DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 2 and 15 are amended. Claim 16 is added. Claims 1-5 and 7-16 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/31/2025 with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-15, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou (WO 2018/160994 A1) in view of Ko et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0076285 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cariou discloses a transmission apparatus being a first transmission apparatus (See Par. [32] and Fig. 1 of Cariou for a reference to AP 102 that communicates with a user station 120 within wireless network 100), the transmission apparatus comprising: control circuitry (See Fig. 6; Processing Circuitry 606), which, in operation, generates first control information (See Par. [27]-[29] of Cariou for a reference to identifying [generating] signaling information [Trigger frame] in the AP 102 that includes a unique BSSID/BSS color of the AP and a common BSSID/Color [group], which is the common identifier of a group of APs) including shared information with at least part of second control information (See Par. [29] of Cariou for a reference to the unique BSSID/BSS color of the AP and the common BSSID/Color [BSSID-group or AP-group ID], which is the common identifier of a group of APs) transmitted in a second preamble by a second transmission apparatus, when the first transmission apparatus and the second transmission apparatus perform coordinated transmission (See Par. [20], [28]-[29], [83]-[84] and Fig. 5 of Cariou for a reference to the trigger frame includes the association identification (AIDs) of all stations [Second apparatus] that performs joint [Coordinated] transmission with the Aps. A unique AID is assigned to each STA within a BSS, while an AID-group is common within a group of Aps [Group Color]); and
transmission circuitry (See Fig. 6; Transceiver 610), which, in operation, transmits the first control information in a first preamble (See Par. [27]-[29] of Cariou for a reference to transmitting the trigger frame, including the unique BSSID/BSS color of the AP and the common BSSID/Color [group], from the AP to the STA).
Cariou does not explicitly disclose wherein the second control information is entire high-rate signaling.
However, Ko discloses wherein the second control information is entire high-rate signaling (See Par. [87]-[88] and Fig. 7C of Ko for a reference to the a preamble of the EHT PPDU carries the second control information which is an entire high throughput (rate) preamble).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko to Cariou. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing a high-efficiency and high-performance wireless LAN communication technology in a high-density environment. (Ko; Par. [6])
Regarding claim 2, Cariou does not explicitly disclose wherein the shared information-is includes a basic service set (BSS) color in a first signal field and the entire high-rate signaling in a second signal field.
However Ko discloses wherein the shared information-is includes a basic service set (BSS) color in a first signal field and the entire high-rate signaling in a second signal field (See Par. [148], [159] and Fig. 8 and 13 of Ko for a reference to the common part of the shared information in the EHT preamble between the AP and the station includes the BSS color in the U-SIG field and the EHT-SIGA (High Throughput) field).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko to Cariou. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing a high-efficiency and high-performance wireless LAN communication technology in a high-density environment. (Ko; Par. [6])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures the BSS color to be different from a BSS color in non-coordinated transmission (See Par. [29] of Cariou for a reference to the AP configures two different BSS ID/Color; one is the unique BSSID/BSS color of the AP and the common BSSID/Color [BSSID-group or AP-group ID], which is the common identifier of a group of APs).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein, the control circuitry, in operation configures the BSS color to be a BSS color in non-coordinated transmission (See Par. [28]-[29] of Cariou for a reference to each AP configures the receiving STA with a unique BSSID (BSS Color) [BSSID_unique], which is associated with the specific AP in non-coordinated transmission), and
the second control information includes a BSS color configured to be the BSS color in the non-coordinated transmission configured by the control circuitry (See Par. [47]-[48] of Cariou for a reference to that when performing non-coordinated transmission, the STA is associated with a single AP through a single unique BSSID. Therefore, the STA can be only identified with the (BSSID, AID) and (BSS color, AID)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures, for the first control information, identification information different from identification information of a target reception apparatus configured for the second control information (See Par. [28]-[29] and Fig. 5 of Cariou for a reference to the AP configures first identification information indicating the unique BSSID of the AP and the common BSSID of a group of APs, and configures a second identification information that indicates the AID of the target STA).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the transmission circuitry, in operation transmits, to the second transmission apparatus, information on a candidate for the identification information configurable for the first control information (See Par. [20], [51], [56], [66] of Cariou for a reference to the AP transmits a trigger frame to all serviced STAs by the AP. The trigger frame includes all of the AIDs for the serviced by the AP STAs. Association identification (AIDs) are assigned by the servicing AP. All AIDs are unique among a group of APs).