Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maamari et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0199861), herein referred to as “Maamari”, in view of Ouchi et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0014337), herein referred to as “Ouchi”, and further in view of Wu (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0102871).
Regarding Claim 1,
Maamari discloses: A method for adaptively optimizing a contention resolution (CR) message by a radio access network (RAN) node, the method comprising:
[0089] FIG. 4 illustrates a flow diagram of example operations 400 occurring in an access node participating in enhancing the coverage of the RACH procedure with the coverage enhancement indicator being transmitted in an information block.
receiving a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) connection request messages from a plurality of first user equipment (UE), wherein each of the plurality of RRC connection request messages is received from a respective one of the plurality of first UE
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0071] Access node 110 receives the random access request and transmits a random access response to UE 120 (event 207). The random access response includes an identifier of the random access preamble (to identify the originator of the random access preamble (i.e., UE 120), timing information, an uplink transmission grant, and a network identifier assigned to UE 120. The random access response is transmitted over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
[0073] In order to have successful uplink synchronization and obtaining the uplink transmission grant for initial attachment, the messages described in the contention-based RACH procedure should not be coverage limited, which may be the case for REDCAP UEs due to the deployment of complexity reduction techniques being investigated. However, the coverage enhancement techniques (e.g., repetition in the time domain, lower MCS tables, and so on) discussed previously are not implemented until after the RACH procedures are complete and the UE is in the radio resource control connected (RRC connected) state.
sending a plurality of CR messages using a first code rate to the plurality of first UE, in response to receiving the plurality of RRC connection request messages from the plurality of first UE, wherein each of the plurality of CR messages is sent to a respective one of the plurality of first UE
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0072] UE 120 transmits in the uplink in accordance with the uplink transmission grant (event 209). As an example, UE 120 transmits in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in accordance with the uplink transmission grant received in the random access response. Access node 110 transmits a contention resolution message (event 211).
Note: When the other UEs are obtaining to access the node, this action sets the “first code rate”.
updating one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to a second code rate,
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
Note: The first code rate comes from RRC connected, where the parameters (number of repetitions) can use a different (lower) MCS (second code rate).
generating a CR message using the second code rate
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
Maamari does not disclose updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate; and sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE.
Ouchi discloses updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate; and sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: The success rate is based on the reception of Msg5 (RRC Setup Complete) based on the CW (contention window). The “updating” occurs when multiple terminal apparatuses (UEs) in a certain time period need to adjust (“update”) the CW. In this vein, the first code rate and second code rate would relate to the predetermined threshold, where the first code rate would be from the lack of reception of Msg5 to be one code rate based on a particular CW, and “exceeding” a threshold results in a second code rate (due to Msg5 reception).
Maamari does not disclose wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate comprises determining whether the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a first threshold value.
However, Wu discloses wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate comprises determining whether the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a first threshold value.
[0046] According to the process 40, if the second cell can serve a codec rate higher than the first codec rate, the UE may not keep using the first codec rate after (or when) performing the RRC connection reestablishment procedure (or in response to the RRC connection reestablishment procedure). The UE may select the second codec rate, and encode the second plurality of packet more efficiently.
[0048] In one example of the step 410, the UE transmits the bit rate query to the second cell, when receiving a RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionReconfiguration) following the RRC connection reestablishment procedure. The RRC message configures the codec rate adaptation. The UE does not transmit the bit rate query to the second cell, when the RRC message does not configure the codec rate adaptation. In this case, the UE changes the codec rate according to its determination, after (or when) performing the RRC connection reestablishment procedure (or in response to the RRC connection reestablishment procedure). In one example, the UE determines to increase the first codec rate without receiving the second bit rate recommendation after the RRC connection reestablishment procedure in order to obtain a better voice/video quality (e.g., when a channel quality indicator or a signal strength/quality of the second cell is good (e.g., above a threshold)).
Maamari and Wu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concepts of updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate and sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE, as well as updating parameters to adjust code rates as taught by Wu so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 2,
Maamari discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate further comprises: receiving one or more acknowledgement messages, each acknowledgement message being received from a UE among the plurality of first UE in response to the UE receiving a respective one of the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0072] UE 120 transmits in the uplink in accordance with the uplink transmission grant (event 209). As an example, UE 120 transmits in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in accordance with the uplink transmission grant received in the random access response. Access node 110 transmits a contention resolution message (event 211). The contention resolution message may comprise an acknowledgement of the uplink transmission made by UE 120. However, if UE 120 does not receive the contention resolution message within a specified amount of time, UE 120 may deem that the contention resolution failed. UE 120 may retry the initial access by repeating the contention-based RACH procedure discussed herein.
Maamari does not disclose the final limitations of claim 2.
