DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9, 14, 17-18, 23, 25 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210365681 “Huo”) in view of Bertolami et al. (US Patent No. 8797321 “Bertolami”), Six et al. ( US patent Publication: 20200186378, “Six”) and Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 20210034319, “Wang”) .
Regarding claim 17 Huo teaches An apparatus comprising a processor (Fig. 2 element 24) configured to:
obtain a model of a real scene spatially locating at least one object in the real scene, wherein the model is based on first information describing the real scene, wherein the model includes a lighting model, (“[0021]….The IoT devices 40 are arranged within a scene 60. The scene 60 comprises a real-world environment, such as a room [0042] The method 100 continues with a step of generating a SLAM map of the scene based on the plurality of image frames (block 120)…… the processor 24 is configured to execute the SLAM and IoT localization program 34 to generate a three-dimensional model or map representation of the scene 60, referred to herein as the SLAM map 36”. [0021] “….Some exemplary IoT devices 40 include, but are not limited to, light bulbs, lights switches,….. a network router” As a light bulb is an IoT object, and the IoT object is modeled in the scene, therefore a lighting model is modeled in the scene. “[0022]…… The camera 22 is configured to generate image frames of the scene 60, each of which comprises a two-dimensional array of pixels. Each pixel has corresponding photometric information (intensity, color, and/or brightness)”)
Even though Huo teaches the lighting model as shown above but is silent about wherein the lighting model comprising at least a first light direction and a first light intensity of a light source associated with the at least one object;
Bertolami teaches lighting model comprises at least a first light direction and a first light intensity of a light source associated with at least one object (Col 1 lines 50-55 “ Determining or estimating a light source includes measuring or estimating one or more of the following light characteristics: the location of the light source, the direction of the light, the color of the light, the shape of the light, the intensity of the light, and the coherence or diffusion properties of the light”);
Huo and Bertolami are analogous art as both of them are related to processing of sensor data.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Huo by having lighting model that comprises at least a first light direction and a first light intensity of a light source associated with the at least one object as taught by Bertolami.
The motivation for the above is to reconstruct lighting in the virtual environment.
Huo modified by Bertolami teaches receive an unsolicited message, from the at least one object, wherein the unsolicited message comprises second information indicating a change in status of the at least one object that changes a lighting of the real scene around the at least one object (Huo receives the message from IOT devices, the message is considered as an unsolicited message because IOT device are sending the status to the processor without any request from the processor. “[0069] In at least some embodiments, the processor 24 of the AR device 20 is configured to operate the Wi-Fi module 30 to receive at least one status parameter from one or more of the IoT devices 40. As used herein, the phrase “status parameter” refers to any parameter relating to the status, control state, operating state, or other state of device. Exemplary status parameters may include a status of an IoT device 40 (e.g., “on,” “off,” “low battery,” “filter needs replaced,” etc.), sensor data measured by the respective sensor(s) 52 of an IoT device 40 (e.g., temperature, moisture, motion, occupancy, etc.), or a control status of the respective actuator(s) 54 (“cooling,” “heating,” “fan speed: high,” etc.)”.
Bertolami Col 8 lines 30-32 “The augmented reality display would dynamically update the rendering of the virtual object based on the orientation of the light sensor and the light source”);
For an explicit support of unsolicited message, Six teaches, receive an unsolicited message, from the at least one object, wherein the unsolicited message comprises second information indicating a change in status of the at least one object([“180]…..It should be understood that the smart hub system may make unsolicited prompts to notify the subject of a scheduled appointment, a change in blood glucose levels and other information entirely without the subject's solicitation.” A smart HUB system is an IOT device which is claimed “the at least one object”) )
Huo as modified by Bertolami and Six are analogous art as they are related to processing of sensor data.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Huo as modified by Bertolami to receive an unsolicited message, from the at least one object, wherein the unsolicited message comprises second information indicating a change in status of the at least one objects taught by Six.
The motivation for the above is to offload the function of requesting for data to the IOT device and have the processor to concentrate on other work and save bandwidth as well.
Huo as modified by Bertolami and Six teaches, wherein the second information further indicates at least one of a second light direction or a second light intensity of the light source associated with the at least one object (Bertolami Col 8 lines 28-32 “Where the light sensor and a light source move independently (e.g., a digital camera and a flashlight), the augmented reality display would dynamically update the rendering of the virtual object based on the orientation of the light sensor and the light source”);
update the lighting model based on at least one of the second light direction or the second light intensity of the light source associated with the at least one object and update the model based on the updated lighting model (Huo [0069] “….. The processor 24 is configured to render the graphical elements associated with the IoT device 40 from which the status parameters are received depending on the status parameter and, in particular, render the graphical elements to indicate the status parameter to the user. For example, an icon associated with a particular IoT device might be rendered green to indicate the status parameter “on”;
Bertolami Col 8 lines 30-35 “the augmented reality display would dynamically update the rendering of the virtual object based on the orientation of the light sensor and the light source. With a sudden loss of all light in the physical environment, the virtual objects would also go dark, instead of remaining bright in the augmented reality display”).
