This action is in response to the amendment filed 27 August 2025. Claims 12, 14, 17, 19-20, 22, 24, 30, 32, 34 have been amended. Claims 1-11, 16, 23, 25, 29, 33 have been canceled. Claims 12-15, 17-22, 24, 26-28, 30-32, 34 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15, 17-22, 24, 26-28, 30-32, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2010/0262673 A1) in view of Belt et al. (US 7,293,269 B1) and further view of Harper (US 11,069,358 B1).
Claims 1-11. (Cancelled)
Claim 12. Chang discloses a first electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first electronic device to perform operations including:
displaying a first interface …, icons representing content information are displayed on the screen of a second terminal (first device) (P 0392, Fig 28(b)),
wherein the first interface comprises first icons of a first plurality of applications, …, a menu of functions are displayed on the interface of the second terminal (first device) to be executed on the content information (P 0392, Fig 28(b)) the menu function is executed on a first terminal (second device) (P 0394, 0395), and
a distance between the plurality of electronic devices and the first electronic device is … a … distance …, the first and second terminal (first device)s may be connected for short-range communication (P 0083) wherein the second terminal (first device) searches for a first terminal (second device) using methods including device inquiry of Bluetooth, service discovery, etc (P 0199);
sending a first message to the second electronic device in response to a second operation performed by the user on a first icon of a first application in the first icons of the first plurality of applications, if a user of the second terminal (first device) select a menu, the controller of the second terminal (first device) generates a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu and then transmits the generated request signal to a first terminal (second device) (P 0393),
wherein the first message … comprises the target data, the first application is in the second electronic device in the plurality of electronic devices, and the first message indicates to the second electronic device to process the target data in execution of the first application, the second terminal (first device) displays menus for executing functions of content information on the first terminal (second device) the second terminal (first device) generates a signal for requesting a function execution screen and then transmits the generated request signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0392) when a user on the second terminal (first device) selects a menu (P 0393) subsequently, the controller of the first terminal (second device) executes the content information and then transmits the screen information of the function of the selected function to the second terminal (first device) (P 0394) and the second terminal (first device) displays the result of the executed function on the content information received from the first terminal (second device) (P 0395) It is clear that the user selects a menu on the first device and a signal is sent to the second device, and a function is executed on the second device.
Chang does not disclose obtaining target data; in response to a first operation performed by a user on the target data: sending information about the target data to a plurality of electronic devices, the information indicating a file type of the target data based on a file extension of the target data, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Belt discloses a user selects one or more documents or files on a first computer (C 2 L 59-61) a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42) applications needed to execute the selected files is identified (C 7 L 50-57) a listed of needed applications is transmitted to a migration engine (C 8 L 5-11) (stored on a remote computer, C 4 L 31-34) any application not installed locally is installed to the local computer (C 12-14) from a second computer (Claim 1). Chang discloses displaying the icons of a plurality of application. Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang and Belt, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine obtaining target data; in response to a first operation performed by a user on the target data: sending information about the target data to a plurality of electronic devices, the information indicating a file type of the target data based on a file extension of the target data with the teachings of Chang with the motivation to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not explicitly disclose receiving icons of a plurality of applications from the plurality of electronic devices, the plurality of applications comprise applications that are in the plurality of electronic devices and related to the target data; displaying identifiers of the plurality of electronic devices, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses menu execution icons are displayed (P 0151) (second terminal 200 is the first electronic device, first terminal 100 is the second electronic device, third terminal is other of plurality of devices) the second terminal (first electronic device) is connected to each of the first terminal (second electronic device) and the third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) (P 0188 Fig 9) a user on the second terminal (first electronic device) selects a menu (P 0392) the second terminal (first electronic device) generates and sends to the first terminal (second electronic device) a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu (P 0393). That is, the first terminal (second electronic device) includes the execution functions applicable to the content received by the second terminal (first electronic device) from the first terminal (second electronic device). Chang further discloses disclose content displayed on the first terminal (second electronic device) is displayed as icons on the second terminal (first electronic device) the second terminal (first electronic device) displays menus for executing functions of the content (P 0392) screen representations for the first terminal (second electronic device) and third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) are displayed on the screen of the second terminal (first electronic device) (P 0534-0535 Fig 58). In the same field of invention, Harper discloses an application executing on the mobile device prompts the user to provide input as to whether a command should be performed, and which device is to perform the command (C 10 L 64-67) the mobile device includes periphery IDs connected to the mobile device (C 16 L 62 – C 15 L 14). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving icons of a plurality of applications from the plurality of electronic devices, the plurality of applications comprise applications that are in the plurality of electronic devices and related to the target data; displaying identifiers of the plurality of electronic devices with the teachings of Chang and Belt with the motivation to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose displaying a first interface in response to a selection operation performed by the user on an identifier of a second electronic device in the identifiers of the plurality of electronic devices, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang disclose menu execution icons are displayed (P 0151) (second terminal 200 is the first electronic device, first terminal 100 is the second electronic device device, third terminal is other of plurality of devices) the second terminal (first electronic device) is connected to each of the first terminal (second electronic device) and the third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) (P 0188 Fig 9) content displayed on the first terminal (second electronic device) is displayed as icons on the second termina (first electronic device) the second terminal (first electronic device) displays menus for executing functions of the content (P 0392) screen representations for the first terminal (second electronic device) and third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) are displayed on the screen of the second terminal (first electronic device) (P 0534-0535 Fig 58). Harper discloses an application executing on the mobile device prompts the user to provide input as to whether a command should be performed, and which device is to perform the command (C 10 L 64-67) the mobile device includes periphery IDs connected to the mobile device (C 16 L 62 – C 15 L 14). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine displaying a first interface in response to a selection operation performed by the user on an identifier of a second electronic device in the identifiers of the plurality of electronic devices with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose after the sending the information about the target data, displaying a first interface … the first icons only include icons of the applications … related to the file type of the target data, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses information about content is transmitted from a second terminal (first device) to a first terminal (second device) and a notification in graphical form (an icon) with a shape representing the content (target data) is displayed on the second device (P 0377-0379, 0386-0392, Fig 25-28) a menu of functions are displayed on the interface of the second terminal (first device) to be executed on the content information (P 0392, Fig 28(b)) the menu function is executed on a first terminal (second device) (P 0394, 0395). It is clear that the representation of the notification is determined after the content is sent. Belt discloses a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) the document identification engine (DIE) may also be triggered manually by the user from the control panel, start menu, or otherwise (C 7 L 29-31) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine after the sending the information about the target data, displaying a first interface … the icons received from the one or more electronic devices based on the information about the target data such that the icons of the plurality of applications only include icons of the applications … related to the file type of the target data with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose icons of applications (1) that are not installed in the first electronic device and (2) that are in the second electronic device and (3) and related to the file type of the target data as the only application icons displayed in the first interface, as disclosed in the claims. Chang discloses Chang discloses menu execution icons are displayed (P 0151) (second terminal 200 is the first electronic device, first terminal 100 is the second electronic device, third terminal is other of plurality of devices) the second terminal (first electronic device) is connected to each of the first terminal (second electronic device) and the third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) (P 0188 Fig 9) a user on the second terminal (first electronic device) selects a menu (P 0392) the second terminal (first electronic device) generates and sends to the first terminal (second electronic device) a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu (P 0393). That is, the first terminal (second electronic device) includes the execution functions applicable to the content received by the second terminal (first electronic device) from the first terminal (second electronic device). Chang further discloses icons representing different content types are displayed on a first terminal (second device) and a notification of the icons are transmitted to a second terminal (first device) having generated notification information (P 0388) the content comprising an image file, a document file and a phonebook (P 0389) when a user selects a menu item corresponding to a particular content item on the second terminal (first device) the second terminal (first device) transmits a signal for a menu function signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0393) the first terminal (second device) transmits the content to the second terminal (first device). Belt discloses a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) the document identification engine (DIE) may also be triggered manually by the user from the control panel, start menu, or otherwise (C 7 L 29-31) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42). Belt discloses transferring only those applications for the listed types of files from the remote, or second, computer, to the first computer. Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine icons of applications (1) that are not installed in the first electronic device and (2) that are in the second electronic device and (3) and related to the file type of the target data as the only application icons displayed in the first interface with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose a distance between the one or more electronic devices and the first electronic device is less than a preset distance threshold, as disclosed in the claims. However, Harper discloses a user may issue voice commands to a communication device (C 2 L 20-30) communication with a communication device is triggered when the user is within a threshold of a location (house) (C 3 L 40-47) a determination is made if the user is in an environment (car, home) with an audio device suitable for audio interaction (within a home) (C 4 L 58 – C 5 L 9) data is sent from a network-based device in response to the voice command (C 24 L 14-21). