DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Rejected Claims: 21, 23, 26, 28, 32-35, and 41-45
Withdrawn Claims: 39-40
Cancelled Claims: 1-20, 22, 24-25, 27, 29-31, and 36-38
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02 FEBRUARY 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine Hach Lange GmbH with Wawrla, Hoefferle, or Elko because there is no technical problem that would have prompted such a modification and the Examiner relies on “known as a common installation method in the art” and so the rejection relies upon impermissible hindsight. Therefore it would not be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have modified Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko with the conductivity sensor of Hach Lange GmbH (Arguments filed 02 FEBRUARY 2026, Page 2 to Page 3, Paragraph 4).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, Wawrla teaches the use of conductance sensors (Paragraph 0036), and explicitly teaches a control unit connected to the conductance sensors by means of a cable (Fig. 1, #24, 25, 26, 27; Paragraph 0083) and that the sensor should be able to me moved with the filter material (Paragraph 0060). Hoefferle teaches that it is well known to connect sensors to control systems via a wired connection where the sensors include conductivity sensors (Col. 7, Line 26 to Col. 8, Line 11). Then, Hach Lange GmbH teaches common installation methods (Page 13) which include a cable and plug that provides power, which is an electrical plug-in connection. The motivation to use the sensor of Hach Lange GmbH is that the other prior art describe the sensor in a general sense and Hach Lange GmbH teaches a specific sensor that is known at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention and teaches that the installation method of integrating a conductivity sensor into a pipe fitting with a quick connect power connection is commonly known. In this case, the Examiner is not relying on their own admission that the installation method is commonly known in the art, rather the prior art Hach Lange GmbH asserts that the installation method is commonly known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko with the conductivity sensor and installation method as taught by Hach Lange GmbH because the installation method is known as a common installation method in the art.
Applicant argues that Hach Lange GmbH does not teach pipe fittings comprising an electrical connection because the electrical connection taught by Hach Lange GmbH is attached to the conductivity sensor and so it is not in the pipe fitting. Applicant also asserts that the location and purpose of the electrical plug in Hach Lange GmbH are different than in instant claim 1 because the electrical connection is on an end of the cable far from the pipe fitting and the quick connect interfaces with a controller. Therefore, the prior art does not teach all of the limitations of instant claim 1 and the claim is allowable (Arguments filed 02 FEBRUARY 2026, Page , Paragraph 5 to Page 5).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, Hach Lange GmbH teaches that the conductivity sensor is part of the pipe fitting via a threaded connection and that the sensor has a quick connect electrical plug for connecting the sensor to a control system for power and data transfer. Applicant asserts that the location and purpose of the electrical plug in instant claim 1 is different from Hach Lange GmbH. The instant specification describes that the pipe fitting (Fig. 5, #200b) comprises an integrated conductivity measuring cell (Fig. 5, #205) which includes the electrical interface (Fig. 5, #201; Page 18, Lines 15-16), which is an electrical plug-in connection (Page 17, Lines 33-34). As acknowledged by Applicant, the electrical plug-in connection is a part of the conductivity measuring cell, which it would have to be in order to supply power to the conductivity measuring cell. Hach Lange GmbH simply teaches that the cable can be long on the sensor side of the electrical plug-in connection. Either way, there needs to be a cable to connect the sensor to power, whether the wiring of the sensor is long, the wiring from the junction box is long, or there is a separate cable that plugs into both the sensor and the control system. Additionally, the quick connect explicitly has a power component and so the connection is considered an electrical plug-in connection. Furthermore, there is no explicit claim language that requires a proximity of the connection element to the pipe fitting nor a specific type of electrical plug. The language of instant claim 1 simply states “comprising… a first conductivity cell arranged in a first pipe fitting… wherein the first pipe fitting comprise[s] an electrical plug-in connection” [second pipe fitting omitted for clarity]. As the conductivity sensor of Hach Lange GmbH is integrated into the pipe fitting via a threaded connection and the sensor contains the quick connect power connection, the sensor reads upon the limitations of instant claim 1 and so claim 1 is not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 26, 28, 32-35, and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla et al (US Patent Application No. 20070215531 A1) hereinafter Wawrla, in view of Hoefferle et al (US Patent No. 10501343 B1) hereinafter Hoefferle in view of Elko et al (US Patent No. 9302920 B1) hereinafter Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH (“3700 sc Inductive Conductivity Sensor Operation Manual”, July 2005, HACH LANGE GmbH), hereinafter Hach Lange GmbH.
