Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 regarding, the ids, the existing claim objections, and the “polygonal” and “respectively” claim language 112b rejections, have been considered and the objections/rejections of record removed.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 regarding support for the amendment to claim 1 has been fully considered is not persuasive. The specification does not discuss the limitation of “a plurality of polyannular portions”
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 regarding support for the amendment to claim 2 has been fully considered is not persuasive. The specification does not discuss the limitation of “a plurality of polyannular portions”
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 regarding support for the amendment to claim 7 has been fully considered is not persuasive. The argument isn’t persuasive because our systems are in black and white the color described in figure 7 is not accepted.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 regarding the prior art rejections has been fully considered is not persuasive. The applicant argues that the stent cells of Sirhan appear linear and not annular. Examiner disagrees noting annular means ring-like and the stent cells are ring-like.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 regarding the prior art rejections has been fully considered is not persuasive. The applicant argues that the through holes do not pass in an axial direction. Examiner disagrees noting the through holes pass at least partially through in an axial direction, further see new rejection below, the new orientation of the embodiment combinations would occur in an axial direction.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein a joining member is configured to connect two adjacent bent parts by inserting through the through holes of the two adjacent bent parts, and.” The word “and” at the end of this claim needs to be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“joining member” in claims 1-2 and 4-7.
The joining member is described in [0012] as “The joining member is preferably formed in a linear shape or a ring shape,” and is further shown in various figures.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The plurality of polyannuar portions. The drawings appear to show a plurality of annular portions not polyannular portions.
The bent-part-joining-part, the drawings appear to show bent parts, however does not show bent-part-joining-part.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“Polyannular portions” is not described in the specification
“Plurality of joining members” is not described in the specification.
“Bent-part-joining-part” is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, and 7 refer to the stent as having “plurality of polyannular portions.” Polyannular means many ringed, therefore a “plurality of polyannular portions” would mean a plurality of many ringed portions. The invention appears to comprise a plurality of annular portions not a plurality of polyannular portions. The term polyannular is additionally not described in the specifications, there is a lack of antecedent basis. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claims 2 and 7 recites “one side,” and “the other side” without proper antecedent basis. It is unclear what physical structure has the two sides.
Claim 7 recites “a bent-part-joining-part” without proper antecedent basis. This term is not described in the specifications. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered
Claim 7 recites “a plurality of joining members” without antecedent basis, this plural term is not described in the specification.
Claim 7 recites “the-bent-part-joining-part is disposed at each of a plurality of locations” it is unclear what is meant by this claim language. The specification does not further add clarity.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirhan (US 20170290686 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sirhan teaches a stent ([0011]) in a cylindrical shape (stents are cylindrical, fig 90b) having a plurality of openings (see figures, for example, annotated fig 90a), the stent being deformable from a reduced diameter state to an expanded diameter state ([0016]), wherein the stent comprises a plurality of polyannular portions (see annotated figure 90/a) each of the plurality of polyannular portions comprises a linear member, the plurality of polyannular portions are arranged sided by side in an axial direction of the stent and connected to each other (see annotated figure 90a, the portions are side by side in any direction and connected) wherein each of the plurality of polyannular portions has an annular shape when viewed in the axial direction of the stent (see figure 90a/b) ,wherein each of the plurality of polyannular portions comprises a plurality of bent parts that are convex toward one side or one other side in the axial direction of the stent (see annotated figure 90a), wherein each bent part of a polyannular portion is disposed adjacent to a bent part of an adjacent polyannular portion (see annotated figure 90a), wherein bent parts have a through hole passing through the stent part (see Annotated fig 90d, there is through holes for the joining member in a partial axial direction, or see alternative embodiment fig 16h), wherein a joining member is configured to connect two parts by inserting through the through holes of the two adjacent parts (see Annotated fig 90d, or alternative embodiment fig 16h).
The embodiment in figure 90a-d of Sirhan does not exactly teach the adjacent bent parts being connected with the joining member, however, various other embodiments of Sirhan teach adjacent bent parts in an axial direction configured to be connected (for example, figure 14B, 23E, 36, 38, etc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of a location of the axial bent part connection, as taught by various embodiments, to the figure 90 embodiment because it would be obvious to try choosing from a finite number of known connection locations with reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143). Further, Sirhan teaches wherein the connection points can be placed in a variety of patterns ([1365]) and that various combinations of embodiments is within the scope of the invention (for example, [1416], [1446]).