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine a distance between the one or more electronic devices and the first electronic device is less than a preset distance threshold with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not explicitly disclose in response to a second account logged in to on the second electronic device and a first account logged in to on the first electronic device not being associated accounts, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) if the device information of the second terminal (first device) fails to exist on the access authentication device information list, the controller of the first terminal (second device) displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of an access permission of the second terminal (first device) on the screen of the display unit (P 0195) if `access permitted` is selected from the selection window, the controller provides a user with an authentication process for the access of the second terminal (first device) (P 0196) wherein the authentication device information list refers to a device information list of external devices having been connected to the second terminal (first device) or communications through authentication processes (P 0411). Chang does not disclose whether or not logged account for the first and second terminal (first device) are associated accounts, however, it would be obvious to add this to Chang. As noted above, the menu functions in Fig 28(b) of Chang are executed from the first terminal (second device). Belt discloses that the second, or remote, computer is a web, file server, MAPI store, etc (C 5 L 66 – C 6 L 3). Harper discloses the remote system may include different user ID/accounts (C 17 L 39-43). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine in response to a second account logged in to on a second electronic device and a first account logged in to on the first electronic device not being associated accounts with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose after the displaying the first interface, sending, to the second electronic device, a query message querying whether a first application can be invoked across devices, and receiving, from the second electronic device, a response message responding to the query message, the response message indicating that the first application can be invoked across devices based on a second distance between the user of the second electronic device and the second electronic device being less than a second preset distance threshold using at least one of voice recognition or face recognition; based on the response message, sending a first message to the second electronic device, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses the second terminal (first device) is able to control operations of any and all menu functions, or other icons or buttons of the first terminal (second device) (this implies that the first device is limited to controlling menu functions, icons and/or buttons available on the second device) (P 0187) the first terminal transmits a signal for querying a presence or non-presence of a communication connection with the third terminal to the second terminal (P 0569) if the query signal is received from the first terminal, the second terminal displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of a communication connection with the third terminal on the screen (P 0570) and Harper discloses a user may issue voice commands to a communication device (C 2 L 20-30) using speech recognition and natural language understanding (C 2 L 34-40) communication with a communication device is triggered when the user is within a threshold of a location (house) (C 3 L 40-47) a determination is made if the user is in an environment (car, home) with an audio device suitable for audio interaction (within a home) (C 4 L 58 – C 5 L 9) data is sent from a network-based device in response to the voice command (C 24 L 14-21). Harper further discloses a push notification from a remote system requests data including what type of service the remote system would like to “wake up” on the mobile device, including additional data that would allow the session to resume a particular interaction session from another device, or another application on the same phone, or to connect or disconnect from a particular accessory or peripheral (C 8 L 25-35) an application executing on the mobile device prompts the user to provide input as to whether a command should be performed, and which device is to perform the command (C 10 L 64-67) the mobile device includes periphery IDs connected to the mobile device (C 16 L 62 – C 15 L 14). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine after the displaying the first interface, sending, to the second electronic device, a query message querying whether a first application can be invoked across devices, and receiving, from the second electronic device, a response message responding to the query message, the response message indicating that the first application can be invoked across devices based on a second distance between the user of the second electronic device and the second electronic device being less than a second preset distance threshold using at least one of voice recognition or face recognition; based on the response message, sending a first message to the second electronic device with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Chang does not disclose wherein the first message from the first electronic device to the second electronic device comprises the target data, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses information about content is transmitted from a second terminal (first device) to a first terminal (second device) and a notification in graphical form (an icon) with a shape representing the content (target data) is displayed on the second device (P 0377-0379, 0386-0392, Fig 25-28) a menu of functions are displayed on the interface of the second terminal (first device) to be executed on the content information (P 0392, Fig 28(b)) the menu function is executed on a first terminal (second device) (P 0394, 0395). It is clear that the representation of the notification is determined after the content is sent. Belt discloses a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) the document identification engine (DIE) may also be triggered manually by the user from the control panel, start menu, or otherwise (C 7 L 29-31) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first message from the first electronic device to the second electronic device comprises the target data with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Claim 13. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, and Chang discloses:
wherein the first application is a social application, content information including a text, an image, a received message, contact information within a phonebook, an audio file, a photo file, a video file, a game file, schedule information, a document file, an electronic dictionary file, a calculator file, webpage address information and the like (P 0301) and a notification can be sent from a first terminal (second device) to a second terminal (first device) (these are all social communications between users) (P 0303), the sending the first message comprising:
displaying a second interface in response to the second operation performed by the user on the icon of the first application, wherein the second interface comprises a plurality of contact options of the first application, and each contact option is corresponding to one contact in the first application, when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) a content item displayed on the second terminal (first device) is a contact icon () and the user may select a contact menu option to contact a user (P 0396, 0397, Fig 28).
