DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicants arguments and claim amendments received on 11/26/2025 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1-9, 22, 23 are withdrawn; claim 10 is amended; claims 17-18, 21, 24-28 are cancelled; resulting in claims 10-16, 19 and 20 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamine et al. (US 2015/0239774, cited on IDS and ISR).
Regarding claim 10, Lamine et al. teaches a glazing unit (article) comprising a glass substrate (1; substrate) and a multilayer coating (composite coating) on at least a portion of the substrate, wherein the multilayer coating (composite coating) prevent water from condensing on the surface overnight which reduces the visibility through the glazing unit in the morning ([0001-0003]). The multilayer coating (composite coating) is formed on the external surface of the glass substrate (1; substrate) ([0002, 0007-0008, 0055, 0058-0071]). The multilayer coating (composite coating) taught by Lamine et al. comprises a first region with a first material of a transparent electrically conductive oxide (2) is associated with a first set of optical properties over a range of wavelengths and a second region with a second material of a silicon nitride barrier film (3) that is associated with a second set of optical properties over the range of wavelengths (Figure 1; [0006-0032]).
The limitation “wherein, when the composite coating is exposed to a fluid comprising one or more foulants and associated with a third set of optical properties over a range of wavelengths, a mean percentage difference between the third set of optical properties and an average of the first set of optical properties and the second set of optical properties is about 20% or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process.
Furthermore, Lamine et al. teaches that the multilayer coatings (composite coating) have good self-cleaning, antifouling an anti-misting properties ([0032]) and thus would be capable of performing in the manner claimed. Furthermore, Lamine et al. teaches that the a first material of a transparent electrically conductive oxide (2) is an ITO-based film and that the second region with a second material of a silicon nitride barrier film (3), wherein ITO and silicon nitride are both disclosed as materials for the first and second materials respectively by the instant application (see pg-pub [0093]), and therefore would inherently comprise the same properties, such as resistance to fouling.
Regarding claim 11, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. The limitation reciting “wherein the mean percentage different is about 10% or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Lamin et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. The limitation reciting “wherein the average is a weighted average weighed by volume fraction” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Lamin et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Claims 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hossain et al. (US 2016/0329111; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 10, Hossain et al. teaches enhanced surface treatments for support surfaces of articles used in the nuclear, transportation or shipping industry, which are exposed to such harsh environments that result in physical and/or chemical changes to the exterior surfaces of such articles ([0003-0005]). Hossain et al. teaches a support material having a surface (substrate) and a multilayer coating (composite coating) on at least a portion of the exterior surface thereof, the multilayer coating (composite coating) comprised of a first layer of a material (204; first region comprising a first material) and a second layer of ceramic nitride or oxynitride (206; second region comprising a second material) (Figure 2; [0016-0029]). As the first layer of material (204; first region comprising a first material) and a second layer of ceramic nitride or oxynitride (206; second region comprising a second material) taught by Hossain et al. are comprised of two different materials, the first layer of material (204; first region comprising a first material) would inherently have a first set of optical properties over a range of wavelengths and the second layer of ceramic nitride or oxynitride (206; second region comprising a second material) would inherently have a second set of optical properties of the range of wavelengths as claimed. Hossain et al. teaches that the multilayer coating (composite coating) provides anti-corrosion properties to underlying supports ([0003-0005, 0015-0016, 0020-0030, 0043]), wherein corrosion is described by the instant specification as one type of fouling (see pg-pub [0063]), and therefore the coating taught by Hossain et al. would exhibit a resistance to fouling.
The limitation “wherein, when the composite coating is exposed to a fluid comprising one or more foulants and associated with a third set of optical properties over a range of wavelengths, a mean percentage difference between the third set of optical properties and an average of the first set of optical properties and the second set of optical properties is about 20% or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Furthermore, Hossain et al. teaches all the structural features of claim 10 above, and would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. The limitation reciting “wherein the mean percentage different is about 10% or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Hossain et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. The limitation reciting “wherein the average is a weighted average weighed by volume fraction” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Hossain et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamine et al. (US 2015/0239774; cited on IDS and ISR).
Regarding claim 12, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the wavelength range pertaining to the first set of optical properties of the first material and the second set of optical properties of the second material is from 10nm to 1mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any wavelength claimed, such as a wavelength within in the range disclosed by claim 12, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
Regarding claim 13, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the wavelength range pertaining to the first set of optical properties of the first material and the second set of optical properties of the second material is from 100 nm to 700nm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any wavelength claimed, such as a wavelength within in the range disclosed by claim 13, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
Regarding claim 15, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the first set of optical properties is a first set of refractive indices and the second set of optical properties is a second set of refractive indices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention utilize a refractive index measurement, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
The limitation reciting “and the third set of optical properties is a third set of refractive indices” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Lamin et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claims 10 and 15 above. The limitation reciting “wherein a root-mean-square deviation of an average of the first set of refractive indices and the second set of refractive indices from the third set of refractive indices is about 0.5 or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Lamin et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 19, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the first set of optical properties is a first set of dielectric response values and the second set of optical properties is a second set of dielectric response values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention utilize a refractive index measurement, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
The limitation reciting “and the third set of optical properties is a third set of dielectric response values” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Lamin et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Lamine et al. teaches all the limitations of claims 10 and 19 above. The limitation reciting “wherein a root-mean-square deviation of an average of the first set of dielectric response values and the second set of dielectric response values from the third set of dielectric response values is about 10 or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Lamin et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain et al. (US 2016/0329111; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 12, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the wavelength range pertaining to the first set of optical properties of the first material and the second set of optical properties of the second material is from 10nm to 1mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any wavelength claimed, such as a wavelength within in the range disclosed by claim 12, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
Regarding claim 13, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the wavelength range pertaining to the first set of optical properties of the first material and the second set of optical properties of the second material is from 100 nm to 700nm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any wavelength claimed, such as a wavelength within in the range disclosed by claim 13, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
Regarding claim 15, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the first set of optical properties is a first set of refractive indices and the second set of optical properties is a second set of refractive indices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention utilize a refractive index measurement, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
The limitation reciting “and the third set of optical properties is a third set of refractive indices” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Hossain et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claims 10 and 15 above. The limitation reciting “wherein a root-mean-square deviation of an average of the first set of refractive indices and the second set of refractive indices from the third set of refractive indices is about 0.5 or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Hossain et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 19, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the first set of optical properties is a first set of dielectric response values and the second set of optical properties is a second set of dielectric response values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect of the filing date of the claimed invention utilize a refractive index measurement, based upon the desired optical property being measured. Such a modification would have be capable of being achieved through routing optimization within the level of skill of an ordinary person of the art.