However, Ouchi discloses: determining the success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate based on a ratio of a number of the one or more acknowledgement messages received to a number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: Here, the ratio is comprised of the unsuccessful Msg4/Msg5 interaction to the success of the reception of Msg5.
Ouchi further discloses: updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: Here, the “parameters” would be the values of the CW and counter N.
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concepts of a code rate based on a ration and updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate and updating parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success as taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 3,
Maamari does not disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
However, Ouchi discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate further comprises: updating the one or more parameters to decrease the first code rate to the second code rate in response to determining that the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than the first threshold value and the determined success rate is less than a lower threshold success rate.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: When the first (“predetermined”) threshold is exceeded (“greater than”), the base station updates the parameter value CW in order to a minimum, which decreases the code rate because the window is lessened, leading to a lower success rate.
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concept of defining parameters to adjust code rates as taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 4,
Maamari does not disclose all the limitations of claim 4.
However, Ouchi discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the first code rate is decreased by a code rate decrease threshold amount.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: When the first (“predetermined”) threshold is exceeded (“greater than”), the base station updates the parameter value CW in order to a minimum, which decreases the code rate because the window is lessened.
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concept of decreasing a code rate by a threshold amount as taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 5,
Maamari does not disclose all the limitations of claim 5.
However, Ouchi discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate further comprises updating the one or more parameters to increase the first code rate to the second code rate in response to determining that the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a second threshold value and the determined success rate is greater than an upper threshold success rate.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: Even though the second threshold can be exceeded, a counter N can still be updated based on the reception of Msg5.
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concept of updating parameters to adjust code rates as taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 6,
Maamari does not disclose all the limitations of claim 6.
However, Ouchi discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the first code rate is increased by a code rate increase threshold amount.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: When the code rate is increased based on the success rate previously mentioned, the rate of reception of Msg5 exceeds the threshold.
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concept of increasing a code rate by an increased threshold amount as taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 7,
Maamari does not disclose all the limitations of claim 7.
However, Ouchi discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of RRC connection request messages from the plurality of first UE are received over a threshold time window, and wherein the CR message using the second code rate is generated in response to receiving a RRC connection request message from the second UE after the threshold time window.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: Here, the threshold is related to the contention window (CW), which is tied in to the overall Msg4/Msg5 interaction mentioned above.
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concept of generated a code rate based on an RRC connection request in a certain time window taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 8,
Maamari discloses: An apparatus for performing adaptive optimization of a contention resolution (CR) message by a radio access network (RAN) node, the apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
[0089] FIG. 4 illustrates a flow diagram of example operations 400 occurring in an access node participating in enhancing the coverage of the RACH procedure with the coverage enhancement indicator being transmitted in an information block.
receive a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) connection request messages from a plurality of first user equipment (UE), wherein each of the plurality of RRC connection request messages is received from a respective one of the plurality of first UE
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0071] Access node 110 receives the random access request and transmits a random access response to UE 120 (event 207). The random access response includes an identifier of the random access preamble (to identify the originator of the random access preamble (i.e., UE 120), timing information, an uplink transmission grant, and a network identifier assigned to UE 120. The random access response is transmitted over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
[0073] In order to have successful uplink synchronization and obtaining the uplink transmission grant for initial attachment, the messages described in the contention-based RACH procedure should not be coverage limited, which may be the case for REDCAP UEs due to the deployment of complexity reduction techniques being investigated. However, the coverage enhancement techniques (e.g., repetition in the time domain, lower MCS tables, and so on) discussed previously are not implemented until after the RACH procedures are complete and the UE is in the radio resource control connected (RRC connected) state.
send a plurality of CR messages using a first code rate to the plurality of first UE, in response to receiving the plurality of RRC connection request messages from the plurality of first UE, wherein each of the plurality of CR messages is sent to a respective one of the plurality of first UE
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0072] UE 120 transmits in the uplink in accordance with the uplink transmission grant (event 209). As an example, UE 120 transmits in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in accordance with the uplink transmission grant received in the random access response. Access node 110 transmits a contention resolution message (event 211).
Note: When the other UEs are obtaining to access the node, this action sets the “first code rate”.
update one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to a second code rate,
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
Note: The first code rate comes from RRC connected, where the parameters (number of repetitions) can use a different (lower) MCS (second code rate).
generate a CR message using the second code rate;
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
Maamari does not disclose update based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate; and send the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE.
Ouchi discloses update based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate; and send the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: The success rate is based on the reception of Msg5 (RRC Setup Complete) based on the CW (contention window). The “updating” occurs when multiple terminal apparatuses (UEs) in a certain time period need to adjust (“update”) the CW. In this vein, the first code rate and second code rate would relate to the predetermined threshold, where the first code rate would be from the lack of reception of Msg5 to be one code rate based on a particular CW, and “exceeding” a threshold results in a second code rate (due to Msg5 reception).
