DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 04/22/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04/22/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 15-19, 23 and 25-28 are pending
Claims 1, 8, 11, 19 and 27 are amended
Claims 2-4, 9-10, 12-14, 20-22 and 24 are canceled
Claim 28 is new
Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 15-19, 23 and 25-28 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 15-19, 23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 19 recite the limitation, “…determining, by a terminal apparatus different from the base station, reselection priorities of the one or more frequencies based on an order of the slice- specific priority of the one or more network slice configurations”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Claim 28 recite the limitation, “…a network slice configuration provided by an RRCRelease has a higher priority than a network slice configuration provided by system information”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-12, 14, 17-20, 23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOU et al. (US 20190289528 A1), hereinafter referenced as Lou, in view of Shih et al. (US 20230037553 A1), hereinafter referenced as Shih.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 19 Lou teaches a method (Para. [0009]-Lou discloses a target cell access method and a device, to provide a network slice service area identifier and network slice configuration information for a terminal device, so that the terminal device accesses a target cell. Para. [0053-0058]-Lou discloses a terminal device, including: ... a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a bus ... a serving access network device, including: ... a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a bus) comprising:
receiving, from a base station, one or more network slice configurations (Para. [0135]-Lou discloses the terminal device receives the network slice configuration information. Para. [0011]-Lou discloses a terminal device obtains a network slice service area identifier from a serving access network device corresponding to a serving cell in which the terminal device is located, where the network slice service area identifier is used to indicate an area served by a network slice),
each network slice configuration of the one or more network slice configurations includes network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and frequency priority information (Para. [0126-0127]-Lou discloses the network slice configuration information may further include but is not limited to the following related information: ... service type corresponding to one or more services, ... network slice service area identifier corresponding to a service or a service type, where the service may be corresponding to one or more network slice service area identifiers, ... network slice identification information corresponding to a service or a service type; and a network slice identifier that is allocated to a network slice and indicated by network slice identification information ... The network slice identification information corresponding to a service or a service type may include but is not limited to: a network slice type, such as information indicating a network slice type. Para. [0117-0119]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection ... for a terminal device that is being served by the service, the service type, and/or the network slice, the terminal device may set, to a highest priority, an identifier of a current camping cell that can provide the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell ... sets, to the highest priority, the frequency and the frequency channel number of the current camping cell that can improve the service. Para. [0021]-Lou discloses the interface establishment request includes network slice information, and is used to exchange configurations on application sides of two connected serving access network devices),
the frequency priority information includes a slice-specific priority for each frequency of one or more frequencies on which a respective S-NSSAI is available (Para. [0117-0119]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information {corresponding to NSSAI} as a standard for cell selection and reselection ... for a terminal device that is being served by the service, the service type, and/or the network slice {corresponding to slice specificity} , the terminal device may set, to a highest priority {slice-specific priority}, an identifier of a current camping cell that can provide the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell ... sets, to the highest priority, the frequency and the frequency channel number of the current camping cell that can improve the service. Para. [0021]-Lou discloses the interface establishment request includes network slice information, and is used to exchange configurations on application sides of two connected serving access network devices), and
each S-NSSAI is configured to work on a corresponding frequency (Para. [0113]-Lou discloses the network slice service area identification information includes but is not limited to the following related information: information about a frequency channel number of each frequency in a same frequency list or different frequency list supported by a cell; and a network slice service area identifier supported by the frequency channel number);
determining, by a terminal apparatus different from the base station, reselection priorities of the one or more frequencies based on an order of the slice- specific priority of the one or more network slice configurations (Para. [0094]-Lou discloses a terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice, so that the terminal device can increase a priority for selecting or reselecting cells covered by the required network slice, to access these cells as much as possible. Para. [0117-0119]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information {corresponding to NSSAI} as a standard for cell selection and reselection ... for a terminal device that is being served by the service, the service type, and/or the network slice {corresponding to slice specificity} , the terminal device may set, to a highest priority {slice-specific priority}, an identifier of a current camping cell that can provide the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell ... sets, to the highest priority, the frequency and the frequency channel number of the current camping cell that can improve the service. Para. [0021]-Lou discloses the interface establishment request includes network slice information, and is used to exchange configurations on application sides of two connected serving access network devices); and
performing by the terminal apparatus based on the one or more network slice configurations, slice-based cell reselection to camp on a cell by considering the one or more S-NSSAIs based on the reselection priorities (Para. [0117]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection … the terminal device may set, to a highest priority, an identifier of a current camping cell that can improve the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell. When performing cell reselection, the terminal device may preferentially reselect a cell corresponding to the frequency and the cell identifier, and/or a cell corresponding to the frequency channel number. Para. [0021]-Lou discloses the interface establishment request includes network slice information, and is used to exchange configurations on application sides of two connected serving access network devices).
