DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the Amendment received on 12/102025, the examiner has carefully considered the amendments. The examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 1-2, as well as, the addition of new claims 22-24. Claims 6-9 are withdrawn as a non-elected invention of Group II, as set forth in the Restriction Requirement, mail date 06/23/2025. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112, 2nd paragraph for claims 10-11 have been overcome by the amendment and has hereby been withdrawn for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2025 have been fully considered they are persuasive in part.
The rejection of claims 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto as applied to claims 1-5 and 12-17above, and further in view of Cao et al (Polímeros, 2020) has been withdrawn. Tanimoto nor Cao, reasonable teach or suggest the polyimide resin comprise a fluorine content or a phenolic hydroxyl content in an amount from 1 to 25 mol% as defined.
Applicant has amended claim 3 to require the resin (A3) comprises at least one of the structural units represented by formulas (1), (3) or (5) to account for 1 to 30 mol% relative to all structural units, which account from 100 mol % in said resin (A3). It is argued Tanimoto cannot anticipate the instantly claimed invention of since Tanimoto is silent with regard to the mol% of structural units represented by at least one of formulas (1), (3) or (5). It is agreed the overall teachings of Tanimoto does not set forth the mol. % of structural units (1), (3) or (5) in the polyimide resin. However, it is deemed, as previously set forth, Tanimoto teaches a polyimide resin corresponding to claimed resin (A3) in example 1. While not setting forth the mol % of each structural units in the obtained resin in example 1, it is deemed the obtained example 1 resin has at least 1 wt. % of the structural units corresponding to formula (5). Additionally, it is suspected the example 1 resin obtained in Tanimoto comprises the structural unit corresponding to formula (5) in amounts up to 30 mol% based upon a comparison with inventive example 1 found in the disclosure. The reference example 1 resin has a molar ratio of versamide 64, a molar ratio of 28 of the amino-sulfone each relative to 100 of the anhydride. This resin is considerably similar to the resin of inventive example 1; therefore, in absence of evidence to the contrary it is deemed the reference example comprises at least 30 mol% of a structural unit represented by formula (5). Because, The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicant’s composition differs and, if so, to what extent, from the discussed reference. Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
It is unclear if applicant is suggesting unexpected results with the arguments under the Distinction section. If so, it is deemed the polyimide resins set forth in the examples are of a narrower or different scope than the claimed polyimide resin. The claimed polyimide resin (A3) is not required to comprise fluorine groups in claim 3. While resin A3 may contain mono-valent organic groups from structures (2), (4) or (6) by definition, the mono-valent organic groups are not required to comprise halogen atoms, such as F. Additionally, the overall teachings of Tanimoto set forth the polyimide resin composition upon cure have excellent insulating properties (i.e., dissipation factor), as well as, heat resistance—see [0002]; [0048]; and [0116]. Please find the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-5, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Tanimoto (JP2009-251451).
Tanimoto sets forth photosensitive resin compositions and photosensitive elements containing the same.
Said resin composition comprising (A) a polyamic acid (a polyimide precursor) having structural units represented by general formulas (1); (2) and (3), respectively; (B) a photopolymerizable compound and (C) a photopolymerization initiator, wherein formulas (1), (2), and (3) are as follows:
--see [0010]. The polyamic acid (A) resin is produced by reacting a tetracarboxylic dianhydride component with a diamine component in a solvent—see [0023]. Said tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride includes compounds represented by compounds having general formula (9)—see [0028]- [0029]. Tanimoto sets forth other tetracarboxylic dianhydride component of than those have formula (9) can be used to obtain said polyamic acid resin (A)—see [0030]. The diamine component is represented by general formula (2) or (3), wherein formula (3) comprises an ethylenically unsaturated group (R1)—see [0010]. Said diamine compound represented by general formula (2) can be used alone or in combination, wherein compounds represented by formula (2) have formulas represented by general formulas (10), (11), and or (12) as found in sections [0033] to [0037]. The diamine compounds represented by general formula (3) include diamine compounds additionally having ethylenically unsaturated groups represented by general formulas (I) to (IV) and include compounds set forth in sections [0038] to [0045].
Regarding claim 10: Tanimoto sets forth a photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyamic acid obtained by reacting diamines, Versamine 551, 4,4-diaminophenyl sulfone; and methacrylolethyl-3,5-diaminobenzoate, with the dianhydride, (decamethylene) bis (trimellitate) dianhydride—see synthesis example 1, wherein Versamine 551 has the general formula:
--see synthesis example 1. The polyamide acid (precursor) retains an ethylenically unsaturated bond derived from the methacrylolethyl-3,5-diaminobenzoate after being converted into an imide. Tanimoto sets forth a photosensitive resin composition comprising 40 parts by weight of the above polyamic acid having a structural unit corresponding to claimed formula (17) and 3 mol% of the amine compound having the pendent ethylenic unsaturation; 40 parts by weight of an acid-modified phenol novolac epoxy acrylate, as a photopolymerizable monomer; 6 parts by weight benzyl dimethyl ketal (photoinitiator); 0.5 parts by weight of an oxime compound (photoinitiator); 0.3 parts by weight of isocyanate-functional silane coupling agent; and 0.8 parts by weight of a amine-functional silane coupling agent—see example 1. The polyamic acid (imide precursor) in said example 1 is deemed to anticipate the resin (A1) having a structural unit represented by general formula (17) as found in the claims.