Regarding Claim 21, Wawrla teaches a water-treatment appliance with a connection head (i.e., a filter head, comprising; Fig. 1, #2) and a filter candle (i.e., a filter candle; Fig. 1, #3; Paragraph 0077) that has a watertight housing (i.e.,: a housing; Abstract) where the connection head has an entry line (i.e., a housing inlet; Fig. 1, #4) and an exit line (i.e., a housing outlet; Fig. 1, #5) that allows the connection head to be integrated into a water-channeling system (i.e., for being connected into an on-site water pipe; Paragraph 0078), where the filter candle has a conical hollow (Fig. 1, #13) and a connection cone (Fig. 1, #12) and threads (Fig. 1, #14 and 15) to secure the filter candle and connection head (i.e., a filter candle installed in the filter head), a central line (i.e., a filter candle inlet; Fig. 1, #16; Paragraph 0080), and an annular outlet for treated filtrate (i.e., a filter candle outlet; Fig. 1, #18) around the central line (i.e., wherein the filter candle inlet and the filter candle outlet are coaxial passages), where there is a bypass line (Fig. 1, #17) which channels water into the annular outlet to be mixed to a preset ratio (i.e., an adjustable bypass for setting a degree of softening by setting a blend ratio between water passing through a water treatment medium in the filter candle and water bypassing the water treatment medium; Paragraph 0081), and where a control unit (Fig 1, #24) is connected by cable to the connection head, a flowmeter (i.e., a flow meter; Fig. 1, #20; Paragraph 0083), and a communication element (Fig. 1, #28) which is connected wirelessly to another communication element (Fig. 1, #29) where the communication elements include a memory chip and processor (i.e., a computing unit; Paragraph 0084). Wawrla further teaches that the connection head contains two conductance sensors (i.e., a first conductivity measuring cell; a second conductivity measuring cell; Fig. 1, #26 and 27; Paragraph 0083) which can be seen to be located on the entry and exit lines (i.e., a first conductivity measuring cell arranged at the housing inlet; a second conductivity measuring cell being arranged at the housing outlet; Fig. 1). Wawrla further teaches that the flow meter (i.e., the flow meter; Fig. 1, #20), the cable (Fig. 1, #25), and the communication unit (i.e., the computing unit; Fig. 1, #28) are all located in the connection head (i.e., integrated in the housing; Fig. 1, #2; Paragraphs 0081-0083; All of Fig. 1 for locations of elements within the filter head).
Wawrla does not teach a display adapted for indicating values calculated by the computing unit.
However, Hoefferle teaches that water treatment devices include local displays (i.e., a display; Fig. 1A, #115; Col. 8, Lines 60-67 to Col. 9, Lines 1-14) and a specific example of a worker probe that has a display that provides an indication of whether the conductivity is within acceptable limits and where non-linear compensation may be used to adjust the conductivity value (i.e., adapted for indicating values calculated by the computing unit; Col. 12, Lines 51-67 to Col. 13, Lines 1-8).
Hoefferle is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to an apparatus for monitoring and controlling ion exchange-based water treatment systems (Col. 1, Lines 17-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water-treatment appliance taught by Wawrla with the display taught by Hoefferle because the display would provide an indication of whether the conductivity is within acceptable limits.
Wawrla in view of Hoefferle does not teach the display being arranged on a side wall of the housing.
