DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 09/02/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 48 and 69 have been amended.
Claims 1-47, 49 and 62-67 were canceled.
Claims 48, 50-61 and 68-74 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1, the applicant argued that neither MolavianJazi, nor Lin, nor Rastegardoost, nor any other cited reference of record in this application - whether taken alone or in combination - discloses or suggests the further added limitation of "wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions." Nor does the Office allege that any of the cited references disclose or suggest such a limitation.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1 &15 (in provisional) 16-17, newly added Agiwal clearly discloses that the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration configures/refers to (RACH Occasions) random access channel occasions since
NTx SSB SS/PBCH blocks are mapped at least once to the PRACH occasions within the association period, where a UE obtains NTx SSB from the value of ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon (see Agiwal, Fig.1 [0059]-[0063] and Fig.1 [0070]-[0071] and Fig.15-17 [0513][0551]).
Additionally, Lin discloses that the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration refers to (RACH Occasion, RO) resources i.e., random access occasions when a terminal device is determining Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resources (see Lin, Fig.1-2 [0070]).
Lin also discloses that the terminal device is determining Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resources to use by the terminal device based on the configuration and a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration and also based on the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration refers to (RACH Occasion, RO) resources i.e., random access occasions since a resource of a two-step random access and a resource of a four-step random access are configured on an uplink BWP (see Lin, Fig.1-2 [0070] and Fig.9 [0169]).
Additionally, Rastegardoost discloses that the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration refers to (RACH Occasion, RO) RACH resources/ occasions since the one or more PRACH resources comprises one or more PRACH occasions or RACH occasions (ROs) (see Rastegardoost, Fig.16A-D [0233]-[0234] and Fig.28A-B [0333]).
Additionally, MolavianJazi discloses that UE 116 is receiving in a SIB system information, an indication of a PRACH configuration of resources e.g., SIB-indicated threshold indicating one or more configured random access channel resources for performing a random access procedure of RACH occasions (ROs) since the UE is performing ROs within a reduced bandwidth of an NR-Light UE e.g., at least that for the initial UL BWP i.e., a reduced bandwidth compared to an initial uplink bandwidth part, whereby “NR-Light UE” and “Reduced capability UE” are used interchangeably to refer to a UE or a group of UEs with reduced cost and/or complexity such as reduced bandwidth which are associated with the random access channel configuration (see MolavianJazi, Fig.3&9A-B [0151] and Fig.3&12 [0179]).
Additionally, Rastegardoost discloses that the “reduced resources” is “a reduced bandwidth compared to the PUSCH uplink bandwidth part” since the quantity of the downlink slots and/or the downlink symbols are reduced such that the downlink slots and the downlink symbols do not overlap with the one or more reserved uplink channel resources associated with the first type of access procedure (see Rastegardoost, Fig.28A-B [0332]-[0333]).
Rastegardoost also discloses that the wireless device is receiving the system information block (SIB) via PBCH broadcast signaling for performing the random access channel (RACH) procedure within the reduced resources/occasions since system information comprises at least one information element e.g., PDCCH-Config, PDCCH-ConfigSIB1, PDCCH-ConfigCommon for a SIB e.g., search space SIB1 of the one or more control parameters (see Rastegardoost, Fig.16A-D [0222]-[0223]).
Rastegardoost further discloses that wireless device is determining a radio resource and a time-frequency resource i.e., a set of resources that the wireless device can use based on the configuration including a RACH random access channel configuration since a set of resources such as control parameters of one or more CORESETs is detected based on the control resource set number 0 bandwidth CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero, whereby carrier bandwidth limit on the wireless device processing capabilities using bandwidth adaptation in an NR configuration prach-ConfigurationIndex in RACH-ConfigCommon i.e., a random access channel configuration for detecting a control resource set e.g., a CORESET for Type0-PDCCH CSS set (see Rastegardoost, Fig.8-9 [0119]-[0120], Fig.13A-C [0187], Fig.16A-D [0223] and Fig.22A-B&23 [0300]).
