DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I (Claims 1-26 and 39-46) in the reply filed on 1/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 includes “a first actuator coupled to the clamp arms and a second actuator coupled to the second clamp arm.” This renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how the configuration of one actuator coupled to both clamp arms and the other coupled to one clamp arm functions to clamp an item the claimed manner. It appears that each actuator is coupled to a different clamp arm based on the disclosure. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 39 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,417,464 to Seaberg.
Regarding claim 1 Seaberg discloses a smart clamp load handler comprising: a first clamp arm (20) and a second clamp arm (22); one or more actuators (32/30) coupled to the clamp arms, wherein each of the one or more actuators have a closing actuator chamber and an opening actuator chamber (see figure 3); a first clamp hydraulic line hydraulically coupled to the one or more opening actuator chambers (figure 3 left side entering rod side of 32); a second clamp hydraulic line hydraulically coupled to the one or more closing actuator chambers (figure 3 left side entering opposite side of 32); a control valve hydraulically coupled between the first clamp hydraulic line and the opening actuator chambers (see 92 and/or 36); a first pressure sensor configured to sense hydraulic pressure applied to at least one of the one or more opening actuator chambers (148/149); and a controller (162) configured for controlling an amount of force applied by the clamp arms to a target level by changing positions of the control valve, based on pressure measurements from the first pressure sensor (col. 10 lines 40-60).
Regarding claim 2 Seaberg discloses the one or more actuators are configured for opening of the clamp arms when hydraulic fluid expands the one or more opening actuator chambers; wherein the one or more actuators are configured for closing of the clamp arms when hydraulic fluid expands the one or more closing actuator chambers; and wherein the first and second clamp hydraulic lines are configured to be coupled to a lift truck (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 9 Seaberg discloses a smart clamp load handler comprising: a first clamp arm (20) and a second clamp arm (22); a first actuator (30) coupled to the clamp arms and a second actuator (32) coupled to the second clamp arm, wherein each of the first and second actuators comprise a rod-side actuator, the actuators configured for closing of the clamp arms when hydraulic fluid expands the rod-side actuators (see figure 3), each of the actuators comprising a base-side actuator, the actuators configured for opening of the clamp arms when hydraulic fluid expands the base-side actuators (see figure 3); a first clamp hydraulic line hydraulically coupled to the base-side actuator (see figure 3 and discussion above); a second clamp hydraulic line hydraulically coupled to the rod-side actuator (see figure 3 and discussion above); wherein the first and second clamp hydraulic lines are configured to be coupled to a lift truck (see figure 3); a base-side control valve hydraulically coupled between the first clamp hydraulic line and the base-side actuators (36/92); one or more base-side pressure sensors (148/149), each configured to sense hydraulic pressure applied to one of the base-side actuators; and a controller (162) configured for controlling an amount of force applied by the clamp arms to a target level by changing positions of the base-side control valve, based on pressure measurements from the one or more base-side pressure sensors (col. 10 lines 40-60).
Regarding claim 39 Seaberg discloses a smart clamp load handler comprising: a first clamp arm (20) and a second clamp arm (22); one or more actuators (32) coupled to the clamp arms, wherein each of the one or more actuators have an opening actuator chamber and a closing chamber (see figure 3); a control valve (36/92) with a first port and a second port, the first port hydraulically coupled to the opening actuator chambers; a first pressure sensor (148/149) configured to sense hydraulic pressure applied to at least one of the one or more opening actuator chambers; and a controller (162) configured for controlling an amount of force applied by the clamp arms to a target level by changing positions of the control valve, based on pressure measurements from the first pressure sensor (col. 10 lines 40-60).
Regarding claim 43 Seaberg discloses a smart clamp load handler comprising: a first clamp arm (20) and a second clamp arm (22); one or more actuators (30/32) coupled to the clamp arms, wherein each of the one or more actuators have an opening chamber and a closing chamber (see figure 3); a control valve (36/92) with a first port and a second port, the first port hydraulically coupled to the one or more closing chambers; a first pressure sensor (148/149) configured to sense hydraulic pressure applied to the one or more closing chambers; and a controller 162) configured for controlling an amount of force applied by the clamp arms to a target level by changing positions of the control valve based on pressure measurements from the first pressure sensor (col. 10 lines 40-60).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-26 are allowed.
Claims 3-8, 40-42, 44-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The presence of at least the blocking valves in claims 3, 10, 40, and 45 differentiate the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims. Claims 21, 23 and 25 each set forth a configuration of valves and pressure sensors that differentiate the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims. Claims 42 and 45 set forth a control arrangement and control of valve position that differentiate the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other systems for controlling clamping force based on system pressure measurements.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652