Chang discloses the content comprising an image file, a document file and a phonebook (P 0389) when a user selects a menu item (view phonebook) corresponding to a particular content item on the second terminal (first device) the second terminal (first device) transmits a signal for a menu function signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0393) to generate a signal for indicating contact information to send a message (P 0399) and Belt discloses a user selects one or more documents or files on a first computer (C 2 L 59-61) a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42) applications needed to execute the selected files is identified (C 7 L 50-57) a listed of needed applications is transmitted to a migration engine (C 8 L 5-11) (stored on a remote computer, C 4 L 31-34) any application not installed locally is installed to the local computer (C 12-14) from a second computer (Claim 1). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine sending the first message to the second electronic device in response to a third operation performed by the user on a first contact option in the second interface, wherein the first message further comprises the first account, the first account is an account of a contact corresponding to the first contact option, and the first message indicates to the second electronic device to send the target data to the first account by using the first application with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Claim 14. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, and Chang discloses wherein the information about the target data includes indication information of the file type of the target data, a notification is displayed on the second terminal (first device) (P 0348, 0349) and a user selects the notification, a signal for requesting an event relevant screen corresponding to the selected second notification information is generated and transmitted to the first terminal (second device) (P 0353) and the first terminal (second device) transmits the event relevant screen to the second terminal (first device) (P 0356) the event notification information including heterogeneous content (P 0388) representing different file types such as an image file, a document file, and a phonebook (P 0389).
Claim 15. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 14, and Chang further discloses wherein the first interface further comprises an identifier of an electronic device corresponding to each of the plurality of applications, when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) each of the relevant application are identified by the name of the type of application, e.g. image viewer, document viewer and phonebook view (Fig. 28(b)).
Claim 16. Canceled.
Claim 17. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, and Chang discloses wherein the applications in the plurality of applications that are in the plurality of electronic devices and that are related to the target data are not installed in the first electronic device, menu execution icons are displayed (P 0151) (second terminal 200 is the first electronic device, first terminal 100 is the second electronic device, third terminal is other of plurality of devices) the second terminal (first electronic device) is connected to each of the first terminal (second electronic device) and the third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) (P 0188 Fig 9) a user on the second terminal (first electronic device) selects a menu (P 0392) the second terminal (first electronic device) generates and sends to the first terminal (second electronic device) a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu (P 0393) and Chang further discloses if a user of the second terminal (first device) select a menu, the controller of the second terminal (first device) generates a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu and then transmits the generated request signal to a first terminal (second device) (P 0393) subsequently, the controller of the first terminal (second device) executes the content information and then transmits the screen information of the function of the selected function to the second terminal (first device) (P 0394) and the second terminal (first device) displays the result of the executed function on the content information received from the first terminal (second device) (P 0395).
Claim 18. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, and Chang discloses wherein the icons of the plurality of applications further comprise an icon of an application that is in the first electronic device and related to the target data, each of the icons on the display in Fig 28(b) represent both the type of content and the function to be executed on the content, and the menu items explicitly describe the functions to be used to process the content items (P 0387-0404, Fig 28(a)-(c)).
