/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761 DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025, 10/24/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure(s) statement is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 11/11/2025. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1, 3, 11, 13-16, 19 have been amended; claims 2 and 12 cancelled.
With respect to Specification Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the Specification Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 08/11/2025.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 08/11/2025. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 11/11/2025 have created another Claim Objections. See details below in the Claim Objections section.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 08/11/2025, except for the limitation “trigger element” previously recited in claim 1 because the limitation “trigger element” is cancelled in the amendments filed 11/11/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 08/11/2025. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 11/11/2025 have created another 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections. See details below in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections:
Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, Applicant(s)’ amendments filed 11/11/2025 have changed the scope of the claim; thus, the claim interpretation has changed. Therefore, Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments.
However, Examiner would like to note that in response to Applicant(s)’ arguments that the previously cited reference Franco does not disclose the limitation “the gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code” as recited in independent claims 1 and 19 – see details on pages 9-10 of the Remarks dated 11/11/2025, Examiner respectfully disagrees because Applicant(s)’ amendments filed 11/11/2025 have changed the scope of the claim; thus, the claim interpretation has changed. In this case, Franco properly discloses the limitation “the gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code” as recited in independent claims 1 and 19 because Franco discloses gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”) that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) making use of a defined code (defined code is when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a that causes vibration). In this case, Franco Translated Pars.0020-0022 describes in details the gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code since the positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a being adapted to provide trigger signal for control of function and/or operating process in the cooktop 36a when the cooking utensil 14a is placed on the cooktop 36a by user. Specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a. Alternatively or additionally, an acoustic signal may be provided.”. Therefore, Franco discloses gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code, see detailed rejections of the independent claims 1 and 11 in the 35 U.S.C. 102 Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant’s arguments are the same for dependents claims; therefore, Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims 1 and 11 generally applies to their dependents claims.
Regarding independent claim 19, Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant(s)’ Arguments: (Regarding independent claim 19 – see details in the Remarks dated 11/11/2025 on pages 10-11)
Applicant argued that “it would not have been obvious to trigger Franco's positioning determining process via knocking or tapping as disclosed in Li, because Franco's positioning determining process is already triggered by an event (i.e., placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a) that is more appropriate for triggering the process than knocking or tapping” – see details on pages 10-11 of the Remarks dated 11/11/2025.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to Applicant’s argument that “it would not have been obvious to trigger Franco's positioning determining process via knocking or tapping as disclosed in Li, because Franco's positioning determining process is already triggered by an event (i.e., placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a) that is more appropriate for triggering the process than knocking or tapping”, Examiner respectfully disagrees because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., trigger positioning determining process via knocking or tapping by user) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is noted that the independent claim 19 does not require the trigger of positioning determining process via knocking or tapping by user. In contrast, the independent claim 19 requires: “execute a first particular function of the household appliance upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, corresponding to a gesture-control input by a user tapping or knocking on the top plate, that is associated with said first particular function”. It is noted that “a first particular function” as recited in claim 19 does not necessarily be the position determination process since the claim does not define specifically what “a first particular function” is. Thus, claim 19 requires the execution of a first particular function of the household appliance upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, claim 19 does not require the trigger of positioning determining process via knocking or tapping by user as alleged by the Applicant. Thus, the “first particular function of the household appliance” as required by the claim is different from the Franco’s positioning determining process, and Examiner did not combine Franco and Li for the purpose of using the knocking or tapping by user from Li’s teaching to activate the Franco’s positioning determining process, see detailed rejections of the claim 19 in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below. In this case, the primary reference Franco discloses causing the user interface to display an indication of the cooking utensil placed on the first cooking zone or the second cooking zone, and/or to execute a second particular function, upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a soft shock corresponding to placement of the cooking utensil on the first cooking zone or the second cooking zone; while the secondary reference Li teaches execute a first particular function of the household appliance upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, corresponding to a gesture-control input by a user tapping or knocking on the top plate, that is associated with said first particular function. It is noted that these are two different processes/operating functions and thus, the knocking or tapping by the user as taught by Li is not used to trigger the Franco’s positioning determining process as alleged by the Applicant.
Furthermore, contrary to Applicant’s assertion that it would not have been obvious to combine Franco with Li, the Examiner insist the rationale of the combination of Li’s teaching with Franco is proper because in the instant case, the purpose of combining Li’s teaching with Franco is not defeated, for, at least, the benefit of activating the function represented by the knocked or tapped touch region and thus, increase convenience such as multi-tasking potential by activating the cooker effortlessly while actively stirring, chopping, or attending to other tasks. As the obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Moreover, MPEP § 2144.01, suggests that “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976)”. As such, Applicant’s argument that it would not have been obvious to combine Franco with Li, is moot.
Applicant’s arguments are the same for dependents claims; therefore, Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim 19 generally applies to its dependents claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the user” in line 8. This should be changed to “a user” since there is no “user” recited previously.
Claims 13-15 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit configured to control operating processes” in claim 1 (line 4) and “control unit” in claim 9 (line 2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “configured to control operating processes” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “control unit” will be interpreted as “controller” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 10 lines 4-6: “a induction generator 21 of magnetic waves is shown, which is connected to a controller 23, which controls the signals and the energy of the signals generated by the generator 21”.
“control elements” in claim 7 (line 2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “elements” (Prong A); the term “elements” is modified by functional language “control” (Prong B); and the term “elements” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “control elements” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “control elements” is being interpreted as “touch control” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 4 lines 16-17: “Said at least one control element is preferably a touch control element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an operating process” in line 17. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 1 recites the limitation “operating processes” previously in line 4. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “an operating process” recited in line 17 refers to one of the “operating processes” recited previously in line 4, or the limitation “an operating process” recited in line 17 refers to a different operating process. For examination purposes, the limitation “an operating process” recited in line 17 will be interpreted as one of the “operating processes” recited previously in line 4.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an operating process” in line 19. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 1 recites the limitation “an operating process” previously in line 17 and “operating processes” previously in line 4. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “an operating process” recited in line 19 refers to one of the “operating processes” recited previously in line 4, or the “operating process” recited previously in line 17, or a different operating process. For examination purposes, the limitation “an operating process” recited in line 19 will be interpreted as the “operating process” recited previously in line 17.