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures information identifying the first transmission apparatus to a user field of the first preamble (See Par. [47], [74] of Cariou for a reference to the AP configures, in the trigger frame transmitted to the STA, the BSS ID/Color of the associated AP (transmission apparatus) in the TA or RA field in the MAC header).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the transmission circuitry, in operation transmits, to the second transmission apparatus, identification information of the target reception apparatus that is to be configured for the second control information (See Par. [16], [47] of Cariou for a reference to the trigger frame is transmitted from the AP to the STA. In the trigger frame, each STA is identified by having the BSS ID/Color of its associated AP and its association ID (AID) assigned to it by the AP).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation transmits information on change in a configuration of the first control information to a target reception apparatus of the coordinated transmission before transmitting the first preamble (See Par. [59] of Cariou for a reference to a new [changed] ID (New BSSID) may be defined to identify a group of APs. The new BSSID, as well as a new group AID and a unique new AID are transmitted to each STA [Target devices])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cariou and Ko, specifically Cariou discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures, for the first control information, allocation information including information on a number of target reception apparatuses of coordinated spatial reuse (CSR), when performing the CSR in coordination with the second transmission apparatus (See Par. [12], [72] of Cariou for a reference to that in the trigger frame, the AP configuration includes scheduling [Allocating resources for] STAs in DL and UL, by allowing some level of spatial reuse between neighboring APs. The AP (transmitting apparatus) may select the number of spatial streams (STAs) to receive the data).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
6. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou in view of Ko et al. and further in view of Ram et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0373568 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cariou and Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures the BSS color to be a BSS color in the second control information.
However, Ram discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures the BSS color to be a BSS color in the second control information (See Par. [63]-[64] of Ram for a reference to the controller broadcasts signaling info 96 to all APs participating in coordinated transmission (AP1 & AP2). Signaling info 96 indicates MAC parameters, including BSSID [BSS Color] to be applied to both AP1 & AP2. Therefore, AP1 & AP2 have the same BSSID).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ram to the combination of Cariou and Ko. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing beamforming gain, data throughput and reliability, through applying the same MAC parameters on all antennas of the participating APs. (Ram; Par. [34])
7. Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou in view of Ko et al. and further in view of Cherian et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0106579 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cariou and Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures the allocation information to RU allocation addressed to at least one of the target reception apparatuses.
However, Cherian discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation configures the allocation information to RU allocation addressed to at least one of the target reception apparatuses (See Par. [83]-[84], [106] of Cherian for a reference to channel width is divided into a plurality of resource units (RUs). Each RU may include a different quantity of subcarriers. In the configuration transmitted from the AP to the STA, the AP may allocate different RUs for different STAs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cherian to the combination of Cariou and Ko. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the spectral efficiency of the wireless channel through using the coordinated transmission. (Cherian; Par. [66])
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cariou and Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein the RU allocation is configured based on reference information different from reference information in non- CSR.
However, Cherian discloses wherein the RU allocation is configured based on reference information different from reference information in non- CSR (See Par. [83]-[84], [120] of Cherian for a reference to a trigger message from the AP indicates which Rus are allocated to particular STAs based on subchannel mapping if spatial reuse is applied, while in non-CSR, the Rus are allocated based on the number of receiving STAs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cherian to the combination of Cariou and Ko. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the spectral efficiency of the wireless channel through using the coordinated transmission. (Cherian; Par. [66])
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US 2021/0250277 A1) discloses an aggregation method for the multiple link operations of an electronic device.
Fehrenbach et al. (US 2020/0092685 A1) discloses communication between one or more user equipment within a radio cell served by a base station of a wireless communication network.
Lu et al. (US 2019/0320474 A1) discloses a core network element configured to determine that a Quality of Service (QoS) Class Indicator (QCI) of particular bearer set up between the core network and user equipment (UE) should be changed to a new QCI.
/R. F./
Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413