DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 12/11/2025.
Claims 1-14, 17-18, 20-24, and 27-29 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1 is amended. Claims 27-29 are added. No claims are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The objection under 35 U.S.C. § 132(a) for introduction of new matter is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 28 recite, among other things, “plurality of time-based triggering events” that comprise one or both of “a service stop time of a serving satellite” or “a service start time of a next satellite”.
Applicant submits that paragraph [0159] and [0190] provides support “to include “time-based triggering events” to reflect “service stop time” and “service start time”.
The written description fails to disclose these elements of the limitations. Paragraph 0190 of the published application discloses a timer and “For example, in the application of IoT over NTN, the network has the information about when the serving cell will leave and when the next target will arrive. Therefore, the network may configure the UE with a timer, and the UE triggers neighbor cell measurements when the timer counts down to zero”. The same paragraph discloses the network providing constellation ephemeris information of the target cell to “measure the position of the target cell and the distance/elevation angles between UE and target cell. The UE can uses the measurements to trigger the neighbor cell measurements.” The network configures a UE with a timer but does not disclose parameters of the timer. A trigger based on a service start or service stop time is also not disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13-18, 20-24, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa et al. (US 20230300655 A1, hereinafter “Thangarasa”) in view of Geng et al. (US 20220322176 A1, hereinafter “Geng”) in view of Åström et al. (US-20240022984-A1, hereinafter “Åström”).
RE Claim 1: Thangarasa discloses:
A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0303; Fig. 11), comprising:
detecting at least one of a plurality of time-based triggering events for neighbor cell measurements (UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; “The overall method can be summarized as follows: obtaining a measurement configuration indicating the neighbor cells; performing measurement on downlink reference signals of the serving cell to estimate DL link quality; evaluating one or more RLM related events using the serving cell measurements; initiating the neighbor cell measurements based on the evaluation result”; ¶0203);
performing neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in a narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period based on the at least one of a plurality of time-based triggering events, (UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;);
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one of a plurality of time-based triggering events comprises one or both of:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first satellite identifier among identifiers of one or more satellites, and the next satellite is associated with a second satellite identifier among the identifiers of one or more satellites.
However, Geng discloses:
wherein the at least one of a plurality of time-based triggering events comprises one or both of (The performing measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection configuration information includes: starting the measurement for cell reselection at a moment indicated by the reselection trigger time information. ¶0032; The reselection configuration information further includes the reselection time range information. The performing reselection to the target cell if quality of the target cell is available through the measurement and the target cell satisfies a first criterion includes: performing reselection to the target cell if quality of the target cell is available through the measurement within a time range indicated by the reselection time range information. ¶0035; For example, the reselection configuration information includes at least the reselection time range information. The UE may start a timer based on the reselection time range information. For example, if the reselection time range information includes the time length, the UE may start the timer after receiving the reselection configuration information, or start the timer after the reselection trigger time arrives. ¶0115; Examiner interpreted ‘quality of the target cell is available through the measurement within a time range indicated’ as a time range of available satellite signal for measurement within coverage. A time range necessarily has a Start, Stop, and Length of time to provide a time window to make expected measurements.):
Thangarasa and Geng do not explicitly disclose:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE.
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell.