Claim 3-10, 16-18 are rejected by virtue of its dependence on claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “an operating process” in lines 7-8. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 11 recites the limitation “an operating process” previously in line 2. Therefore, it is unclear if they are the same operating process or different operating processes. For examination purposes, they will be interpreted as the same operating process.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “The method according to claim 12” in line 1. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 12 is cancelled; therefore, it is unclear claim 13 depends on which claim. For examination purposes, claim 13 will be treated as to be dependent on claim 11.
Claim 13-15 are rejected by virtue of its dependence on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11, 13-14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Franco discloses a household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) comprising:
an acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1 & Translated Par.0020) (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning measuring unit 18a comprises a positioning sensor 22a designed as a vibration sensor 28a … The positioning sensor 22a is designed as an accelerometer”) configured to detect an acceleration of a section or a reference point of a wall or a panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the panel of the Instant Application is the top plate of the induction cooking hob 1, specifically, Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows the panel 3 of the induction cooking hob 1; therefore, the prior art Franco cooking plate 10a and the Instant Application panel 3 are equivalent) of the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “a section or a reference point” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; similarly, the limitation “a wall or a panel” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is configured to detect an acceleration of a section of the panel of the cooktop 36a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”; therefore, Franco discloses vibration sensor 28a configured to detect acceleration of a section of the cooking plate 10a of the cooktop 36a),
a control unit (control unit 20a, Franco Fig.1) configured to control operating processes (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination. When determining the installation position, the installation position 12a is determined using the position measuring unit 34a. For this purpose, a method already known to a person skilled in the art is used. The heating unit 16a is slowly moved in a regular search pattern below the hob plate 10a. The induction heating element of the heating unit 16a is operated with high-frequency alternating voltage at regular short intervals or alternatively continuously. If the heating unit 16a is located below the cooking utensil 14a, this can be detected by a characteristic current flow in the induction heating element.”, and Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a.”; therefore, Franco discloses the control unit 20a configured to control operating processes), and
a user interface (user interface 46a, Franco Fig.1) configured to provide status information of the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) to a user and/or to receive control commands or data input from the user (it is noted that the limitation “to provide status information of the household appliance to a user and/or to receive control commands or data input from the user” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Franco discloses the user interface 46a configured to do both, including provide status information of the cooktop 36a to the user and also receive control commands or data input from the user, specifically, Franco Translated Par.0019 discloses: “The operator interface 46a includes a display unit and several touch-sensitive buttons”, and Franco Par.0022 discloses: “If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a.”);
wherein the acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1 & Translated Par.0020) is:
connected to the control unit (control unit 20a, Franco Fig.1) and/or to the user interface for exchange of data (it is noted that the limitation “to the control unit and/or to the user interface” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Franco discloses positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a being connected to the control unit 20a for exchange of data, specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a”),
adapted to recognize a gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”), which causes a soft shock (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the “soft shock” as a shock or vibration during the placing of the item, according to the Instant Application on page 3 lines 5-12: “During the placing of the item, usually a shock or vibration, even thought it might be only a soft shock, is caused to the storage or to the work surface, which shock or vibration may be detectable and/or measurable. In order to detect also a soft placing, the detection and/or measuring means may comprise specifically sensitive sensing elements and particularly an extremely low noise evaluation circuit.”; in this case, the placing of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a causes vibration, thus, it causes soft shock) on an outer surface (outer surface of the cooking plate 10, Franco Fig.1) of the panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) or the wall (it is noted that the limitation “the panel or the wall” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) of the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) (as explained previously, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a, which cases soft shock on the outer surface of cooking plate 10a of the cooktop 36a), and
adapted to provide a trigger signal (signal generated by vibration sensor 28a, Franco Translated Pars.0020-0022) in response to recognizing the gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”), the trigger signal (signal generated by vibration sensor 28a, Franco Translated Pars.0020-0022) being adapted to trigger a function and/or an operating process in the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco Translated Pars.0020-0022 describes in details the positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a being adapted to provide trigger signal for control of function and/or operating process in the cooktop 36a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a. Alternatively or additionally, an acoustic signal may be provided.”; therefore, Franco discloses the positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a being adapted to provide trigger signal for control of function and/or operating process in the cooktop 36a),
wherein the gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”) that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) making use of a defined code (defined code is when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a that causes vibration) (Franco Translated Pars.0020-0022 describes in details the gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code since the positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a being adapted to provide trigger signal for control of function and/or operating process in the cooktop 36a when the cooking utensil 14a is placed on the cooktop 36a by user; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a. Alternatively or additionally, an acoustic signal may be provided.”; therefore, Franco discloses gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code).
Regarding claim 3, Franco discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Franco also discloses:
said household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) being a cooking hob (Franco Translated Par.0018 discloses: “36a designed as an induction hob 38a”) and said panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the panel of the Instant Application is the top plate of the induction cooking hob 1, specifically, Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows the panel 3 of the induction cooking hob 1; therefore, the prior art Franco cooking plate 10a and the Instant Application panel 3 are equivalent) being a top plate (cooking plate 10a is the top plate, Franco Fig.1) of the cooking hob (Franco Translated Par.0018 discloses: “36a designed as an induction hob 38a”),
wherein the acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1) is adapted to recognize a placing of a cookware (cooking utensil 14a, Franco Fig.1) on the top plate (cooking plate 10a is the top plate, Franco Fig.1) of the cooking hob (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1; Franco Translated Par.0018 discloses: “36a designed as an induction hob 38a”) (Franco discloses the sensor 22a is configured to adapted to recognize the placing of cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a of the cooktop 36a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”).