Claim 19. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, and Chang further discloses when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) if the device information of the second terminal (first device) fails to exist on the access authentication device information list, the controller of the first terminal (second device) displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of an access permission of the second terminal (first device) on the screen of the display unit (P 0195) if `access permitted` is selected from the selection window, the controller provides a user with an authentication process for the access of the second terminal (first device) (P 0196) wherein the authentication device information list refers to a device information list of external devices having been connected to the second terminal (first device) or communications through authentication processes (P 0411). Chang does not disclose whether or not logged account for the first and second terminal (first device)s are associated accounts, however, it would be obvious to add this to Chang. As noted above, the menu functions in Fig 28(b) of Chang are executed from the first terminal (second device). Belt discloses that the second, or remote, computer is a web, file server, MAPI store, etc (C 5 L 66 – C 6 L 3). Harper discloses the remote system may include different user ID/accounts (C 17 L 39-43). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the displaying the first interface comprising: based on that the second account logged in to on the second electronic device and the first account logged in to on the first electronic device are not associated accounts, performing identity authentication on the user of the first electronic device; and if the identity authentication succeeds, displaying, by the first electronic device, the first interface with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Claim 20. Chang discloses a second electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second electronic device to perform operations including:
receiving indication information indicating a file type of target data from a first electronic device, a notification is displayed on the second terminal (first device) (P 0348, 0349) and a user selects the notification, a signal for requesting an event relevant screen corresponding to the selected second notification information is generated and transmitted to the first terminal (second device) (P 0353) and the first terminal (second device) transmits the event relevant screen to the second terminal (first device) (P 0356) the event notification information including heterogeneous content (P 0388) representing different file types such as an image file, a document file, and a phonebook (P 0389) Note: In Chang, the second terminal (first device) notifies the first terminal (second device) of an event related to a file type and a function, then the first terminal (second device) responds to the notification from the second terminal (first device), whereas the indication in Belt is provided by the user of the first terminal (second device) without any initial notification from the second terminal (first device), however, the claim does not prevent the first terminal (second device) from responding to an initial message from the second terminal (first device);
based on the indication information of the file type, information about content is transmitted from a second terminal (first device) to a first terminal (second device) and a notification in graphical form (an icon) with a shape representing the content (target data) is displayed on the second device (P 0377-0379, 0386-0392, Fig 25-28) a menu of functions are displayed on the interface of the second terminal (first device) to be executed on the content information (P 0392, Fig 28(b)) the menu function is executed on a first terminal (second device) (P 0394, 0395). It is clear that the representation of the notification is determined after the content is sent,
sending an icon of at least one application to the first electronic device, wherein the at least one application comprises an application related to the target data in the second electronic device, the first terminal (second device) transmits the event relevant screen to the second terminal (first device) (P 0356) the event notification information including heterogeneous content (P 0388) representing different file types such as an image file, a document file, and a phonebook (P 0389) a menu of functions are displayed on the interface of the second terminal (first device) to be executed on the content information (P 0392, Fig 28(b)) the menu function is executed on a first terminal (second device) (P 0394, 0395), and
a distance between the second electronic device and the first electronic device is … a … threshold, the first and second terminal (first device) may be connected for short-range communication (P 0083) wherein the second terminal (first device) searches for a first terminal (second device) using methods including device inquiry of Bluetooth, service discovery, etc (P 0199); and
receiving a first message from the first electronic device, and processing the target data by using the first application, if a user of the second terminal (first device) select a menu, the controller of the second terminal (first device) generates a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu and then transmits the generated request signal to a first terminal (second device) (P 0393),
wherein the first message … comprises the target data, the first application is in the at least one application, and the first message indicates to the second electronic device to process the target data in the execution of the first application, the second terminal (first device) displays menus for executing functions of content information on the first terminal (second device) the second terminal (first device) generates a signal for requesting a function execution screen and then transmits the generated request signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0392) (P 0393) subsequently, the controller of the first terminal (second device) executes the content information and then transmits the screen information of the function of the selected function to the second terminal (first device) (P 0394) and the second terminal (first device) displays the result of the executed function on the content information received from the first terminal (second device) (P 0395) It is clear that the user selects a menu on the first device and a signal is sent to the second device, and a function is executed on the second device.