Huo modified by Bertolami and Six doesn’t teach, sending at least one parameter of the updated model from the processing device to a plurality of renderer devices for use in respective independent augmented reality applications on respective render devices of the plurality of render devices.
However, Wang teaches, sending at least one parameter of the updated model from the processing device to a plurality of renderer devices for use in respective independent augmented reality applications on respective render devices of the plurality of render devices (“[0006] The method further receives, on the first device, input providing a change to the 3D object and, responsive to the input, provides data corresponding to the change. Based on this data, the second view of the 3D object on the second device is updated to maintain consistency between the 3D object in the first view and the second view. For example, if a first user changes the color of a 3D model of a table to white on the first device, the first device sends data corresponding to this change to the second device, which updates the second view to also change the color of the 3D model depicted on the second device to white.” Paragraph [0045] indicates multiple devices provides AR/VR/MR displays and one parameter ( for example color) of an undated model are transferred to other devices for AR/VR/MR application. “[0045] FIG. 4 illustrates the change made to the 3D model 125 displayed in the second view 215 on the second device of FIG. 2. Leg 305 of the depicted 3D model 125 is extended to correspond to the extension of the leg 305 of the 3D model 125 in first view 115. Any changes made to the depicted 3D model 125 in the first view 115 are depicted in the 3D model 125 in the second view 215. Conversely any changes made to the 3D model 125 in the second view 215 are depicted in the 3D model 125 in the first view 115. In this way, two or more devices such as devices 10, 20 are able to simultaneously view or edit the same 3D model 125 in the same or different settings/viewing modes (e.g., monoscopically, stereoscopically, in VR, in MR, etc.).
Wang and Huo modified by Bertolami and Six are analogous as they are from the field of virtual image generation.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huo modified by Bertolami and Six to have included sending at least one parameter of the updated model from the processing device to a plurality of renderer devices for use in respective independent augmented reality applications on respective render devices of the plurality of render devices as taught by Wang.
The motivation for the above modification is to send a minimum information (only changed parameter) that requires a lower bandwidth.
Claim 1 is directed to a method and its steps are similar in scope and function performed by the apparatus claim 17 and therefore claim 1 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 14 is directed to A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Huo [0039] “……controller or processor executing programmed instructions (e.g., the SLAM and IoT localization program 34 and/or firmware of the microcontroller 44) stored in non-transitory computer readable storage media operatively connected to the controller or processor to manipulate data or to operate one or more components in the vehicle access system 10”) and its elements are similar in scope and function performed by the apparatus claim 17 and therefore claim 14 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 18 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang teaches wherein the first information comprises at least one image of the real scene (Huo [0042] “The method 100 continues with a step of generating a SLAM map of the scene based on the plurality of image frames (block 120)”).
Regarding claims 7 and 23 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang teaches wherein the light source is associated with a set of parameters including at least one of a light type, a position, a shape, a dimension, a status, or a color (Huo “[0044]…Each of the points, lines, or other geometric shapes of the SLAM map 36 may be associated with photometric information (e.g., one or more intensity, color, and/or brightness values). [0069] In at least some embodiments, the processor 24 of the AR device 20 is configured to operate the Wi-Fi module 30 to receive at least one status parameter from one or more of the IoT devices 40”).
Regarding claims 9 and 25 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang teaches, wherein the light source represents a smart bulb (Huo [0021] “….Some exemplary IoT devices 40 include, but are not limited to, light bulbs, lights switches, a programmable thermostat, a fan, a humidifier, a television, a printer, a watering can, speakers, environmental sensors, and/or a network router”).
Regarding claim 31 and 32, Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang teaches, wherein the unsolicited message is received in absence of a prior request for status information transmitted by the processing device to the at least one object. (Six “[180]…..It should be understood that the smart hub system may make unsolicited prompts to notify the subject of a scheduled appointment, a change in blood glucose levels and other information entirely without the subject's solicitation.”)