Regarding claim 11, Franco discloses a method for controlling a household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1),
wherein a function and/or an operating process (it is noted that the limitation “a function and/or an operating process” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) in or of the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) is triggered by an acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1 & Translated Par.0020) (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning measuring unit 18a comprises a positioning sensor 22a designed as a vibration sensor 28a … The positioning sensor 22a is designed as an accelerometer”), in response to a detection of an acceleration of a section or a reference point of a wall or a panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the panel of the Instant Application is the top plate of the induction cooking hob 1, specifically, Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows the panel 3 of the induction cooking hob 1; therefore, the prior art Franco cooking plate 10a and the Instant Application panel 3 are equivalent) of the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “a section or a reference point” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; similarly, the limitation “a wall or a panel” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is configured to detect an acceleration of a section of the panel of the cooktop 36a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”; therefore, Franco discloses acceleration sensor 28a configured to detect acceleration of a section of the cooking plate 10a of the cooktop 36a; moreover, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a. Alternatively or additionally, an acoustic signal may be provided.”; therefore, Franco discloses the activation of the pot detection function of the cooktop 36a is triggered by the acceleration sensor 28a in response to the detection of the section of the panel of the cooktop 36a), and
the acceleration is caused by a gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”), which causes a soft shock (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the “soft shock” as a shock or vibration during the placing of the item, according to the Instant Application on page 3 lines 5-12: “During the placing of the item, usually a shock or vibration, even thought it might be only a soft shock, is caused to the storage or to the work surface, which shock or vibration may be detectable and/or measurable. In order to detect also a soft placing, the detection and/or measuring means may comprise specifically sensitive sensing elements and particularly an extremely low noise evaluation circuit.”; in this case, Franco discloses the placing of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a causes vibration, as explained above; thus, the acceleration is caused by soft shock) on an outer surface (outer surface of the cooking plate 10, Franco Fig.1) of the wall or panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the limitation “the panel or the wall” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination), and
the gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”) that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) making use of a defined code (defined code is vibration caused by when the cooking utensil 14a is placed on the cooktop 36a) (Franco Translated Pars.0020-0022 describes in details the gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code since the positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a being adapted to provide trigger signal for control of function and/or operating process in the cooktop 36a when the cooking utensil 14a is placed on the cooktop 36a by user; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a. Alternatively or additionally, an acoustic signal may be provided.”; therefore, Franco discloses gesture control input that triggers the function and/or an operating process is a specific communication between the user and the household appliance making use of a defined code).
Regarding claim 13, (see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections below for this claim 13, for examination purposes, claim 13 is treated as to be dependent on claim 11) Franco discloses the method as set forth in claim 11, Franco also discloses:
wherein the gesture control input (user’s gesture control input is when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) comprises a pattern of at least one manual or mechanical action (it is noted that the limitation “at least one manual or mechanical action” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) exerted on the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco discloses the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a of the cooktop 36a comprises pattern of manual action exerted on cooktop 36a because Franco Translated Par.0007: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there.”), and the function and/or operating process (it is noted that the limitation “said function and/or operating process” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) is selected from a group consisting of:
an activation of a timer,
a stop of an acoustic or optical signal provider, and
an activation of a user interface (user interface 46a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco Pars.0020-Par.0022 describes in details the activation of the user interface 46a, specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a.”)
(it is noted that the limitation “the function and/or operating process is selected from a group consisting of: an activation of a timer, a stop of an acoustic or optical signal provider, and an activation of a user interface” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination)
Regarding claim 14, Franco discloses the method as set forth in claim 11, Franco also discloses said household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) comprising a cooking hob (induction hob 38a, Franco Fig.1), said panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the panel of the Instant Application is the top plate of the induction cooking hob 1, specifically, Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows the panel 3 of the induction cooking hob 1; therefore, the prior art Franco cooking plate 10a and the Instant Application panel 3 are equivalent) comprising a top panel (the cooking plate 10a is the top panel, Franco Fig.1) of the cooking hob (induction hob 38a, Franco Fig.1),
wherein the detected acceleration is a result of a placing of an item on the top panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) of the cooking hob (induction hob 38a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco discloses the sensor 22a is configured to detect an acceleration as a result of a placing of cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a of the induction hob 38a; specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”), wherein the triggered function and/or operating process is selected from a group consisting of:
an indication of a detected cookware on the cooking hob on a display of a user interface of the household appliance,
an activation of a pot detection function (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “At the beginning, it is assumed that the hob 36a is in a standby state. The power supplies of all heating units 16a and the operator interface 46a are interrupted. Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy. In a step 60a, it is assumed that the positioning sensor 22a registers a vibration. The control unit 20a thereby transitions from the low-energy state to a normal operating state. At this point, it may be provided in particular to check by means of a frequency analysis whether the vibration registered by the positioning sensor 22a is actually a vibration which is caused by placing a metallic object, in particular the cooking utensil 14a, on the cooking plate 10a. If this is not the case, the control unit 20a can return to the low-energy state. However, if the vibration is actually relevant for placing the cooking utensil 14a on the hob plate 10a or if a frequency analysis is not carried out, the control unit 20a initiates the installation position determination with a step 68a.”, Franco Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a. Alternatively or additionally, an acoustic signal may be provided.”; therefore, Franco discloses the activation of the pot detection function of the induction hob 38a is triggered by the acceleration sensor 28a as a result of the detection of acceleration by placing of cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a of the cooking hob 38a),
an estimation or a determination of a weight of the item,
an activation of a function of the user interface of the household appliance,
an activation of a control function for controlling the household appliance.
(it is noted that the limitation “the triggered function and/or operating process is selected from a group consisting of: an indication of a detected cookware on the cooking hob on a display of a user interface of the household appliance, an activation of a pot detection function, an estimation or a determination of a weight of the item, an activation of a function of the user interface of the household appliance, and an activation of a control function for controlling the household appliance” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination)
Regarding claim 16, Franco discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Franco also discloses:
said gesture control input (gesture control input is when the user interacts with the cooktop 36a, in this instant case, when the user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a; in this case, Franco discloses the sensor 22a is adapt to recognized the placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a) being a manual or mechanical action (it is noted that the limitation “manual or mechanical action” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) exerted on the household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1), comprising one or more of: knocking, hammering, or typing (it is noted that the limitation “comprising one or more of: knocking, hammering, or typing” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, Franco discloses manual action exerted on the household appliance, comprising knocking by the action of user placing the cooking utensil 14a on the cooktop 36a which causes the knocking action).