Annotated fig 90a
Annotated fig 90d
Regarding claim 2, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sirhan teaches a stent ([0011]) in a cylindrical shape (stents are cylindrical, fig 90b) having a plurality of openings (see figures, for example, annotated fig 90a), the stent being deformable from a reduced diameter state to an expanded diameter state ([0016]), wherein the stent comprises a plurality of polyannular portions (see annotated figure 90/a) each of the plurality of polyannular portions comprises a linear member, the plurality of polyannular portions are arranged sided by side in an axial direction of the stent and connected to each other (see annotated figure 90a, the portions are side by side in any direction and connected) wherein each of the plurality of polyannular portions has an annular shape when viewed in the axial direction of the stent (see figure 90a/b) ,wherein each of the plurality of polyannular portions comprises a plurality of bent parts that are convex toward one side or one other side in the axial direction of the stent (see annotated figure 90a), wherein each bent part of a polyannular portion is disposed adjacent to a bent part of an adjacent polyannular portion (see annotated figure 90a), wherein the linear member of each of the plurality of polyannular portions has two end parts (Annotated fig 90d), wherein each of the two end parts has a through hole passing through the axial direction of the stent (Annotated fig 90d, at least partially in the direction axial), and wherein a joining member is configured to connect two end parts by inserting through the through holes of the two end parts (see Annotated fig 90d, or alternative embodiment fig 16h).
The embodiment in figure 90a-d of Sirhan does not exactly teach the adjacent bent parts being connected with the joining member, however, various other embodiments of Sirhan teach adjacent bent parts in an axial direction configured to be connected (for example, figure 14B, 23E, 36, 38, etc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of a location of a axial bent part connection, as taught by various embodiments, to the figure 90 embodiment because it would be obvious to try choosing from a finite number of known connection locations with reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143). Further, Sirhan teaches wherein the connection points can be placed in a variety of patterns ([1365]) and that various combinations of embodiments is within the scope of the invention (for example, [1416], [1446]).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sirhan teaches wherein at least one of the linear and the joining member is formed of a biodegradable fiber (abstract, stent scaffold can be degradable).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sirhan teaches wherein the joining member is formed in a linear shape or a ring shape (Annotated fig 90d is a linear shape).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirhan (US 20170290686 A1) in view of Gerberding (WO 0178628 A1).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sirhan is silent to how through holes are formed. Gerberding provides evidence of through holes in stents being formed with needles or lasers (pg. 5, lines 19-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of forming through holes, as taught by Gerberding, to the device, as taught by Sirhan, in order to apply a known technique to achieve predictable results of uniform hole shapes (pg. 5, lines 19-22).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirhan (US 20170290686 A1) in view of Stinson (US 6251135 B1).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sirhan teaches herein the stent comprises a plurality of joining members each having a linear shape (Annotated fig 90d is a linear shape), wherein the plurality of joining members spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the stent (view figure 90b, [1365]).
Sirhan does not exactly teach the three parts of the joint member. Stinson teaches a filament member that attaches to crossing points at stent joints(col 2, lines 15-21), wherein the joint member includes a bent-part-joining part (figure 14), the bent- part-joining part includes: a first part extending toward the stent joint from one side to one other side of the stent (see first strand end in fig 12-14) a second part passing through the joint of two adjacent bent parts from the other side to the one side of the stent (see middle of strand in fig 12-14) and a third part extending from the through holes of the two adjacent bent parts toward the other side of the stent and intersecting with the first part (see second strand end in fig 12-14),and wherein the bent-part-joining part is disposed at each of a plurality of locations along the axial direction of the stent (see fig 12). Further, when the joint filament shape in Stinson is combined with the join filament device of Sirah the three parts extend in an axial direction through the through holes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of the filament shape, as taught by Stinson, to the device, as taught by Sirhan, in order to complete a simple substitution of one known element for another, such as known joint filament shapes, to obtain predictable results of securing a joining member through a stent joint.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.L.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774