However, Åström discloses:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE (Neighbor cell measurements based on satellite data. ¶0182, Fig. 13. In a particular embodiment, the data associated with the airborne or spaceborne system further comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a satellite identifier; carrier information and/or BWP of a neighboring cell; time interval of cell coverage; cell reference location; and Koffset. As used herein, the time interval of cell coverage includes a time the satellite begin providing coverage to an area until a time when the satellite will stop providing coverage to the area. ¶0253); and
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE (Neighbor cell measurements based on satellite data. ¶0182, Fig. 13. In a particular embodiment, the data associated with the airborne or spaceborne system further comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a satellite identifier; carrier information and/or BWP of a neighboring cell; time interval of cell coverage; cell reference location; and Koffset. As used herein, the time interval of cell coverage includes a time the satellite begin providing coverage to an area until a time when the satellite will stop providing coverage to the area. ¶0253);
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell (Satellites associated with respective cells determined by satellite data. Satellite data may include but not limited to: Cell Identifier (Cell ID); Satellite Identifier (Satellite ID); Carrier information (e.g. frequency, bandwidth) and/or Bandwidth part (BWP) of cell; Satellite ephemeris data; Time interval of cell coverage; Validity duration for ephemeris data; Cell reference location; Koffset. ¶0088).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Geng, triggering and timing of measurements for reselection based on timing of available satellite cell, with the teachings of Åström, identifying satellite ephemeral data for times of cell coverage for valid measurements and associated cell IDs.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE to identified satellites to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, 0003-0007, Fig. 2, 4; Geng: Abstract, 0003-0006, 0007-0014, Fig. 2A; Åström: Abstract, ¶¶0015-0016, 0023-0025, 0085-0089, Fig. 5)
RE Claim 2: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality of the reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in a serving cell is measured based on reference signal received power (RSRP) or reference signal received quality (RSRQ). (Narrowband signaling by serving cell with reference signals, NRS, NSS, NPBCH, ¶0016, and NPDCCH, NPDSCH. ¶0117; Configuration reference signals of a source, serving cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; Serving cell measurements of DL NRS measurements are also used to perform NRSRP measurement. ¶0211; Other serving cell reference signals, NSSS and NPBCH, are measured to indicate signal quality, RSRQ. ¶0212);
RE Claim 3: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the narrowband downlink channel in the serving cell comprises narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH), narrowband physical downlink control channel (NPDCCH), primary/secondary synchronization signal, or reference signals for radio link monitoring. (Narrowband signaling by serving cell with reference signals, NRS, NSS, NPBCH, ¶0016, and NPDCCH, NPDSCH. ¶0117; Configuration reference signals of a source, serving cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; Serving cell measurements of DL NRS measurements are also used to perform NRSRP measurement. ¶0211; Other serving cell reference signals, NSSS and NPBCH, are measured to indicate signal quality, RSRQ. ¶0212)
RE Claim 4: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the narrowband downlink channel in the one or more neighbor cells comprises narrowband physical downlink shared channel (NPDSCH), narrowband physical downlink control channel (NPDCCH), primary/secondary synchronization signal, or reference signals for radio link monitoring. (; Configuration reference signals of a neighbor, target cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; UE performing measurements on neighbor cells based on reference signals, e.g. NRS, NSS, NPBCH, associated with link monitoring. ¶0124; UE is configured to receive signals, NPDCCH and NPDSCH, from a least a first cell. UE performs measurements on at least one cell and one or more neighboring cells. ¶0201)
RE Claim 6: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the at least one of the plurality triggering events (Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213;) further comprises:
a condition that at least one out-of-sync indication is received from a physical layer of the UE. (UE radio link monitoring determines if UE is in in-sync or out-of-sync with serving cell. ¶0111)
RE Claim 7: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the at least one of the plurality triggering events (Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213;) further comprises:
a condition that the signal quality of the reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in a serving cell is lower than a signal quality threshold. (Event is triggered when communication, signal, quality is equal or lower than a first threshold. First threshold is higher than a value indicating terminal device is out of synchronization. ¶0020; ¶0034, Fig. 2)
RE Claim 8: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold is configured by a broadcast message SystemInformationBlockType3-NB, a unicast message RRCConnectionReconfiguration-NB, or a unicast message RRCConnectionResume- NB. (Obtain a configuration for assisting UE to perform a measurements associated to a resource. ¶0009, Fig. 2: S104; Configuration comprises at least one of carrier frequency, cell identifier, type of measurement. ¶0010; Configuration further comprises thresholds for initiating a reestablishment procedure. Configuration includes system information of a target cell, SIB3 information. ¶0011; Cell change procedure based on results of measurements. Cell change procedure includes at least one of radio resource control, RRC, re-establishment, RRC release with redirection, and handover. ¶0023)