Chang does not disclose the target data originally obtained by the first electronic device, the file type of the target data being based on a file extension of the target data, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Belt discloses a user selects one or more documents or files on a first computer (C 2 L 59-61) a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42) applications needed to execute the selected files is identified (C 7 L 50-57) a listed of needed applications is transmitted to a migration engine (C 8 L 5-11) (stored on a remote computer, C 4 L 31-34) any application not installed locally is installed to the local computer (C 12-14) from a second computer (Claim 1). Chang discloses displaying the icons of a plurality of application. Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang and Belt, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine obtaining target data; in response to a first operation performed by a user on the target data: sending information about the target data to one or more electronic devices, the information indicating a file type of the target data based on a file extension of the target data with the teachings of Chang with the motivation to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose a distance between the second electronic device and the first electronic device is less than a preset distance threshold, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Harper discloses a user may issue voice commands to a communication device (C 2 L 20-30) communication with a communication device is triggered when the user is within a threshold of a location (house) (C 3 L 40-47) a determination is made if the user is in an environment (car, home) with an audio device suitable for audio interaction (within a home) (C 4 L 58 – C 5 L 9) data is sent from a network-based device in response to the voice command (C 24 L 14-21). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine a distance between the one or more electronic devices and the first electronic device is less than a preset distance threshold with the teachings of Chang and Belt with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not explicitly disclose in response to a second account logged in to on a second electronic device and a first account logged in to on the first electronic device not being associated accounts, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) if the device information of the second terminal (first device) fails to exist on the access authentication device information list, the controller of the first terminal (second device) displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of an access permission of the second terminal (first device) on the screen of the display unit (P 0195) if `access permitted` is selected from the selection window, the controller provides a user with an authentication process for the access of the second terminal (first device) (P 0196) wherein the authentication device information list refers to a device information list of external devices having been connected to the second terminal (first device) or communications through authentication processes (P 0411). Chang does not disclose whether or not logged account for the first and second terminal (first device) are associated accounts, however, it would be obvious to add this to Chang. As noted above, the menu functions in Fig 28(b) of Chang are executed from the first terminal (second device). Belt discloses that the second, or remote, computer is a web, file server, MAPI store, etc (C 5 L 66 – C 6 L 3). Harper discloses the remote system may include different user ID/accounts (C 17 L 39-43). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine in response to a second account logged in to on a second electronic device and a first account logged in to on the first electronic device not being associated accounts with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49) and the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Chang does not disclose receiving, from the first electronic device, a query message querying whether a first application can be invoked across devices; sending, to the first electronic device, a response message responding to the query message, the response message indicating that the first application can be invoked across devices based on a second distance between a user of the second electronic device and the second electronic device being less than a second preset distance threshold using at least one of voice recognition or face recognition, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses the second terminal (first device) is able to control operations of any and all menu functions, or other icons or buttons of the first terminal (second device) (this implies that the first device is limited to controlling menu functions, icons and/or buttons available on the second device) (P 0187) the first terminal transmits a signal for querying a presence or non-presence of a communication connection with the third terminal to the second terminal (P 0569) if the query signal is received from the first terminal, the second terminal displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of a communication connection with the third terminal on the screen (P 0570) and Harper discloses a user may issue voice commands to a communication device (C 2 L 20-30) using speech recognition and natural language understanding (C 2 L 34-40) communication with a communication device is triggered when the user is within a threshold of a location (house) (C 3 L 40-47) a determination is made if the user is in an environment (car, home) with an audio device suitable for audio interaction (within a home) (C 4 L 58 – C 5 L 9) data is sent from a network-based device in response to the voice command (C 24 L 14-21). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving, from the first electronic device, a query message querying whether a first application can be invoked across devices; sending, to the first electronic device, a response message responding to the query message, the response message indicating that the first application can be invoked across devices based on a second distance between a user of the second electronic device and the second electronic device being less than a second preset distance threshold using at least one of voice recognition or face recognition with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving, from the first electronic device, a query message querying whether a first application can be invoked across devices; sending, to the first electronic device, a response message responding to the query message, the response message indicating that the first application can be invoked across devices based on a second distance between a user of the second electronic device and the second electronic device being less than a second preset distance threshold using at least one of voice recognition or face recognition with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Chang does not disclose wherein the first message from the first electronic device to the second electronic device comprises the target data, as disclosed in the claims. However, Chang discloses information about content is transmitted from a second terminal (first device) to a first terminal (second device) and a notification in graphical form (an icon) with a shape representing the content (target data) is displayed on the second device (P 0377-0379, 0386-0392, Fig 25-28) a menu of functions are displayed on the interface of the second terminal (first device) to be executed on the content information (P 0392, Fig 28(b)) the menu function is executed on a first terminal (second device) (P 0394, 0395). It is clear that the representation of the notification is determined after the content is sent. Belt discloses a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) the document identification engine (DIE) may also be triggered manually by the user from the control panel, start menu, or otherwise (C 7 L 29-31) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first message from the first electronic device to the second electronic device comprises the target data with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Claim 21. