DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendment which was received by the office on April 28, 2026. Claims 1, 4-13 and 17-20 are currently pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendment filed on 4/28/2026 amending claims 6-8,17 and 20 to clarify the language the 112 rejections made against the claims in the office action of 1/28/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4-5, 10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0264106 to Taube et al. (Taube) (previously cited).
In reference to at least claim 1
Taube discloses a snaring system (e.g. 10) comprising: a sheath (e.g. sheath 30) having a lumen (e.g. sheath 30 has a lumen, Figs. 7-9); a pusher disposed within the lumen of the sheath (e.g. core cable 17), wherein the pusher comprises a longitudinal axis (e.g. core cable 17 has a longitudinal axis, Figs. 7-9); a closed loop having an opening (e.g. loop 12 has an opening, Figs. 5,7-9), wherein the closed loop is shaped to have two sides (e.g. loop 12 has two sides, Figs. 5,7-9) wherein each of the two sides comprises a proximal extended portion (e.g. loop 12 has a proximal portion 12a, Figs. 5,7-9), an S-curve portion (see annotated figure below) and a distal extended portion (e.g. extended distal portion including 12b,12c and 12d, Figs. 5,7-9), wherein the distal extended portion of each of the two sides have a common distal end (e.g. common distal end 12b, Figs. 5,7-9),wherein the distal end points in a direction away from the proximal extended portion (e.g. distal end 12b points away form a proximal end, Figs. 5,7-9), wherein the proximal extended portion of the closed loop is coupled to the pusher (e.g. “The proximal end portions 12a, 14a, and 16a of the loops 12, 14, and 16 may be fixedly coupled to the distal end portion 19 of the core cable 17 by a soldering process.”, para. [0014]), wherein the proximal extended portion is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis to the pusher (e.g. proximal end portion is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the core cable, Figs. 1-2), wherein the S-curve portion comprises a proximal curve with a first radius and a distal curve with a second radius, wherein the first radius is configured to orient the proximal curve to face proximally (see annotated fig. below) and wherein the second radius is configured to orient the distal curve to face distally such that the distal curve faces the direction that the distal end points in (e.g. second radius faces distally, see annotated Fig. 5 below).
In reference to at least claim 4
Taube discloses wherein the distal extended portion is disposed substantially perpendicular to the S-curve portion (e.g. distal extended portion substantially perpendicular to S-curve portion of loop 12, see annotated Fig. 5 above).
In reference to at least claim 5
Taube discloses wherein the distal extended portion comprises a radius (e.g. extended distal portion including 12b has a radius, Figs. 5,7-9),
In reference to at least claim 10
Taube discloses wherein the closed loop is constructed of a shape- memory metal (e.g. “Each of the loops 12, 14, and 16 may be formed from a solid or multi-strand material. In some embodiments the loops 12, 14, and 16 are formed from a multi-strand composite of nitinol wire and platinum wire (e.g., five strands of nitinol wire and two strands of platinum wire) so that the platinum wire provides radiopacity while the nitinol wire provides shape memory and/or superelastic characteristics.”, para. [0013]).
In reference to at least claim 17
Taube discloses wherein the pusher and the closed loop are slidable relative to the sheath (e.g. core cable 17 and loop 12 slide relative to sheath 30, Figs. 7-9), whereupon being in a deployed configuration, the closed loop is disposed distally of the sheath (e.g. loop 12 is positioned distally of sheath 30 when deployed, Figs. 7-8) and the S-curve portion is disposed substantially perpendicular to the proximal extended portion (e.g. upon deployment the S-curve portion of loop 12 is disposed substantially perpendicular to the proximal extended portion, Figs. 7-8).
In reference to at least claim 18
Taube discloses wherein the proximal curve is relatively closer to the proximal extended portion relative to the distal extended portion (e.g. S-curve portion has a first radius closer to the proximal portion, Fig. 5 ), wherein the distal curve is relatively closer to the distal extended portion (e.g. S-curve portion has a second radius closer to the distal extended portion, see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 11-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0264106 to Taube et al. (Taube) in view of US 2005/0209609 to Wallace (Wallace) (previously cited).
In reference to at least claims 6-7
Taube discloses a device according to claim 5 but does not explicitly teach a threader that is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis and in which the radius of the distal extended portion faces.
