DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on December 12, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-15, 18-19, and 21 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujii et al (US 2010/0213415 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 7-8: Fujii teaches inorganic particles, such as zirconium oxide or titanium oxide (para. 0036) that are dispersed in a hydrophobic solvent (toluene or hexane) at 2wt% (para. 0110) and are surface treated with a silicone compound (para. 0013, Formula II) and a silane compound (para. 0035). The silicone is present at 100-800 parts by weight, based on 100 parts of the metal oxide particles, and comprises 50-100% of the total surface treatment (para. 0039). Fujii teaches a working example comprising 262 parts by weight of the silicone based on 100 parts of the metal oxide, and approximately 70 parts of the silane, based on calculations (para. 0103, Example 11). This adds up to 332 parts of total surface treatment. The silane compound is methyl(trimethoxy)silane (para. 0103), which comprises one alkyl group and three alkoxy groups. The silicone compound is 1-vinyl-7-(trimethoxy)siloxy-1,1,3,3,5,5,7,7-octamethyltetrasiloxane, which comprises a dimethylsiloxane repeat unit and methoxy groups (para. 0093-0099).
Not disclosed is the IA/IB value. However, Fujii teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts, wherein the metal oxide particles may be surface treated by any known method (para. 0037). The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount made by a similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
The limitation regarding the viscosity of a mixture of the dispersion and a methyl phenyl silicone recites an intended usage, which does not further limit the dispersion of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4: Fujii teaches a particle size of 1-100nm (para. 0041), with a working example having zirconium oxide with a diameter of 7nm (para. 0103).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding the amount of the surface treatment agents is addressed by the new grounds of rejection, as set forth above.
Applicant’s argument that the claimed IA/IB value is dependent on the method of making the dispersion is not persuasive because it is not commensurate in scope with Claim 1. If applicant were to import the limitations of Claim 15 into Claim 1, the claims would be commensurate in scope with the arguments, which would make the arguments proper and persuasive, as set forth in the interview conducted on February 11, 2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767