Maamari does not disclose wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate comprises determining whether the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a first threshold value.
However, Wu discloses wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate comprises determining whether the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a first threshold value.
[0046] According to the process 40, if the second cell can serve a codec rate higher than the first codec rate, the UE may not keep using the first codec rate after (or when) performing the RRC connection reestablishment procedure (or in response to the RRC connection reestablishment procedure). The UE may select the second codec rate, and encode the second plurality of packet more efficiently.
[0048] In one example of the step 410, the UE transmits the bit rate query to the second cell, when receiving a RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionReconfiguration) following the RRC connection reestablishment procedure. The RRC message configures the codec rate adaptation. The UE does not transmit the bit rate query to the second cell, when the RRC message does not configure the codec rate adaptation. In this case, the UE changes the codec rate according to its determination, after (or when) performing the RRC connection reestablishment procedure (or in response to the RRC connection reestablishment procedure). In one example, the UE determines to increase the first codec rate without receiving the second bit rate recommendation after the RRC connection reestablishment procedure in order to obtain a better voice/video quality (e.g., when a channel quality indicator or a signal strength/quality of the second cell is good (e.g., above a threshold)).
Maamari and Wu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concepts of updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate and sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE, as well as updating parameters to adjust code rates as taught by Wu so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 15,
Maamari discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing computer readable program code or instructions for carrying out operations, when executed by a processor, for adaptive optimization of a contention resolution (CR) message, the operations comprising:
[0089] FIG. 4 illustrates a flow diagram of example operations 400 occurring in an access node participating in enhancing the coverage of the RACH procedure with the coverage enhancement indicator being transmitted in an information block.
receiving a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) connection request messages from a plurality of first user equipment (UE), wherein each of the plurality of RRC connection request messages is received from a respective one of the plurality of first UE
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0071] Access node 110 receives the random access request and transmits a random access response to UE 120 (event 207). The random access response includes an identifier of the random access preamble (to identify the originator of the random access preamble (i.e., UE 120), timing information, an uplink transmission grant, and a network identifier assigned to UE 120. The random access response is transmitted over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
[0073] In order to have successful uplink synchronization and obtaining the uplink transmission grant for initial attachment, the messages described in the contention-based RACH procedure should not be coverage limited, which may be the case for REDCAP UEs due to the deployment of complexity reduction techniques being investigated. However, the coverage enhancement techniques (e.g., repetition in the time domain, lower MCS tables, and so on) discussed previously are not implemented until after the RACH procedures are complete and the UE is in the radio resource control connected (RRC connected) state.
sending a plurality of CR messages using a first code rate to the plurality of first UE, in response to receiving the plurality of RRC connection request messages from the plurality of first UE, wherein each of the plurality of CR messages is sent to a respective one of the plurality of first UE
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0072] UE 120 transmits in the uplink in accordance with the uplink transmission grant (event 209). As an example, UE 120 transmits in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in accordance with the uplink transmission grant received in the random access response. Access node 110 transmits a contention resolution message (event 211).
Note: When the other UEs are obtaining to access the node, this action sets the “first code rate”.
updating one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to a second code rate,
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
Note: The first code rate comes from RRC connected, where the parameters (number of repetitions) can use a different (lower) MCS (second code rate).
generating a CR message using the second code rate;
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
Maamari does not disclose updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate; and sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE.
Ouchi discloses update based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate; and send the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: The success rate is based on the reception of Msg5 (RRC Setup Complete) based on the CW (contention window). The “updating” occurs when multiple terminal apparatuses (UEs) in a certain time period need to adjust (“update”) the CW. In this vein, the first code rate and second code rate would relate to the predetermined threshold, where the first code rate would be from the lack of reception of Msg5 to be one code rate based on a particular CW, and “exceeding” a threshold results in a second code rate (due to Msg5 reception).
Maamari does not disclose wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate comprises determining whether the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a first threshold value.
However, Wu discloses wherein updating the one or more parameters to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate based on the determined success rate comprises determining whether the number of the plurality of RRC connection request messages received from the plurality of first UE is greater than a first threshold value.
[0046] According to the process 40, if the second cell can serve a codec rate higher than the first codec rate, the UE may not keep using the first codec rate after (or when) performing the RRC connection reestablishment procedure (or in response to the RRC connection reestablishment procedure). The UE may select the second codec rate, and encode the second plurality of packet more efficiently.
[0048] In one example of the step 410, the UE transmits the bit rate query to the second cell, when receiving a RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionReconfiguration) following the RRC connection reestablishment procedure. The RRC message configures the codec rate adaptation. The UE does not transmit the bit rate query to the second cell, when the RRC message does not configure the codec rate adaptation. In this case, the UE changes the codec rate according to its determination, after (or when) performing the RRC connection reestablishment procedure (or in response to the RRC connection reestablishment procedure). In one example, the UE determines to increase the first codec rate without receiving the second bit rate recommendation after the RRC connection reestablishment procedure in order to obtain a better voice/video quality (e.g., when a channel quality indicator or a signal strength/quality of the second cell is good (e.g., above a threshold)).
