DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (WO 2020/045924 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 04/14/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (WO 2020/045924 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2022/0017544 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2020/045924 A1 (herein referred to as “Yoon et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
Yoon et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
([0009]) where L1-2 = independently direct bond (among others) and B1-2 = independently -NR6R7 (where R6-7 = independently substituted or unsubstituted aryl and heteroaryl (among others)) ([0015]-[0017]); “substituted or unsubstituted” means being unsubstituted or substituted with “one or more substituents” selected from deuterium, alkyl group, and aryl group (among others) ([0027]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 29) Q1 = substituted C12 heteroaryl group (substituted dibenzofuran), R1-2 = (hydrogen or) unsubstituted C1-30 alkyl group which are bonded to each other to form an alicyclic polycyclic ring, X = O, and Ar1-2 = substituted C6 aryl group (substituted phenyl) or Applicant’s Structural Formula 1 (with R3 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl)) of Applicant’s Formula A. However, Yoon et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Structural Formula 1, particularly in regards to the nature of the (R4)l group. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the compound as disclosed by Yoon et al. (above) such that l = any integer of 1-4 and R4 = deuterium of Applicant’s Structural Formula 1. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves the exchange of one atom (hydrogen) for a functional equivalent (deuterium) selected from a highly finite list which is taught by Yoon et al. as a viable alternative to that of hydrogen and easily envisioned from the scope of its general formula; further motivation exists, as deuterium is merely an isotopic derivative of hydrogen and thus can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Yoon et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device for the construction of displays (with “a wide viewing angle”) comprising the following layers ([0003], [0007], [0098]): substrate (1), anode (2), hole-injecting layer (5), hole-transporting layer (6) (inherently electron-blocking), light-emitting layer (7), electron-transporting layer (8), and cathode (4) (Fig. 2; [0023]). Its inventive compounds serve as material comprising the hole-injecting, hole-transporting, and/or light-emitting layer ([0021], [0143]). Yoon et al. discloses that the organic layers are formed via methods such as solution coating including spin coating ([0084]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 10-20 are allowed.
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2022/0017544 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2020/045924 A1 (herein referred to as “Yoon et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the national phase publication.
The closest prior art is provided by Yoon et al. (WO 2020/045924 A1), which discloses compounds of the following form:
([0009]) where Y = direct bond, O, or S ([0011]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 29). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Yoon et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature of the core heterocyclic group and/or the nature of the arylamino substituent group(s).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments on pages 20-24 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786