Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 07/16/2026. Claim 11 is amended. Claim 17 is canceled. Claims 13 and 19 – 20 remain withdrawn. Claims 11 – 12, 14 – 16, and 18 pending review in the current Office action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment is established below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 have been considered nut are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of prior art being used in the current rejection. Specifically, in the new grounds of rejection, a new primary reference, Hara (US PG Pub. 2015/0243950 A1) and teaching reference, Sakai (US PG Pub. 20150203339 A1), is relied upon to render obvious the claimed assembly for a traction battery of a motor vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 – 12 and 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (US PG Pub. 2015/0243950 A1) in view of Darbandi (DE102017218752A1, US PG Pub. equivalent: US20200227702A1 used as English Translation, cited in O.A. mailed 6/04/2026), Tadokoro (JP2010272518A, cited in O.A. mailed 01/14/202), and Sakai (US PG Pub. 2015/0203339 A1).
Regarding Claims 11 and 15 Hara discloses an assembly for a traction battery of a motor vehicle (accommodation case 2 for onboard battery 1, Fig. 1; [0003 – 0006];[0040 – 0041]), the assembly comprising at least one battery module (battery module 3, Figs. 2 and 6; [0040];[0068]) having a cell composite formed of a plurality of battery cells (refer to the battery cell stack formed from the plurality of cells 21 shown in Fig. 6; [0068 – 0069]); least one battery component, that is a further battery module (Claim 15), that is arranged in a vertical direction above the at least one battery module (Refer to the battery module(s) 3 located in upper accommodation unit 4 shown in Figs. 2 and 4; [0040];[0068]) such that the upper side of the cell composite {i.e. cells of battery module in lower accommodation unit 5} faces an underside of the at least one battery component {i.e. battery module included in upper tier} (Refer to position of batteries 21 shown in Fig. 4 and [0068]).
Annotated Fig. 6 showing apparent discharge duct structure in Hara.
The battery cells of the battery modules are shown to be prismatic/rectangular battery cells (Refer to Figs. 4 and 6 – 7). Furthermore, while not labeled, the battery module cover is shown to include what appears to be a discharge duct (Refer to annotated Fig. 6 above). Hara does not; however, teach the particulars of the battery cell structure and thus does not explicitly disclose wherein degassing regions of the battery cells are located on an upper side of the cell composite for release of hot gas from a cell housing of the battery cells.
However, since Hara appears to the battery module including a duct in the cover, which one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate/recognize to be for discharging battery cell gas discharge, and Darbandi, a prior art within the same field of endeavor {i.e. battery pack structures for vehicles} teaches the prismatic battery cells commonly include, at their top sides facing toward the cover device, respective degassing elements or ventilation elements via which a hot gas generated in the battery cell in the event of damage can be discharged from the battery cell ([0008]), one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, based on apparent battery type and Hara appearing to include a battery module degassing/ventilation element, the battery cells of Hara to necessarily and inherently include the claimed degassing regions located on an upper side of the cell composite for release of hot gas from a cell housing of the battery cells.
Hara further discloses a protective unit, that is Hara teaches accommodating each tier of battery modules in accommodation units 4 or 5 that have a function relating to the protecting the battery cells {e.g. reduce impact stress and prevent the occurrence of smoking or ignition resulting from damage to the battery modules} ([0097 – 0098]) having a trough shape in which the at least one battery component is accommodated (Refer to the rectangular trough shape of accommodation unit 4 and how the corresponding further battery module is included inside in Figs. 2 and 4).
Hara further discloses the protective unit (Refer to accommodation unit 4} comprising a sheet region, that is Hara teaches the accommodation unit including a inner partition wall 10 that has a substantially rectangular flat shape (Fig. 4; [0050]) and is arranged between an underside of the at least one battery component and upper side of the cell composite of the at least one battery module (Refer to how inner partition wall 10 is shown to be included between the upper battery module 3 and lower battery module 3 in Fig. 4).
Hara does not particularly disclose the sheet-region; however, to be a sheet-metal type protective region for protecting the at least one battery component from the hot gas of the at least one battery module.
Darbandi teaches a traction battery comprising a battery housing 4 for accommodating a plurality of cells and a cover device ([0028 – 0030]). The cover device is a plate composed of aluminum or sheet metal that includes heat resistant regions to protect against the hot gas emitted from the degassing elements 6 of the battery cells included in the housing ([0030 – 0032]). The cover device, by including heat resistant and fire resistant portions is taught to increase the safety of the battery ([0034]). Furthermore, Darbandi teaches that the structure of the cover device, in addition to the specific heat resistances of the grooves 13 and protruding regions 12, allow heat from the hot gas escaping the cells to propagate on the bottom side of the cover device without damaging it ([0030 – 0031]).