However, Elko teaches a display (Fig. 3A, #48) located in the side of the housing (Fig. 3A, #44) for the purpose of indicating the status of the filter and for interfacing with buttons that can control the status of the filter (Col. 3, Lines 42-67).
Elko is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to an integrated controller and method for a water filtration system (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill I the art to modify the housing made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle with the display in the side as taught by Elko because the display would indicate the status of the filter and allow for interfacing with the filter head to change the status of the filter.
Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko does not teach that the first and second conductivity measuring cells are arranged in a first and second pipe fitting and wherein the first pipe fitting and the second pipe fitting each comprise an electrical plug in connection.
However, Hach Lange GmbH teaches in Fig. 8 on page 13, shown below, that conductivity sensors are known to be installed in pipe fittings with the examples described as common sensor installation methods (i.e., the first and second conductivity measuring cells are arranged in a first and second pipe fitting; Page 13).
Hach Lange GmbH further teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 on page 11, shown below, that the sensor includes a quick connect fitting to connect to the controller, with extension cables available to change the length of cabling required for the connection (i.e., wherein the first pipe fitting and the second pipe fitting each comprise an electrical plug in connection; Page 11).
Hach Lange GmbH is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to conductivity sensors for fluids in pipe applications (Pages 13 and 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko with the conductivity sensor and installation method as taught by Hach Lange GmbH because the installation method is known as a common installation method in the art.
Regarding Claim 23, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches a cable (i.e., an interface; Fig. 1, #25) connected to a control unit (i.e., an external unit; Fig. 1, #24) allowing data transmission and storage (i.e., for data transfer to; Paragraph 0084).
Regarding Claim 26, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches a perforated disk (Fig. 1, #7) which is driven by an actuating motor (i.e., an actuator; Fig. 1, #22) that sets the position of the actuating disk via the control unit, which is connected to the communication elements (i.e., connected to the computing unit; Paragraphs 0082-0083), and is used to set the actual mixing ratio of untreated and treated water (i.e., wherein the adjustable bypass; Paragraph 0090).
Regarding Claim 28, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Hoefferle further teaches a CPU (i.e., a programming interface is provided on an external unit) connected to communication modules (i.e., the computing unit) which includes code for controlling the operation of one or more water treatment devices (Col. 11, Lines 20-61) for the purpose of accessing the information from a remote location through the CPU (Col. 11, Lines 62-67). Hoefferle further teaches locating a temperature sensor with a conductivity sensor (i.e., wherein the first conductivity measuring cell comprises a first temperature sensor and the second conductivity measuring cell comprises a second temperature sensor) for the purpose of utilizing the temperature sensor to calibrate the conductivity sensor readings (Col. 12, Lines 18-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control unit as taught by Wawrla to be a CPU as taught by Hoefferle because the CPU would allow for remote connectivity to outside devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conductivity sensor as taught by Wawrla to have a temperature sensor as taught by Hoefferle because the temperature sensor would be used to calibrate the conductivity sensor.
Regarding Claim 32, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches that at least one or more sensors can be provided for sensing the state of the water and/or the state of the treatment medium including flowmeters. Elko further teaches a flow meter (Fig. 3, #50) positioned in line with the ion exchange inlet and outlet (i.e., wherein the flow meter is arranged approximately at a level of the filter candle inlet and of the filter candle of the filter candle) as seen below in Fig. 3. Elko further teaches that the flow meter can be utilized to determine when to regenerate the ion exchange based on accumulated flow (Col. 3, Lines 4-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water-treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle with a flow meter in line with the filter candle inlet and outlet as taught by Elko because the flow meter would determine when to regenerate the ion exchange.