RE Claim 10: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold comprises a signal quality threshold for a stationary user equipment and a signal quality threshold for a moving user equipment (Radio Link Failure may happen when UE is stationary or mobile. Separate handling required based on UE mobility status. Mechanism to identify and differentiate the handling is required. ¶0123; Network can identify if UE is stationary or mobile. ¶0129; Example that a stationary serving cell Rmax may be enlarged while for mobile UEs neighbor cell mobile measurements can be provided. ¶0249; Events E1/E2, Table 4, pg. 13); and
the signal quality threshold for a moving user equipment is different from the signal quality threshold for a stationary user equipment. (In particular, neighbor cell parameters for neighbor cell measurement configurations may include thresholds for RSRP for both source cell and target cell. For these thresholds, they may include threshold margins compared to source cell or absolute value. System Information may also include potential target cells. ¶¶0247-0250; Fig. 6; Events E1/E2, Table 4, pg. 13)
RE Claim 11: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the at least one of the plurality triggering events (Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213;) comprises:
receiving a network assistance indication comprising trigger conditions used for the neighbor cell measurements. (UE is preconfigured with information, network assistance indication, for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Such triggering conditions or criteria may be threshold for out-of-sync threshold level, E1, which is prior to a level that would cause out-of-sync condition. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1; Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228)
RE Claim 13: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the network assistance indication includes information of the one or more neighbor cells (UE is preconfigured with information, network assistance indication, for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124);
the information includes one or more of satellite identity, a frequency band number (information includes identifier of neighbor cells (e.g. physical cell identifier, PCI, Cell Global Identifier, CGI etc. Frequency information includes carrier frequency identifier and Absolute RF Channel Number, ARFCN. ¶0205).
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
the information includes one or more of satellite identity, a frequency band number
However, Geng discloses:
the information includes one or more of satellite identity, a frequency band number (Satellite cell with given coverage on ground. Satellite moves thus moving the coverage on the ground. ¶0079; One cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier, PCI, and a frequency, or a cell global identifier. ¶0080).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Geng, determining the satellite identification information of the current serving cell and the next target cell.
The motivation in doing so would be to combine the cell measurements of terrestrial with non-terrestrial networks by identifying cell IDs and frequencies of candidate serving cells.
RE Claim 14: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the neighbor cell measurements comprise intra-frequency neighbor cell measurements or inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements. (Measurement configuration information may comprise: a set of carriers for UE to search and measure, identifier of carrier frequency, carrier frequency channel number, or absolute RF channel number. This information encompasses both inter and/or intra frequencies of neighbor cells. ¶0205; Measurement configuration of the neighbor cells comprising cells of one or more carriers. Carriers can be adjacent or separated by some offset. Example, all possible cells in the intra frequency carrier may be measured. ¶0208-0209)
RE Claim 17: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the neighbor cell measurements are performed before receiving an out-of-sync indication from a physical layer of the UE. (UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Such triggering conditions, E1 – ‘early out-of-sync event’, or criteria may be out-of-sync level, QE1out, which is a level higher than out-of-sync threshold, Qout, that would cause out-of-sync condition, an out-of-sync condition. ¶0228; Fig. 4A, 4B – E1; E1 may be triggered when the signal quality is slightly higher than that corresponding to out-of-sync threshold i.e. triggered before the actual OOS, out-of-sync, detection. ¶0213; Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;)
RE Claim 18: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the neighbor cell measurements are performed after receiving an out-of-sync indication from a physical layer of the UE and before a T310 timer starts.(UE starts neighbor cell measurements upon Qout, out-of-sync threshold level, and K1, number of out-of-sync indications counter. Set K1 = 1 to start measurements after very first out-of-sync indicator. ¶0125; T310 timer is triggered after receiving, N310, a number of consecutive out-of-sync indications, which is at least two in order to have consecutive indications. ¶0112;)
RE Claim 20: Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service stop time of the serving satellite; and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service stop time of the serving satellite
However, Geng discloses:
The method, wherein the condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service stop time of the serving satellite (Moment T2 is where the UE leaves satellite cell 1, a service stop time of serving satellite, and enters satellite cell 2, a service start time of satellite 2. ¶0120, Fig. 2A; Reselection time range information includes time period information such as T2 to T3. T3 is the moment leaves satellite cell 2 and enters satellite cell 3. ¶0123. Fig. 2A; Reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger information and reselection target information. The configuration includes reselection time range information and a quantity of reselection measurements. ¶0127; Fig. 2A; When the timer starts, the UE immediately performs measurement for the cell reselection process. When the timer stops, the UE may determine, based on the quality of the serving cell, whether to perform measurement for cell reselection. ¶0117); and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service stop time of the serving satellite (Moment T2 is where the UE leaves satellite cell 1, a service stop time of serving satellite, and enters satellite cell 2, a service start time of satellite 2. ¶0120, Fig. 2A; Reselection time range information includes time period information such as T2 to T3. T3 is the moment leaves satellite cell 2 and enters satellite cell 3. ¶0123. Fig. 2A; Reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger information and reselection target information. The configuration includes reselection time range information and a quantity of reselection measurements. ¶0127; Fig. 2A; When the timer starts, the UE immediately performs measurement for the cell reselection process. When the timer stops, the UE may determine, based on the quality of the serving cell, whether to perform measurement for cell reselection. ¶0117).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Geng, determining the service availability times of the current serving cell and the next target cell in order to determine when to perform cell reestablishment.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE in satellite communications to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power.
RE Claim 21: Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
The method,
wherein a condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service start time of the next satellite: and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service start time of the next satellite.
However, Geng discloses:
The method,
wherein a condition for cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell comprises the service start time of the next satellite (Moment T2 is where the UE leaves satellite cell 1, a service stop time of serving satellite, and enters satellite cell 2, a service start time of satellite 2. ¶0120, Fig. 2A; Reselection time range information includes time period information such as T2 to T3. T3 is the moment leaves satellite cell 2 and enters satellite cell 3. ¶0123. Fig. 2A; Reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger information and reselection target information. The configuration includes reselection time range information and a quantity of reselection measurements. ¶0127; Fig. 2A; When the timer starts, the UE immediately performs measurement for the cell reselection process. When the timer stops, the UE may determine, based on the quality of the serving cell, whether to perform measurement for cell reselection. ¶0117): and
the cell reestablishment procedure with the at least one target cell is performed in response to the service start time of the next satellite (Moment T2 is where the UE leaves satellite cell 1, a service stop time of serving satellite, and enters satellite cell 2, a service start time of satellite 2. ¶0120, Fig. 2A; Reselection time range information includes time period information such as T2 to T3. T3 is the moment leaves satellite cell 2 and enters satellite cell 3. ¶0123. Fig. 2A; Reselection configuration information including the reselection trigger information and reselection target information. The configuration includes reselection time range information and a quantity of reselection measurements. ¶0127; Fig. 2A; When the timer starts, the UE immediately performs measurement for the cell reselection process. When the timer stops, the UE may determine, based on the quality of the serving cell, whether to perform measurement for cell reselection. ¶0117).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Geng, determining the service availability times of the current serving cell and the next target cell in order to determine when to perform cell reestablishment.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE in satellite communications to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power.
RE Claim 22: Thangarasa discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising:
a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the processor is installed to execute a method of claim 1. (¶0251-0252; Fig. 7a)
RE Claim 23: Thangarasa discloses:
A chip, comprising:
a processor, configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the chip is installed to execute a method of claim 1. (¶0251-0252; Fig. 7a)
RE Claim 24: Thangarasa discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in which a computer program is stored, wherein the computer program causes a computer to execute a method of claim 1. (¶0313, 0316; Fig. 12)
RE Claim 27, Thangarasa discloses:
wherein the neighbor cell measurements based on the service stop time are performed for a connection re-establishment (At expiry of T310 timer, initiate connection re-establishment procedure. ¶0112, Table 1.; Upon expiry of RLF timer (e.g. T310) the UE initiates the radio resource control, RRC, connection re-establishment to a neighbour cell and starts another timer (T311). If T311 expires before the completion of the RRC connection re-establishment then the UE enters RRC idle state. ¶0114); and a timer T310 is stopped upon triggering of the connection re-establishment (Upon expiry of RLF timer (e.g. T310) the UE initiates the radio resource control, RRC, connection re-establishment to a neighbour cell and starts another timer (T311). ¶0114).