Example 1 as set forth above comprises a polyamic acid resin having the claimed formula (17) as a structural unit and a photopolymerization initiator (C). The polyamic acid, as found in synthesis example 1, comprising a polyamic structure comprising a structural unit corresponding to formula (20) as claimed from the reaction of the methacrylolethyl-3,5-diaminobenzoate with dianhydride, (decamethylene) bis (trimellitate) dianhydride, wherein Y10 (from the above synthesis example) is the structural unit corresponding to the methacrylolethyl-3,5-diaminobenzoate having a pendent (meth) acryloyl ethyl group corresponding to (R25), x in (20) is zero (0) and R23 is H. Thus, the composition set forth in example 1 comprising said polyamic acid resin in synthesis example 1 is deemed to anticipate claim 2.
Regarding claim 3: As set forth above the polyamic acid resin in example 1 is the reaction product of Versamine 551, 4,4-diaminophenyl sulfone; and methacrylolethyl-3,5-diaminobenzoate with (decamethylene) bis (trimellitate) dianhydride. Therefore, the polyamic acid has a residue/structural unit from the reaction of the 4,4-diaminophenyl sulfone with (decamethylene) bis (trimellitate) dianhydride which is deemed to reason formula (5) in claim 3, wherein X5 is a tetravalent group, R5 is a H and Y5 is an alicyclic bond having 6 carbon atoms and contains unsaturation (a benzene/phenyl ring), additionally, the polyamic acid has a structural unit from the reaction of the methacrylolethyl-3,5-diaminobenzoate with (decamethylene) bis (trimellitate) dianhydride corresponding to formula (6), wherein t is 0; R6 is H, Y6 is phenyl group having 6 carbon atoms and R8 is the pendent ethylenic unsaturated group (methacrylolethyl group). Thus, resin (A3) in claim 3 is deemed to be anticipated.
Regarding claim 4-5: The polyamic acid resin (A) in example 1 in addition to comprising the structural units set forth above additionally comprises a unit originating from the reaction between the Versamine 551 and (decamethylene) bis (trimellitate) dianhydride in the reaction member, which also corresponds to instantly claim formula (5) wherein, in this residue, Y5 is an multivalent residue having the structure
which corresponds to formula (7), wherein l is 4, two W are structural unit corresponding to formula (7c), at least 4 correspond to (7a) and at least two correspond to (7b). The described Y5 above is deemed to correspond to formula (9) in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12: The resin composition of example 1 an ethylenically unsaturated compound (B): the acid-modified phenol novolac epoxy acrylate, which has acrylate unsaturated groups—see example 1.
Regarding claim 13: The overall teachings of the reference set forth the photosensitive resin composition comprising (A) a polyamic acid resin; (B) a photopolymerizable component and (C) a photopolymerization initiator, may further comprise a crosslinking agent (D), such as an epoxy compound or an isocyanate compound, which are known thermal crosslinking agents (heat curable crosslinkers)—see [0097] - [0098].
Regarding claim 14: Tanimoto sets forth applying said photosensitive resin composition onto a substrate—see [0106].
Regarding claims 15-16: Tanimoto discloses once applied to said substrate the photosensitive resin composition layer is dried in a temperature range from 0 to 120 deg. C for from 1 minute to 1 hour. Next, a mask having a pattern is placed on said dried photosensitive resin layer. Said masked photosensitive resin layer is exposed to radiation for exposure. The exposed patterned photosensitive resin layer is then developed with a developing solution to remove the unexposed portions and washed. After development, the pattern after photocuring is further thermally cured by heat treatment to obtain a fully cured patterned substrate—see [0107] – [0112].
Regarding claim 17: Tanimoto sets forth said photosensitive resin compositions and cured coating comprising such are useful as surface protection films or an interlayer film of a semiconductor element, wherein it is deemed a semiconductor elements is an electronic component— [0114].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto et al (cited above).
Tanimoto does not expressly set forth the articles as set forth in instant claims 18-21, i.e., does not set forth the type of antenna found in the wiring layer or the thickness of said wiring antenna layer or the area size of said wiring layer.
However, Tanimoto discloses a semiconductor package 10 shown in figure 1 comprising an electrode 2 made of a metal such as aluminum is provided on a silicon wafer (substrate) 1, wherein said silicon wafer 1 and the electrode 2 are covered with an interlayer insulating film 3 and that a part of the interlayer insulating film 3 on the electrode 2 is removed, and is made of a metal such as copper connected to the electrode 2 from the part, as well as, the rewiring 4 is drawn out such that said rewiring 4 is connected to a post portion 5 made of a metal such as copper. The interlayer insulating film 3, the rewiring 4, and the post portion 5 are sealed with a sealing resin 6 so that only one end of the post portion 5 is exposed—see figure 1 and [0115]. It is unclear how this difference from the teachings of reference. And since the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicant’s composition differs and, if so, to what extent, from the discussed reference. Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
Additionally, said teaching by Tanimoto appears to describe the antenna and semiconductor package as found in instant claims 18-20, wherein it is deemed it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to use any type of wiring structure, such as coil-type, monopole-type, etc., as well as, area size and/or thickness of the wiring layer suitable for the desired end product in absence of evidence to the contrary and/or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 21: Tanimoto sets forth said photosensitive resin compositions are useful as insulating interlayer films in semiconductors, wherein it is deemed semiconductors are known components in display devices, thus obvious to a skilled artisan in absence of evidence to the contrary and/or unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Tanimoto, the closest prior art, does not expressly teach and/or fairly suggest a polyimide resin comprising the structural units (1) or (3) and further including structural units (2) and (4).
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Tanimoto does not expressly teach and/or render obvious the requirements of claims 10 and/or 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANZA L. McCLENDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765
SMC