Regarding Claim 33, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches that at least one or more sensors can be provided for sensing the state of the water and/or the state of the treatment medium including flowmeters. Elko further teaches a flow meter (Fig. 3, #50) positioned in line with the ion exchange inlet and outlet and that the flow meter can be a turbine flow meter (i.e., wherein the flow meter is a turbine wheel meter; Col. 3, Lines 4-24). Elko does not explicitly teach that the turbine wheel axis is aligned in parallel to an insertion direction of the filter candle, but turbine flow meters are designed such that the turbine axis is in line with the flow direction of the fluid being measured. As shown below in Fig. 3, this would mean that the axis is parallel to the insertion direction of the filter candle. Elko further teaches that the flow meter can be utilized to determine when to regenerate the ion exchange based on accumulated flow (Col. 3, Lines 4-24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the water-treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle with a turbine flow meter in line with the filter candle inlet and outlet as taught by Elko because the flow meter would determine when to regenerate the ion exchange.
Regarding Claim 34, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches that at least one or more sensors can be provided for sensing the state of the water and/or the state of the treatment medium including flowmeters. Elko further teaches that the flow meter (i.e., the flow meter; Fig. 1 and 2, #30) can be coupled to the water softener (i.e., connected to passages of the filter head; Fig. 1 and 2, #16; Col. 2, Lines 18-48) and can be seen as a self-contained module in Fig. 2 below. Elko further teaches that the flow meter can be utilized to determine when to regenerate the ion exchange based on accumulated flow (Col. 3, Lines 4-24).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the water-treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle with a turbine flow meter in line with the filter candle inlet and outlet as taught by Elko because the flow meter would determine when to regenerate the ion exchange.
Regarding Claim 35, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 34. Elko further teaches that the flow meter (i.e., the self-contained module; Fig. 1 and 2, #30) can be coupled (i.e., can be plugged) to the water softener (i.e., the passages; Fig. 1 and 2, #16; Col. 2, Lines 18-48).
Regarding Claim 42, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches a control unit (i.e., the external unit; an extension module; Fig. 1, #24) which can be provided with a communication element (i.e., the computing unit; Paragraph 0039) in which the control unit is connected to the connection head (i.e., wherein the computing unit is located in a housing extension of the housing; Fig. 1, #2) by a cable (Fig. 1, #25; Paragraph 0083). Elko further teaches that the flow meter (i.e., the flow meter; Fig. 3, #50; Col. 3, Lines 4-24) outside the main housing (i.e., the flow meter is located in a housing extension of the housing; Fig. 3B, #44) so that the circuit board can be coupled to the flow meter to help control the filter status (Col. 3, Line 42 to Col. 4, Line 20).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the water-treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle with flow meter located outside the housing as taught by Elko because the circuit board can be connected to the flow meter to help control the filter status.
Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH does not explicitly teach the housing extension being disposed opposite the display. However, the rearrangement of parts is not held to be patentable if the operation of the device is not changed. Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 43, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Elko further teaches a flow meter (i.e., the flow meter; Fig. 3, #50; Col. 3, Lines 4-24) that has an inlet and outlet located in parallel that can be replaced by a U-shaped piece (i.e., wherein the flow meter includes a flow meter inlet and a flow meter outlet, the flow meter inlet and the flow meter outlet being parallel to one another, and wherein the flow meter is configured to replace or be replaced by a U-shaped piece; Fig. 3B).
Claim 28 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Jha et al (US Patent Application No. 20150027890 A1) hereinafter Jha.
Regarding Claim 28, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH does not teach wherein the filter head comprises an RFID reading device configured to detect a filter candle.
However, Jha teaches the use of radio frequency identification (i.e., RFID reading device) sensors for the purpose of providing a method of real-time process control (Paragraph 0062) and specifically for determining the presence of a cartridge of cation exchange resin (i.e., wherein the filter head comprises an RFID reading device configured to detect a filter candle; Paragraph 0105).
Jha is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to systems for treating water using cation exchange resin (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water-treatment appliance made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH with the radio frequency identification sensors as taught by Jha because the radio frequency identification sensors would provide a method of real-time process control.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hans Sasserath GmbH & CO KG (German Patent Application No. DE 202017103177 U1) hereinafter Hans Sasserath.
