill quantity of instillation fluid in the dressing is determined when step a) is carried out for the first time, and in the further repetitions of step a) the dressing is filled with the previously determined fill quantity of instillation fluid.
Regarding claim 17, Hofstetter further discloses a pressure sensor for measuring pressure in the rinse line (a pressure sensor 29 for measuring pressure in the rinse line 21: pg. 3, lines 35-36; pg. 7, lines 45-46; and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Hofstetter does not disclose a pressure sensor for measuring pressure in the rinse line and the main line, but Hofstetter further discloses/suggests the apparatus comprising at least one pressure sensor in order to monitor and control negative pressure in the wound space (pg. 3, lines 35-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view Hofstetter by incorporating a pressure sensor in the rinse line, in order to measure pressure in the rinse line, as suggested in pg. 3, lines 35-36 and pg. 7, lines 45-46 of Hofstetter.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pratt (US PGPUB 20210052788).
Regarding claim 7, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose a valve that is arranged in the rinse line for preventing a backflow of fluid into the rinse line.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for wound therapy, Pratt discloses
Pratt further discloses/suggests to use a check-valve 112 (¶0030 and Fig. 4) for the benefit of preventing backflow of fluid into a reservoir 104 (¶0030). From these teachings, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized/deduced that incorporating a check-valve in the rinse line yields the predictable result of preventing backflow of fluid into the rinse fluid or the rinse line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Pratt by incorporating a valve in the rinse line, in order to prevent backflow of fluid into the rinse fluid or the rinse line, as suggested in ¶0030 of Pratt.
Claim 9 and 19-23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Walti (US PGPUB 20190365961 – of record).
Regarding claim 9, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose a second pump arranged in one of the rinse line or the main line for generating a fluid flow.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for negative pressure treatment, Walti discloses an apparatus comprising a suction pump housing 2, with a suction pump arranged therein for aspirating the fluids from the wound bed W, and a fluid collection container 3 for collecting the aspirated fluids (Abstract, ¶0062, and Figs. 1-4). Walti further teaches the suction pump is arranged a main line (a secretion line 61: ¶0063 and Figs. 1-4) for the benefits of aspirating fluids from the wound bed and collecting them in the fluid collection container (¶0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Walti by having a second pump arranged in the main line, in order to aspirate fluids from the wound bed and collect them in the fluid collection container, as suggested in ¶0064 of Walti. Thus, the second pump of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Walti is capable of generating a fluid flow from a wound bed.
Regarding claim 19, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose a housing, wherein the pump is arranged within the housing and wherein a port is arranged on the outer side of the housing, which port is provided to connect the instillation line with the instillation container.
Walti further teaches a pump 22 is arranged within the housing 2 and in the instillation line 60 (¶0075 and Figs. 5-6) in order to convey the instillation liquid present in the instillation line to the wound bed (¶0075) and a port 11 is arranged on the outside of the housing 2 (the port 11 is arranged on the wound bed: ¶0066 and Fig. 1) and is provided to connect the instillation line 60 with an instillation container 40 (¶0066 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Walti by having the pump arranged within a housing and having a port arranged on the outer side of the housing, in order to convey the instillation liquid present in the instillation line to the wound bed and provide connection between the instillation line and an instillation container, as suggested in ¶0066 and 0075 of Walti. Thus, the port of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Walti is capable of connecting the instillation line with the instillation container.
Regarding claim 20, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose the pump is a peristaltic pump.
Walti further teaches the pump 22 is a peristaltic pump (¶0075 and Figs. 5-6) for the benefit of conveying the instillation liquid present in the instillation line to the wound bed (¶0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell/Walti in view of Walti by using a peristaltic pump, in order to convey the instillation liquid present in the instillation line to the wound bed, as suggested in ¶0075 of Walti.
Regarding claim 21, Hofstetter further discloses the first valve arranged in the instillation line (see rejection of claim 1 above) and the first valve is housed in a housing for the benefit of providing a device that is compact and easy to handle (pg. 3, lines 40-41).
Hofstetter/Hartwell does not disclose the first valve being intermediate the pump and the connection element.
