DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 07/06/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 17-18, 20-24, and 27-29 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 2, 6-7, 11, and 28-29 are amended. Claim 3 is cancelled. No claims are added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Rejections of claims 1 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20-24, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa et al. (US 20230300655 A1, hereinafter “Thangarasa”), in view of Shrestha et al. (US 20220046504 A1, hereinafter “Shrestha”), in view of Hajir et al. (US 20220030532 A1, hereinafter “Hajir”).
RE Claim 1: Thangarasa discloses:
A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0303; Fig. 11), comprising:
detecting at least one of a plurality of events for neighbor cell measurements (UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; “The overall method can be summarized as follows: obtaining a measurement configuration indicating the neighbor cells; performing measurement on downlink reference signals of the serving cell to estimate DL link quality; evaluating one or more RLM related events using the serving cell measurements; initiating the neighbor cell measurements based on the evaluation result”; ¶0203);
performing neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in a narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period based on the at least one of a plurality of events, (UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;);
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one of a plurality of events comprises one or both of:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell.
However, Shrestha discloses:
wherein the at least one of a plurality of events (UE 115 may select a particular incoming satellite from a plurality of satellites when in an overlapping coverage area. When selecting a satellite to connect to, one or more of the following conditions can be considered, an expiry time condition, quality delta condition. ¶0094; As an example, each cell broadcasts a satellite ID and a corresponding expiry time for the cell. The UE then compares the expiry times and selects the latest time or longest duration. For example, if the UE is near a cell boundary and/or is in a coverage area where it is serviceable by two or more cells and/or satellites, the UE receives multiple messages including satellite information and expiry time information. The UE then compares the expiry times to select the satellite with the latest or longest time. ¶0096; For example, the UE may compare expiry times for multiple satellites for a single cell. As another example the UE may compare one (or more) satellites for multiple cells. If two best cells belong to different satellites, the UE selects the cell based on expiry time, i.e., the cell/satellite that has longer expiry time is selected. ¶0097) comprises one or both of:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE (An expiry time condition may include a condition or preference to select a satellite with a latest or furthers into the future expiry (or expiration) time, that is a time when the satellite will no longer serve a particular cell. This expiry time condition corresponds to a longest or longer duration to serve a particular cell in which the UE is located in. This amount of time may be referred to as an service duration or expiry duration. ¶0095); and
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell; wherein the one or more neighbor cells comprise one or more neighbor cells associated with one or more satellites. (FIG. 3 illustrates examples of satellite coverage areas for a fixed radio cell network. In fixed radio cell networks, such as terrestrial networks, a UE receives a particular cell ID for a particular location. Even though a network entity serving the UE may change, the UE still receives the same cell ID. For example, a first UE (UE1) may always select a first cell identifier (cell ID 1) and first tracking area code (TAC1) for a given location. However, when satellites (e.g., non-geosynchronous satellites) are used to serve fixed radio cells, the movement of the satellites cause the satellites to move in and out of different cells. Thus, the satellites serve different cells at different times. This satellite switching causes device handovers, such as additional handovers as compared to terrestrial network entities. ¶¶0061, 0063, Fig. 3).