Regarding Claim 41, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla further teaches entry line is connected to a throttle unit (i.e., an axially displaceable sleeve that engages a central tube of the filter candle; Fig. 1, #9) that divides the water path into two flow paths (Fig. 1, #10 and 11) which connects to the central line (Fig. 1, #16) of the filter candle (Fig. 1, #3; Paragraphs 0079-0080) where the throttle unit has a toothing formation (i.e., a threaded spindle for displacing the axially displaceable sleeve; Fig. 2, #21) which meshes with a gearwheel (Fig. 1, #23) which is driven by an actuating motor (i.e., the threaded spindle being operatively connected to a servomotor; Fig. 1, #22; Paragraph 0082).
Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko does not teach a bypass indicator projecting upwardly from the housing above the filter candle; a window formed in the bypass indicator through which the blend ratio can be read out from a corresponding scale located behind the window; the threaded spindle being operatively connected to the bypass indicator.
However, Hans Sasserath teaches a blending piston (Fig. 12, #126) which is cylindrical and rotates and contains a molded or printed arrow (i.e., a bypass indicator projecting upwardly from the housing above the filter candle; Fig. 12, #138) that indicates the position of the opening which can be controlled manually or by a motor (i.e., the threaded spindle being operatively connected to the bypass indicator; Fig. 12, #134; Paragraph 0043-0045 Machine Translation) where the turning of the blending piston sets the opening value and the setting angle can be determined by calibration based on a displayed value (i.e., a window formed in the bypass indicator through which the blend ratio can be read out from a corresponding scale located behind the window; Paragraph 0046 Machine Translation).
Hans Sasserath is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a water softening unit (Paragraph 0001 Machine Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter connection head as made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko with the blending piston as taught by Hans Sasserath because the blending piston would set the opening value of the bypass and is able to be calibrated.
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hosono et al (US Patent No. 6447019 B1) hereinafter Hosono.
Regarding Claim 44, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 25. Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko does not teach wherein the second pipe fitting comprises a collar on which a quick-connect engages in a connected state for connecting the second pipe fitting to the housing.
However, Hosono teaches a tube connection mechanism (Fig. 2, #20) that comprises a chuck member (i.e., a collar; Fig. 2, #34) which locks the tube in place to prevent disengagement when the tube is connected and a release bush (Fig. 2, #40) for releasing the locked state of the chuck member (i.e., wherein the second pipe fitting comprises a collar on which a quick-connect engages in a connected state for connecting the second pipe fitting to the housing; Col. 3, Lines 31-42) for the purpose of making the tube easy to insert and avoiding dust formation on the sealing members (Col. 2, Lines 18-31).
Hosono is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a tube joint capable of introducing and discharging a pressure fluid (Col. 1, Lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter connection head as made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH with the tube connection mechanism as taught by Hosono because the tube connection mechanism would make it easier to disconnect and reconnect the tube and would avoid dust formation on the sealing members.
Regarding Claim 45, Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH makes obvious the filter head of claim 21. Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko does not teach wherein the second pipe fitting includes an elbow for connecting the second pipe fitting to a vertically oriented pipe with a threaded connection.
However, Hosono teaches a tube joint (Fig. 2, #10) that is bent to have a substantially L-shaped configuration (Fig. 2; Col. 2, Lines 51-59) and a coupling member (Fig. 2, #18) which includes a screw section that connects to a pressure-operated apparatus (i.e., wherein the second pipe fitting includes an elbow for connecting the second pipe fitting to a vertically oriented pipe with a threaded connection; Fig. 2, #42; Col. 3, Lines 53-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter connection head as made obvious by Wawrla in view of Hoefferle in view of Elko in view of Hach Lange GmbH with the tube joint as taught by Hosono because the tube joint would enable connection to a pressure-operated apparatus.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/Ryan B Huang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777