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose a second electronic device according to claim 20, and Chang discloses: wherein the first application is a social application, content information including a text, an image, a received message, contact information within a phonebook, an audio file, a photo file, a video file, a game file, schedule information, a document file, an electronic dictionary file, a calculator file, webpage address information and the like (P 0301) and a notification can be sent from a first terminal (second device) to a second terminal (first device) (these are all social communications between users) (P 0303). Chang discloses a content item displayed on the second terminal (first device) is a contact icon () and the user may select a contact menu option to contact a user (P 0396, 0397, Fig 28) the content comprising an image file, a document file and a phonebook (P 0389) when a user selects a menu item (view phonebook) corresponding to a particular content item on the second terminal (first device) the second terminal (first device) transmits a signal for a menu function signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0393) to generate a signal for indicating contact information to send a message (P 0399). Belt discloses a user selects one or more documents or files on a first computer (C 2 L 59-61) a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42) applications needed to execute the selected files is identified (C 7 L 50-57) a listed of needed applications is transmitted to a migration engine (C 8 L 5-11) (stored on a remote computer, C 4 L 31-34) any application not installed locally is installed to the local computer (C 12-14) from a second computer (Claim 1). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the operations further including: sending information about a plurality of contacts in the first application to the first electronic device, wherein the information about the plurality of contacts indicates to display a plurality of contact options of the first application, and each contact option is corresponding to one contact in the first application with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Claim 22. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the second electronic device according to claim 20, and Chang discloses when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) if the device information of the second terminal (first device) fails to exist on the access authentication device information list, the controller of the first terminal (second device) displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of an access permission of the second terminal (first device) on the screen of the display unit (P 0195) if `access permitted` is selected from the selection window, the controller provides a user with an authentication process for the access of the second terminal (first device) (P 0196) a content item displayed on the second terminal (first device) is a contact icon () and the user may select a contact menu option to contact a user (P 0396, 0397, Fig 28). Chang does not disclose whether or not logged account for the first and second terminal (first device) are associated accounts, however, it would be obvious to add this to Chang. As noted above, the menu functions in Fig 28(b) of Chang are executed from the first terminal (second device). Belt discloses that the second, or remote, computer is a web, file server, MAPI store, etc (C 5 L 66 – C 6 L 3). Harper discloses the remote system may include different user ID/accounts (C 17 L 39-43). Therefore, considering the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the first message further comprises the first account, and the operations further including: receiving the first message from the first electronic device, and sending the target data to the first account by using the first application with the teachings of Chang, Belt and Harper with the motivation in order to allow the user to allow the user to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device (Belt: C 1 L 42-49).
Claim 23. (Cancelled)
Claim(s) 24, 26, 27, 28, 30, 31 is/are directed to non-transitory computer readable medium claim(s) similar to the electronic device claim(s) of Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 25, 29. (Cancelled)
Claim(s) 32 is/are directed to non-transitory computer readable medium claim(s) similar to the electronic device claim(s) of Claim(s) 19 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 33. (Canceled).
Claim 34. Chang, Belt and Harper disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, and Chang discloses wherein a result of processing the target data is displayed or played on the second electronic device, and wherein the target data in the first message from the first electronic device to the second device is at least one of audio data, video data, image data, or document data, the content executed on the first terminal (second device) can be a document file or an image file (P 0389) the second terminal (first device) displays menus for executing functions of content information on the first terminal (second device) the second terminal (first device) generates a signal for requesting a function execution screen and then transmits the generated request signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0392) when a user on the second terminal (first device) selects a menu (P 0393) subsequently, the controller of the first terminal (second device) executes the content information and then transmits the screen information of the function of the selected function to the second terminal (first device) (P 0394) and the second terminal (first device) displays the result of the executed function on the content information received from the first terminal (second device) (P 0395) It is clear that the user selects a menu on the first device and a signal is sent to the second device, and a function is executed on the second device, wherein the function executed on the first terminal (second device) can be on a document or an image file; Belt has been combined with Chang for the limitations directed to messages transmitted from the first electronic device to the second electronic device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
The applied references do not disclose that the claimed sending the query message and receiving the response message are “in response to the second account logged in to on a second electronic device and a first account logged in to on the first electronic device not being associated accounts.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As the examiner explained, Chang discloses when the first terminal (second device) sends an access request to the second terminal (first device), the second terminal (first device) checks whether the second terminal (first device) is an accessible device by being authenticated in advance (P 0191) and if the first terminal (second device) is on an access authentication device information list, the first terminal (second device) may access the second terminal (first device) (P 0192) if the device information of the second terminal (first device) fails to exist on the access authentication device information list, the controller of the first terminal (second device) displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of an access permission of the second terminal (first device) on the screen of the display unit (P 0195) if `access permitted` is selected from the selection window, the controller provides a user with an authentication process for the access of the second terminal (first device) (P 0196) wherein the authentication device information list refers to a device information list of external devices having been connected to the second terminal (first device) or communications through authentication processes (P 0411). Chang does not disclose whether or not logged account for the first and second terminal (first device) are associated accounts, however, it would be obvious to add this to Chang. As noted above, the menu functions in Fig 28(b) of Chang are executed from the first terminal (second device). Belt discloses that the second, or remote, computer is a web, file server, MAPI store, etc (C 5 L 66 – C 6 L 3). Harper discloses the remote system may include different user ID/accounts (C 17 L 39-43).
