Claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 3-6 have been amended. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on March 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3,5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “hot” in claims 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hot” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes the examiner interpreted “hot” to be the range defined in claim 4, of 210-295°C. Claims 2,3,5 and 6 are also rejected for being dependent upon claim 1 and inheriting the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US 5,908,290) in view of Berner (WO 2011/098223).
Kawamura teaches treating polyacrylonitrile (acryl based fibers (20)) for oxidation in a furnace where the fibers are guided on guide rollers (19a-e) outside the furnace (10) and the blowers are at an end of the furnace (11, B1A-B3A) where the fiber passes in between the blowers and receives hot air supplied in a parallel direction above and below the fibers (Figure 1, column 20, example 1). Kawamura teaches precursor yarns are heated to 200-350°C (precarbonization) and carbonized at 500-1500°C in inactive atmosphere (inert) (column 6, lines 10-26), specifically hot air speeds of 2m/s (V) and temperatures of 240°C for precarbonization and carbonization at 1400°C in nitrogen (inert) atmosphere (column 20, example 1).
Kawamura does not specify the claimed Vf and Vn.
Berner teaches that when using blowers and suction devices in an oxidation furnace to produce carbon fibers by oxidizing precursor fibers, flow can be directed around the fiber (orthogonally and below (see Figure 3, flow around the blowers 20 and above and below the fibers (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the methods of Kawamura by treating the fibers under the blower region (Vf ) and orthogonally to the travelling direction (Vn) as Berner teaches this pattern of air plow treatment can be created by using a blower and suction device. Further selecting a Vf and Vn as it is important to produce a uniform treatment to the fibers while they travel through the from the guide rollers through to oxidation. Selecting identical V, Vf and Vn unit would ensure that the fibers were getting a uniform treatment throughout the entire oxidation process.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US 5,908,290) in view of Berner (WO 2011/098223) and further in view of Nishida (JP 2000160435A).
Kawamura and Berner are relied upon as set forth above.
Kawamura and Berner do not specify the claimed single fiber fineness of 0.05-0.22 tex.
Nishida teaches treating acryl based fibers of 0.5-2.5 g/tex (page 3, paragraph 9) in an oxidation furnace with an oxidizing gas wherein the hot air gas flows at a rate of 1.5 -5 mm/sec parallel to the direction of the fibers (page 5, paragraph 5). Nishida teaches the fibers are placed on guide rollers installed on both ends outside the furnace body (see Figure 4; page 6, paragraph 2). Nishida teaches acrylonitrile fibers and oxidizing at 200-360°C (page 4, paragraphs 3 and 4). Nishida teaches application of uniform temperature to the fibers is important to avoid breakage and fusion between yarns and is adjusting air direction and air speed determination can produce a desired effect and ensure safety (page 4, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the methods of Kawamura by treating the fibers under the blower region (Vf ) and orthogonally to the travelling direction (Vn) as Berner teaches this pattern of air plow treatment can be created by using a blower and suction device. Further selecting a Vf and Vn as it is important to produce a uniform treatment to the fibers while they travel through the from the guide rollers through to oxidation as is emphasized by Nishida. Selecting identical V, Vf and Vn unit would ensure that the fibers were getting a uniform treatment throughout the entire oxidation process.
It would have been further obvious to treat fibers of the claimed tex values in the methods of Kawamura as Nishida teaches treating acryl based fibers of 0.5-2.5 g/tex effectively by similar oxidation techniques with parallel air flow of hot gases to oxidize the fibers uniformly. Using a standard fiber of a conventionally used fiber fineness only requires routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761