RE Claim 28, Thangarasa discloses:
A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0303; Fig. 11), comprising:
detecting at least one of a plurality of signal-quality-based triggering events for neighbor cell measurements associated with evaluating of signal quality of reference signals in a narrowband downlink channel in a serving cell (Narrowband signaling by serving cell with reference signals, NRS, NSS, NPBCH, ¶0016, and NPDCCH, NPDSCH. ¶0117; Configuration reference signals of a source, serving cell, including RSRP and RSRQ. ¶0011; Serving cell measurements of DL NRS measurements are also used to perform NRSRP measurement. ¶0211; Other serving cell reference signals, NSSS and NPBCH, are measured to indicate signal quality, RSRQ. ¶0212; Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213);
performing neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period based the at least one of a plurality of time-based triggering events disregarding the signal-quality-based triggering events (At expiry of T310 timer, initiate connection re-establishment procedure. ¶0112, Table 1.; Upon expiry of RLF timer (e.g. T310) the UE initiates the radio resource control, RRC, connection re-establishment to a neighbour cell and starts another timer (T311). If T311 expires before the completion of the RRC connection re-establishment then the UE enters RRC idle state. ¶0114; UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;);
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one of the plurality of time-based triggering events comprises one or both of:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell.
However, Geng discloses:
wherein the at least one of the plurality of time-based triggering events comprises one or both of (The performing measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection configuration information includes: starting the measurement for cell reselection at a moment indicated by the reselection trigger time information. ¶0032; The reselection configuration information further includes the reselection time range information. The performing reselection to the target cell if quality of the target cell is available through the measurement and the target cell satisfies a first criterion includes: performing reselection to the target cell if quality of the target cell is available through the measurement within a time range indicated by the reselection time range information. ¶0035; For example, the reselection configuration information includes at least the reselection time range information. The UE may start a timer based on the reselection time range information. For example, if the reselection time range information includes the time length, the UE may start the timer after receiving the reselection configuration information, or start the timer after the reselection trigger time arrives. ¶0115; Examiner interpreted ‘quality of the target cell is available through the measurement within a time range indicated’ as a time range of available satellite signal for measurement within coverage. A time range necessarily has a Start, Stop, and Length of time to provide a time window to make expected measurements.):
Thangarasa and Geng do not explicitly disclose:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell.
However, Åström discloses:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE (Neighbor cell measurements based on satellite data. ¶0182, Fig. 13. In a particular embodiment, the data associated with the airborne or spaceborne system further comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a satellite identifier; carrier information and/or BWP of a neighboring cell; time interval of cell coverage; cell reference location; and Koffset. As used herein, the time interval of cell coverage includes a time the satellite begin providing coverage to an area until a time when the satellite will stop providing coverage to the area. ¶0253); and
a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE (Neighbor cell measurements based on satellite data. ¶0182, Fig. 13. In a particular embodiment, the data associated with the airborne or spaceborne system further comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a satellite identifier; carrier information and/or BWP of a neighboring cell; time interval of cell coverage; cell reference location; and Koffset. As used herein, the time interval of cell coverage includes a time the satellite begin providing coverage to an area until a time when the satellite will stop providing coverage to the area. ¶0253);
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell (Satellites associated with respective cells determined by satellite data. Satellite data may include but not limited to: Cell Identifier (Cell ID); Satellite Identifier (Satellite ID); Carrier information (e.g. frequency, bandwidth) and/or Bandwidth part (BWP) of cell; Satellite ephemeris data; Time interval of cell coverage; Validity duration for ephemeris data; Cell reference location; Koffset. ¶0088).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Geng, triggering and timing of measurements for reselection based on timing of available satellite cell, with the teachings of Åström, identifying satellite ephemeral data for times of cell coverage for valid measurements and associated cell IDs.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE to identified satellites to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, 0003-0007, Fig. 2, 4; Geng: Abstract, 0003-0006, 0007-0014, Fig. 2A; Åström: Abstract, ¶¶0015-0016, 0023-0025, 0085-0089, Fig. 5)
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa et al. (US 20230300655 A1, hereinafter “Thangarasa”) in view of Åström et al. (US-20240022984-A1, hereinafter “Åström”).