Regarding claim 18, Franco discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Franco also discloses:
said acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1 & Translated Par.0020) comprising a gravity sensor (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning measuring unit 18a comprises a positioning sensor 22a designed as a vibration sensor 28a … The positioning sensor 22a is designed as an accelerometer”; it is well known that the accelerometer is gravity sensor; therefore, Franco discloses acceleration sensor comprising gravity sensor)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited) in view of Viroli et al. (EP 3413687 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Franco discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the acceleration sensor is adapted to recognize and/or to evaluate vibrations originating from specific operating conditions.
Viroli teaches a household appliance (Viroli Fig.3):
wherein the acceleration sensor (“vibration sensor” or “accelerometer”, Viroli Par.0055 or see vibration sensor 26 in Viroli Fig.3) is adapted to recognize and/or to evaluate (it is noted that the limitation “to recognize and/or to evaluate” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) vibrations originating from specific operating conditions (Viroli Par.0055 teaches: “The boiling of the liquid in the cooking vessel may be detected by the vibration sensor or by the temperature sensor. For example, a suitable vibration sensor is the microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) accelerometer. Said MEMS accelerometer detects the vibrations caused by bubbles formed in the liquid.”; therefore, Viroli teaches the vibration sensor is adapted to recognize vibrations originating from specific operating conditions such as bubbles formed in the liquid and/or boiling of the liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco, by adding the teaching of the acceleration sensor is adapted to recognize vibrations originating from specific operating conditions, as taught by Viroli, in order to detect the boiling of liquid in the cooking vessel in order to trigger the corresponding function and/or the operating process of the induction heating cooktop such as the temperature is reduced to simmering after the boiling is detected; thus, prevent overheating and enhance the overall safety, as recognized by Viroli [Viroli, Par.0051].
Regarding claim 15, Franco discloses the method as set forth in claim 11, but does not disclose:
wherein the function and/or the operating process is triggered by the acceleration sensor dependent on additional information received from a temperature sensor, monitoring temperature conditions of the item.
Viroli teaches a method for controlling a household appliance (Viroli Abstract):
wherein the function and/or the operating process is triggered by the acceleration sensor dependent on additional information received from a temperature sensor, monitoring temperature conditions of the item (Viroli Par.0029 teaches: “the cooking vessel comprises and/or is provided for receiving at least one vibration sensor and/or temperature sensor for detecting a boiling of a liquid in said cooking vessel”, and Viroli Par.0051 teaches: “After the boiling of the liquid has been detected or the predicted or estimated boiling time tBP has been reached, respectively, the transferred power P is reduced from the high power value to the simmering power PS.”; therefore, Viroli teaches the function and/or the operating process to reduce the power from high power value to the simmering power is triggered by the acceleration sensor dependent on additional information received from the temperature sensor monitoring temperature conditions of the cooking vessel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco, by adding temperature sensor and adding the teachings of the function and/or the operating process is triggered by the acceleration sensor dependent on additional information received from a temperature sensor, monitoring temperature conditions of the item, as taught by Viroli, in order to detect the boiling of liquid in the cooking vessel in order to trigger the corresponding function and/or the operating process of the induction heating cooktop, in this case, the temperature is reduced to simmering after the boiling is detected; thus, prevent overheating and enhance the overall safety, as recognized by Viroli [Viroli, Par.0051].
Regarding claim 17, Franco in view of Viroli teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 4, Viroli teaches:
said specific operating conditions comprising a boiling of a fluid (Viroli Par.0055 teaches: “The boiling of the liquid in the cooking vessel may be detected by the vibration sensor or by the temperature sensor. For example, a suitable vibration sensor is the microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) accelerometer. Said MEMS accelerometer detects the vibrations caused by bubbles formed in the liquid.”; therefore, Viroli teaches specific operating conditions comprising a boiling of a fluid, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4 above).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited) in view of Gil et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0352613 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Franco discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the acceleration sensor is an add-on module connected to the household appliance and allocated to the panel of the household appliance.
Gil teaches a household appliance (cooking system 36, Gil Fig.1):
wherein the acceleration sensor (position sensor 20 including the acceleration sensor, Gil Figs.1-2 & Par.0038) (Gil Par.0038 teaches: “the positioning unit 20 has an acceleration sensor (not shown)”) is an add-on module (add-on module is pad device 10, Gil Figs.1-2; it is noted that acceleration sensor is add-on module because it is part of the movable pad device 10, Gil Figs.1-2) connected to the household appliance (cooking system 36, Gil Fig.1) and allocated to the panel (stovetop 38, Gil Fig.1) (it is noted that the panel of the Instant Application is the top plate of the induction cooking hob 1, specifically, Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows the panel 3 of the induction cooking hob 1; therefore, the prior art Gil stovetop 38 and the Instant Application panel 3 are equivalent) of the household appliance (cooking system 36, Gil Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco, by adding the pad device to make the acceleration sensor being add-on module connected to the household appliance and allocated to the panel of the household appliance, as taught by Gil, in order to achieve flexibility because the pad device including the acceleration sensor is realized in the form of a separate unit, thus, it can be positioned at any required position on the panel of the household appliance, and can be advantageously moveable relative to the stovetop; furthermore, the pad device including the acceleration sensor can be use with various stovetops, as recognized by Gil [Gil, Par.0005].
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited) in view of Gil et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0352613 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Viroli et al. (EP 3413687 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 6, Franco in view of Gil teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 5, but does not teach:
wherein the add-on module is adapted to perform or activate a boil detection function.