Claim 69, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 48. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding Claim 48, the applicant further argued that Rastegardoost does not provide any disclosure or suggestion that goes beyond the disclosure of MolavianJazi and Lin, whether taken alone or in any combination, which could reasonably be interpreted as guidance or motivation that would have led a person having ordinary skill in the relevant art to modify the apparatus of MolavianJazi and/or Lin, based on the disclosure of Rastegardoost, to arrive at the apparatus recited in independent Claim 48.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.3&9A-B, MolavianJazi clearly discloses that UE 116 is receiving in a SIB system information, an indication of a configuration of resources e.g., SIB-indicated threshold use a PRACH configuration indicating one or more configured random access channel resources for performing RACH occasions (ROs) i.e., random access procedure; performing ROs within a reduced bandwidth of an NR-Light UE e.g., at least that for the initial UL BWP i.e., a reduced bandwidth compared to an initial uplink bandwidth part (see MolavianJazi, Fig.3&9A-B [0151]). Therefore, the indication of a configuration of resources e.g., SIB-indicated threshold use a PRACH configuration inasmuch one or more configured random access channel resources of MolavianJazi would be motivated to combine the teachings of Rastegardoost occurs in accordance with SS/PBCH block in the transmission pattern since the number of PRACH repetitions is indicated by a system information block (SIB) or be provided by UE-specific higher layer signaling (see MolavianJazi, Fig.5 [0131] and Fig.3&12 [0179]).
Claim 69, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 48. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been beneficial to determine a radio resource and a time-frequency resource i.e., a set of resources that the wireless device can use based on the configuration including a RACH random access channel configuration with carrier bandwidth limit on the wireless device processing capabilities using bandwidth adaptation in an NR configuration and, the wireless device is detecting/determining a set of resources such as control parameters of one or more CORESETs based on the control resource set number 0 bandwidth CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero and, prach-ConfigurationIndex in RACH-ConfigCommon i.e., a random access channel configuration for detecting a control resource set e.g., a CORESET for Type0-PDCCH CSS set as taught by Rastegardoost to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi to improve the system performance. (Rastegardoost, Fig.8 [0119]-[0120], Fig.13A-C [0187], Fig.16A-D [0223], Fig.18 [0259] and Fig.22A-B&23 [0300]) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48, 50-52, 54-61, 68-70 and 72-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (provisional application No. 62/888779 filed on 08/19/2019, provisional application No. 62/895543 filed on 09/04/2019, provisional application No. 62/969755 filed on 02/04/2020, provisional application No. 62/969760 filed on 02/04/2020) [hereinafter as MolavianJazi], US 20210058971 A1 in view of Lin et al. [hereinafter as Lin] US 20220225433 A1 further in view of Agiwal et al. (provisional application No. 62/961103 filed on 01/14/2020) [hereinafter as Agiwal], US 20210219346 A1.
Regarding claim 48, MolavianJazi discloses wherein an apparatus (Fig.3 [0052], UE 116 apparatus) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.3 [0053], a processor 340); and
at least one memory comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], a memory 360 comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor 340, cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform at least and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
receiving, in system information, an indication of a configuration indicating one or more configured random access channel resources for performing a random access procedure within a reduced bandwidth compared to an initial uplink bandwidth part (Fig.3&12 [0179], UE 116 is receiving in a SIB system information, an indication of a configuration of resources e.g., SIB-indicated threshold use a PRACH configuration indicating one or more configured random access channel resources for performing RACH occasions (ROs) i.e., random access procedure and Fig.3&9A-B [0151], performing ROs within a reduced bandwidth of an NR-Light UE e.g., at least that for the initial UL BWP i.e., a reduced bandwidth compared to an initial uplink bandwidth part).
However, MolavianJazi does not explicitly disclose wherein determining random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the configuration and a common random access channel configuration, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches wherein determining random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the configuration and a common random access channel configuration (Fig.1-2 [0070], the terminal device is determining Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resources to use by the terminal device based on the configuration and a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration; Noted: MolavianJazi discloses that “NR-Light UE” and “Reduced capability UE” are used interchangeably to refer to a UE or a group of UEs with reduced cost and/or complexity such as reduced bandwidth which are associated with the random access channel configuration), wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions (Fig.1-2 [0070], the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration refers to (RACH Occasion, RO) resources i.e., random access occasions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teaching of Lin in order to provide for low-latency and high-reliability related services.