RE Claim 29, Thangarasa discloses:
A cell measurement method executable in a user equipment (UE) (¶0303; Fig. 11), comprising:
performing neighbor cell measurements on reference signals in the narrowband downlink channel in one or more neighbor cells in a cell measurement period (UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124; Radio link monitoring events of serving cell by UE applying measurements of narrowband reference signals. ¶¶0212-0213; UE determines to perform neighbor cell measurements based on triggering of condition or criteria that results in start of neighbor measurements. The relationship between the triggering of conditions and start of the neighbor cell measurements can be defined by a rule. Signals may be narrowband NRSP, NRSRQ, etc. ¶0228, Fig. 4A, 4B – E1;) based on one or both of:
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE; and a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE;
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell.
However, Åström discloses:
a service stop time of a serving satellite of the UE (Neighbor cell measurements based on satellite data. ¶0182, Fig. 13. In a particular embodiment, the data associated with the airborne or spaceborne system further comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a satellite identifier; carrier information and/or BWP of a neighboring cell; time interval of cell coverage; cell reference location; and Koffset. As used herein, the time interval of cell coverage includes a time the satellite begin providing coverage to an area until a time when the satellite will stop providing coverage to the area. ¶0253); and a service start time of a next satellite for a cell of the UE (Neighbor cell measurements based on satellite data. ¶0182, Fig. 13. In a particular embodiment, the data associated with the airborne or spaceborne system further comprises at least one of: a cell identifier; a satellite identifier; carrier information and/or BWP of a neighboring cell; time interval of cell coverage; cell reference location; and Koffset. As used herein, the time interval of cell coverage includes a time the satellite begin providing coverage to an area until a time when the satellite will stop providing coverage to the area. ¶0253);
wherein the serving satellite is associated with a first cell, and the next satellite is associated with a second cell (Satellites associated with respective cells determined by satellite data. Satellite data may include but not limited to: Cell Identifier (Cell ID); Satellite Identifier (Satellite ID); Carrier information (e.g. frequency, bandwidth) and/or Bandwidth part (BWP) of cell; Satellite ephemeris data; Time interval of cell coverage; Validity duration for ephemeris data; Cell reference location; Koffset. ¶0088).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Åström, identifying satellite ephemeral data for times of cell coverage for valid measurements and associated cell IDs.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE to identified satellites to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, 0003-0007, Fig. 2, 4; Åström: Abstract, ¶¶0015-0016, 0023-0025, 0085-0089, Fig. 5)
Claims 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa in view of Geng in view of Åström as applied to claim 1 and 11 respectively, and further in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 20220039190 A1, hereinafter “Ramachandra”).
RE Claim 5: Thangarasa discloses:
The method, wherein the cell measurement period comprises one or more of:
a connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) off period (Radio Link Monitoring carried out by UE in RRC_CONNECTED. Radio link quality, measurement, is performed based on CRS, every radio frame, or periodically with DRX cycle, measurement period. ¶0111);
Thangarasa and Geng do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the cell measurement period comprises one or more of:
a downlink gap.