Wallace discloses a foreign body retrieval device which discloses a sheath (e.g. 70) and a closed loop (e.g. 55) that can be any shape (e.g. “The loop may have any suitable shape, including but not limited to an oval or a circle.”, para. [0037]) and includes a threader (e.g. 10) that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis and in which a radius of an distal extended portion faces (e.g. Figs. 1A, 2-3, 13-16) and includes a main hook portion (e.g. 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Taube to include a threader that is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis and in which a radius of a distal extended portion faces, as taught by Wallace, in order to allow initial engagement of a foreign body at a point along the foreign body other than at its end(s) (e.g. ‘609, para. [0003], [0035]).
In reference to at least claim 8
Taube modified by Wallace renders obvious a snaring system according to claim 7. Wallace further discloses wherein the threader has a radius (e.g. both the main hook portion 17 and reverse hook tip portion 12 have a radius, Fig. 1A-3. 13-16), and wherein the radius of the threader faces the closed loop (e.g. the radius of the main hook portion 17 faces loop element 55, Fig. 1A-3. 13-16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Taube to include the threader having a radius that faces the closed loop in order to allow initial engagement of a foreign body at a point along the foreign body other than at its end(s) (e.g. ‘609, para. [0003], [0035]).
In reference to at least claim 11
Taube discloses a device according to claim 1. Taube further discloses a second closed loop comprising a second opening and a second S-curve portion (e.g. multiple loops 12, 14 and 16 that have substantially identical size and shape, therefore the other loops also include an S-curve portion, Figs. 1-3, 7-8, “In this example, the loops 12, 14, and 16 are substantially identical in size and shape, however, it will be appreciated that different numbers, sizes, and shapes may be used for the loops of a snare.”, para. [0015]), wherein the S-curve portion of the closed loop and the second S-curve portion of the second closed loop extend in radially opposite directions (e.g. multiple loops 12, 14 and 16 that have substantially identical size and shape in which the loops can extend in radially opposite directions , Figs. 1-3, 7). Taube does not explicitly disclose a threader coupled to the sheath, wherein, when the closed loop and the second closed loop are pulled proximally; the second closed loop is configured to collapse over the closed loop and the threader, the closed loop is configured to collapse over the threader; and the threader is configured to be disposed within the opening of the closed loop and the second opening of the second closed loop.
Wallace discloses a foreign body retrieval device which discloses a sheath (e.g. 70) and a closed loop (e.g. 55) that can be any shape (e.g. “The loop may have any suitable shape, including but not limited to an oval or a circle.”, para. [0037]) and includes a threader (e.g. 10) that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis (e.g. Figs. 1A, 2-3, 13-16) and includes a main hook portion (e.g. 17). Wallace further discloses wherein, when the closed loop is pulled proximally; the closed loop is configured to collapse over the threader; and the threader is configured to be disposed within the opening of the closed loop (e.g. loop element 55 collapses over the retriever 10 Figs. 1A, 2-3, 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Taube to include a threader coupled to the sheath that is configured to engage the multiple loops, wherein, when the loops are pulled proximally, the closed loop is configured to collapse over the threader and the threader is disposed within an opening of the multiple loops, as taught by Wallace, in order to allow initial engagement of a foreign body at a point along the foreign body other than at its end(s) (e.g. ‘609, para. [0003], [0035]).
In reference to at least claim 12
Taube discloses a device according to claim 11. Taube further discloses wherein the second S-curve portion of the second closed loop is axially offset from the S-curve portion of the closed loop (e.g. multiple loops 12, 14 and 16 that have substantially identical size and shape, therefore the other loops also include an S-curve portion that includes the S-curve portions being axially offset, Figs. 1-2, 7-8, “In this example, the loops 12, 14, and 16 are substantially identical in size and shape, however, it will be appreciated that different numbers, sizes, and shapes may be used for the loops of a snare.”, para. [0015]).
In reference to at least claim 13
Taube discloses a device according to claim 11. Taube further discloses wherein the second closed loop comprises a second proximal extended portion that is longer than the proximal extended portion of the closed loop (e.g. multiple loops 12, 14 and 16 that have substantially identical size and shape, therefore the other loops also include a n S-curve portion that includes the S-curve portions being axially offset, Figs. 1-3, 7-8, “In this example, the loops 12, 14, and 16 are substantially identical in size and shape, however, it will be appreciated that different numbers, sizes, and shapes may be used for the loops of a snare.”, para. [0015], therefore the loops can have different sizes and shapes including one loop having a proximal extended portion that is longer than the proximal extended portion of another loop).
