DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to application number 17/910,230 filed on September 8th, 2022. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 09/08/2022.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), submitted on June 1st, 2026, February 20th 2026, October 10th 2025, June 6th 2025, October 10th 2023, and September 15th 2022 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16,18,22-23,25 and 29-30-are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Classon et al. (EP-2854465-A1) in view of Kadiri et al. (US 20210068004 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US-20210250958-A1) further in view of Hong (US-12414183-B2)
Regarding claim 16, Classon et al. disclose a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including (Paragraphs 0087,0091 and 0092 disclose a base station transmitting and the terminal receiving the RRC reconfiguration message with the (G-RNTI); and receiving, from the base station, the data associated with the MBS, based on the DCI (Paragraph 0087 discloses the base station scheduling one or more terminals in a group through downlink control information to accommodate downlink data).
Classon et al. fail to explicitly disclose i) medium access control (MAC) configuration information including a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast and broadcast service (MBS);
However, in an analogous art Kadiri et al. teaches i) medium access control (MAC) configuration information including a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) (Kadiri et al. Paragraph 0039 and 0053 respectively disclose “ In some aspects, UE 120 may include means for receiving an indication of a mode for mapping MB-QoS flows to logical channel identifiers and G-RNTIs, means for identifying an MB-QoS flow from a medium access control (MAC) TB based at least in part on the indicated mode, means for decoding data included in the MB-QoS flow, among other examples, or combinations thereof. In some aspects, such means may include one or more components of UE 120 described in connection with FIG. 2.” And “In some aspects, the base station 110 may determine a mode for mapping an MB-QoS flow to an LCID and a G-RNTI based at least in part on whether the MB-QoS flow is a switchable MB-QoS flow or a non-switchable MB-QoS flow. A switchable MB-QoS flow may refer to an MB-QoS flow that can be switched between an MRB (for multicast/broadcast transmission) and a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) (for unicast transmission). A non-switchable MB-QoS flow may refer to an MB-QoS flow that cannot be switched between an MRB (for multicast/broadcast transmission) and a DRB (for unicast transmission). In some aspects, the base station 110 may indicate the mode in a radio resource control (RRC) message (for example, an RRC configuration message, an RRC reconfiguration message, among other examples), in downlink control information (DCI), in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (collectively, MAC-CE), in an MBCCH communication, or a combination thereof.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Classon et al. to incorporate the teachings of Kadiri et al., wherein medium access control (MAC) configuration information including a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), in order to enable individual MAC entities in the UE to be configured with different G-RNTI values for MBS.
Classon et al. and Kadiri et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes ii) bandwidth part (BWP) information for the MBS, iii) search space information for the MBS, the search space information including format information on downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS. Identifying the DCI for data associated with the MBS, based on the G-RNTI for the MBS and the search space information
However, in an analogous art, Liu et al. teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes ii) bandwidth part (BWP) information for the MBS (Paragraph 0087,0068 discloses “In another example, in indicating the priority at Block 504, optionally at Block 516, the base station can configure, for the one or more search spaces, a BWP corresponding to MBS communications.” Additionally Paragraph 0074 discloses “…In an example, communicating component 242 can receive the indication in RRC signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE), etc. received from the base station 102””), iii)search space information for the MBS, the search space information including format information on downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS (Liu et al. Paragraph 0060 discloses “ In method 400, at Block 402, the UE can receive a search space configuration defining one or more search spaces for detecting communications. In an aspect, search space determining component 252, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, communicating component 242, etc., can receive the search space configuration defining one or more search spaces (e.g., a search space set) for detecting communications. For example, the search space configuration may be intended for a group of one or more UEs to receive and determine, from the configuration, one or more parameters defining the one or more search spaces. For example, the search space configuration may define search spaces for receiving MBS communications, search spaces for receiving unicast communications, etc., and may include CSSs, USSs, and/or related information. In one example, the search space configuration may define one or more search space sets in terms of configuration for time domain pattern for monitoring occasions (e.g., starting symbol, slot, periodicity, etc.), aggregation level, number candidate, USS or CSS and associated DCI formats, and/or the like, as described. In one example, search space determining component 252 can receive the search space configuration in system information broadcast by a base station 102 (e.g., in one or more system information blocks (SIBs)), radio resource control (RRC) signaling transmitted by the base station 102, etc.”) Identifying the DCI for data associated with the MBS, based on the G-RNTI for the MBS and the search space information (Paragraph 0075 discloses “In method 400, at Block 420, the UE can perform, based on the priority, detection for the control information over the control channel based on the one or more search spaces and/or other defined search spaces. In an aspect, communicating component 242, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, etc., can perform, based on the priority, detection for the control information over the control channel (e.g., for the DCI format in the control channel) based on the one or more search spaces and/or other defined search spaces. For example, as described, performing the detection can include attempting blind detection/decoding over search spaces for MBS communications and/or based on a number of candidates for corresponding DCI formats for MBS communications first before attempting blind detection/decoding over other search spaces (e.g., for unicast communications) and/or based on other corresponding DCI formats (e.g., for unicast communications). Additionally, as described, communicating component 242 can apply a RNTI-based scrambling mask for each candidate in an attempt to detect the DCI.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Classon et al. and Kadiri et al. to incorporate the teachings of Liu et al., to indicate a bandwidth part (BWP) for MBS, the search space for the MBS including DCI format, and the BWP associated with the search space, and identify DCI associated with MBS based on G-RNTI and search space in order to enable the network to efficiently manage resource allocation.