The limitation reciting “and the third set of optical properties is a third set of dielectric response values” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Hossain et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Hossain et al. teaches all the limitations of claims 10 and 19 above. The limitation reciting “wherein a root-mean-square deviation of an average of the first set of dielectric response values and the second set of dielectric response values from the third set of dielectric response values is about 10 or less” is considered functional language related to the intended use of the product and is accorded limited weight as the language does not further limit the structure or the process. Hossain et al. teaches all the structural of claim 10 as stated above, and therefore is capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of claims 10-16 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention are overcome by Applicants amendments to claim 10 in the response filed 11/26/2025.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejections over Lamine et al., the Applicant argues on page 7 that the TCO layer 2 and the silicon nitride layer 3 of Lamine are not positioned on an external surface of the article, but rather sandwiched by other layers, as shown in Figure 1. This argument is not persuasive.
The instant claims recite an article comprising a substrate and a composite coating disposed on at least a portion of the substrate, with the newly added limitation requiring that the coating is positioned on an external surface of the article. Both the preamble of the claim and the clause of the claim pertaining to the coating used the open ended phrase “comprising”, therefore, components and layers other than those recited by the claims can be present.
Lamine et al. teaches a glazing unit (article) comprising a glass substrate and a multilayer coating (composite coating) on at least a portion of the glass substrate, wherein the entirety of the multilayer coating (composite coating) is formed on the external surface of the glass substrate (1; substrate), which is the face that is positioned to be in contact with the exterior of the dwelling/glazing unit ([0002, 0007-0008, 0055, 0058-0071]).
The Applicant further argues on page 7 that because the layer of Lamine are designed to coat a glazing unit, side surfaces of TCO layer 2 and silicon nitride layer 3 would not also be positioned on an external surface of the article because the side surfaces must be sealed with a mastic that is part of the glazing unit. This argument is not persuasive.
The multilayer coating is applied to the external surface of the glass substrate, which faces the exterior (i.e. atmosphere side), which meets the newly added limitation “positioned on an external surface of the article”. The sealing of the side surfaces does not change the position of the multilayer coating. Whether the sides of the multilayer coating are sealed or not, the multilayer coating remains on the external surface of the glass substrate.
The Applicant further argues on page 7 that the TCO layer 2 and silicon nitride 3 of Lamine et al. are not described as exhibiting a resistance to fouling, but rather functions as a low-emissivity coating to reduce radiative exchange and optimize emissivity. This argument is not persuasive.
As described above, Lamine et al. teaches that the multilayer coatings (composite coating) have good self-cleaning, antifouling an anti-misting properties ([0032]) and thus would be capable of performing in the manner claimed. Lamine et al. additionally teaches that the first material of a transparent electrically conductive oxide (2) is an ITO-based film and that the second material is a silicon nitride barrier film (3) ([0016-0029]). Both ITO and silicon nitride are disclosed as materials for the first and second materials respectively by the instant application (see pg-pub [0093]), and therefore would inherently comprise the same properties, such as resistance to fouling. The Applicant has not presented arguments as to how the ITO based films and silicone nitride barrier films taught by Lamine et al. would perform differently from those ITO and silicon nitride films disclosed by the instant application, therefore, it is maintained that they would inherently comprise the same anti-fouling properties.
With respect to the rejections of Hossain et al., the Applicant argues on page 8 that Hossain et al. does not disclose or render obvious a coating that exhibits a resistance to fouling, but rather discloses the deposition of an oxynitride anti-corrosion coating onto a metal-oxide layer. The Applicant argues that Hossain et al. is silent with regards to anti-corrosion coating exhibiting a resistance to fouling. This argument is not persuasive.
As stated in the rejections above, the instant application describes fouling as including corrosion (pg-pub [0063]). Hossain et al. teaches that the multilayer coating (composite coating) provides anti-corrosion properties to underlying supports ([0003-0005, 0015-0016, 0020-0030, 0043]), and therefore the coating taught by Hossain et al. would exhibit a resistance to fouling.
The remaining rejections of the dependent claims over Lamine et al. and over Hossain et al. are maintained for the reasons expressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA POWERS
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785