Lou fails to explicitly teach each NSSAI includes one or more single-NSSAls (S-NSSAIs), each S-NSSAI of the one or more S-NSSAIs includes a mandatory Slide/Service Type (SST) field and a Slice Differentiator (SD) field … in a case that a frequency corresponds to two or more network slices, a reselection priority of the frequency is determined based on a highest priority in reselection priorities of the two or more network slices.
However, Shih teaches each NSSAI includes one or more single-NSSAls (S-NSSAIs) (Para. [0076]-Shih discloses the NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAIs. A network slice may be uniquely identified by an S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may contain two components: the Slice/Service Type (SST) and … Slice Differentiator (SD)),
each S-NSSAI of the one or more S-NSSAIs includes a mandatory Slide/Service Type (SST) field and a Slice Differentiator (SD) field (Para. [0076]-Shih discloses the NSSAI is a collection of S-NSSAIs. A network slice may be uniquely identified by an S-NSSAI. The S-NSSAI may contain two components: the Slice/Service Type (SST) and … Slice Differentiator (SD)),
the frequency priority information indicates (1) frequencies on which the one or more S-NSSAIs are available (Para. [0107]-Shih discloses the list of candidate intra-frequency cells indicated by the serving/camped cell may support at least one of (or all) the S-NSSAI(s) in the receiving UE's intended NSSAI, the receiving UE's intended slice with the highest priority, at least one of (or all) the S-NSSAI(s) in the receiving UE's prioritized NSSAI, or at least one of (or all) the S-NSSAI(s) in the receiving UE's default S-NSSAI(s). For example, the serving/camped cell may receive/store the slice information of the candidate intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells from the candidate intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells (e.g., via inter-node RRC messages, via Xn interface messages). The slice information of the candidate intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cells may include the S-NSSAI (or NSSAI or slices) supported by the cells and/or the priority information of the S-NSSAI (or NSSAI or slices) supported by the cells. Para. [0112]-Shih discloses UE may prioritize (1) the list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells explicitly or implicitly associated with the information of the UE's intended slice with the highest priority, (2) the list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells explicitly or implicitly associated with the information of the UE's prioritized NSSAI, (3) the list of candidate intra-frequency (and/or inter-frequency) cells explicitly or implicitly associated with the information of the UE's default S-NSSAI(s). (See also Para. [0090])) and
each S-NSSAI is configured to work on a corresponding frequency (Para. [0107]-Shih discloses the list of candidate intra-frequency cells indicated by the serving/camped cell may support at least one of (or all) the S-NSSAI(s) in the receiving UE's intended NSSAI, the receiving UE's intended slice with the highest priority, at least one of (or all) the S-NSSAI(s) in the receiving UE's prioritized NSSAI, or at least one of (or all) the S-NSSAI(s) in the receiving UE's default S-NSSAI(s). Para. [0090]-Shih discloses the UE may perform mobility procedures (e.g., cell selection, intra-frequency cell reselection, inter-frequency cell reselection, inter-RAT cell reselection, paging, RAN paging, CN paging, RNA update) when the UE is in the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state based on the intended slice, the intended NSSAI, prioritized NSSAI, the UE's intended slice with the highest priority, or based on the default S-NSSAI(s));
in a case that a frequency corresponds to two or more network slices, a reselection priority of the frequency is determined based on a highest priority in reselection priorities of the two or more network slices (Para. [0060]-Shih discloses the priority of a slice may be used for performing the (slice-based) intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection. Para. [0056]-Shih discloses the cells on the frequency on which the UE performs the disclosed slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection may support the same set of slice(s). For example, cell #1 and cell #2 support the same set of slice(s), which includes slice #1 and slice #2. For an intra-frequency cell reselection case, cell #1 and cell #2 may operate on the same frequency F1, which may be the same as the frequency of the current serving cell of the UE ... although cell #1 and cell #2 support the same set of slice(s) (e.g., slice #1 and slice #2), cell #1 and cell #2 may have different preferred (or prioritized) slices. For example, the preferred (prioritized) slice in cell #1 may be slice #1, while the preferred (prioritized) slice in cell #2 may be slice #2).