Viroli teaches a household appliance (Viroli Fig.3):
wherein the add-on module (it is noted that the Gil already teaches the acceleration sensor is add-on module, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 5 above) is adapted to perform or activate a boil detection function (it is noted that the limitation “perform or activate” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Viroli teaches the acceleration sensor is adapt to perform a boil detection function, specifically, Viroli Par.0026 teaches: “a boil-over of the liquid in the cooking vessel is detected by the vibration sensor”, Viroli Par.0055 teaches: “The boiling of the liquid in the cooking vessel may be detected by the vibration sensor or by the temperature sensor. For example, a suitable vibration sensor is the microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) accelerometer. Said MEMS accelerometer detects the vibrations caused by bubbles formed in the liquid.”; therefore, in combination, Franco in view of Gil and Viroli teaches the add-on module including the acceleration sensor is adapted to perform a boil detection function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco in view of Gil, by adding the teaching of the acceleration sensor is adapted to perform a boil detection function, as taught by Viroli, in order to detect the boiling of liquid in the cooking vessel in order to trigger the corresponding function and/or the operating process of the induction heating cooktop such as the temperature is reduced to simmering after the boiling is detected; thus, prevent overheating and enhance the overall safety, as recognized by Viroli [Viroli, Par.0051].
Regarding claim 7, Franco in view of Gil and Viroli teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 6, Gil also teaches:
wherein the add-on module (pad device 10, Gil Figs.1-2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 5 above) comprises control elements (control unit 26 and operating element 46, Gil Fig.2) for user inputs (Gil Par.0043 teaches: “The pad device 10 has an operating element 46 for an input of operating parameters. The operating element 46 is realized in the form of a touch-slider”, and Gil Par.0044 teaches: “The control unit 26 controls and/or regulates a cooking process taking place in the cooking vessel 16 in the heating operating mode depending on the operating input.”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited) in view of Gil et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0352613 A1, previously cited), Viroli et al. (EP 3413687 A1, hereinafter Viroli’687, previously cited) and further in view of Viroli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0245327 A1, hereinafter Viroli’327, previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Franco in view of Gil and Viroli’687 teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 7, Gil also teaches:
said control elements (control unit 26 and operating element 46, Gil Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 7 above) comprising touch control elements (operating element 46 is touch-slider, Gil Par.0043 teaches: “The pad device 10 has an operating element 46 for an input of operating parameters. The operating element 46 is realized in the form of a touch-slider”)
Franco in view of Gil and Viroli’687 teaches the apparatus as set forth above, but does not teach:
the control elements adapted to activate the boil detection function.
Viroli’327 teaches a household appliance (Viroli’327 Figs.1-4):
the control elements (controller 2400, Viroli’327 Fig.2) adapted to activate the boil detection function (Viroli’327 Par.0065 teaches: “a computer program product 4000 is comprised e.g. of a data carrier, such as a storage card 4100 and instructions 4200 respectively 4300 stored on the storage card 4100. For instance, these instructions can be read by a controller 2400 in an induction hob and cause it to perform boiling detection”; therefore, Viroli’327 teaches the control elements adapted to activate the boil detection function; it is noted that Viroli’687 already teaches control elements comprising touch control elements, as cited and incorporated above; thus, in combination, Franco in view of Gil, Viroli’687 and Viroli’327 teaches control elements comprising touch control elements adapted to activate the boil detection function)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco in view of Gil and Viroli’687, by adding the teaching of control elements adapted to activate the boil detection function, as taught by Viroli’327, in order to determine once a boiling state is reached. Furthermore, the power supplied to the heating zone, which supports the boiling substance can be controlled, e.g. in a manner to simmer the substance after boiling, or an indication can be provided in order to allow a user to respond to the substance boiling by taking appropriate control measures or e.g. putting the noodles into the boiling water, as recognized by Viroli’327 [Viroli’327, Par.0023].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited) in view of Robbins et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0208858 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Franco discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the acceleration sensor is configured to communicate wirelessly with the control unit and/or with the user interface of the household appliance and/or with an external device or module or sensor unit.
Robbins teaches a household appliance (Robbins Figs.1A-1C):
wherein the acceleration sensor (accelerometer 134, Robbins Fig.1B) is configured to communicate wirelessly with the control unit and/or with the user interface of the household appliance and/or with an external device (“external computing device”, Robbins Par.0071) or module or sensor unit (it is noted that the limitation “with the control unit and/or with the user interface of the household appliance and/or with an external device or module or sensor unit” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Robbins teaches the accelerometer 134 is configured to communicate wirelessly with the external computing device because Robbins Par.0071 teaches: “the wireless communication module 160 can additionally or alternatively transmit—to the external computing device—a third value corresponding to an output of the accelerometer 134”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco, by adding the teaching of the acceleration sensor configured to communicate wirelessly with the external computing device, as taught by Robbins, in order to receive output from the acceleration sensor remotely and to remotely control the operation of the cooking apparatus according to the output from the acceleration sensor; thus, increase convenience and flexibility.