However, Ramachandra discloses:
The method, wherein the cell measurement period comprises one or more of:
a downlink gap. (Measurement configuration includes measurements gaps. ¶0154; Gaps are periods that UE performs measurements where no uplink or downlink transmissions are scheduled. ¶0158; Measurement gaps are configured by network. ¶0180; Fig. 3A; MeasConfig Table, pg. 16)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, cell measurement during CDRX, with the teachings of Ramachandra, cell measurements during a downlink gap for additional cell measurement opportunities before start of out-of-sync conditions.
The motivation in doing so would be to increase the frequency of cell measurement reports to support a faster reselection versus the standard Radio Link Failure, RLF, time period. This also reduces unnecessary active time by the UE by continuing to monitor for out-of-sync for standard RLF operation.
RE Claim 12: Thangarasa and Geng do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the trigger conditions include one or more of
a distance between the user equipment and a serving cell or a distance between the UE and at least one target cell;
a distance between the user equipment and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the user equipment;
a timer to time a period according to which the neighbor cell measurements are triggered;
a timing advance value to the at least one target cell;
an elevation angle of the serving cell; or
an elevation angle of the at least one target cell.
However, Ramachandra discloses:
The method, wherein the trigger conditions include one or more of (A new timer, T312, has trigger condition to indicate out-of-sync condition prior to expiration of T310. ¶0153):
a distance between the user equipment and the serving cell or a distance between the UE and the at least one target cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer);
a distance between the user equipment and a satellite that serves or is capable of serving the user equipment (element is optional with inclusion of a timer);
a timer to time a period according to which the neighbor cell measurements are triggered (Wireless device configured for two timers with start times T1, physical layer issue detected, and T2, physical layer issues still occurring. Timer expiration times are T3 expires per T2 and T4 expires per T1. ¶0072; UE starts T310 timer per T1 when UE detects out of sync condition. ¶0152; A new timer, T312, per T2 is configured to accelerate Radio Link Failure declaration by measurements configured for T312. T312 starts after T310 and expires before T310 expiration. ¶0153; Fig. 2, 18A, 18B, 19);
a timing advance value to the at least one target cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer);
an elevation angle of the serving cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer); or
an elevation angle of the at least one target cell (element is optional with inclusion of a timer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa with the teachings of Ramachandra, to add trigger condition configurations to cell measurements before start of out-of-sync condition.
The motivation in doing so would be to increase the measure opportunities with addition trigger configurations to support a faster reselection versus the time required for standard Radio Link Failure, RLF, time period. This also reduces unnecessary active time by the UE by continuing to monitor for out-of-sync for standard RLF operation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa in view of Geng in view of Åström as applied claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20150195758 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
RE Claim 9: Thangarasa and Geng do not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold comprises a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state and a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state; and
the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state is different from the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state.
However, Kim discloses:
The method, wherein the signal quality threshold comprises a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state (UE is RRC connected to serving cell. ¶0109, Fig. 5; UE receives measurement configuration from service cell. ¶0135; Measurement objects contains an inter-frequency measurement object. ¶0137; UE measures quality of a serving cell and its neighboring cells. ¶0098;) and a signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state (UE in RRC idle state selects a cell with signal quality that meets a predetermined threshold value. ¶0088, Fig. 4; Cells can be selected or reselected based on frequency characteristics such as an inter-frequency cell. ¶0093); and
the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC connected state is different from the signal quality threshold for inter-frequency neighbor cell measurements in RRC idle state. (Signal quality thresholds for a UE in RRC Connected State are provided and updated by the network. ¶0135; Signal quality thresholds for a UE in RRC Idle are based on predetermined thresholds. ¶0088; Therefore the signal quality thresholds for either state are different.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Thangarasa with the teachings of Ramachandra, to differentiate the signal quality thresholds for cell measurements for connected vs idle mode.