Nothing in Chang precludes the first and third terminals being devices of different users. The examiner is asserting that it would have been obvious to add this capability to Chang. Harper explicitly disclose that different user accounts may be hosted on the remote system. The examiner provided a motivation to add this functionality to Chang, specifically, that this functionality would allow the user of Chang to have more control over displaying desired menu functions for specific situations and to provide more flexibility by providing access to applications not available on a user’s device as provided by Belt (C 1 L 42-49). Sharing content among different users is well-known in the art. The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. identified applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
The applicant argues:
The applied references do not disclose the claimed sending the query message and receiving the response message.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chang discloses the second terminal (first device) is able to control operations of any and all menu functions, or other icons or buttons of the first terminal (second device) (this implies that the first device is limited to controlling menu functions, icons and/or buttons available on the second device) (P 0187) the first terminal transmits a signal for querying a presence or non-presence of a communication connection with the third terminal to the second terminal (P 0569) if the query signal is received from the first terminal, the second terminal displays a selection window for selecting a presence or non-presence of a communication connection with the third terminal on the screen (P 0570) and Harper discloses a user may issue voice commands to a communication device (C 2 L 20-30) using speech recognition and natural language understanding (C 2 L 34-40) communication with a communication device is triggered when the user is within a threshold of a location (house) (C 3 L 40-47) a determination is made if the user is in an environment (car, home) with an audio device suitable for audio interaction (within a home) (C 4 L 58 – C 5 L 9) data is sent from a network-based device in response to the voice command (C 24 L 14-21). Harper further discloses a push notification from a remote system requests data including what type of service the remote system would like to “wake up” on the mobile device, including additional data that would allow the session to resume a particular interaction session from another device, or another application on the same phone, or to connect or disconnect from a particular accessory or peripheral (C 8 L 25-35) an application executing on the mobile device prompts the user to provide input as to whether a command should be performed, and which device is to perform the command (C 10 L 64-67) the mobile device includes periphery IDs connected to the mobile device (C 16 L 62 – C 15 L 14).
It is clear that second, or remote, devices in each of Chang and Harper query other devices for the execution of specific menu functions, or services tied to the specific other devices.
The applicant argues:
The applied references do not disclose the claimed “the first icons only include icons of applications (1) that are not installed in the first electronic device and (2) that are in the second electronic device ... as the only application icons displayed in the first interface.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chang discloses Chang discloses menu execution icons are displayed (P 0151) (second terminal 200 is the first electronic device, first terminal 100 is the second electronic device, third terminal is other of plurality of devices) the second terminal (first electronic device) is connected to each of the first terminal (second electronic device) and the third terminal (other of the plurality of electronic devices) (P 0188 Fig 9) a user on the second terminal (first electronic device) selects a menu (P 0392) the second terminal (first electronic device) generates and sends to the first terminal (second electronic device) a signal for requesting a function execution screen of the menu (P 0393). That is, the first terminal (second electronic device) includes the execution functions applicable to the content received by the second terminal (first electronic device) from the first terminal (second electronic device). Chang further discloses icons representing different content types are displayed on a first terminal (second device) and a notification of the icons are transmitted to a second terminal (first device) having generated notification information (P 0388) the content comprising an image file, a document file and a phonebook (P 0389) when a user selects a menu item corresponding to a particular content item on the second terminal (first device) the second terminal (first device) transmits a signal for a menu function signal to the first terminal (second device) (P 0393) the first terminal (second device) transmits the content to the second terminal (first device). Belt discloses a user may modify their selection of documents (C 6 L 56-57) the document identification engine (DIE) may also be triggered manually by the user from the control panel, start menu, or otherwise (C 7 L 29-31) a list of selected files is created including files stored locally and files to be stored locally if they are not already stored (C 7 L 32-34) the files identified by file extension (C 7 L 39-42). Belt discloses transferring only those applications for the listed types of files from the remote, or second, computer, to the first computer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145
11/3/2025
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145