Classon et al. Kadiri et al. and Liu et al. fail to explicitly disclose RRC reconfiguration message further includes iv) information associated with a radio bearer for a point to multipoint (PTM) reception of the MBS;
However, in an analogous art, Hong teaches RRC reconfiguration message further includes iv) information associated with a radio bearer for a point to multipoint (PTM) reception of the MBS; (Column 21, lines 50-64 discloses “The base station may use a dedicated RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration) to instruct switching to the UE receiving the corresponding service data through the unicast transmission.…. The corresponding RRC message may further include one or more of the switching instruction information, the MRB configuration information for receiving data according to the switched transmission scheme, and the associated service session information. An MBS Radio Bearer (MRB) in the present specification refers to a radio bearer associated with an MBS session or a radio bearer for MBS session data transmission.” Column18-19 lines 64-67 and lines 1-2 disclose “Meanwhile, the UE may receive switching instruction information. For example, the switching instruction information may be received while being included in at least one of an RRC message, system information, and control information associated with the MBS data transmission.” Column 20 lines 47-53 discloses “The base station may transmit data for the corresponding service session by selecting the unicast transmission or multicast (broadcast) transmission in the associated cell of the corresponding base station. The base station may select a transmission scheme in consideration of the number of UEs interested in or receiving the corresponding service in the corresponding cell.”. This passage indicates that usage of the PTM transmission mode. Column 30 lines 48-64 discloses the relationship between the transmission mode (PTM) and the MRB associated with the MBS service through “For example, one leg/path of the radio bearer may include L2 entities by unicast DRB, and the other leg/path may include L2 entities by MRB. A unicast DRB RLC entity may be configured in association with a logical channel ID. And/or the MAC may receive data by scheduling indicated by the C-RNTI. The MRB RLC entity may be configured by being associated with the NR-G-RNTI for identifying the transmission of the NR-MTCH for the corresponding session. The unicast DRB RLC entity and the MRB RLC entity may be associated with one PDCP entity. The PDCP entity may be associated with an MBS service session (TMGI and optionally a session ID (sessionId)). The UE may receive the MBS service data transmitted according to the transmission scheme selected by the base station. To this end, the RRC signaling may be used. Alternatively, L2 signaling may be used. Alternatively, user data may be received and processed without signaling.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Classon et al. Kadiri et al. and Liu et al to incorporate the teachings of Hong et al., to include information associated with a radio bearer related to a point to multipoint (PTM) reception in an RRC reconfiguration message, in order to ensure that the UE is tuned to the correct resources and can decode the broadcasted data.
Regarding claim 18, Classon et al. disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the search space information indicates a search space for monitoring the scheduling information for the downlink data associated with the MBS (Paragraph 0087 discloses the “search space of the group” the search space that the terminal belongs to).
Regarding claim 22, Classon et al. disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, an RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message (Paragraph 0030 discloses the RRC connection reconfiguration message transmitted to the terminal by the base station. One knowledgeable in the art shall infer the transmission of the RRC reconfiguration complete message upon successful completion of the RRC connection reconfiguration message).
