Claims 1, 6-7, 13, and 16-28 are pending in this application.
Withdrawn rejection
The outstanding ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of corrective amendment to claims filed on 7/10/2026. However, Applicant is advised that a new ground is necessary to address misspellings in new claims 26-28, “subtilus” and “kurtaski.”
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 26-28, it appears that Bacillus “subtilus” is a misspelling of Bacillus subtilis. Additionally, it appears that Bacillus thuringiensis var. “kurtaski” is a misspelling of Bacillus thuringiensis var. kurstaki. Corrections are required.
35 USC 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 13, and 16-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of CN 104782649 and CN 1276973 in view of Margolis (US 2015/0272126), Turnblad et al. (US 5,849,320), Jaasko et al. (US 2020/0085039), and IN2015DEL2890, further in view of Sapper et al.
CN 1047826491 discloses a water-based suspension seed coating agent containing three pesticides, one of them being imidacloprid (abstract; paragraph 2; paragraph 8; claim 1) for disease prevention, pest control, and low environmental impact (paragraphs 4-5, 27, 29) and also for inducing plants to develop resistance and disease tolerance to invading viruses (paragraph 30). Coating seeds of soybean, wheat, rice, corn, and many other crop plants is disclosed (paragraph 8, 25; claim 6). Additional formulation ingredients are disclosed (paragraphs 14-24; claims 4-5):
2-50 parts dispersant;
1-5 parts antifreeze such as propylene glycol, glycerol, polyethylene glycol;
0.1-4 parts anticaking agent;
0.1-6 parts suspending agent such as xanthan gum;
0.1-3 parts film forming agent such as at least one of polyvinyl alcohol or modified starch;
0.1-3 parts mildew inhibitor;
0.1-5 parts pH regulator such as citric acid;
0.5-5 parts colorant;
1-10 parts filler such as starch; and
10-80 parts deionized water.
The three-component pesticide (including imidacloprid) can comprise 9 wt% of the seed coating composition (paragraphs 34-35).
CN 12769732 discloses a biological seed coating which comprises a carrier medium such as water, polyvinyl alcohol as a film forming agent, and a natural substance such as starch, and at least one microorganism and/or secondary metabolite beneficial to plants (paragraphs 10, 17-18). The use of polyvinyl alcohol with the natural substance such as starch has the advantage of the coating agent being more tightly combined so that it does not easily peel off, long survival rate of the seeds and beneficial microorganisms, and increased crop yield (paragraph 9). Preferable ratio of polyvinyl alcohol to starch is 1:1 to 1:5 (paragraph 17). 1-5 wt% film forming agent and up to 20 wt% formulation aids is disclosed, with the balance being the carrier medium (paragraph 25). Weight/volume ratio of the film former to the beneficial microorganism is 1:1 to 1:20 (paragraph 23). Coating agent can comprise 0.5 to 2.5 wt% of the seed (paragraph 27). Other formulation aids such as suspending agent (e.g., xanthan gum), antifreeze agent (e.g., glycerol), colorant, and others are disclosed (paragraphs 10, 14; claims 7, 11). Beneficial microorganisms include species selected from, inter alia, Bacillus such as B. subtilis (paragraph 50), Trichoderma, Paecilomycea, Verticillium, Metarhizium (paragraphs 4, 19). Selecting composition additives that do not harm the beneficial microorganisms is taught (paragraphs 24, 26). Further incorporation of chemical fungicides such as metalaxyl and insecticides such as imidacloprid in the biological seed coating agent is disclosed (paragraph 26).