Regarding claim 10, Franco in view of Robbins teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 9, Robbins also teaches:
wherein the external device (“external computing device”, Robbins Par.0071; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 9 above) or module or sensor unit (it is noted that the limitation “the external device or module or sensor unit” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) is an external computing device (the Robbins external device is the external computing device, as indicated by Robbins Par.0071), or a sensor means or module (it is noted that the limitation “an external computing device, or a sensor means or module” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) arranged or arrangeable on the panel or distant therefrom (it is noted that the limitation “arranged or arrangeable on the panel or distant therefrom” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) (Robbins Fig.6 shows the external computing device is distant from the panel) and controlling or monitoring (it is noted that the limitation “controlling or monitoring” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) the panel and/or an item placed thereon (apparatus 100, Robbins Figs.1A-1C, 6) (it is noted that the limitation “the panel and/or an item placed thereon” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) (in this case, Robbins teaches the external computing device is distant from the panel and controlling the apparatus 100, as shown in Robbins Fig.6).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franco et al. (EP 2600690 A2, previously cited) in view of Li (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0138155 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Viroli et al. (EP 3413687 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 19, Franco discloses a household appliance (cooktop 36a, Franco Fig.1) comprising:
a cooking hob (induction hob 38a, Franco Fig.1; Franco Translated Par.0018 discloses: “36a designed as an induction hob 38a”) having a top panel (cooking plate 10a is the top plate, Franco Fig.1) (it is noted that the panel of the Instant Application is the top plate of the induction cooking hob 1, specifically, Fig.1 of the Instant Application shows the top panel 3 of the induction cooking hob 1; therefore, the prior art Franco cooking plate 10a and the Instant Application top panel 3 are equivalent) comprising a first cooking zone (first cooking zone is the cooking zone that is associated with the heating unit 16a, Franco annotated Fig.1 below) and a second cooking zone (second cooking zone is the cooking zone that is associated with another heating unit 16a, Franco annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that Franco discloses there are multiple heating units 16a in Franco Translated Pars.0020-0021, this is also indicated in Franco Translated Par.0006: “In this context, a "matrix hob" is to be understood in particular as a hob in which the heating units are arranged in a preferably regular grid under the hob plate and an area of the hob plate that can be heated by means of the heating units preferably comprises at least 60%, in particular at least 70%, advantageously at least 80% and particularly advantageously at least 90% of the surface of the hob plate. In particular, the matrix hob comprises at least 10, in particular at least 20, advantageously at least 30 and particularly advantageously at least 40 heating units. In this context, a "heating unit arranged to be movable beneath the hob plate" is to be understood in particular as a heating unit which is movable parallel to the hob plate, in particular via a guide unit beneath the hob plate.”), the first cooking zone (first cooking zone is the cooking zone that is associated with the heating unit 16a, Franco annotated Fig.1 below) and second cooking zone (second cooking zone is the cooking zone that is associated with another heating unit 16a, Franco annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that Franco discloses there are multiple heating units 16a in Franco Translated Pars.0020-0021 and as explained previously) each being adapted to receive a cooking utensil (cooking utensil 14a, Franco Fig.1) thereon (since the first cooking zone and the second cooking zone each is cooking zone having heating unit, thus, each being adapted to receive a cooking utensil);
an acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1 & Translated Par.0020) (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning measuring unit 18a comprises a positioning sensor 22a designed as a vibration sensor 28a … The positioning sensor 22a is designed as an accelerometer”) configured to detect vibrations imparted to the top panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”, and Franco Translated Par.0007 discloses: “A "vibration sensor" is to be understood in particular as a sensor unit which is intended to detect vibrations generated by placing the cooking utensil on the hob plate, in particular those which are generated in the hob plate and propagate there. An "accelerometer" is understood to mean, in particular, a sensor unit which is intended to measure an acceleration, in particular by determining an inertial force acting on a test mass”; therefore, Franco discloses vibration sensor 28a configured to detect vibrations imparted to the cooking plate 10a);
a user interface (user interface 46a, Franco Fig.1) configured to receive user inputs for controlling the cooking hob (induction hob 38a, Franco Fig.1) and to display status information to a user concerning operation of the cooking hob (induction hob 38a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco Translated Par.0019 discloses: “The operator interface 46a includes a display unit and several touch-sensitive buttons”, and Franco Par.0022 discloses: “If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a.”; therefore, Franco discloses the user interface 46a configured to receive user inputs for controlling the cooking hob and to display status information to a user concerning operation of the cooking hob); and
a controller (control unit 20a, Franco Fig.1) operatively coupled to the user interface (user interface 46a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco Translated Par.0022 discloses: “the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a”), to the acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1) (Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “Only the control unit 20a operates in a low-energy state and supplies the positioning sensor 22a of the positioning measuring unit 18a with energy.”) and to respective heating elements (“heating units 16a”, Franco Translated Par.0021) (Franco Translated Par.0022 discloses: “the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a.”, and Franco Translated Par.0006 discloses: “as soon as a cooking utensil is detected, the hob recognizes this, switches to an active state and requests an operator input of a heating power and/or a cooking program for heating the cooking utensil”; thus, the cooking parameters associated with power delivered to the heating units; therefore, Franco discloses the control unit 20a operatively coupled to the heating units 16a) for delivering power to each of the first cooking zone (first cooking zone is the cooking zone that is associated with the heating unit 16a, Franco Fig.1) and second cooking zone (second cooking zone is the cooking zone that is associated with another heating unit 16a because Franco discloses there are multiple heating units 16a in Franco Translated Par.0021) (Franco Translated Par.0021 discloses: “The power supplies of all heating units 16a”);
the acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1 & Translated Par.0020) being configured to transmit to the controller (control unit 20a, Franco Fig.1) information concerning vibrations detected at the top panel (cooking plate 10a, Franco Fig.1) (Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The control unit 20a is provided to initiate a determination of the installation position upon receipt of a signal by the installation measuring unit 18a … The positioning sensor 22a is designed to detect any movement that occurs when the cooking utensil 14a is placed in the cooking plate 10a. to detect sound waves.”; therefore, Franco discloses the sensor 28a being configured to transmit to the control unit 20a information concerning vibrations detected at the cooking plate 10a);