Since Hara as established above appears to include degassing/ventilation elements in the upper cover of their battery modules, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, in the event of cell malfunction, the battery modules included in the lower tier of the onboard battery to be capable of emitting gas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed to modify the inner partition wall 10 of Hara to be a metal-type sheet with heat-resistant structure for protection against emitted hot battery cell gas, as taught by Darbandi, and thus obtain the claimed sheet-metal protective region, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a partition wall as desired by Hara while also further improving the safety of the on-board battery by providing the partition wall with heat-resistance capabilities.
Hara further discloses the protective unit comprising a frame-type region which is connected to the protective region, that is Hara teaches the accommodation unit 4 further comprising side walls 7 and 9 which, by being side walls that form a rectangular cavity, read on being a frame-type region (Fig. 2 and 4; [0046]), and is connected to the inner partition wall {i.e. corresponds claimed protective region} via an upper joint 16 (Fig. 2; [0063];[0067]).
Hara does not explicitly disclose; however, wherein the frame-type region is a frame-type support region, the protective region, in order to reduce a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component {i.e. additional battery module(s) included in upper accommodation unit}, is arranged with a first spacing from the underside of the at least one battery component to form a first air gap, and further the at least one battery component is secured to the support region in a suspended arrangement to form the first air gap such that the first air gap extends along the entire underside of the at least one battery component.
Tadokoro teaches a battery pack including vertically stacked battery modules (Fig. 1 and 3; [0012]). Tadokoro further teaches arranging the battery modules in the stack so that a gap is formed between each module in the vertical direction (Fig. 3; [0018]). The gap allows for air flow between stacked modules so that, when heat is generated within the battery, heat exchange can occur between the air and the battery modules and the efficient cooling within the battery pack can be achieved ([0026 – 0029]).
Sakai teaches an battery pack 30 for an industrial vehicle where the battery modules are suspended via brackets 43 that are fixed to a weighted body 33 of the battery pack and the weighted body is essentially a side wall of the battery pack structure (Figs. 2 – 3; [0014 – 0016]; [0018 – 0020]).
Since Hara is also concerned with efficiently cooling the battery cells of the battery pack (It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to suspend the battery modules in the accommodation units of Hara via a bracket connected to a side walls 7 or 9, as taught by Sakai, in order to form an air gap between an upper and lower surface of the battery modules with a reasonable expectation of the success in mounting the batteries within the accommodation, as desired by Hara, while also achieving more efficient cooling of the battery modules within the accommodation unit, as taught by Tadokoro.
By mounting the battery modules as established above, the corresponding frame-type region in Hara also functions to support the cells by serving as a mounting surface, and thus reads on the claimed frame-type support region. Furthermore, since the battery modules are suspended over the inner partition wall 10 via a bracket that only engages with side frame of the battery module(s) (Refer to Sakai; Fig. 2; [0023]), modified Hara further provides the claimed structure of wherein the protective region is arranged with a first spacing from the underside of the at least one battery component {i.e. additional battery module(s) included in upper accommodation unit} to form a first air gap and wherein the at least one battery component is secured to the support region in a suspended arrangement to form the first air gap such that the first air gap extends along the entire underside of the at least one battery component (Refer to gap configuration shown in Tadokoro: Fig. 3 and Sakai: Figs 3 for example).