Fleischmann further discloses the valve in the instillation line being intermediate the pump and the connection element (the valve 32 is being intermediate between the pump via a connecting line 30 and the connection element 20: Fig. 1) for the benefit of controlling an amount of instillation fluid from the instillation container to the wound (pg. 3, lines 42-44 and 54-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Fleischmann by arranging the first valve between the pump and the connection element, in order to control an amount of instillation fluid from the instillation container to the wound, as suggested in pg. 3, lines 42-44 and 54-55 of Fleischmann.
Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose the collection container is selectively connected to the housing.
Walti further teaches the collection container (the fluid connection container 3: ¶0062 and Fig. 1) is connected to the housing 2 via a connection line (¶0062: Walti implicitly teaches that the connection container 3 can be attached or detached to the housing 2 via the connection line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Walti by selectively connecting the collection container to the housing via a connection line, in order to arrange the housing and the collection container at a distance, as suggested in ¶0062 of Walti.
Regarding claim 22, Hofstetter further discloses a filter 25 is arranged between the collection container 23 and the housing and between the collection container 23 and the negative pressure unit 27 (pg. 7, lines 35-40, and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Hofstetter further discloses a pressure sensor is arranged between the filter and the negative pressure unit (a pressure sensor 26 is arranged between the filter 25 and the negative pressure unit 27: pg. 7, lines 37-42, and Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lockwood (US PGPUB 20050004534).
Regarding claim 10, Fleischmann/Hofstetter does not disclose a unit for controlling the fluid flow through the main line so that either the instillation fluid or the rinse fluid is alternately passed through the main line.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for wound therapy, Lockwood discloses a system 10 comprising a wound dressing 14 and a vacuum source 16 (¶0064 and Fig. 1). Lockwood further teaches a unit for controlling fluid flow through a main line 42 (a passageway 42: ¶0088 and Figs. 7-8) so that either one of two different lines (passageways 70 and 72: ¶0088 and Figs. 7-8) is alternately passed through the main line 42 for the benefit of selectively providing communication between the wound and either one of the two different lines/passageways (¶0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Lockwood by incorporating a unit for controlling fluid flow through the main line, in order to selectively provide communication between the wound and either the instillation fluid or the rinse fluid, as suggested in ¶0065 of Lockwood.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pereira (US PGPUB 20200001239).
Regarding claim 12, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose a bypass line which establishes fluid communication between the rinse line and the negative pressure unit.
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, providing bypass line for fluid communication, Pereira discloses a membrane filtration system 10 comprising a supply tank for receiving a supply of raw fluid for filtration, a membrane filter at least partially submerged within the raw fluid and a pump 15 located within the suction line 13 for supplying negative pressure (Abstract, ¶0035, and Fig. 1). Pereira further teaches to have a bypass line 18 connecting to the suction line 13 to a storage reservoir 22 (¶0038, claim 8, and Fig. 1) for the benefit of bypassing passage of fluid through the pump.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Pereira by incorporating a bypass line having fluid communication between the negative pressure unit and the rinse line, in order to bypassing passage of fluid through the negative pressure unit, as suggested in Claim 8 of Pereira.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Warlick (US PGPUB 20080269651).
Regarding claim 24, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose one of the drain line or the rinse line is connected to said dressing.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for wound therapy, Warlick discloses a system comprising a wound dressing (12+14), a drainage line 16 connected to a supply line 22 and a removal line 26 (¶0051-0052 and Fig. 1). Warlick further discloses/suggests to have the drainage line 16 and the removal line 26 connected to the wound dressing (¶0056 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Warlick by having the drain line connected to the wound dressing, motivated by the desires to facilitate maintenance and disassembly, as suggested in ¶0056 of Warlick.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE 102015110432 – of record) in view of Fleischmann (EP 880953 – of record) and Hartwell (US PGPUB 20200330662), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Warlick (US PGPUB 20080269651).
Regarding claim 25, Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell does not disclose one of the drain line or the rinse line is connected to said dressing.
In the same field of endeavor, apparatus for wound therapy, Warlick discloses a system comprising a wound dressing (12+14), a drainage line 16 connected to a supply line 22 and a removal line 26 (¶0051-0052 and Fig. 1). Warlick further discloses/suggests to have the drainage line 16 and the removal line 26 connected to the wound dressing (¶0056 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hofstetter/Fleischmann/Hartwell in view of Warlick by having the drain line connected to the wound dressing, motivated by the desires to facilitate maintenance and disassembly, as suggested in ¶0056 of Warlick.
Conclusion
/NHU Q. TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781