DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 78, 82, and 91 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “WUS”, the acronyms “WUS” should be defined (spelled out) at least in the first instances in the claims., Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 74-75, 77, 87-88, 90, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maleki et al (US20210400761).
Regarding claim 74, the cited reference Maleki discloses a method for a network device (Abstract discloses a method includes configuring a first/second set of short/long discontinuous reception, DRX, cycles), comprising: determining a traffic behavior for a user equipment (UE), wherein the traffic behavior includes a plurality of traffic compositions and a traffic pattern for each of the plurality of traffic compositions (¶0149 discloses that the network node 16 monitors the history of WD behavior such as type of traffic and traffic pattern and latency); and generating first control information for transmission to the UE based on the traffic behavior (¶0149 discloses that based on this profile, the network node 16 can determine the WD C-DRX configuration), wherein the first control information indicates at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring period for the UE (¶0050 discloses that the network, such as via a network node, configures the WD with a set of short and a set of long DRX cycles… PDCCH monitoring is performed using that chosen cycle value. This process is repeated by selecting successive short DRX cycle values from the set and performing PDCCH monitoring using the selected cycle values).
Regarding claim 75, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 1. Maleki further discloses the first control information comprises a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations, wherein each of the plurality of DRX configurations indicates at least one DRX On period (¶0090 discloses that a network node 16 is configured to include a DRX Cycle Configuration unit 32 which is configured to configure a first set of short discontinuous reception, DRX, cycles and a second set of long DRX cycles where ¶0115 discloses configuring, such as via the DRX Cycle Configuration unit 32, a first set of short discontinuous reception, DRX, cycles and a second set of long DRX cycles, each DRX cycle having a duration).
Regarding claim 77, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 1. Maleki further discloses generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information causes the UE to: modify at least one DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations; (¶0124 discloses that in case a change of configurations becomes necessary, the network node 16 can also indicate through a DCI within the preceding ON duration which setting the WD 22 should use, e.g., within the current DRX cycle. ¶0151 discloses that the network node 16 can consider this information, and perform an eminent change of C-DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 87, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 74. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 74.
Regarding claim 88, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 75. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 75.
Regarding claim 90, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 77. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 77.
Regarding claim 92, the claim is drawn to apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 74. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 74.
Claims 74-75, 77, 87-88, 90, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US20220240132).
Regarding claim 74, the cited reference Kim discloses a method for a network device (¶0003 discloses a method for configuring Discontinuous Reception (DRX) in a mobile communication system), comprising: determining a traffic behavior for a user equipment (UE), wherein the traffic behavior includes a plurality of traffic compositions and a traffic pattern for each of the plurality of traffic compositions (¶0314 discloses that the eNB calculates the best DRX parameters (DRX cycle and drx-InactivityTimer) values based on various informations such as DRB characteristics, traffic pattern); and generating first control information for transmission to the UE based on the traffic behavior (¶0271 discloses that the eNB may configure two DRX states: longDrx and shortDRX. The eNB may use one of the two DRX states in consideration of power preference indication information reported by the UE, UE mobility log information, and characteristic of configured DRB), wherein the first control information indicates at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring period for the UE (¶0265 discloses monitoring Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for scheduling information only during a predetermined period).
Regarding claim 75, the cited reference Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1. Kim further discloses the first control information comprises a plurality of discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations, wherein each of the plurality of DRX configurations indicates at least one DRX On period (¶0271 discloses that the eNB may configure two DRX states: longDrx and shortDRX where Fig. 1C discloses that a DRX cycle include onDurationtimer).
Regarding claim 77, the cited reference Kim discloses all limitations of claim 1. Kim further discloses generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information causes the UE to: modify at least one DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations; (¶0267 discloses that at least one of a long DRX and short DRX cycles can be configured. In normal operation, the long DRX cycle is applied and, if need be, the eNB may trigger the short DRX cycle using a MAC Control Element (CE). After a predetermined time period, the UE may change the short DRX cycle for the long DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 87, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 74. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 74.
Regarding claim 88, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 75. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 75.
Regarding claim 90, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 77. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 77.
Regarding claim 92, the claim is drawn to apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 74. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 74.
Claims 74, 87, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vogedes et al (US20230199902).
Regarding claim 74, the cited reference Vogedes discloses a method for a network device (¶0005 discloses a method is disclosed that gNB assists the UE to dynamically turn on and off eDRX mode of operation or change eDRX configuration based on its traffic profiles), comprising: determining a traffic behavior for a user equipment (UE), wherein the traffic behavior includes a plurality of traffic compositions and a traffic pattern for each of the plurality of traffic compositions (¶0139 discloses that an event is triggered to update eDRX configuration. For example, when the traffic profiles or energy/powercharacteristics on the UE 201 changes); and generating first control information for transmission to the UE based on the traffic behavior (¶0143 discloses that the gNB 202 assists the UE 201 to dynamically turn on and off eDRX mode of operation or change eDRX configuration based on the information in the request, e.g. its traffic profiles. ¶0153 discloses that the eDRX configuration update is triggered by the change of UE traffic profile), wherein the first control information indicates at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring period for the UE (¶0254 discloses that an apparatus may receive paging configuration information (e.g., DRX/eDRX, etc. configuration) from a 2nd apparatus to monitor a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions).