wherein the controller (control unit 20a, Franco Fig.1) is configured to:
cause the user interface (user interface 46a, Franco Fig.1) to display an indication of the cooking utensil (cooking utensil 14a, Franco Fig.1) placed on the first cooking zone (see the first cooking zone in Franco annotated Fig.1 below) or the second cooking zone (see the second cooking zone in Franco annotated Fig.1 below) (it is noted that the limitation “the first cooking zone or the second cooking zone” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination), and/or to execute a second particular function (it is noted that the limitation “to display an indication of a placed cooking utensil on the first or the second cooking zone, and/or to execute a second particular function” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination), upon detection by the acceleration sensor (positioning measuring unit 18a comprising positioning sensor 22a designed as vibration sensor 28a; Franco Fig.1) of a soft shock (it is noted that the Instant Application defines the “soft shock” as a shock or vibration during the placing of the item, according to the Instant Application on page 3 lines 5-12: “During the placing of the item, usually a shock or vibration, even thought it might be only a soft shock, is caused to the storage or to the work surface, which shock or vibration may be detectable and/or measurable. In order to detect also a soft placing, the detection and/or measuring means may comprise specifically sensitive sensing elements and particularly an extremely low noise evaluation circuit.”; in this case, the placing of the cooking utensil 14a on the cooking plate 10a causes vibration, thus, it causes soft shock) corresponding to placement of the cooking utensil (cooking utensil 14a, Franco Fig.1) on the first cooking zone (see the first cooking zone in Franco annotated Fig.1 below) or the second cooking zone (see the second cooking zone in Franco annotated Fig.1 below) (it is noted that the limitation “the first cooking zone or the second cooking zone” is in alternative form, therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination) (in this case, Franco discloses user interface 46a to display an indication of a placed cooking utensil 14a on the second cooking zone upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a soft shock corresponding to placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the second cooking zone, specifically, Franco Translated Par.0020 discloses: “The hob device further comprises a position measuring unit 34a which is designed differently from the installation measuring unit 18a and which is provided for an at least largely accurate determination of the installation position 12a. The position measuring unit 34a is formed integrally with the heating unit 16a. As soon as the positioning sensor 22a detects the positioning of the cooking utensil 14a by receiving the sound waves, the control unit 20a initiates the positioning position determination.”, and Franco Translated Par.0022 discloses: “In step 68a, as previously described, the heating unit 16a is used to search for the installation position 12a of the cooking utensil 14a. In a step 70a, the control unit 20a checks whether the installation position 12a has been found. If this is the case, the control unit 20a initiates an operator request to select cooking parameters for the cooking utensil 14a via the operator interface 46a in a step 72a. If the installation position 12a was not found, an error message is output via the operator interface 46a in a step 74a.”; therefore, Franco discloses user interface 46a to display an indication of a placed cooking utensil 14a on the second cooking zone upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a soft shock corresponding to placement of the cooking utensil 14a on the second cooking zone).
Franco does not disclose the controller is configured to
execute a first particular function of the household appliance upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, corresponding to a gesture-control input by a user tapping or knocking on the top plate, that is associated with said first particular function;
adjust the power delivered to the first cooking zone or to the second cooking zone, respectively, upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a pattern of vibrations corresponding to cavitation in a boiling liquid in the cooking utensil placed on the first cooking zone or second cooking zone;
Li teaches a household appliance (Li Figs.1A-1B) comprising a controller (“control apparatus”, Li Par.0009) configured to:
execute a first particular function of the household appliance upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, corresponding to a gesture-control input by a user tapping or knocking on the top plate, that is associated with said first particular function (Li Par.0009 teaches: “the panel has one or more touch regions, and each touch region may represent one function, e.g. a corresponding function may be activated by knocking or tapping the touch region. Here, the acoustic sensor(s) is/are respectively allocated to the corresponding touch region(s), for the purpose of detecting a sound wave generated by knocking or tapping the panel, and sending a corresponding sound wave signal to the control apparatus in a wired or wireless manner. The control apparatus may be arranged to further determine the knocked or tapped touch region by analytical processing of the signal of the acoustic sensor, for the purpose of activating the function represented by the knocked or tapped touch region”, and Li Par.0010 teaches: “since the present invention senses a sound wave generated when a human body or an object knocks or taps the panel”, and Li Par.0053 teaches: “The control apparatus for example can exclude interference on the basis of amplitudes and/or phases of signals from the acoustic sensors 21, 22 and the auxiliary acoustic sensors 2 a, 2 b, 2 c, 2 d. When the device itself vibrates, all the sensors, i.e. the acoustic sensors together with the auxiliary acoustic sensors, obtain similar signals. However, for example when a finger knocks or taps a corresponding touch region 91, the corresponding acoustic sensor 21 obtains the strongest signal. Interference caused by vibration of the device itself can be excluded on the basis of the divergence expounded in relation to FIG. 2. Similarly, when knocking or tapping occurs outside the touch regions, e.g. when knocking or tapping occurs close to the auxiliary acoustic sensor 2 a, the acoustic sensor 21 also has a relatively large signal, but this signal is smaller than a signal of the auxiliary acoustic sensor 2 a, and interference can thereby be excluded. ”; therefore, Li teaches execute a first particular function, which is determining the knocked or tapped touch region by analytical processing of the signal of the acoustic sensor, for the purpose of activating the function represented by the knocked or tapped touch region upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, corresponding to a gesture-control input by a user tapping or knocking on the top plate, that is associated with said first particular function)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco, by adding the teaching of the controller configured to execute a first particular function of the household appliance upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a predetermined pattern of vibrations, corresponding to a gesture-control input by a user tapping or knocking on the top plate, that is associated with said first particular function, as taught by Li, in order to activate the function represented by the knocked or tapped touch region and thus, increase convenience such as multi-tasking potential by activating the cooker effortlessly while actively stirring, chopping, or attending to other tasks.