Thangarasa and Shrestha do not explicitly disclose, however Hajir discloses:
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE (In accordance with an example measurement configuration update procedure, at time T1, The WTRU 1130 may receive (be preconfigured with) multiple measurement configurations and associated activation/deactivation criteria for multiple satellites, including current LEO satellites for which the WTRU 1130 is currently in the coverage area (e.g., LEO satellite 1101) and upcoming satellites for which the WTRU 1130 will be in the coverage area at a future time (e.g., LEO satellites 1102 and 1103). ¶0104, Fig. 11; Table 1 shows example measurement configurations for the current and upcoming satellites and the corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the WTRU 1130 at its current geographical location. The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (e.g., discrete time instances and/or time ranges) and is used by the WTRU 1130 to determine when to activate/deactivate the corresponding measurement configurations. ¶0104, Table 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, based on a event to start performing early narrowband measurements vs standard conditional handover measurements for neighbor cells, with the teachings of Shrestha, triggering and timing of measurements for reselection based on an expiry time, how long satellite has coverage, of available satellite cell, with the teachings of Hajir, configuring measurements based on activation/deactivation times based on coverage times of available satellites.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in satellite service continuity of a UE to mobile, e.g. LEO, satellites as cell coverage changes over time. In addition, based on changing time based satellite cell coverages, schedule the UE for the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0007, 0066, 0122, Fig. 2, 4; Shrestha: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0071, 0095, 0129; Hajir: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0103, 0117-0118, Fig. 11, Table 1)
RE Claim 2: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality of the reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in the one or more neighbor cells is measured based on reference signal received power (RSRP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). (Narrowband signaling by serving cell with reference signals, NRS, NSS, NPBCH, ¶0016, and NPDCCH, NPDSCH. ¶0117; Configuration reference signals of a source, serving cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; Serving cell measurements of DL NRS measurements are also used to perform NRSRP measurement. ¶0211; Other serving cell reference signals, NSSS and NPBCH, are measured to indicate signal quality, RSRQ. ¶0212);
RE Claim 4: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the narrowband downlink channel in the one or more neighbor cells comprises narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH), narrowband physical downlink control channel (NPDCCH), primary/secondary synchronization signal, or reference signals for radio link monitoring. (; Configuration reference signals of a neighbor, target cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; UE performing measurements on neighbor cells based on reference signals, e.g. NRS, NSS, NPBCH, associated with link monitoring. ¶0124; UE is configured to receive signals, NPDCCH and NPDSCH, from a least a first cell. UE performs measurements on at least one cell and one or more neighboring cells. ¶0201)
RE Claim 6: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the at least one of the plurality of events (Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213;) further comprises:
a condition that at least one out-of-sync indication is received from a physical layer of the UE. (UE radio link monitoring determines if UE is in in-sync or out-of-sync with serving cell. ¶0111)
RE Claim 7: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the at least one of the plurality of events (Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213;) further comprises:
a condition that the signal quality of the reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in a serving cell is lower than a signal quality threshold. (Event is triggered when communication, signal, quality is equal or lower than a first threshold. First threshold is higher than a value indicating terminal device is out of synchronization. ¶0020; ¶0034, Fig. 2)
RE Claim 8: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold is configured by a broadcast message SystemInformationBlockType3-NB, a unicast message RRCConnectionReconfiguration-NB, or a unicast message RRCConnectionResume- NB. (Obtain a configuration for assisting UE to perform a measurements associated to a resource. ¶0009, Fig. 2: S104; Configuration comprises at least one of carrier frequency, cell identifier, type of measurement. ¶0010; Configuration further comprises thresholds for initiating a reestablishment procedure. Configuration includes system information of a target cell, SIB3 information. ¶0011; Cell change procedure based on results of measurements. Cell change procedure includes at least one of radio resource control, RRC, re-establishment, RRC release with redirection, and handover. ¶0023)
RE Claim 10: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold comprises a signal quality threshold for a stationary user equipment and a signal quality threshold for a moving user equipment (Radio Link Failure may happen when UE is stationary or mobile. Separate handling required based on UE mobility status. Mechanism to identify and differentiate the handling is required. ¶0123; Network can identify if UE is stationary or mobile. ¶0129; Example that a stationary serving cell Rmax may be enlarged while for mobile UEs neighbor cell mobile measurements can be provided. ¶0249; Events E1/E2, Table 4, pg. 13); and
the signal quality threshold for a moving user equipment is different from the signal quality threshold for a stationary user equipment. (In particular, neighbor cell parameters for neighbor cell measurement configurations may include thresholds for RSRP for both source cell and target cell. For these thresholds, they may include threshold margins compared to source cell or absolute value. System Information may also include potential target cells. ¶¶0247-0250; Fig. 6; Events E1/E2, Table 4, pg. 13)
RE Claim 11: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the at least one of the plurality of events (Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213;) comprises:
receiving a network assistance indication comprising trigger conditions used for the neighbor cell measurements. (UE is preconfigured with information, network assistance indication, for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Such triggering conditions or criteria may be threshold for out-of-sync threshold level, E1, which is prior to a level that would cause out-of-sync condition. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1; Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228)
RE Claim 13: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the network assistance indication includes information of the one or more neighbor cells (UE is preconfigured with information, network assistance indication, for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124);
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
the information includes one or more of satellite identity, a frequency band number
However, Shrestha discloses:
the information includes one or more of satellite identity, a frequency band number Control information communicated by network entity to UE. ¶0076, Fig. 4; The cell information data 406 includes or corresponds to data that is associated with fixed radio cells. The cell information data 406 may include cell identifier data (e.g., cell ID), cell boundary data, a tracking area code identifier data (e.g., TAC ID), cell frequency data, or a combination thereof. ¶0078, Fig. 4; The satellite information data 408 includes or corresponds to data indicating or corresponding to satellites which provide service/coverage to the cells. For example, the satellite information data 408 may include possible satellites to which the UE 115 may connect to. To illustrate, the satellite information data 408 may indicate a plurality of satellites which may provide coverage to a cell where the UE 115 is located or may soon travel. The satellite information 408 may include a satellite identifier (e.g., satellite ID), cell service information (e.g., associated cell ID, an expiry time, satellite movement information, satellite position information, quality information, or a combination thereof. ¶0079, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Shrestha, determining the satellite and cell identification information of the current serving cell and the next target cell.