Regarding claim 87, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 74. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 74.
Regarding claim 92, the claim is drawn to apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 74. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 74.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 76 and 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Yu et al (US20200120596).
Regarding claim 76, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 75. However, Maleki does not explicitly teach generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information causes the UE to: activate at least one DRX configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations; or deactivate at least one DRX configuration of activated DRX configurations.
In an analogous art Yu teaches generating second control information for transmission tothe UE, wherein the second control information causes the UE to: activate at least one DRX
configuration of the plurality of DRX configurations; or deactivate at least one DRX configuration of activated DRX configurations (¶0128 discloses sending a plurality of DRX configurations to the UE; and deliver a control message that includes activating, deactivating, or replacing one or more DRX configurations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Yu to reduce unwanted PDCCH monitoring which can improve mobile UE power consumption and help the UE conserve power and prolong battery life.
Regarding claim 89, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 76. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 76.
Claims 78 and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Seo et al (US20220110054).
Regarding claim 78, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 75. However, Maleki does not explicitly teach generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information comprises a plurality of WUS configurations corresponding to the plurality of DRX configurations, respectively, wherein each of the plurality of WUS configuration indicates at least one wake-up period associated with at least one DRX Onperiod indicated by a corresponding DRX configurations.
In an analogous art Seo teaches generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information comprises a plurality of WUS configurations corresponding to the plurality of DRX configurations, respectively, wherein each of the plurality of WUS configuration indicates at least one wake-up period associated with at least one DRX On period indicated by a corresponding DRX configurations (¶0165 discloses a method of configuring/controlling wake up for multiple DRX cycles. ¶0167 discloses configures a WUS monitoring occasion for each DRX cycle and ¶0162 discloses that on-duration (of DRX) associated with WUS may be a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX cycle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Seo where the UE may perform an indicated operation in the DRX cycle based on the detected WUS.
Regarding claim 91, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same
features of the method of claim 78. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 78.
Claims 79, 81, and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Shi (US20210176814).
Regarding claim 79, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 74. Maleki further discloses wherein the first control information comprises a plurality of DRX configuration sets, wherein each of the plurality of DRX configuration sets comprises at least one DRX configuration, and each of the at least one DRX configuration indicates at least one DRX On period (Abstract discloses configuring a first set of short discontinuous reception, DRX, cycles and a second set of long DRX cycles, each DRX cycle having a duration). However, Maleki does not explicitly teach generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information indicates a target DRX configuration set from the plurality of DRX configuration sets.
In an analogous art Shi teaches generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information indicates a target DRX configuration set from the plurality of DRX configuration sets (¶0021 discloses the terminal device is configured to: determine a target DRX configuration to be used among a plurality of DRX configurations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Shi where the use of a target DRX configuration provides benefits, particularly in the context of LTE and 5G networks such as extended battery life and minimize network congestion.
Regarding claim 81, the combination of Maleki and Shi discloses all limitations of claim 79. However, the combination does not explicitly teach generating third control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the third control information comprises a wake-up signal (WUS) configuration indicating at least one wake-up period associated with the respective at least one DRX On period indicated by each of the plurality of DRX configurations.
In an analogous art Seo teaches generating third control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the third control information comprises a wake-up signal (WUS) configuration indicating at least one wake-up period associated with the respective at least one DRX On period indicated by each of the plurality of DRX configurations (¶0006 discloses that the UE may monitor the WUS on WUS monitoring occasions within the configured WUS monitoring window.¶0165 discloses a method of configuring/controlling wake up for multiple DRX cycles. ¶0167 discloses configures a WUS monitoring occasion for each DRX cycle and ¶0162 discloses that on-duration (of DRX) associated with WUS may be a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX cycle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Seo where the UE may perform an indicated operation in the DRX cycle based on the detected WUS.
Regarding claim 93, the claim is drawn to the apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 79. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 79.
Claims 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Shi (US20210176814), in further view of Zhang et al (US20200245395).
Regarding claim 80, the combination of Maleki and Shi discloses all limitations of claim 79. Shi further discloses the second control information is transmitted via Downlink Control Information (DCI) (¶0088 and ¶0090 disclose the terminal device determines the at least one DRX configuration in the plurality of DRX configurations, including that the terminal device determines the at least one DRX configuration according to indication information received from the network device… the indication information may be carried in DCI). Shi further discloses that the indication information is used to indicate activated and/or deactivated DRX configurations. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of code states of the DCI corresponds to the plurality of DRX configuration sets, respectively.