Modified Hara does not explicitly disclose the first spacing arranged in order to reduce a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component; however, the limitation “in order to reduce a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component” is intended use language. As such, the prior art must only be capable in its current state of operating as claimed [See MPEP 2144 and 2173(g)]. Therefore, since modified Hara teaches all of the positively recited structure: a traction battery assembly with a stacked arrangement of battery modules; a heat-resistant sheet metal-type protective region in between said modules {i.e. modified inner partition wall 10}; and a gap between the heat-resistant sheet metal-type protective region and battery module(s) included above the protective region due to the battery module(s) being suspended via a bracket that is fixed to the side walls {i.e. corresponds to claimed frame-type support region}, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the first spacing of modified Watanabe to be capable of reducing a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Hara discloses all limitations as set forth above. The corresponding sheet-metal type protective region of modified Hara {i.e. inner partition wall 10}, as established above includes the heat-resistant structure as taught by Darbandi. Specifically, the underside of the modified inner partition wall includes grooves 13 and protruding regions 12 of differing heat resistances to allow heat from the hot gas escaping the cells to propagate on the bottom side of the wall without damaging it (Darbandi: [0030 – 0032]). Therefore, by including such structure the corresponding protective region of modified Hara, on a side facing the upper surface of the cell composite, comprises a groove type-guide structure (Refer to underside of cover device 7 in Fig. 3 of Darbandi and region A formed by the cover over the cells in Fig. 4 of Watanabe) configured to capture and divert the hot gas.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Hara discloses all limitations as set forth above. The corresponding sheet-metal type protective region of modified Hara {i.e. inner partition wall 10}, as established above includes the heat-resistant structure as taught by Darbandi (Darbandi: [0032]); therefore, in modified Hara at least some areas of the protective regions comprises a heat-resistant material.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Hara discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Fig. 4, upper side of the battery modules included in lower accommodation unit is shown to be spaced apart from the underside of inner partition wall 10 {i.e. corresponds to claimed protective region}, as such in modified Hara, the protective region is also arranged with a second spacing from an upper side of the cell composite to form a second air gap.
Modified Hara does not explicitly disclose the second spacing arranged in order to reduce a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component; however, the limitation “in order to reduce a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component” is intended use language. As such, the prior art must only be capable in its current state of operating as claimed [See MPEP 2144 and 2173(g)]. Therefore, since modified Hara teaches all of the positively recited structure: a traction battery assembly with a stacked arrangement of battery modules; a heat-resistant sheet metal-type protective region in between said modules {i.e. modified inner partition wall 10}; and a gap between the heat-resistant sheet metal-type protective region and battery module(s) included above and below the protective region due to the battery module(s) being suspended via a bracket that is fixed to the side walls {i.e. corresponds to claimed frame-type support region}, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the second spacing of modified Watanabe to be capable of reducing a transfer of heat between the first battery module and the at least one battery component.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara (US PG Pub. 2015/0243950 A1), Darbandi (DE102017218752A1, US PG Pub. equivalent: US20200227702A1 used as English Translation), Tadokoro (JP2010272518A) and Sakai (US PG Pub. 2015/0203339 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Bachmann (DE102013015783A1, cited in O.A. mailed 06/04/2026) and Michelitsch (WO2012065855A1, cited in O.A. mailed 06/04/2026).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Hara discloses all limitations as set forth above. Hara further discloses the at least one battery component is configured in the form of at least one further battery module having a cell module frame for retention of the cell composite of the further battery module, that is Hara teaches and shows the battery modules of the onboard battery having a housing (Fig. 6; [0069 – 0072]). Furthermore, in modified Hara, the battery modules are suspended in the accommodation unit 4 via a bracket that connected to side walls 7/9 {i.e. corresponds to claimed support region} (Refer to Sakai; Fig. 2; [0023]).
Modified Hara does not explicitly disclose wherein the support region extends along tie-rods of the module frame, and retaining elements are arranged on the tie-rods, by way of which the at least one further battery module is secured to the support region.
Bachmann, directed to battery modules including prismatic battery cells, teaches using tie rods 72 in battery cell stack frame structures to secure cell blocks together under tension which allows for space-saving battery module designs (Fig. 3, [0011];[0029 – 0030]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module housing of Hara to include tie-rods, as taught by Bachmann, with a reasonable forming a battery module housing with reduced dead space within the housing/between the battery cells of the battery module housing (Bachmann: [0004 – 0005];[0030]).
To further render obvious the claimed tie-rod and support region configuration, the examiner further relies on the following teaching:
Michelitsch teaches a battery unit where the battery modules are firmly connected to the support parts of the housing structures, 4 – 6 and 15 – 16, via a plurality of tie rods 8 in a force-locking manner ([0030]). The connection of tie rods to the housing is taught by Michelitsch to secure fastening between the housing and battery module ([0013]).
Therefore, as the battery modules housing of modified Hara include tie-rods, it would have been further obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the cell module frame of modified Hara include a fastener on the tie rod to further secure the upper tier battery modules to the support region {i.e. side walls 7/9 of upper accommodation unit 4}, as taught by Michelitsch, and thus obtain the claimed configuration, with a reasonable expectation of success in further securing the battery modules within the accommodation unit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/29/2026