The motivation in doing so would be to deploy differentiate thresholds for connected versus idle given their different states in operation. Connected mode configuration is received from network, a dynamic configuration, as conditions change in the network. Idle mode configuration uses a predetermined configuration due to no prior or recent configurations given no active connection to network. The result is optimizing signal quality thresholds based on mode of operation to reduce the recovery time for and prior to Radio Link Failure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s first argument is redirected to amended claim 1 “time-based triggering events” comprising the service stop time of a serving satellite and a service start time of a next satellite of the UE. Applicant submits that Thangarasa and Geng do not disclose or teach these amended limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the limitations of “time-based triggering events” based on service start and stop times of a satellite is not disclosed in the instant application. See 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejection in prior section.
Second, Thangarasa discloses a time based trigger event. UE is preconfigured with information for measurement of one or more neighbor cells. Upon triggering at least one type of event, initiates measurements on one or more neighbor cells. In yet another example the UE starts a timer upon triggering of Event E1 and initiates the neighbor cell measurements upon the expiration of the timer, a time based trigger event. ¶0124;
Third, Geng discloses a time based trigger event. The performing measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection configuration information includes: starting the measurement for cell reselection at a moment indicated by the reselection trigger time information. ¶0032; The reselection configuration information further includes the reselection time range information. The performing reselection to the target cell if quality of the target cell is available through the measurement and the target cell satisfies a first criterion includes: performing reselection to the target cell if quality of the target cell is available through the measurement within a time range indicated by the reselection time range information. ¶0035; For example, the reselection configuration information includes at least the reselection time range information. The UE may start a timer based on the reselection time range information. For example, if the reselection time range information includes the time length, the UE may start the timer after receiving the reselection configuration information, or start the timer after the reselection trigger time arrives. ¶0115. Examiner interpreted ‘quality of the target cell is available through the measurement within a time range indicated’ as a time range of available satellite signal for measurement within coverage. A time range necessarily has a Start, Stop, and Length of time to provide a time window to make expected measurements based on satellite availability.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to motivation to combine Thangarasa and Geng in the manner claimed “to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE in satellite communications.” Applicant further submits that “The fact that Thangarasa (published 2023) and Geng (published 2022) do not teach time-based measurement triggers for satellite service transitions further evidences the non-obvious nature of the claimed invention.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations, as written, are disclosed by the references Thangarasa, Geng, and Åström filed prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. The motivation across the references are to limit the impact of a RLF by method of measuring neighbor cells before an RLF. The methods include a time or timers to perform neighbor cell measurements to determine a target cell for reselection to maintain service continuity. The instant application discloses the same ‘Technical Problem’ in paragraph [0003] and Summary in paragraph [0004-0005] of the disclosure.
Per Claim 1 rejection text:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa, performing narrowband measurements on neighbor cells, with the teachings of Geng, triggering and timing of measurements for reselection based on timing of available satellite cell, with the teachings of Åström, identifying satellite ephemeral data for times of cell coverage for valid measurements and associated cell IDs.
The motivation in doing so would be to improve efficiency in reestablishment procedures of a UE to identified satellites to schedule the actual times that cell measurements are valid. In doing so, efficiency of the UE is improved and reduction in UE power. (Thangarasa: Abstract, 0003-0007, Fig. 2, 4; Geng: Abstract, 0003-0006, 0007-0014, Fig. 2A; Åström: Abstract, ¶¶0015-0016, 0023-0025, 0085-0089, Fig. 5)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20240196294 A1 Li; Xiaolong
US 20230239717 A1 Gao et al.
US 20230397032 A1 Yavuz et al.
US 20230397032 A1 Schmidt et al.
US 20240314666 A1 Persson et al.
Ericsson, "Connected mode aspects for NTN", R2-2009821, 3GPP TSG
RAN WG2 Meeting #112-e, Nov. 2020. Retrieved 03-31-2026: https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/TSG_RAN/WG2_RL2/TSGR2_112-e/Docs/R2-2009821.zip (Year: 2020)
The above references disclose various aspects of Cell Reselection for NTN satellite through cell measurements based on satellite visibility.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/EXAMINER, ART UNIT 2419
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/PRIMARY EXAMINER, ART UNIT 2469