In an analogous art Zhang teaches wherein a plurality of code states of the DCI corresponds to the plurality of DRX configuration sets, respectively (¶0353 discloses that the gNB configures the UE with the DRX configuration set(s) to be used as active DRX configuration parameter set through DCI signaling… The DCI includes a bit (for the activation or de-activation of a single DRX configuration parameter set) or a bitmap for the activation or deactivation of more than one DRX configuration parameter set. A bit value of 1 instructs the UE to activate the corresponding DRX configuration parameter set, while a bit value of 0 instructs the UE to deactivate the corresponding DRX configuration parameter set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Zhang to help the UE to determine when to activate the configuration needed.
Claims 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Shi (US20210176814), in further view of Nam et al (US20200137823).
Regarding claim 82, the combination of Maleki and Shi discloses all limitations of claim 79. However, the combination does not explicitly teach generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information comprises a plurality of WUS configurations corresponding to the plurality of traffic compositions, respectively, wherein the plurality of WUS configuration indicates at least one wake-up period associated with the at least one PDCCH monitoring period.
In an analogous art Nam teaches generating second control information for transmission to the UE, wherein the second control information comprises a plurality of WUS configurations corresponding to the plurality of traffic compositions, respectively, wherein the plurality of WUS configuration indicates at least one wake-up period associated with the at least one PDCCH monitoring period (¶0068 discloses that the UE 120 may perform a transmission and/or a reception based at least in part on the selected wakeup configuration… the UE 120 may monitor for a PDCCH (e.g., may awaken in a next ON duration) in accordance with the selected wakeup configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Nam to reduce power consumption.
Claims 83-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Lu (US20220151015).
Regarding claim 83, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 74. However, Maleki does not explicitly teach the first control information comprises a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) configuration that specifies one or more parameters for a corresponding HARQ process identifying at least one DL retransmission scheduling PDCCH monitoring period, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise a drx- HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL.
In an analogous art Lu teaches the first control information comprises a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) configuration that specifies one or more parameters for a corresponding HARQ process identifying at least one DL retransmission scheduling PDCCH monitoring period, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise a drx- HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL (¶0173-¶0174 discloses that the network side device sends an RRC message, where the RRC message is used to configure related parameters of discontinuous reception and related parameters of downlink SPS. The related parameters of discontinuous reception include: the DRX cycle, the drx-onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Lu the use Semi-Persistent Scheduling(SPS) configuration for efficient resource allocation and SPS can be dynamically adjusted based on traffic characteristics and network conditions, allowing for changes in SPS period, resource allocation, or other parameters in response to variations in traffic demand or channel conditions.
Regarding claim 84, the combination of Maleki and Lu discloses all limitations of claim 83. Lu further discloses wherein in a case where a corresponding DL traffic is latency stringent, the one or more parameters are set according to whether: the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is greater than a predetermined time; the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is set to infinity; the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL is set to zero; the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is equal to the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL; the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL is less than a predetermined time; or the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL are both equal to 0 (¶0068 discloses both the uplink and downlink in the NR support the HARQ mechanism. Therefore, the two timers drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL are used in the DRX process. These two parameters reflect the minimum time interval required by the UE).
Claims 85 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Lu (US20220151015), in further view of 3GPP (3GPP TS 38.331 V15.2.0 (2018-06)).
Regarding claim 85, the combination of Maleki and Lu discloses all limitations of claim 83. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein a corresponding DL traffic is latency stringent and at least one of the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and the drx- RetransmissionTimerDL is set to a predefined state indicating a total length of the at least one DL retransmission scheduling PDCCH monitoring period is equal to 0.
In an analogous art 3GPP teaches wherein a corresponding DL traffic is latency stringent and at least one of the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and the drx- RetransmissionTimerDL is set to a predefined state indicating a total length of the at least one DL retransmission scheduling PDCCH monitoring period is equal to 0 (Page 15 discloses
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of 3GPP the use different values of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL according to the DRX configuration.
Claims 86 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al (US20210400761), in view of Hu (US20230048959).
Regarding claim 86, the cited reference Maleki discloses all limitations of claim 74. However, Maleki does not explicitly teach the first control information comprises a Configured Grant (CG) configuration, wherein the CG configuration specifies one or more parameters for a corresponding HARQ process identifying at least one UL retransmission scheduling PDCCH monitoring period, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL and drx-RetransmissionTimerUL.
In an analogous art Hu teaches the first control information comprises a Configured Grant (CG) configuration, wherein the CG configuration specifies one or more parameters for a corresponding HARQ process identifying at least one UL retransmission scheduling PDCCH monitoring period, and wherein the one or more parameters comprise drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL and drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (¶0133-¶0137 discloses that the terminal device receives configuration information sent by a network device through RRC signaling…the configuration information may include at least one of the following: a DRX configuration parameter, and a CG configuration parameter.
… the CG configuration parameter, which may include: …HARQ processes reserved for CG).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Hu the use configuration for efficient resource allocation for uplink transmission.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is availablethrough Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462