The motivation in doing so would be to combine the cell measurements of terrestrial with non-terrestrial networks by identifying cell IDs and frequencies of candidate serving cells.
RE Claim 14: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the neighbor cell measurements comprise intra-frequency neighbor cell measurements or inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements. (Measurement configuration information may comprise: a set of carriers for UE to search and measure, identifier of carrier frequency, carrier frequency channel number, or absolute RF channel number. This information encompasses both inter and/or intra frequencies of neighbor cells. ¶0205; Measurement configuration of the neighbor cells comprising cells of one or more carriers. Carriers can be adjacent or separated by some offset. Example, all possible cells in the intra frequency carrier may be measured. ¶0208-0209)
RE Claim 17: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the neighbor cell measurements are performed before receiving an out-of-sync indication from a physical layer of the UE. (UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Such triggering conditions, E1 – ‘early out-of-sync event’, or criteria may be out-of-sync level, QE1out, which is a level higher than out-of-sync threshold, Qout, that would cause out-of-sync condition, an out-of-sync condition. ¶0228; Fig. 4A, 4B – E1; E1 may be triggered when the signal quality is slightly higher than that corresponding to out-of-sync threshold i.e. triggered before the actual OOS, out-of-sync, detection. ¶0213; Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;)
RE Claim 18: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the neighbor cell measurements are performed after receiving an out-of-sync indication from a physical layer of the UE and before a T310 timer starts.(UE starts neighbor cell measurements upon Qout, out-of-sync threshold level, and K1, number of out-of-sync indications counter. Set K1 = 1 to start measurements after very first out-of-sync indicator. ¶0125; T310 timer is triggered after receiving, N310, a number of consecutive out-of-sync indications, which is at least two in order to have consecutive indications. ¶0112;)
RE Claim 20: Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service stop time of the serving satellite; and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service stop time of the serving satellite
However, Shrestha discloses:
The method, wherein the condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service stop time of the serving satellite (UE 115 may select a particular incoming satellite from a plurality of satellites when in an overlapping coverage area. When selecting a satellite to connect to, one or more of the following conditions can be considered, an expiry time condition, quality delta condition. ¶0094; As an example, each cell broadcasts a satellite ID and a corresponding expiry time for the cell. The UE then compares the expiry times and selects the latest time or longest duration. For example, if the UE is near a cell boundary and/or is in a coverage area where it is serviceable by two or more cells and/or satellites, the UE receives multiple messages including satellite information and expiry time information. The UE then compares the expiry times to select the satellite with the latest or longest time. ¶0096; For example, the UE may compare expiry times for multiple satellites for a single cell. As another example the UE may compare one (or more) satellites for multiple cells. If two best cells belong to different satellites, the UE selects the cell based on expiry time, i.e., the cell/satellite that has longer expiry time is selected. ¶0097); and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service stop time of the serving satellite An expiry time condition may include a condition or preference to select a satellite with a latest or furthers into the future expiry (or expiration) time, that is a time when the satellite will no longer serve a particular cell. This expiry time condition corresponds to a longest or longer duration to serve a particular cell in which the UE is located in. This amount of time may be referred to as an service duration or expiry duration. ¶0095; For example, the UE may compare expiry times for multiple satellites for a single cell. As another example the UE may compare one (or more) satellites for multiple cells. If two best cells belong to different satellites, the UE selects the cell based on expiry time, i.e., the cell/satellite that has longer expiry time is selected. ¶0097 ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Shrestha, determining the service availability times, expiration of service coverage, of the current serving cell and the next target cell in order to determine when to perform cell reestablishment.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE in satellite communications to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power.