Claim(s) 4-5, 16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang and further in view of Bleyer et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210027538 “Bleyer”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang is silent about wherein the first information comprises a model element representing the at least one object;
Bleyer teaches first information comprises a model element representing at least one object (Bleyer “[0050] FIG. 2 also shows how IOT device 205 is able to collect any type or amount of sensor data 230. Sensor data 230 can include measurement data 230A (e.g., data collected from sensor(s) 215 including any type of sensed data such as environmental data describing/representing the environment or even operational data of a device), image data 230B (e.g., image data generated or captured by camera(s) 220), and IMU data 230C (e.g., movement data generated by IMU 225 describing (i.e. digitally representing) any movements of the IOT device within its environment). Any amount or type of collected or sensed data may be included in sensor data 230”. Here “movement data” is claimed model element);
Bleyer and Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang are analogous art as both of them are related to processing of sensor data.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang by having first information that comprises a model element representing at least one object as taught by Bleyer.
The motivation for the above is to know the trajectory of the IOT device so that this can be used during rendering.
Huo modified by Bertolami, Six, Wang and Bleyer teaches, wherein the model element includes at least one of a pre-determined shape, texture, or reflectance parameter of the at least one object. (Bleyer “[0050] FIG. 2 also shows how IOT device 205 is able to collect any type or amount of sensor data 230. Sensor data 230 can include measurement data 230A (e.g., data collected from sensor(s) 215 including any type of sensed data such as environmental data describing/representing the environment or even operational data of a device), image data 230B (e.g., image data generated or captured by camera(s) 220), and IMU data 230C (e.g., movement data generated by IMU 225 describing (i.e. digitally representing) any movements of the IOT device within its environment). Any amount or type of collected or sensed data may be included in sensor data 230”. Here “movement data” is claimed model element and Movement data provides a shape of the objector IOT device. );
Additionally Bertolami teaches, reflectance parameter of the at least one object, See Bertolami Col 1 lines 50-55 teaches “ Determining or estimating a light source includes measuring or estimating one or more of the following light characteristics: the location of the light source, the direction of the light, the color of the light, the shape of the light, the intensity of the light, and the coherence or diffusion properties of the light”);
Regarding claims 5 and 20 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six, Wang, and Bleyer teaches wherein the model element is received from the at least one object (Bleyer “[0051] Architecture 200 shows how IOT device 205 is transmitting and/or receiving data 235 across a network to a cloud 240, and in particular to a server 240A operating or executing a mixed-reality (MR) service 240B”).
Regarding claims 16 and 21 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six, Wang and Bleyer teaches wherein the model element is received from a network element storing a database of model elements (Bleyer [0054] “FIG. 2 shows how MR service 240B is able to store the data 235 in storage 25. [0055] In some cases, MR service 240B is able to transmit some or all of the received data 235 to another device, as shown by data 260”).
Claim(s) 8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang and further in view of Barnett et al. (US Patent No. 10110272 “Barnett”).
Regarding claims 8 and 24 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang is silent about wherein the light source represents a window, and wherein at least one of the first information or the second information comprises at least one of a shutter status, a day of year, a time of day or weather conditions.
Barnett teaches , the light source represents a window, and wherein at least one of the first information or the second information comprises at least one of a shutter status, a day of year, a time of day or weather conditions. (Barnett Col 31 lines 11-30 “In some instances, the one or more IoT-capable sensors 125 might include, without limitation, at least one of an ambient temperature sensor, a flame detector…… a weather sensor, or a seismic sensor, and/or the like. Col 23 lines 7-lines 35 In some embodiments, the user devices 315, some of which might include one or more IoT-capable sensors 310, might include, without limitation, one or more display devices 315a…… one or more automated window locking systems 315i, one or more automated window opening or closing systems 315j, one or more smart windows 315k”);
Barnett and Huo modified by Bertolam, Six and Wang are analogous art as both of them are related to processing of sensor data.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang by having the light source represents a window, and wherein at least one of the first information or the second information comprises at least one of a shutter status, a day of year, a time of day or weather conditions. as taught by Barnett.
The motivation for the above is to collect useful information from a smart object for recreating a scene.
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang and further in view of LaMontagne et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20180047067 “LaMontagne”).
Regarding claims 10 and 26 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang is silent about obtaining a request for model information at a position in the real scene.
LaMontagne teaches obtaining a request for model information at a position in the scene (LaMontagne “[0022] As illustrated, publisher or developer can, using publisher interface 102, request the smart object placement system 108 to place smart object 101 in a three dimensional environment, as described further herein. smart object placement system 108 can request the publisher's input to select a smart object (generated by smart object generation system 106) and save the coordinates, including game identification data, smart object identification data, smart object category/type data, publisher/developer identification data, and location/scene identification data. [0034]…… At 504, the system can receive a request from a user (e.g., when the user selects tab 302) to display BRDI associated with at least one smart object out of the set of smart objects of the 3D environment. ”);
Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang and LaMontagne are analogous art as both of them are related to processing of sensor data.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Huo modified by Bertolami, Six and Wang by obtaining a request for model information at a position in the scene similar to obtaining a request for model information at a position in the real scene as taught by LaMontagne.