Lou and Shih are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with method for cell reselection in cellular wireless communication networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lou to incorporate the teachings of Shih on s-NSSAI, with a motivation for one or more S-NSSAIs with Slide/Service Type (SST) field and Slice Differentiator (SD) field, and guarantee providing a network slice service area identifier and network slice configuration information for a terminal device, so that the terminal device accesses a target cell, (Lou, Para. [0009]).
Regard claims 7 and 17, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 11 respectively.
Lou further teaches at least part of the one or more network slice configurations are received in a non- access-stratum signaling message (Para. [0012]-Lou discloses the configuration message may be sent to the terminal device by using a non-access stratum (NAS) message, and the terminal device stores the received network slice configuration information).
Regard claims 8 and 18, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 11 respectively.
Lou further teaches the terminal apparatus is in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state (Para. [0094]-Lou discloses to resolve a problem of how a serving access network device considers deployment of a network slice and mobility of a terminal device. That is, for a network slice restricted by a service area, the mobility of the terminal device is considered. When the terminal device moves, service continuity of the network slice for the terminal device is improved. Specifically, a terminal device in an idle state).
Regard claim 23, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1,
Lou further teaches the frequency priority information comprises a list of frequencies and an indication of which of the one or more S-NSSAIs are available on each frequency in the list (Para. [0113-0114]-Lou discloses the network slice service area identification information includes but is not limited to the following related information: information about a frequency channel number of each frequency in a same frequency list or different frequency list supported by a cell; and a network slice service area identifier supported by the frequency channel number, where the network slice service area identifier is used to uniquely identify a network slice service area ... information about a frequency channel number of each frequency in a same frequency list or different frequency list supported by a neighboring cell and a network slice service area identifier supported by the frequency channel number are used to uniquely identify a network slice service area. Para. [0137]-Lou discloses network slice service area identification information supported by a serving cell and a neighboring cell, such as network slice service area identification information supported in a list of all frequencies or frequency channel numbers supported by the serving cell and the neighboring cell. Para. [0117-0119]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection ... for a terminal device that is being served by the service, the service type, and/or the network slice, the terminal device may set, to a highest priority, an identifier of a current camping cell that can provide the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell ... sets, to the highest priority, the frequency and the frequency channel number of the current camping cell that can improve the service. Para. [0021]-Lou discloses the interface establishment request includes network slice information, and is used to exchange configurations on application sides of two connected serving access network devices).
Regard claim 25, Lou in view Shih in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1,
Lou further teaches the performing the slice-based cell reselection comprises categorizing a candidate cell as suitable in a case that the candidate cell supports one or more S-NSSAIs from the received one or more network slice configurations which are marked as required (Para. [0146]-Lou discloses the indication message may include ... a network slice service area priority, used to indicate a priority corresponding to a network slice service area identifier. Para. [0094]-Lou discloses a terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice, so that the terminal device can increase a priority for selecting or reselecting cells covered by the required network slice, to access these cells as much as possible. Para. [0117-0118]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information as a standard for cell selection and reselection. Further, for a terminal device that is being served by the service, the service type, and/or the network slice, the terminal device may set, to a highest priority, an identifier of a current camping cell that can provide the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell. Para. [0109]-Lou discloses at least one network slice identifier included in the network slice service area identification information may be sorted based on a priority, that is, a network slice service area priority. The network slice service area priority is used to indicate a priority corresponding to the network slice service area identifier, for example, a priority of a network slice service area A is higher than that of a network slice service area B).
Regard claim 26, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1,
Lou further teaches the one or more network slice configurations are received via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, and the RRC signaling updates or overrides a previously stored set of network slice configurations (Para. [0159-0160]-Lou discloses the serving access network device initiates an interface configuration update to the target network device, to transmit updated information ... the message includes but is not limited to the following information: a serving access network device identifier, used to identify the serving access network device in a globally unique manner; change information of information about a serving cell and a neighboring cell of each serving cell, used to perform an operation such as adding a new cell, modifying an existing cell configuration, or deleting a cell, for example, cell identifiers, physical cell identifiers, information about frequency channel numbers, tracking area codes, and supported network slice service area identification information respectively corresponding to the serving cell and the neighboring cell of each serving cell; or a network slice service area priority, used to indicate a priority corresponding to a network slice service area identifier, for example, a priority of a network slice service area A is higher than that of a network slice service area B).