RE Claim 21: Thangarasa and Shrestha do not explicitly disclose:
The method,
wherein a condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service start time of the next satellite: and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service start time of the next satellite.
However, Hajir discloses:
The method,
wherein a condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service start time of the next satellite (In accordance with an example measurement configuration update procedure, at time T1, The WTRU 1130 may receive (be preconfigured with) multiple measurement configurations and associated activation/deactivation criteria for multiple satellites, including current LEO satellites for which the WTRU 1130 is currently in the coverage area (e.g., LEO satellite 1101) and upcoming satellites for which the WTRU 1130 will be in the coverage area at a future time (e.g., LEO satellites 1102 and 1103). ¶0104, Fig. 11; Table 1 shows example measurement configurations for the current The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in satellite service continuity of a UE to mobile, e.g. LEO, satellites as cell coverage changes over time. In addition, based on changing time based satellite cell coverages, schedule the UE for the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0007, 0066, 0122, Fig. 2, 4; Shrestha: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0071, 0095, 0129; Hajir: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0103, 0117-0118, Fig. 11, Table 1)
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in satellite service continuity of a UE to mobile, e.g. LEO, satellites as cell coverage changes over time. In addition, based on changing time based satellite cell coverages, schedule the UE for the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0007, 0066, 0122, Fig. 2, 4; Shrestha: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0071, 0095, 0129; Hajir: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0103, 0117-0118, Fig. 11, Table 1)
and upcoming satellites and the corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the WTRU 1130 at its current geographical location. The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (e.g., discrete time instances and/or time ranges) and is used by the WTRU 1130 to determine when to activate/deactivate the corresponding measurement configurations. ¶0104, Table 1): and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service start time of the next satellite (Table 1 shows example measurement configurations for the current and upcoming satellites and the corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the WTRU 1130 at its current geographical location. The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (e.g., discrete time instances and/or time ranges) and is used by the WTRU 1130 to determine when to activate/deactivate the corresponding measurement configurations. ¶0104, Table 1; Another example condition may be based on measurement results from more than two cells. For example, the WTRU may report measurements when the serving cell and the N best neighboring cells measurement results are below a threshold. This may assist the network for configuring handover (HO) in the case of moving beams when the network cannot determine a location of the WTRU with accuracy. Another example condition may be based on the WTRU reporting the observed measurement results during a given time window. For example, when the serving cell measurement has decreased by a certain amount (e.g., a predetermined percentage of the initial value) and the measurement result(s) of a neighboring cell or set of neighboring cells has increased by another amount. ¶0112; Measurement reports may signal a quality of the planned target cell. In moving networks, the WTRU may be configured with a periodic change of serving beam spots or periodic handover to cope with the satellite mobility. ¶0113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Hajir, configuring measurements based on activation/deactivation times based on coverage times of available satellites for assistance in conditional handover or serving spot beams.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE in satellite communications to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power.
RE Claim 22: Thangarasa discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising:
a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the processor is installed to execute a method of claim 1. (¶0251-0252; Fig. 7a)
RE Claim 23: Thangarasa discloses:
A chip, comprising:
a processor, configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the chip is installed to execute a method of claim 1. (¶0251-0252; Fig. 7a)
RE Claim 24: Thangarasa discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in which a computer program is stored, wherein the computer program causes a computer to execute a method of claim 1. (¶0313, 0316; Fig. 12)
RE Claim 27, Thangarasa discloses:
wherein the neighbor cell measurements based on the service stop time are performed for a connection re-establishment (At expiry of T310 timer, initiate connection re-establishment procedure. ¶0112, Table 1.; Upon expiry of RLF timer (e.g. T310) the UE initiates the radio resource control, RRC, connection re-establishment to a neighbour cell and starts another timer (T311). If T311 expires before the completion of the RRC connection re-establishment then the UE enters RRC idle state. ¶0114); and a timer T310 is stopped upon triggering of the connection re-establishment (Upon expiry of RLF timer (e.g. T310) the UE initiates the radio resource control, RRC, connection re-establishment to a neighbour cell and starts another timer (T311). ¶0114).