Margolis (US 2015/0272126) discloses Bacillus subtilis and/or Bacillus amyloliquefaciens biological control agent and at least one fungicide for control of insects, mites, nematodes and plant disease (paragraph 11) and improved overall health of plants, including improved germination, emergence, root growth, root size, and more developed root system, crop yield, protein content, oil content, starch content, root growth, stress tolerance, plant vigor (paragraphs 105-107). Margolis further discloses B. subtilis in combination with another biological control agent, including B. pumilus and B. thuringiensis subspec. kurstaki (paragraph 27). Margolis’ composition is formulated with additional ingredients such as starch and its applications include application to plant seeds (paragraphs 31, 87, 110, 112, 136, 141, 159-161, 214-215; claims 10, 13), including seeds of cereals and vegetable crops (paragraph 144, 159). Drying seeds after treatment is disclosed (paragraph 160). Additional ingredients include carriers, stabilization agents, nutrients (e.g., polysaccharides), physical property modifying agents such as dispersants, adjuvants, surfactants, antifreeze agents, colorants, solvents, extenders, polymers, binder or adhesive that facilitate adherence to plant seed, antioxidants, protectants, preservatives, which many be added in individually or in combination (paragraphs 32, 82, 89-90, 94). Polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl acetate, and polyvinyl pyrrolidone are disclosed as formulation stickers (paragraphs 96, 157). Margolis’ at least one fungicide includes numerous well-known fungicides such as metalaxyl (paragraph 52), captan (paragraph 42), carboxin (paragraph 58). See also from paragraph 34 to 81. The biological control agent can be formulated to be present in a concentration of 105 to 1012 colony forming units (cfu) per gram of preparation (paragraph 124). Application rate of the seed treatment formulation may be varied within a “relatively wide range,” depending on the formulation concentration and the seed (paragraph 161). 0.001 to 50 g of the formulation per kg of seed or 0.01 to 15 gram of the formulation per kg of seed is disclosed (id.).
Turnblad et al. (US 5,849,320) disclose a seed coating formulation that contains a binder, plasticizer, active ingredients, and water (claim 1; see from column 2, line 36 to column 4, line 61). The binder comprises about 0.01 to 15 wt% of polymers such as polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinylpyrrolidone, vinylidene chloride copolymers, polysaccharides, including starches, and polyethylene oxide, which is a synonym for polyethylene glycol (claim 1; column 2, line 43 to column 3, line 12). The plasticizer component improves flexibility, spreadability, and adhesion of the seed coating, wherein improved flexibility is important to minimize chipping, breakage, or flaking during handline or sowing processes (column 4, lines 50-56). Plasticizer can be about 0.1-20 wt% of polyethylene glycol or glycerol (column 4, lines 56-61). The active ingredients that can be used with Turnblad’s seed coating include insecticides (e.g., imidacloprid), fungicides (e.g., captan, metalaxyl), and biocontrol agents such as microorganisms of the genera Rhizobium, Bacillus, Pseudomonas, Trichoderma. Additional ingredients such as fertilizer, colorant, surface active agent may be added 9claim 9). Seeds to be coated include seeds of cereals, vegetables, and fruits (column 4, lines 20-28).
Jaasko et al. (US 2020/0085039) disclose a seed adhesive mixture that can deliver seeds and beneficial additives as a unit, comprising water, polymer, diol, defoamer, and “accessory structure and compounds normally included with seeds,” including beneficial growth additives, biologically active compounds that will enhance the seed’s ability to thrive (paragraphs 20-21 and claim 1). The various additives are mixed together in a homogeneous aqueous solution and subsequently adhered to the seed, which is then dried (paragraph 21). The polymer component can be polyvinyl alcohol, which can further contain a sugar such as acacia gum (paragraph 32; see claim 6); polyvinyl alcohol comprises less than 10% of the seed adhesive mixture, e.g., 8% (claim 3; paragraph 33). 8% acacia gum is also disclosed (paragraph 33). The diol can be used to comprise approximately 0.5-10%, e.g. 3%, of the mixture (claim 1; paragraph 35). In an embodiment of Jaasko’s invention, water is added to a tank mixer and heated to 180 °F (82.2 °C), polyvinyl alcohol as the polymer is added and mixed for about one hour, defoamer is added, ethylene glycol as the diol is added, and the obtained mixture is applied to the seed, and then the treated seeds are dried (paragraphs 33-37). Jaasko’s composition improves germination (paragraphs 1, 22).