In reference to at least claim 20
Taube discloses a device according to claim 1. Taube does not explicitly disclose a threader fixedly coupled to the sheath, wherein, when the closed loop is pulled proximally:, the closed loop is configured to collapse over the threader; and the threader is configured to be disposed within the opening of the closed loop.
Wallace discloses a foreign body retrieval device which discloses a sheath (e.g. 70) and a closed loop (e.g. 55) that can be any shape (e.g. “The loop may have any suitable shape, including but not limited to an oval or a circle.”, para. [0037]) and includes a threader (e.g. 10) that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis (e.g. Figs. 1A, 2-3, 13-16) and includes a main hook portion (e.g. 17). Wallace further discloses wherein, when the closed loop is pulled proximally; the closed loop is configured to collapse over the threader; and the threader is configured to be disposed within the opening of the closed loop (e.g. loop element 55 collapses over the retriever 10 Figs. 1A, 2-3, 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Taube to include a threader coupled to the sheath and disposed within an opening of the closed loop, wherein, when the closed loop is pulled proximally, the closed loop is configured to collapse over the threader and the threader is configured to be disposed within the opening of the closed loop, as taught by Wallace, in order to allow initial engagement of a foreign body at a point along the foreign body other than at its end(s) (e.g. ‘609, para. [0003], [0035]).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0264106 to Taube et al. (Taube).
In reference to at least claim 9
Taube teaches a device according to claim 1. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Taube reference, to have a height from a beginning of the first radius to a distal end of the closed loop is about 0.80 inches and wherein a width from the beginning of the first radius to the distal end of the closed loop is about 0.60 inches, since applicant has not disclosed that having a height from a beginning of the first radius to a distal end of the closed loop is about 0.80 inches and wherein a width from the beginning of the first radius to the distal end of the closed loop is about 0.60 inches solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that a height from a beginning of the first radius to a distal end of the closed loop is about 0.80 inches and wherein a width from the beginning of the first radius to the distal end of the closed loop is about 0.60 inches, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, see MPEP 2144.04.
In reference to at least claim 19
Taube discloses a device according to claim 1 and further discloses that the multiple loops 12, 14 and 16 can be substantially identical size and shape or that different numbers, sizes, and shapes may be used for the loops of a snare (e.g. para. [0015]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Taube reference, to shape the closed loop such that the first radius is greater than the second radius, since applicant has not disclosed that having the first radius is greater than the second radius solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that the first radius is greater than the second radius, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, see MPEP 2144.04.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the rejections have been updated in view of the amendments made to claims 1, 6-7, 17 and 20 within the response filed on 4/28/2026.
Rejections Under 35 USC §102
Applicant argues “Taube does not disclose the claimed closed-loop geometry recited in amended independent claim 1….Taube's disclosure of laterally outward mid-portions is not a disclosure of the claimed S-curve portion having "a proximal curve with a first radius configured to orient the proximal curve to face proximally," and having "a distal curve with a second radius configured to orient the distal curve to face distally" as evidenced upon comparison of the annotated figures above. The Office Action's annotation cannot supply a structural limitation not disclosed expressly or inherently in the reference. At most, Taube discloses a different loop shape such that the curves created by loop 12's mid-portions 12c and 12d point in a direction that is perpendicular to the direction that the alleged distal end portion 12b points. That is not the same arrangement required by amended claim 1.”, see pgs. 6-9 of response received on 4/28/2026. This is not persuasive. Taube expressly discloses the claimed closed-loop geometry recited in amended independent claim 1. Applicant’s annotated figure 5 of Taube, see pg. 8 of the response filed 4/28/2026, does not point to the correct curvature of the loop for the claimed S-curve. Taube discloses the S-curve portion comprises a proximal curve with a first radius and a distal curve with a second radius, wherein the first radius is configured to orient the proximal curve to face proximally (see annotated fig. below) and wherein the second radius is configured to orient the distal curve to face distally such that the distal curve faces the direction that the distal end points in (e.g. second radius faces distally, see annotated Fig. 5 below). Taube discloses a second radius that orients the distal curve to face distally such that the distal curve faces a direction that the distal end points in, see dotted lines within the annotated figure below.
Rejections Under 35 USC §103
Applicant does not present separate arguments for these claims and instead relies on the arguments made with regards to independent claim 1 which has been fully addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JG/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796