Regard claim 27, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1,
Lou further teaches determining, by the terminal apparatus, that a current serving cell does not support a desired S-NSSAI included in the one or more S-NSSAIs, wherein the performing the slice-based cell reselection is triggered by the determining prior to an attempt to establish or resume a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection for the desired S-NSSAI (Para. [0112]-Lou discloses after receiving the network slice service area identifier, the terminal device may determine a coverage area of a network slice corresponding to the identifier, and may determine a service or a service type that may be provided by the network slice. Para. [0162-0163]-Lou discloses if the target network device cannot support interface configuration update content initiated by the serving access network device, the target network device may reply with a failure message, to indicate that a configuration update of the serving access network device fails ... After obtaining the network slice information, the terminal device determines a target network slice based on a target area, a target service, and the network slice information, and the target network slice is used to carry the target service in the target area. Fig. 7, Para. [0206-0163]-Lou discloses {Step 702} if the target network device cannot support any received network slice, radio bearer, session, flow, or the like, or an error occurs during a process, the target network device replies with a rejection message carrying a cause, for example, the network slice, the radio bearer, the session, the flow, or the like cannot be supported ... {Step} 703. The serving access network device sends a connection reconfiguration message to the terminal device. The connection reconfiguration message includes a target network slice service area identifier. The connection reconfiguration message is used to instruct the terminal device to connect to the target network device ... In some feasible embodiments, the serving access network device may initiate an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the terminal device. The RRC connection reconfiguration message carries radio resource configuration information, used to instruct the terminal device to perform radio resource configuration based on the received message).
Regard claim 28, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1,
Lou fails to explicitly teach a network slice configuration provided by an RRCRelease has a higher priority than a network slice configuration provided by system information.
However, Shih teaches a network slice configuration provided by an RRCRelease has a higher priority than a network slice configuration provided by system information (Para. [0088]-Shih discloses if the priority of the UE's intended slices is determined (or updated) by the network/cell, the network/cell may signal the UE's intended slice with the highest priority to the UE in dedicated signaling (or system information) ..., the UE's intended slice with the highest priority may be the default slice used for cell (re)selection and/or mobility procedures when the UE is in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., intra-RAT handover, inter-RAT handover, SN addition/modification/change/release procedures)).
Shih is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with method for cell reselection in cellular wireless communication networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lou to incorporate the teachings of Shih on slice configuration, with a motivation for prioritizing slice configuration received via RRCRelease over that received via system information, and guarantee providing a network slice service area identifier and network slice configuration information for a terminal device, so that the terminal device accesses a target cell, (Lou, Para. [0009]).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOU et al. (US 20190289528 A1), hereinafter referenced as Lou, in view of Shih et al. (US 20230037553 A1), hereinafter referenced as Shih, and further in view of ADJAKPLE et al. (US 20200221369 A1), hereinafter referenced as Adjakple.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 11 respectively.
Lou fails to teach at least part of the one or more network slice configurations are received in system information broadcast signaling.
However, Adjakple teaches the network slice configuration was received in system information broadcast signaling (Fig. 10, Para. [0020]-Adjakple discloses network slice configuration. Para. [0200]-Adjakple discloses the radio access network (e.g. gNB) may configure the UEs with the access barring parameters through RRC common signaling (e.g. system information broadcast signaling) or RRC dedicated signaling. Para. [0259-0260]-Adjakple discloses the UE may acquire the access barring information transmitted by the RAN ... the NAS-CP may receive a trigger for an event that requires access control. Such event may be an event from the NAS-UP for example upon data becoming available for transmission, for example on a different network slice that the current network slice the UE is connected to. Para. [0329]-Adjakple discloses access category configuration may be defined at the granularity level of attributes such as Network Slice. Para. [0211]-Adjakple discloses receiving, at the NAS of the user equipment and from a core network node, an access category configuration; and reconfiguring, at the NAS of the user equipment, functionality of the user equipment that supports one or more access control mechanisms. Para. [0176]-Adjakple discloses taking the case of network slice as an access category component, the operator may configure the following slices: eMBB Slice_1, eMBB Slice_2, eMBB slide_3, URLLC Slice_1, URLLC Slice_2, mMTC Slice_1, mMTC Slice_2 and mMTC_Slice3).
Lou and Adjakple are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with access control in 5G NR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lou in view of Shih to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple on system information broadcast signaling, with a motivation to receive network slice configuration, and guarantee a stable 5G network operation while ensuring that the available network capacity is allocated in a way that is consistent with the operator objective to get the most profit out of the provided services while delivering a superior customer experience and complying with regulatory requirements for prioritization of critical communications and emergency calls, (Adjakple, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Lou in view of Shih teaches the method of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 11 respectively.