IN2015DEL2890 discloses Bacillus subtilis, Azospirillum brasilense, Rhizobium leguminosarum, and Trichoderma harzianum microbial seed coating formulations, which control seed and soil-borne infection, increase effective amount of nitrogen in plants, enhance germination and improve stress tolerance and self-life of seeds (pages 8-10, see “Detailed description of the invention” section; see also page 1, second paragraph; page 8, lines 3-8; page 14, lines 5-10; page 17, last three lines; page 18, lines 9-11). Wet form of the seed coating formulation contains the microorganism species, sticker polymer, preservatives, moisturizers, and other ingredients (claim 1; page 9, lines 24-27). Sticker or polymer can be glycerol, xanthan gum, gum acacia (page 9, last paragraph). Preservative or moisturizer can be polyethylene glycol, xanthan gum, glycerol, polyvinyl pyrrolidone (page 10, last full paragraph). Although one embodiment uses starch at 50%, xanthan gum at 1%, and gum acacia at 25% (page 12, lines 3-6), disclosure of IN2015DEL2890 is open to a broader range, wherein different amounts can be used for different microorganisms. See page 12, lines 3 and 30-33 in view of claims 1-14, which have no limits on ingredient percentages.
The article by Sapper et al. is cited to establish that corn starch is a well-known starch type, representing about 65% of the global starch supply (page 2).
CN 104782649 or CN 1276973 does not explicitly exemplify a single composition that contains at least one polymer, corn starch, citric/tartaric/ascorbic acid, glycerol and/or propylene glycol, microbial culture, pesticide, and additional ingredients in the weight percentages required by the instant claims. However, CN 104782649 and the cited secondary references establish that the claimed composition ingredients are known to be used for treatment of seeds at the claim-recited percentages. CN 1276973 teaches the advantage of tight seed coating that does not easily peel off when polyvinyl alcohol is combined with starch. Further, beneficial ingredients taught by CN 1276973 include species selected from Bacillus, Trichoderma, Paecilomycea, Verticillium, Metarhizium (paragraphs 4, 19), which are the same as those recited in Applicant’s claims. CN 1276973 teaches the known combination of beneficial microbial culture and pesticide in a seed coating for seed protection, long survival rate of the seeds and microbial culture, and increased crop yield. Margolis and Turnblad et al. also teach the combination of microbial culture with or without additional chemical pesticides.
Regarding the corn starch component, although CN 1276973, Margolis, Turnblad et al., and IN2015DEL2890 teach the use of starch in seed coating formulations, corn starch is not specifically disclosed. However, as corn is the main source of starch produced worldwide at approximately 65% (Sapper et al.), it would have been obvious for the ordinary skilled artisan to use the readily available corn starch as the starch ingredient of a seed coating composition.
Claim 13 further requires 0.5-10 wt% each of gum acacia, xanthan gum, and polyethylene glycol. CN 104782649 teaches xanthan gum within the claimed amount range and Jaasko et al. teach the advantage of using acacia gum with polyvinyl alcohol in amounts that are within the claimed amount range. IN2015DEL2890 further teaches the combination of polyvinyl alcohol, gum acacia, and xanthan gum for providing a seed coating that has improved stress tolerance. Turnblad teaches the advantage of using a plasticizer such as polyethylene glycol within amounts that are within the claimed amount range to minimize chipping, breakage, or flaking of coated seeds. Thus, it would have been obvious for the ordinary skilled artisan to combine known seed coating ingredients to provide a seed coating that obtains the multiple advantages of individual ingredients.
Claims 16 and 25 require microbial load in the range of 107 to 1010 colony forming units in 100 ml of the biocoat composition. Margolis is evidence that such microbial load is well within the typical microbial load of seed coating formulations that contain beneficial microorganisms.