Maamari and Wu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concepts of updating based on a success rate corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate and sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE, as well as updating parameters to adjust code rates as taught by Wu so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 20,
Maamari discloses: The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a plurality of CR messages using the second code rate;
[0148] In an embodiment, the coverage enhancement technique is configured by default. That is, the uplink transmission transmitted by REDCAP UEs may then use the lower MCS table by default or use a default number of repetitions. In another embodiment, the default configuration (the REDCAP configuration) may then be changed to a different configuration, such as, for example, using a higher (or lower) number of repetition or using a different MCS table after being in RRC connected state. The contention resolution message transmitted by the access node may also use the lower MCS table or repetition as a default.
wherein each of the plurality of CR messages using the second code rate is sent to a respective one of the plurality of second UE.
[0070] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagram 200 of a prior art contention-based RACH procedure. The prior art contention-based RACH procedure from Release-15 is a four step procedure involving UE 120 and access node 110, where UE 120 is attempting to obtain initial access. The RACH procedure begins with UE 120 selecting and transmitting a random access request to access node 110, the random access request comprising a random access preamble (event 205). UE 120 randomly selects one of a plurality of random access preambles and transmits the selected random access preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion. Other UEs also attempting to obtain initial access may also random select random access preambles and transmit during the PRACH occasion, hence it is possible for a collision to occur.
[0072] UE 120 transmits in the uplink in accordance with the uplink transmission grant (event 209). As an example, UE 120 transmits in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in accordance with the uplink transmission grant received in the random access response. Access node 110 transmits a contention resolution message (event 211).
Maamari does not disclose sending the plurality of CR message using the second code rate to a plurality of second UE.
Ouchi discloses sending the plurality of CR message using the second code rate to a plurality of second UE.
[0315] In S7004 in FIG. 7, in a case that, after transmitting Msg4, the base station apparatus 3 considers reception of Ack (Msg5) corresponding to Msg4 to be unsuccessful (not successful), the base station apparatus 3 may adjust the value of the CW for determining the value of N.sub.init before transmitting or retransmitting Msg4 and before setting the N.sub.init to the value of the counter N corresponding to the channel access procedure performed before the transmission of Msg4. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In a case that Msg4 is transmitted to multiple terminal apparatuses 1 in a predetermined period, the base station apparatus 3 may determine whether the value of the CW is to be adjusted based on a success rate of the reception of Msg5. In other words, in a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds a predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may not adjust (maintain) the updated value of the CW. In a case that the success rate of the reception of Msg5 exceeds the predetermined threshold, the base station apparatus 3 may set the updated value of the CW to the CW.sub.min.
Note: The success rate is based on the reception of Msg5 (RRC Setup Complete) based on the CW (contention window). The “updating” occurs when multiple terminal apparatuses (UEs) in a certain time period need to adjust (“update”) the CW. In this vein, the first code rate and second code rate would relate to the predetermined threshold, where the first code rate would be from the lack of reception of Msg5 to be one code rate based on a particular CW, and “exceeding” a threshold results in a second code rate (due to Msg5 reception).
Maamari and Ouchi are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari to include the concept of sending the CR message using the second code rate to a second UE as taught by Ouchi so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maamari in view of Ouchi and Wu, held further in view of Newman and Massengill (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0205200), herein referred to as “Newman”.
Regarding Claim 21,
Maamari in view of Ouchi and Wu does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 21.
However, Newman discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein one or more parameters are updated to adjust the first code rate to the second code rate, based on a comparison of a success rate, corresponding to the plurality of CR messages using the first code rate, to a lower threshold success rate and an upper threshold success rate different from the lower threshold success rate.
[0036] In some embodiments, the waiting interval and/or the contention window may be adjustable. Such adjustments may be made according to the wireless traffic density or other conditions, since shorter delays are generally appropriate for low traffic densities and longer delays for high traffic densities. The delay parameters may be arranged for example to optimize the throughput or the message success rate or to minimize overall delays or other LAN performance metric. A lower limit and an upper limit may be set for each parameter, such as an upper and lower limit for the waiting interval, the contention window, and the entire backoff time, among other parameters.
Maamari in view of Ouchi, Wu, and Newman are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maamari in view of Ouchi and Wu to include the concepts of updating parameters to adjust code rates based on a comparison corresponding to contention resolution messages using a particular code rate to threshold success rates as taught by Newman so as to enhance communications among devices in the communication network and avoid potential collisions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to independent claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411