RE Claim 28, Thangarasa discloses:
A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0303; Fig. 11), comprising:
detecting at least one of a plurality of signal-quality-based triggering events for neighbor cell measurements associated with evaluating of signal quality of reference signals in a narrowband downlink channel in a serving cell (Narrowband signaling by serving cell with reference signals, NRS, NSS, NPBCH, ¶0016, and NPDCCH, NPDSCH. ¶0117; Configuration reference signals of a source, serving cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; Serving cell measurements of DL NRS measurements are also used to perform NRSRP measurement. ¶0211; Other serving cell reference signals, NSSS and NPBCH, are measured to indicate signal quality, RSRQ. ¶0212; Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213);
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
performing, disregarding the signal-quality-based triggering events, neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period based one or both of:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell.
wherein the one or more neighbor cells comprise one or more neighbor cells associated with one or more satellites.
However, Shrestha discloses:
performing, disregarding the signal-quality-based triggering events (For example, the UE may compare expiry times for multiple satellites for a single cell. As another example the UE may compare one (or more) satellites for multiple cells. If two best cells belong to different satellites, the UE selects the cell based on expiry time, i.e., the cell/satellite that has longer expiry time is selected. ¶0097; The UE 115 further: determines when to perform a measurement operation on a neighbor cell based on expiry time information for the cell associated with the second satellite. ¶0145), neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period (A UE may also be a machine specifically configured for connected communication, including machine type communication (MTC), enhanced MTC (eMTC), narrowband IoT (NB-IoT) and the like. ¶0048; An quality delta condition (change in quality condition) may include a condition or preference to select a cell or stay with (maintain a connection to) a current serving cell as long as a metric of the serving cell is not worse than another cell by a threshold (i.e., delta). The quality metric may include or correspond to a RSRP, a RSRQ, SINR, or a combination thereof. ¶0099; The UE 115 further: determines when to perform a measurement operation on a neighbor cell based on expiry time information for the cell associated with the second satellite. ¶0145) based one or both of:
one or both of
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE (An expiry time condition may include a condition or preference to select a satellite with a latest or furthers into the future expiry (or expiration) time, that is a time when the satellite will no longer serve a particular cell. This expiry time condition corresponds to a longest or longer duration to serve a particular cell in which the UE is located in. This amount of time may be referred to as an service duration or expiry duration. ¶0095); and
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell; wherein the one or more neighbor cells comprise one or more neighbor cells associated with one or more satellites (FIG. 3 illustrates examples of satellite coverage areas for a fixed radio cell network. In fixed radio cell networks, such as terrestrial networks, a UE receives a particular cell ID for a particular location. Even though a network entity serving the UE may change, the UE still receives the same cell ID. For example, a first UE (UE1) may always select a first cell identifier (cell ID 1) and first tracking area code (TAC1) for a given location. However, when satellites (e.g., non-geosynchronous satellites) are used to serve fixed radio cells, the movement of the satellites cause the satellites to move in and out of different cells. Thus, the satellites serve different cells at different times. This satellite switching causes device handovers, such as additional handovers as compared to terrestrial network entities. ¶¶0061, 0063, Fig. 3)
Thangarasa and Shrestha do not explicitly disclose, however Hajir discloses:
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE (In accordance with an example measurement configuration update procedure, at time T1, The WTRU 1130 may receive (be preconfigured with) multiple measurement configurations and associated activation/deactivation criteria for multiple satellites, including current LEO satellites for which the WTRU 1130 is currently in the coverage area (e.g., LEO satellite 1101) and upcoming satellites for which the WTRU 1130 will be in the coverage area at a future time (e.g., LEO satellites 1102 and 1103). ¶0104, Fig. 11; Table 1 shows example measurement configurations for the current and upcoming satellites and the corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the WTRU 1130 at its current geographical location. The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (e.g., discrete time instances and/or time ranges) and is used by the WTRU 1130 to determine when to activate/deactivate the corresponding measurement configurations. ¶0104, Table 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, based on a event to start performing early narrowband measurements vs standard conditional handover measurements for neighbor cells, with the teachings of Shrestha, triggering and timing of measurements for reselection based on an expiry time, how long satellite has coverage, of available satellite cell, with the teachings of Hajir, configuring measurements based on activation/deactivation times based on coverage times of available satellites.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in satellite service continuity of a UE to mobile, e.g. LEO, satellites as cell coverage changes over time. In addition, based on changing time based satellite cell coverages, schedule the UE for the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0007, 0066, 0122, Fig. 2, 4; Shrestha: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0071, 0095, 0129; Hajir: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0103, 0117-0118, Fig. 11, Table 1)
RE Claim 29, Thangarasa discloses:
A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0303; Fig. 11), comprising:
performing neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period (UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;) based on one or both of:
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell; wherein the one or more neighbor cells comprise one or more neighbor cells associated with one or more satellites.