Franco in view of Li teaches the apparatus as set forth above, but does not teach the controller is configured to
adjust the power delivered to the first cooking zone or to the second cooking zone, respectively, upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a pattern of vibrations corresponding to cavitation in a boiling liquid in the cooking utensil placed on the first cooking zone or second cooking zone
Viroli teaches a household appliance (Viroli Fig.3) comprising a controller (“control device”, Viroli Par.0032) configured to:
adjust the power delivered to the first cooking zone or to the second cooking zone (it is noted that the limitation “to the first cooking zone or to the second cooking zone” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, since the primary reference Franco already discloses the first and the second cooking zones, see the Franco annotated Fig.1 above; and the claim language requires the first or the second cooking zone; thus, the Viroli cooking zone where the Viroli cooking utensil is placed on is interpreted to be either the first or the second cooking zone) (Viroli Par.0032 teaches: “the cooking appliance comprises at least one control device for adjusting the power transferred to the cooking vessel”; Viroli Par.0050 teaches: “When boiling of the liquid is detected at a boiling time tB, then the transferred power P is reduced from the high power value to a simmering power PS”), respectively, upon detection by the acceleration sensor (“vibration sensor”, Viroli Par.0026) of a pattern of vibrations corresponding to cavitation in a boiling liquid in the cooking utensil placed on the first cooking zone or second cooking zone (it is noted that the limitation “the first cooking zone or second cooking zone” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination; in this case, since the primary reference Franco already discloses the first and the second cooking zones, see the Franco annotated Fig.1 above; and the claim language requires the first or the second cooking zone; thus, the Viroli cooking zone where the Viroli cooking utensil is placed on is interpreted to be either the first or the second cooking zone) (Viroli Par.0026 teaches: “a boil-over of the liquid in the cooking vessel is detected by the vibration sensor.”, Viroli Par.0055 teaches: “The boiling of the liquid in the cooking vessel may be detected by the vibration sensor or by the temperature sensor. For example, a suitable vibration sensor is the microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) accelerometer. Said MEMS accelerometer detects the vibrations caused by bubbles formed in the liquid.”, and Viroli Par.0050 teaches: “When boiling of the liquid is detected at a boiling time tB, then the transferred power P is reduced from the high power value to a simmering power PS”; therefore, Viroli teaches the controller configured to adjust the power delivered to the first cooking zone or to the second cooking zone, respectively, upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a pattern of vibrations corresponding to cavitation in a boiling liquid in a cooking utensil in the respective first or second cooking zone)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco in view of Li, by adding the teaching of the controller configured to adjust the power delivered to the first cooking zone or to the second cooking zone, respectively, upon detection by the acceleration sensor of a pattern of vibrations corresponding to cavitation in a boiling liquid in the cooking utensil in the first cooking zone or second cooking zone, as taught by Viroli, in order to in order to determine once a boiling state is reached to properly control the power supplied to the heating zone, which supports the boiling substance, e.g. in a manner to simmer the substance after boiling, or an indication can be provided in order to allow a user to respond to the substance boiling by taking appropriate control measures or e.g. putting the noodles into the boiling water; thus, prevent overheating and enhance the overall safety.
Regarding claim 20, Franco in view of Li and Viroli teaches the apparatus as set forth above, Franco does not disclose further comprising
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the first cooking zone, wherein the controller adjusts said power delivery to the first cooking zone and/or causes the user interface to display said indication of the placed cooking utensil on said first cooking zone, based on both vibration data from the acceleration sensor and temperature data associated with the first cooking zone from the temperature sensor.
Viroli teaches a household appliance (Viroli Fig.3) comprising:
a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor”, Viroli Par.0055) configured to detect a temperature associated with the first cooking zone (the location where the Viroli cooking vessel is placed on is interpreted to be the first cooking zone) (Viroli Par.0033 teaches “the cooking appliance may comprise at least one temperature sensor for detecting the temperature and/or the boiling of the liquid in the cooking vessel”, it is noted that the location where the Viroli cooking vessel is placed on is interpreted to be the first cooking zone; therefore, Viroli teaches the temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the first cooking zone), wherein the controller (“control device”, Viroli Par.0032) adjusts said power delivery to the first cooking zone (the location where the Viroli cooking vessel is placed on is interpreted to be the first cooking zone) and/or causes the user interface to display said indication of the placed cooking utensil on said first cooking zone (the location where the Viroli cooking vessel is placed on is interpreted to be the first cooking zone) (it is noted that the limitation “adjusts said power delivery to the first cooking zone and/or causes the user interface to display said indication of the placed cooking utensil on said first cooking zone” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was given patentable weight during examination; in this case, Viroli teaches the controller adjusts said power delivery to the first cooking zone because Viroli Par.0032 teaches: “the cooking appliance comprises at least one control device for adjusting the power transferred to the cooking vessel”; Viroli Par.0050 teaches: “When boiling of the liquid is detected at a boiling time tB, then the transferred power P is reduced from the high power value to a simmering power PS”), based on both vibration data from the acceleration sensor (“vibration sensor”, Viroli Par.0029) and temperature data associated with the first cooking zone from the temperature sensor (“temperature sensor”, Viroli Par.0029) (Viroli Par.0029 teaches: “the cooking vessel comprises and/or is provided for receiving at least one vibration sensor and/or temperature sensor for detecting a boiling of a liquid in said cooking vessel”, and Viroli Par.0050 teaches: “When boiling of the liquid is detected at a boiling time tB, then the transferred power P is reduced from the high power value to a simmering power PS”; therefore, Viroli teaches the controller adjusts said power delivery to the first cooking based on both vibration data from the acceleration sensor and temperature data associated with the first cooking zone from the temperature sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Franco in view of Li, by adding the temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the first cooking zone, wherein the controller adjusts said power delivery to the first cooking zone based on both vibration data from the acceleration sensor and temperature data associated with the first cooking zone from the temperature sensor, as taught by Viroli, in order to detect the boiling of liquid in the cooking vessel in order to trigger the corresponding function and/or the operating process of the induction heating cooktop such as the temperature is reduced to simmering after the boiling is detected; thus, prevent overheating and enhance the overall safety, as recognized by Viroli [Viroli, Par.0051].
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Carel (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0073272 A1) discloses a control panel and method of manufacturing a control panel that can be used with an electrically sensitive control device (e.g., a touch sensor, etc.).
Shigeoka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,669,502 B2) discloses an operation device which has a stable operation feeling with a simple configuration and has a high reliability. An electrode terminal portion which is arranged just below an operation region on a top plate made of a material having an electric insulating property, and serves as an electrostatic capacity type touch switch has a detection portion which comes into close contact with a back surface of the operation region, a spring portion which has an elastic force pressing the detection portion to the back surface of the top plate, and a slide portion which is movably retained in the guide holder.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 12/23/2025
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761