It would have been beneficial to determine physical random access channel (PRACH) resources to use by the terminal device based on the configuration and a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration as taught by Lin to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi to improve the high-speed data transmission services. (Lin, Fig.1 [0051] and Fig.1-2 [0070])
Even though MolavianJazi and Lin discloses wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions, in the same field of endeavor, Agiwal teaches wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions (Fig.15-17 [0513][0551], the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration configures/refers to (RACH Occasions) random access channel occasions; Fig.1 [0059]-[0063] and Fig.1 [0070]-[0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MolavianJazi and Lin to incorporate the teaching of Agiwal in order to provide for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) system.
It would have been beneficial to use the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration which configures/refers to (RACH Occasions) random access channel occasions as taught by Agiwal to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi and Lin to provide more and better applications and services. (Agiwal, Fig.1-2 [0059]-[0063], Fig.1 [0070]-[0071] and Fig.15-17 [0513][0551])
Regarding claim 50, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the indication comprises one or more bits in the system information (Fig.8A-B [0147], the indication comprises 8 bits/ one or more bits in the system information).
Regarding claim 51, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the indication indicates one or more random access channel resources that can be used to perform the random access procedure within the reduced bandwidth (Fig.3&12 [0179], the indication indicates PRACH resources i.e., one or more random access channel resources that can be used to perform the RACH occasions (ROs) i.e., random access procedure and Fig.3&9A-B [0151], the reduced bandwidth); and
wherein the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.12 [0179]).
Regarding claim 52, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the indication identifies a first random access channel resource that is within the reduced bandwidth (Fig.3&12 [0179], the indication identifies PRACH resources i.e., one or more random access channel resources that can be used to perform the RACH occasions (ROs) i.e., random access procedure and Fig.3&9A-B [0151], the reduced bandwidth); and
wherein the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions) the determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus by causing the apparatus to perform (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel resources allowed for use by the UE apparatus by causing the UE apparatus to perform and Fig.12 [0179]):
determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the first random access channel resource (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.12 [0179]).
Regarding claim 54, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the indication comprises time or frequency information that identifies a set of random access channel resources that can be used to perform the random access procedure within the reduced bandwidth (Fig.3&12 [0177]-[0179], the indication includes time or frequency information that identifies PRACH resources i.e., one or more random access channel resources that can be used to perform the RACH occasions (ROs) i.e., random access procedure and Fig.3&9A-B [0151], the reduced bandwidth); and
wherein the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform the determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus by causing the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions and Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel resources allowed for use by the UE apparatus by causing the UE apparatus to perform and Fig.12 [0179]):
determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the time or frequency information (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources/ time or frequency information and Fig.12 [0179]).
Regarding claim 55, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instruction stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform at least (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
determining that the apparatus is allowed to use the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus, or determining that the apparatus is not allowed to use one or more other random access channel resources not included in the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.12 [0179]).
Regarding claim 56, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform at least (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
transmitting an indication of a capability of the apparatus (Fig.18 [0245], sending an indication of a capability of the UE 116 apparatus), wherein the capability of the apparatus comprises at least one of:
a capability of the apparatus to use the reduced bandwidth,
an inability of the apparatus to use an initial bandwidth that is wider than the reduced bandwidth, or a maximum supported bandwidth for the apparatus (Fig.3&4A-B [0114], the capability of the UE apparatus comprises at least a capability of the UE apparatus to use the reduced bandwidth and Fig.16A-B [0206], reduced UE bandwidth capability; Fig.3&12 [0177]-[0178]).
Regarding claim 57, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform at least (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
determining the configured random access channel resources (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources); and
determining whether the apparatus has received the indication (Fig.20 [0253], determining whether the UE 116 apparatus has received the indication and/or configuration).
Regarding claim 58, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
determining the reduced bandwidth based on the configuration for the random access procedure (Fig.9A-B [0151], determine the reduced bandwidth based on the configuration for the RACH occasion (ROs) random access procedure and Fig.11A-B [0159]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 59, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions), when determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.12 [0179]):
determining one or more random access occasions that can be used to request that a transmission be performed within the reduced bandwidth (Fig.9A-B [0151], determine one or more RACH occasion (ROs)/random access occasions that can be used to request that a transmission be performed within the reduced bandwidth).