However, Shrestha discloses:
wherein the at least one of a plurality of events (UE 115 may select a particular incoming satellite from a plurality of satellites when in an overlapping coverage area. When selecting a satellite to connect to, one or more of the following conditions can be considered, an expiry time condition, quality delta condition. ¶0094; As an example, each cell broadcasts a satellite ID and a corresponding expiry time for the cell. The UE then compares the expiry times and selects the latest time or longest duration. For example, if the UE is near a cell boundary and/or is in a coverage area where it is serviceable by two or more cells and/or satellites, the UE receives multiple messages including satellite information and expiry time information. The UE then compares the expiry times to select the satellite with the latest or longest time. ¶0096; For example, the UE may compare expiry times for multiple satellites for a single cell. As another example the UE may compare one (or more) satellites for multiple cells. If two best cells belong to different satellites, the UE selects the cell based on expiry time, i.e., the cell/satellite that has longer expiry time is selected. ¶0097) comprises one or both of:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE (An expiry time condition may include a condition or preference to select a satellite with a latest or furthers into the future expiry (or expiration) time, that is a time when the satellite will no longer serve a particular cell. This expiry time condition corresponds to a longest or longer duration to serve a particular cell in which the UE is located in. This amount of time may be referred to as an service duration or expiry duration. ¶0095); and
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell; wherein the one or more neighbor cells comprise one or more neighbor cells associated with one or more satellites. (FIG. 3 illustrates examples of satellite coverage areas for a fixed radio cell network. In fixed radio cell networks, such as terrestrial networks, a UE receives a particular cell ID for a particular location. Even though a network entity serving the UE may change, the UE still receives the same cell ID. For example, a first UE (UE1) may always select a first cell identifier (cell ID 1) and first tracking area code (TAC1) for a given location. However, when satellites (e.g., non-geosynchronous satellites) are used to serve fixed radio cells, the movement of the satellites cause the satellites to move in and out of different cells. Thus, the satellites serve different cells at different times. This satellite switching causes device handovers, such as additional handovers as compared to terrestrial network entities. ¶¶0061, 0063, Fig. 3).
Thangarasa and Shrestha do not explicitly disclose, however Hajir discloses:
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE (In accordance with an example measurement configuration update procedure, at time T1, The WTRU 1130 may receive (be preconfigured with) multiple measurement configurations and associated activation/deactivation criteria for multiple satellites, including current LEO satellites for which the WTRU 1130 is currently in the coverage area (e.g., LEO satellite 1101) and upcoming satellites for which the WTRU 1130 will be in the coverage area at a future time (e.g., LEO satellites 1102 and 1103). ¶0104, Fig. 11; Table 1 shows example measurement configurations for the current and upcoming satellites and the corresponding activation/deactivation criteria for the WTRU 1130 at its current geographical location. The activation/deactivation criteria includes the applicable time (e.g., discrete time instances and/or time ranges) and is used by the WTRU 1130 to determine when to activate/deactivate the corresponding measurement configurations. ¶0104, Table 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, based on a event to start performing early narrowband measurements vs standard conditional handover measurements for neighbor cells, with the teachings of Shrestha, triggering and timing of measurements for reselection based on an expiry time, how long satellite has coverage, of available satellite cell, with the teachings of Hajir, configuring measurements based on activation/deactivation times based on coverage times of available satellites.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in satellite service continuity of a UE to mobile, e.g. LEO, satellites as cell coverage changes over time. In addition, based on changing time based satellite cell coverages, schedule the UE for the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0007, 0066, 0122, Fig. 2, 4; Shrestha: Abstract, ¶¶0008-0011, 0071, 0095, 0129; Hajir: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0103, 0117-0118, Fig. 11, Table 1)
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa in view of Shrestha, in view of Hajir as applied to claim 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 20220039190 A1, hereinafter “Ramachandra”).
