DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the elements 226, 244 and 254 of Fischell being relied on as the claimed barbs are referred to as ribs and are not a plurality of outwardly projecting angled barbs as claimed. However, the prior art’s choice of terminology does not change the structure that is depicted. A barb as known in the art is also referred to is an extension, projection, hook. As such, the structure depicted by Fischell broadly reads on the term barb. Regarding claims 19 and 20, as indicated in the rejection below, Fischell does disclose the hub including a key plate to restrict rotation in any directions along with a recess to receive the key plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mendelson in view of Fischell (US PGPub 2019/0255299).
With respect to claim 1 Mendelson discloses:
A delivery device (see Fig. 2, [0070]) comprising: an inner shaft assembly including an inner shaft (130) having a proximal end and a distal end and a lumen [0070]; the inner shaft further including a spindle (140) connected to the distal end of the inner shaft, the spindle including a body and a side lumen (see Fig. 3, [0070]) offset with respect to a central axis of the spindle; and a spine wire (136) that can slide within both the lumen of the inner shaft and the side lumen of the spindle [0070].
Mendelson does not disclose a hub interconnecting the spindle and the inner shaft.
However, Fischell discloses a coupling mechanism (160 Fig. 4A) equivalent to the claimed hub for the purposes of providing a catheter extension to assist with manipulation of the delivery device through the vessels. The coupling mechanism includes plurality of outwardly projecting angled barbs that retain the inner shaft to the hub (see for example 244 in Fig 18C are angled and project outwardly as they circumferentially surround to the inner shaft or 272).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a hub that is a coupling mechanism having the claimed features as noted above for the purpose of providing an extension to the shaft to aid in navigation
Claim 2: Mendelson further discloses comprising a stented prosthesis (100) positioned on the spindle.
Claim 3: Mendelson discloses wherein the body includes a plurality of cuts (320, 322, 326 in Fig 14b or 456a-c in Fig. 27).
Claim 4: Mendelson discloses wherein the side lumen is formed within the body (see Fig. 3).
Claim 5: Mendelson discloses wherein the spindle includes a plurality of features extending from the body (holes described in [0080] and see in 320, 322, 326 in Fig 14b or 456a-c in Fig. 27) through which a plurality of elongated tension members (132a-c) are routed.
Claim 6: Mendelson discloses wherein the side lumen is positioned about 180 degrees from the plurality of features (see Fig. 3.
Claim 9: Fischell discloses the spindle includes a key plate that restricts rotation (186/202, Fig. 15A-E or 212 in Fig. 18C).
Claim 19: Fischell discloses the spindle includes a key plate that restricts rotation in any direction with respect to the inner shaft (212 in Fig. 18c).
Claim 20: Fischell disclose the hub includes a recess to receive the key plate (see Fig. 18C depicting a recess or space between the barbs for receiving the key plat 212)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771