Lou fails to teach at least part of the one or more network slice configurations are received in a paging message.
However, Adjakple teaches the network slice configuration was received in a paging message (Para. [0264]-Adjakple discloses the UE may be notified of changes in the access barring information through dedicated signaling. If the UE is in RRC inactive state, the UE may be notified via a paging message that includes an access barring modification IE. Para. [0330]-Adjakple discloses an explicit indication of the level of the granularity of the access barring for example Network Slice).
Lou and Adjakple are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with access control in 5G NR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lou in view of Shih to incorporate the teachings of Adjakple on paging message, with a motivation to receive network slice configuration, and guarantee providing a network slice service area identifier and network slice configuration information for a terminal device, so that the terminal device accesses a target cell, (Lou, Para. [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 04/22/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1, 5-8, 11, 15-19, 23 and 25-28 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [14-17], Applicant argues that, “…Lou does not describe or reasonably suggest "determining, by a terminal apparatus different from the base station, reselection priorities of the one or more frequencies based on an order of the slice-specific priority of the one or more network slice configurations" as recited in amended Claim 1.”
However, Lou teaches determining, by a terminal apparatus different from the base station, reselection priorities of the one or more frequencies based on an order of the slice- specific priority of the one or more network slice configurations (Para. [0094]-Lou discloses a terminal device in an idle state learns of information about a coverage area of a required network slice, so that the terminal device can increase a priority for selecting or reselecting cells covered by the required network slice, to access these cells as much as possible. Para. [0117-0119]-Lou discloses the terminal device may use the received network slice configuration information and the received network slice service area identification information {corresponding to NSSAI} as a standard for cell selection and reselection ... for a terminal device that is being served by the service, the service type, and/or the network slice {corresponding to slice specificity} , the terminal device may set, to a highest priority {slice-specific priority}, an identifier of a current camping cell that can provide the service and/or a frequency and a frequency channel number of the current camping cell ... sets, to the highest priority, the frequency and the frequency channel number of the current camping cell that can improve the service. Para. [0021]-Lou discloses the interface establishment request includes network slice information, and is used to exchange configurations on application sides of two connected serving access network devices).
In the remarks, on pages 10 and 11, Lines [18-23 and 1-2 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Amended Claim 1 further recites "in a case that a frequency corresponds to two or more network slices, a reselection priority of the frequency is determined based on a highest priority in reselection priorities of the two or more network slices" ... Lou does not describe or reasonably suggest this limitation.”
However, Shih teaches in a case that a frequency corresponds to two or more network slices, a reselection priority of the frequency is determined based on a highest priority in reselection priorities of the two or more network slices (Para. [0060]-Shih discloses the priority of a slice may be used for performing the (slice-based) intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection. Para. [0056]-Shih discloses the cells on the frequency on which the UE performs the disclosed slice-based intra-frequency (or inter-frequency) cell reselection may support the same set of slice(s). For example, cell #1 and cell #2 support the same set of slice(s), which includes slice #1 and slice #2. For an intra-frequency cell reselection case, cell #1 and cell #2 may operate on the same frequency F1, which may be the same as the frequency of the current serving cell of the UE ... although cell #1 and cell #2 support the same set of slice(s) (e.g., slice #1 and slice #2), cell #1 and cell #2 may have different preferred (or prioritized) slices. For example, the preferred (prioritized) slice in cell #1 may be slice #1, while the preferred (prioritized) slice in cell #2 may be slice #2).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Pokkunuri et al. (US 20210136602 A1)-discloses Para. [0057]-Pokkunuri discloses the NSSAI availability service ..., on a per TA basis, of the S-NSSAIs available per TA (unrestricted) and the restricted S-NSSAI(s) per PLMN in the TA of the serving PLMN of the UE…. …Fig. 1-5
WEI et al. (US 20200205065 A1)-discloses Para. [0123]-Wei discloses mobility registration update when the user equipment moves to a new slice area support or tracking area that is located outside of the registration area 200 of the user equipment…. …Fig. 1-5
3GPP (3GPP DRAFT; R3-186271_RAN3-101 BIS_MEETING-REPORT)-discloses Page 134, Lines [5-6]-3GPP discloses Proposal 1: there is benefit in introducing slicing information in the NGAP Paging message. Proposal 2: include S-NSSAI in Paging message.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472