RE Claim 5: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the cell measurement period comprises one or more of:
a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) off period (Radio Link Monitoring carried out by UE in RRC_CONNECTED. Radio link quality, measurement, is performed based on CRS, every radio frame, or periodically with DRX cycle, measurement period. ¶0111);
Thangarasa, Shrestha, and Hajir do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the cell measurement period comprises one or more of:
a downlink gap.
However, Ramachandra discloses:
The method, wherein the cell measurement period comprises one or more of:
a downlink gap. (Measurement configuration includes measurements gaps. ¶0154; Gaps are periods that UE performs measurements where no uplink or downlink transmissions are scheduled. ¶0158; Measurement gaps are configured by network. ¶0180; Fig. 3A; MeasConfig Table, pg. 16)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, cell measurement during CDRX, with the teachings of Ramachandra, cell measurements during a downlink gap for additional cell measurement opportunities before start of out-of-sync conditions.
The motivation in doing so would be to increase the frequency of cell measurement reports to support a faster reselection versus the standard Radio Link Failure, RLF, time period. This also reduces unnecessary active time by the UE by continuing to monitor for out-of-sync for standard RLF operation.
RE Claim 12: Thangarasa, Shrestha, and Hajir do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the trigger conditions include one or more of
a distance between the user equipment and a serving cell or a distance between the UE and at least one target cell;
a distance between the user equipment and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the user equipment;
a timer to time a period according to which the neighbor cell measurements are triggered;
a timing advance value to the at least one target cell;
an elevation angle of the serving cell; or
an elevation angle of the at least one target cell.
However, Ramachandra discloses:
The method, wherein the trigger conditions include one or more of (A new timer, T312, has trigger condition to indicate out-of-sync condition prior to expiration of T310. ¶0153):
a distance between the user equipment and the serving cell or a distance between the UE and the at least one target cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer);
a distance between the user equipment and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the user equipment (element is optional with inclusion of a timer);
a timer to time a period according to which the neighbor cell measurements are triggered (Wireless device configured for two timers with start times T1, physical layer issue detected, and T2, physical layer issues still occurring. Timer expiration times are T3 expires per T2 and T4 expires per T1. ¶0072; UE starts T310 timer per T1 when UE detects out of sync condition. ¶0152; A new timer, T312, per T2 is configured to accelerate Radio Link Failure declaration by measurements configured for T312. T312 starts after T310 and expires before T310 expiration. ¶0153; Fig. 2, 18A, 18B, 19);
a timing advance value to the at least one target cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer);
an elevation angle of the serving cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer); or
an elevation angle of the at least one target cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa with the teachings of Ramachandra, to add trigger condition configurations to cell measurements before start of out-of-sync condition.
The motivation in doing so would be to increase the measure opportunities with addition trigger configurations to support a faster reselection versus the time required for standard Radio Link Failure, RLF, time period. This also reduces unnecessary active time by the UE by continuing to monitor for out-of-sync for standard RLF operation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa in view of Shrestha, in view of Hajir, as applied claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20150195758 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
RE Claim 9: Thangarasa, Shrestha, and Hajir do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold comprises a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state and a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state; and
the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state is different from the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state.