New claims 26-28 require at least one microbial culture selected from a group that includes B. subtilis and B. thuringiensis var. kurstaki.3 B. subtilis is taught by CN 1276973, Margolis, and IN2015DEL2890. B. thuringiensis var. kurstaki is taught by Margolis; B. pumilus and combination of B. subtilis and B. thuringiensis var. kurstaki are also taught by Margolis.
In sum, the prior art collectively teaches a wide range of percentages for the claim-recited seed coating ingredients, and it would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan to adjust the percentages of known seed coating ingredients to provide a beneficial seed coating composition that adheres to the seed and subsequently provides the seed with protection, shelf life, improved handling, and improved growth characteristics from plants that grow from the coated seeds.
The process of claim 21 requires mixing the ingredients at the percentages readable on the prior art and adding it to a seed material followed by drying, wherein the composition is added to seed material in a range of 5-100 ml per kg (1000g) of seed.
CN 1276973 teaches that seed coating agent can comprise 0.5 to 2.5 wt% of the seed (paragraph 27), and Margolis teaches 0.001 to 50 g of the formulation per kg of seed or 0.01 to 15 gram of the formulation per kg of seed is disclosed (paragraph 161). Margolis explicitly states, “application rate of seed-dressing formulations … may be varied within a relatively wide range” (paragraph 161). The ordinary skilled artisan would have recognized that the volume of “biocoat” or microorganism-containing seed coating composition applied to seeds would depend on the microorganism concentration of the seed coating composition, final seed coat weight percentage after drying, and the type of seed. Given the wide range taught by the prior art, it would have been obvious for the ordinary skilled artisan to adjust and optimize the volume of the microorganism-containing seed coating composition at the claim-recited amounts to provide a coated seed with the multiple advantages taught by the prior art.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because every element of the invention and the claimed invention as a whole have been fairly disclosed or suggested by the teachings of the cited references.
Applicant’s arguments and the declaration filed on 7/10/2026 have been considered, but they were deemed unpersuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues that the declaration provides experimental studies which demonstrate unexpected results not contemplated by the prior art. Applicant further argues that such unexpected results are commensurate in scope with the claimed subject matter. The Examiner cannot agree because the declaration is defective for the following four reasons.
First, declaration paragraphs 9 and 10 disclose the coating formulations, but the disclosure is missing (1) concentration of the pesticide in the formulations, (2) microbial load of the microbial culture relative to the biocoat composition, and (3) weight ratio of the biosticker4 composition to the microbial culture. The missing information is critical because the specification of this application has stressed their criticality. In paragraph 103, the instant specification disclosed that “criticality of the present disclosure lies in the presence of the combination of components such as” PVA, corn starch, citric acid, glycerol, xanthan gum, gum acacia, and polyethylene glycol at the disclosed weight percentage range (emphasis added). In paragraph 121, the specification adds, “weight ratio of biosticker composition to the microbial culture is critical for arriving at the biocoat composition, and the weight ratio ranged between 1:1 to 1:6” (emphasis added). Thus, the declaration is missing critical information acknowledged by the specification, and the ordinary skilled artisan would not be able to fully determine whether the results therein are commensurate in scope with that of the claimed subject matter.
Second, the declaration fails to provide data for biosticker + microbial culture, i.e., data for biosticker with the microbial culture but without the pesticide. Data for biosticker + microbial culture is necessary to evaluate biocoat samples 6-16 of Table 1 the declaration5 – individual contribution of the microbial culture must be provided in order to evaluate the combined contribution of the pesticide + microbial culture. For example, in Table 2, biosticker + metalaxyl (sample no. 2)6 increased average germination by 2%, and biosticker + metalaxyl + Bacillus pumilus (sample no. 7) increased average germination by 6%. It is not possible to determine that this is a result that would have been unexpected, because individual contribution of biosticker + B. pumilus was not provided in the declaration. The prior art teaches an expectation of improved plant growth with many different beneficial Bacillus microorganisms (CN 1276973, paragraphs 4, 19; claim 5; Margolis, entire disclosure, paragraph 27 in particular; Turniblad, paragraph bridging columns 5-6; IN2015DEL2890, pages 8-10). Consequently, the declaration is defective for failing to disclose all the necessary information to fully evaluate the data.