Regarding claim 60, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
performing the random access procedure using the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus by transmitting or receiving one or more messages associated with the random access procedure (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], performing the random access procedure using the random access channel resources allowed to use by the UE apparatus by transmitting or receiving one or more messages associated with the random access procedure and Fig.11A-B [0159]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 61, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 60 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus, when determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus, to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions):
determining one or more random access resources to use for a transmission based on performing the random access procedure (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access resources allowed for use for a transmission based on performing the random access procedure and Fig.11A-B [0159]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 68, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein Lin further discloses the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions (Fig.1-2 [0070], a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration refers to RACH occasion (RO) random access channel occasions).
Regarding claim 69, MolavianJazi discloses wherein a method (Fig.3 [0052], a method of UE 116 apparatus) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment, in system information, an indication of a configuration
indicating one or more configured random access channel resources for performing a random access procedure within a reduced bandwidth compared to an initial uplink bandwidth part (Fig.3&12 [0179], UE 116 is receiving in a SIB system information, an indication of a configuration of resources e.g., SIB-indicated threshold use a PRACH configuration indicating one or more configured random access channel resources for performing RACH occasions (ROs) i.e., random access procedure and Fig.3&9A-B [0151], performing ROs within a reduced bandwidth of an NR-Light UE e.g., at least that for the initial UL BWP i.e., a reduced bandwidth compared to an initial uplink bandwidth part).
However, MolavianJazi does not explicitly discloses wherein determining, by the user equipment, random access channel resources permissible for use by the user equipment based on the configuration and a common random access channel configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches wherein determining, by the user equipment, random access channel resources permissible for use by the user equipment based on the configuration and a common random access channel configuration (Fig.1-2 [0070], the terminal device is determining Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resources to use by the terminal device based on the configuration and a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration; Noted: MolavianJazi discloses that “NR-Light UE” and “Reduced capability UE” are used interchangeably to refer to a UE or a group of UEs with reduced cost and/or complexity such as reduced bandwidth which are associated with the random access channel configuration), wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions (Fig.1-2 [0070], the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration refers to (RACH Occasion, RO) resources i.e., random access occasions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teaching of Lin in order to provide for low-latency and high-reliability related services.
It would have been beneficial to determine physical random access channel (PRACH) resources to use by the terminal device based on the configuration and a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration as taught by Lin to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi to improve the high-speed data transmission services. (Lin, Fig.1 [0051] and Fig.1-2 [0070])
Even though MolavianJazi and Lin discloses wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions, in the same field of endeavor, Agiwal teaches wherein the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel occasions (Fig.15-17 [0513], the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration configures/refers to (RACH Occasions) random access channel occasions; Fig.1 [0059]-[0063] and Fig.1 [0070]-[0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MolavianJazi and Lin to incorporate the teaching of Agiwal in order to provide for supporting higher data rates beyond a fourth generation (4G) system.
It would have been beneficial to use the RACH-ConfigCommon/the common random access channel configuration which configures/refers to (RACH Occasions) random access channel occasions as taught by Agiwal to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi and Lin to provide more and better applications and services. (Agiwal, Fig.1-2 [0059]-[0063], Fig.1 [0070]-[0071] and Fig.15-17 [0513][0551])
Regarding claim 70, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 69 as stated above wherein Lin further discloses the common random access channel configuration refers to random access channel configurations (Fig.1-2 [0070], a RACH-ConfigCommon/a common random access channel configuration refers to RACH occasion (RO) random access channel occasions).
Regarding claim 72, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 69 (Fig.18 [0245], sending an indication of a capability of the UE 116 apparatus), wherein the capability of the apparatus comprises at least one of:
a capability of the user equipment to use the reduced bandwidth,
an inability of the user equipment to use an initial bandwidth that is wider than the reduced bandwidth, or
a maximum supported bandwidth for the user equipment (Fig.3&4A-B [0114], the capability of the UE apparatus comprises at least a capability of the UE apparatus to use the reduced bandwidth and Fig.16A-B [0206], reduced UE bandwidth capability; Fig.3&12 [0177]-[0178]).