However, Kim discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold comprises a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state (UE is RRC connected to serving cell. ¶0109, Fig. 5; UE receives measurement configuration from service cell. ¶0135; Measurement objects contains an inter-frequency measurement object. ¶0137; UE measures quality of a serving cell and its neighboring cells. ¶0098;) and a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state (UE in RRC idle state selects a cell with signal quality that meets a predetermined threshold value. ¶0088, Fig. 4; Cells can be selected or reselected based on frequency characteristics such as an inter-frequency cell. ¶0093); and
the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state is different from the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state. (Signal quality thresholds for a UE in RRC Connected State are provided and updated by the network. ¶0135; Signal quality thresholds for a UE in RRC Idle are based on predetermined thresholds. ¶0088; Therefore the signal quality thresholds for either state are different.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Thangarasa with the teachings of Kim, to differentiate the signal quality thresholds for interfrequency cell measurements for connected vs idle mode.
The motivation in doing so would be to deploy differentiate thresholds for connected versus idle given their different states in operation. Connected mode configuration is received from network, a dynamic configuration, as conditions change in the network. Idle mode configuration uses a predetermined configuration due to no prior or recent configurations given no active connection to network. The result is optimizing signal quality thresholds based on mode of operation to reduce the recovery time for and prior to Radio Link Failure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1 under remarks section “i. Distinction over Thangarasa”. Applicant argues that ‘Thangarasa does not disclose triggering neighbor satellite cell measurements based on a service stop time of a serving satellite or a service start time of a next satellite.’
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations cited to Thangarasa recite “1. (Currently Amended) A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE), comprising: detecting at least one of a plurality of ” The amended limitations recite an ‘event’ and not a trigger nor a time-based trigger. Thangarasa discloses a neighbor cell measurement method for narrowband channels based on events that is executable in a UE. Thangarasa discloses a method “A first aspect of the present disclosure provides a method performed at a terminal device, comprising: determining whether a first condition or a second condition is met, based on a communication quality; and performing a measurement associated to a resource, when the first condition is met, or stopping the measurement associated to the resource, when the second condition is met. “, ¶0007. In addition, “Since measurements of neighbor cell can be power consuming for an IoT device like NB-IoT, any unnecessary or redundant measurements should be avoided. Having a timer linked to E1 event is an additional mechanism to ensure that the measurements are started only when necessary.”, ¶0221. Therefore, a method of measuring cells for narrowband link quality based on an event prior to a link failure to improve continuity of user experience is disclosed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 28, and 29 regarding the references Geng and Åström have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20240196294 A1 Li; Xiaolong
“CELL RESELECTION METHOD”
Therefore, the present disclosure provides a cell reselection method. Using the time information when the serving cell provided by the NTN may provide the service/stop the service, and/or the time information of the neighboring cell that are about to provide the service to the terminal or may provide the service to the terminal, the terminal is triggered to perform the cell reselection in advance, so as to avoid the situation where when the satellite performs the feeder link switch or the service link switch, the measurement of the service quality of the neighboring cell is not started, and the network side device communicating with the terminal has stopped service. ¶0055
US 20230397032 A1 Yavuz et al.
“Enhancements For Measurement Triggering In Non-Terrestrial Networks”
A method by a wireless device includes determining whether one or more conditions for triggering measurement reporting have occurred and triggering the measurement reporting based on the occurrence of the one or more conditions. The one or more conditions for triggering the measurement reporting are based on at least one of: a timing advance value in a source cell; the wireless device being within a pre-determined distance of a satellite node serving the source cell and/or a candidate target cell of the wireless device; an expected time for the wireless device to be served in the source cell and/or in the candidate target cell; an elevation angle of the satellite node serving the source cell and/or the candidate target cell; a point in time configured by the network is reached; detection of an identifier associated with a specific cell.
US 20240314666 A1 Persson et al.
“PROCEDURAL OPTIONS FOR CHO IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORKS”
Assuming the network can predict the time when the UE needs to perform the handover to a neighbor cell (e.g., when a periodic feeder/service link switch is to be performed), the time (or timer) triggering the CHO will typically be set in time before the signal strength/quality of the serving cell becomes too weak, but late enough so that the signal strength/quality of the target cell is guaranteed, thus a single time/timer event triggering a CHO to a candidate target cell should not be precluded. ¶0048.
/PAUL A. LANGER/EXAMINER, ART UNIT 2419
/NISHANT DIVECHA/SUPERVISORY PATENT EXAMINER, ART UNIT 2419