Regarding claim 23, Classon et al. disclose a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), wherein the G-RNTI is configured per a medium access control (MAC) entity, and wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes I) information indicating a bandwidth part (BWP) for the MBS, ii) search space information for the MBS, the search space information being associated with the BWP, and iii) information associated with a radio bearer for a point to multipoint (PTM) transmission of the MBS; transmitting, to the terminal, scheduling information for downlink data associated with the MBS, wherein the scheduling information is related to the G-RNTI and the search space information for the BWP; and transmitting, to the terminal, the downlink data associated with the MBS, based on the scheduling information. (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #16).
Regarding claim 25, Classon et al. disclose the method of claim 23, wherein the search space information indicates a search space for monitoring the scheduling information for the downlink data associated with the MBS (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #18).
Regarding claim 29, Classon et al. disclose the method of claim 23, further comprising: receiving, from the terminal, an RRC reconfiguration complete message in response to transmitting the RRC reconfiguration message (The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #22).
Regarding claim 30, Classon et al. disclose a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a base station via the transceiver, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), wherein the G-RNTI is configured per a medium access control (MAC) entity, and wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes information indicating a bandwidth part (BWP) for the MBS, ii) search space information for the MBS, the search space information being associated with the BWP, and iii) information associated with a radio beare(The limitations of this claim are rejected on the same grounds of rejection as claim #16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks the applicant contends that “The Examiner concedes that Classon does not disclose or suggest "wherein the G-RNTI for the MBS is configured per a medium access control (MAC) entity", but asserts that Dinan remedies this deficiency, citing to paragraph 176. At paragraph 176, Dinan discloses that a MAC entity may have a G-RNTI. However, Dinan does not disclose or suggest that the G-RNTI is for the MBS. Dinan does not discuss MBS at all.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Kadiri Paragraphs 0039 and 0053 respectively disclose “In some aspects, UE 120 may include means for receiving an indication of a mode for mapping MB-QoS flows to logical channel identifiers and G-RNTIs, means for identifying an MB-QoS flow from a medium access control (MAC) TB based at least in part on the indicated mode, means for decoding data included in the MB-QoS flow, among other examples, or combinations thereof. In some aspects, such means may include one or more components of UE 120 described in connection with FIG. 2.” And “In some aspects, the base station 110 may determine a mode for mapping an MB-QoS flow to an LCID and a G-RNTI based at least in part on whether the MB-QoS flow is a switchable MB-QoS flow or a non-switchable MB-QoS flow. A switchable MB-QoS flow may refer to an MB-QoS flow that can be switched between an MRB (for multicast/broadcast transmission) and a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) (for unicast transmission). A non-switchable MB-QoS flow may refer to an MB-QoS flow that cannot be switched between an MRB (for multicast/broadcast transmission) and a DRB (for unicast transmission). In some aspects, the base station 110 may indicate the mode in a radio resource control (RRC) message (for example, an RRC configuration message, an RRC reconfiguration message, among other examples), in downlink control information (DCI), in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (collectively, MAC-CE), in an MBCCH communication, or a combination thereof.”);”
In the remarks the applicant contends “Moreover, the combination also fails to disclose or suggest that the RRC reconfiguration message includes "iii) search space information for the MBS, the search space information including format information on downlink control information (DCI) for the MBS" specifically stating that “Liu fails to disclose that the UE can be configured with the search space for the MBS separately from the search space defined for existing DCI format for unicast, paging, etc. and that the search space for the MBS includes DCI format for the MBS for representing that the configured search space is for the MBS.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Liu et al. Paragraph 0060 discloses that the search spaces are for receiving MBS communications and includes DCI format “In method 400, at Block 402, the UE can receive a search space configuration defining one or more search spaces for detecting communications. In an aspect, search space determining component 252, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, communicating component 242, etc., can receive the search space configuration defining one or more search spaces (e.g., a search space set) for detecting communications. For example, the search space configuration may be intended for a group of one or more UEs to receive and determine, from the configuration, one or more parameters defining the one or more search spaces. For example, the search space configuration may define search spaces for receiving MBS communications, search spaces for receiving unicast communications, etc., and may include CSSs, USSs, and/or related information. In one example, the search space configuration may define one or more search space sets in terms of configuration for time domain pattern for monitoring occasions (e.g., starting symbol, slot, periodicity, etc.), aggregation level, number candidate, USS or CSS and associated DCI formats, and/or the like, as described. In one example, search space determining component 252 can receive the search space configuration in system information broadcast by a base station 102 (e.g., in one or more system information blocks (SIBs)), radio resource control (RRC) signaling transmitted by the base station 102, etc.”)
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471