Regarding claim 73, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 69 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses determining the reduced bandwidth based on the configuration for the random access procedure (Fig.9A-B [0151], determine the reduced bandwidth based on the configuration for the RACH occasion (ROs) random access procedure).
Regarding claim 74, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 69 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses performing the random access procedure using the random access channel resources permissible for use by the user equipment by transmitting or receiving one or more messages associated with the random access procedure (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], performing the random access procedure using the random access channel resources allowed to use by the UE apparatus by transmitting or receiving one or more messages associated with the random access procedure and Fig.11A-B [0159]-[0160]).
Claims 53 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (provisional application No. 62/888779 filed on 08/19/2019, provisional application No. 62/895543 filed on 09/04/2019, provisional application No. 62/969755 filed on 02/04/2020, provisional application No. 62/969760 filed on 02/04/2020) [hereinafter as MolavianJazi], US 20210058971 A1 in view of Lin et al. [hereinafter as Lin] US 20220225433 A1 in view of Agiwal et al. (provisional application No. 62/961103 filed on 01/14/2020) [hereinafter as Agiwal], US 20210219346 A1 further in view of Rastegardoost et al. (provisional application No. 62/886656 filed on 08/14/2019) [hereinafter as Rastegardoost] US 2021/0051672 A1.
Regarding claim 53, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 48 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the instructions stored on the at least one memory, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform the determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus by causing the apparatus to perform (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions and Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.12 [0179]):
determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus (Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.12 [0179]).
However, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal do not explicitly disclose the indication identifies a control resource set number 0 bandwidth; and determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the control resource set number 0 bandwidth.
In the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the indication identifies a control resource set number 0 bandwidth (Fig.16A-D [0223]-[0224], the indication identifies a CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth); and
determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the control resource set number 0 bandwidth (Fig.16A-D [0223]-[0224], determine the random access channel resources based on the CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal to incorporate the teaching of Rastegardoost in order to provide high reliability and low latency services.
It would have been beneficial to determine the random access channel resources based on the CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth and the indication which identifies a CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth as taught by Rastegardoost to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal to improve the system performance. (Rastegardoost, Fig.16A-D [0223]-[0224] and Fig.18 [0259])
Regarding claim 71, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal disclose all the elements of claim 69 as stated above wherein MolavianJazi further discloses the determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the user equipment is based on one or more of:
one or more indicated random access channel resources, a first random access channel resource within the reduced bandwidth that is identified by the indication (Fig.3 [0053]-[0057], the instructions stored on the memory 360 when executed by the at least one processor 340, further cause the UE 116 apparatus to perform and Fig.4A-B [0062], one or more processors executing instructions and Fig.4A-B [0099]-[0100], determining the random access channel allowed for use by the UE apparatus based on the one or more indicated random access channel resources and Fig.3&9A-B [0151], a PRACH first random access channel resource within the reduced bandwidth of an NR-Light UE e.g., at least that for the initial UL BWP i.e., a reduced bandwidth that is identified by the indication).
However, MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal do not explicitly disclose a control resource set number 0 bandwidth identified by the indication, or time or frequency information comprised in the indication.
In the same field of endeavor, Rastegardoost teaches wherein a control resource set number 0 bandwidth identified by the indication, or
time or frequency information comprised in the indication (Fig.16A-D [0223]-[0224], the indication identifies a CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth); and
determining the random access channel resources permissible for use by the apparatus based on the control resource set number 0 bandwidth (Fig.16A-D [0223]-[0224], determine the random access channel resources based on the CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal to incorporate the teaching of Rastegardoost in order to provide high reliability and low latency services.
It would have been beneficial to determine the random access channel resources based on the CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth and the indication which identifies a CORESET #0 e.g., controlResourceSetZero i.e., control resource set number 0 bandwidth as taught by Rastegardoost to have incorporated in the system of MolavianJazi, Lin and Agiwal to improve the system performance. (Rastegardoost, Fig.16A-D [0223]-[0224] and Fig.18 [0259])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414