The motivation for the above is to provide user control by providing an option to choose a specific object in a scene for receiving model information.
Regarding claims 12 and 27 Huo modified by Bertolami, Six, Wang and LaMontagne teaches wherein the request is obtained from at least one of a rendering device or a user interface of the processing device (LaMontagne “[0022] As illustrated, publisher or developer can, using publisher interface 102, request the smart object placement system 108 to place smart object 101 in a three dimensional environment, as described further herein”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks filed 01/05/2026 with respect to rejection of independent claims 1, 14 and 17 under 35 USC 103 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn. However upon further considerations, a new ground of rejection has been made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210365681 “Huo”) in view of Bertolami et al. (US Patent No. 8797321 “Bertolami”), Six et al. ( US patent Publication: 20200186378, “Six”) and Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 20210034319, “Wang”) .
Applicant argues, see remarks Pages 6-7, “Applicant respectfully submits that there is no "finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings." MPEP 2143 (emphasis added). Both Huo and Bertolami are directed to single-user Augmented Reality (AR) systems. Wang discloses a collaborative Integrated Development Environment (IDE) where multiple developers can "simultaneously view or edit the same 3D model." Id. at Abstract (emphasis added). ……the Office previously stated ……….Final Office Action at page 7. Applicant questions why one of ordinary skill in AR systems would be aware of/motivated to look to a developer's collaborative editing tool. The problems, users, and system architectures are entirely different, nor is there a shared problem which would naturally recommend itself to the attention of those of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the motivation of reducing bandwidth is too generic a design goal to support combination. Applicant respectfully reminds the Office that the motivation to combine must be sufficiently specific, particularly in situations like this where the combination is of disparate systems”
Examiner replies, References for combination don’t have to have a shared problem (only) or references architecture have to be same.(only). It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Wang and Huo modified by Bertolami and Six are analogous as they are from the field of generation or rendering of image, which is the field of applicant’s invention.
In response to applying generic motivation examiner wants to note that generic is a relative term because a motivation can be generic to applicant but that motivation may not be generic to an ordinary skilled person. There is no requirement in MPEP about motivation regarding motivation can’t be generic. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation is the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant argues, see remarks Pages 7-8, “Also, Applicant questions the evidentiary showing of receiving an "unsolicited message."…….Final Office Action at pages 4-5; emphasis added. In fact, "the message is an unsolicited message" is merely conjecture. Unfortunately, Examiner's position rests on an improper inference from silence. The Examiner appears not to appreciate this, erroneously stating with evidently complete conviction:….. Huo's processor receives message from the IOT device. As Huo receives the message from IOT devices, the message is an unsolicited message. IOT device are sending the status to the processor without any request from the processor. Therefore the message Huo receives is an unsolicited message. See Huo,…Final Office Action at page 15; emphasis added. This is circular logic.”
“Is it really the Examiner's position that any message received from an IOT device by definition is unsolicited (second line above)?..... Huo at [0069] states that the processor is configured to …….A proper showing would include citing any text in Huo that positively teaches or suggests that the message is unsolicited, that the loT device autonomously sends its status without being polled,¹ or somehow precludes the possibility that the reception was preceded by a request from the processing device. Applicant sees no such evidence.”
Examiner replies, examiner didn’t indicate any message received from an IOT device by definition is unsolicited. Examiner clearly indicated why the message is unsolicited. Huo’s processor doesn’t request any data from the IOT device. That’s why the message coming from IOT device is unsolicited. The evidence here is Huo reference doesn’t request any data from the IOT device. Though Huo reference doesn’t expressly mention the word “unsolicited”, based on reading of the reference, there is no indication of requesting data from IOT device by the processor and that is the evidence used for considering Huo’s message as unsolicited.
Applicant argues, see remarks Page 8, “As noted in the prior response, and unsatisfyingly addressed in the quote from page 15 of the Final Office Action, the system architecture of Huo is AR device-centric - the AR device (e.g., 20) is actively surveying its environment to generate a map and localize objects. One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes this as a "pull" or request-response model where the AR device polls objects for their status as needed. So, assuming for the sake of argument, even if Huo discloses receiving a status from an loT device, the AR device solicited the status.”
Examiner replies, Huo’s AR device surveys the IOT devices for mapping. But nowhere in the reference Huo’s AR device request data from the AR device for mapping. Huo’s AR device performs surveying using SLAM method where AR device takes images of the IOT devices. See Huo Fig. 3 steps 110-140 specifically Paragraph [0041]. There is no "pull" or request-response model where the AR device polls objects for their status.
A new reference Six is included for explicit support of “unsolicited message” in this rejection.
Conclusion
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612