Third, even if all of the already discussed deficiencies were overcome, it remains that the data cannot be extrapolated to the full scope of the currently pending claims. The tested microorganisms in the declaration are B. pumilus, B. aerius, B. subtilis, and Azotobacter chroococcum and the tested pesticides are metalaxyl, cyantraniliprole, and thiamethoxam. The limited data presented in the declaration does not establish that similar results would be obtained with different combinations, because different pesticides and different beneficial microorganisms would not be expected to behave similarly to the tested combinations. For example, beneficial fungi of the genus Trichoderma could be harmed by many different pesticides, such as tebuconazole, which inhibits fungal cell wall synthesis, or diuron, which has fungitoxic properties. Therefore, the scope of the evidence presented in the specification is not commensurate with that of the claimed subject matter.
Fourth, the “Biocoat composition stability study” in the declaration is additionally defective for failing to provide data for the claimed invention. A direct side-by-side comparison of the inventive formulation to C8 and C9 cannot be made, because data for inventive formulation under the same experimental protocol was not provided. And even if such comparative data were provided, this study supports only what was already disclosed in the specification: each specific component is critical. The claims, as currently pending in much broader scope, do not reflect the disclosed criticality.
For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive, and the claims must be rejected again. No claim is allowed.
Potentially Allowable subject matter
Notwithstanding the discussion set forth above regarding the declaration data, the Examiner makes the following observation in order to assist Applicant in finding a path toward allowability. Even though the declaration is missing some critical information to fully evaluate its data, it appears that data for thiamethoxam is particularly strong in comparison to the other tested pesticides. If it could be established or effectuated that all other experimental parameters were held constant, missing critical experimental information were provided and recited in the claims, and the combination of biosticker + thiamethoxam + specific microbial culture is unexpectedly superior to the expected additive effect of biosticker + thiamethoxam and biosticker + microbial culture, allowability of limited scope of a biocoat composition that contains thiamethoxam, such as for example the following may be feasible ---
A biocoat composition for coating seed material, comprising:
(i) a composition comprising:
(a) 5-10 wt% polyvinyl alcohol;
(b) 10-15 wt% corn starch;
(c) 0.01-1 wt% citric acid,
(d) 3-7 wt% glycerol;
(e) 6-10 wt% xanthan gum;
(f) 6-10 wt% gum acacia;
(h) 5-10 wt% polyethylene glycol; and
(i) balance water
(ii) [ ] wt% thiamethoxam;
(iii) at least one microbial culture selected from the group consisting of
(a) mixture of Bacillus subtilis and Bacillus pumilus;
(b) mixture of Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus pumilus, and Bacillus aerius; and
(c) mixture of Bacillus subtilis, Bacillus pumilus, and Bacillus aerius, and Azotobacter chroococcum,
wherein the microbial load of said microbial culture is in the range of [ … CFU ] per 100 ml of the biocoat composition, and the weight ratio of (i) to (iii) in the biocoat composition is between 1:1 to 1:6.
It is noted that there is no claim directed to such subject matter at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's SPE, Fereydoun Sajjadi, can be reached on (571)272-3311. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/JOHN PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699
1 Machine translation was provided with the Office action of 4/29/2025. Paragraph references are to the machine translation.
2 Machine translation was provided with the Office action of 4/29/2025. Paragraph references are to the machine translation.
3 It is assumed that the claim-recited “subtilus” and “kurtaski” are misspellings of subtilis and kurstaki, respectively. See page 2 of this Office action.
4 The term “biosticker” refers to composition of component (i) in claim 13, for example. See specification paragraph 34.
5 Samples 6-16 from Table 1 of the declaration are confusingly designated as samples 7-17, respectively, in subsequent tables.
6 Sample numbers used in Table 1 are not the same numbers used in subsequent tables, as mentioned in note 5, supra. Sample numbers and specific table numbers are therefore mentioned together in this Office action.