DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 7-17-2026 has been entered.
2. Claims 1, 2, 4 - 21 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 18 have been amended. Claim 3 is canceled. Claims 1, 18 are independent. File date is 9-12-2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10 - 16, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adam et al. (US PGPUB No. 20110124284) in view of Nagesh Shetigar et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170245184, referred to as ”NageshShetigar”) and further in view of Vyas et al. (US PGPUB No. 20180332149) and Falik et al. (US PGPUB No. 20020133655) and Heddes et al. (US PGPUB No. 20100191911).
Regarding Claim 1, Adam discloses a communication device, comprising:
a) a communication circuitry configured to: generate a first output signal on a basis of a first external signal from a first external device, wherein the first output signal includes first data, and wherein the first external signal includes first data, output the first output signal to a second external device, generate a second output signal on a basis of a second external signal from the second external device wherein the second output signal includes second data, and wherein the second external signal includes second data, and output the second output signal to the first external device, (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from a wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to a wireless destination apparatus (i.e. second external device) via the wireless relay apparatus; ¶ 055, ll 1-7: mobile device (i.e. external device) implemented as a wireless source apparatus, wireless destination apparatus; ¶ 056, ll 1-7: wireless apparatus comprises a controller, a transmitter section, and a receiver section) and
b) wherein the first data includes command information indicating content of a command transmitted from the first external device. (Adam ¶ 049, ll 8-10: sequence of commands sent (i.e. transmitted) by source, to destination).
Adam does not explicitly disclose for c): command transmitted from a device is configured to indicate random access or sequential access.
However, Vyas discloses for c): wherein the command transmitted from the first external device is configured to indicate random access or sequential access. (Vyas ¶ 026, ll 1-23: software application transmits a fadvise command to kernel; by calling an fadvise function; fadvise command can indicate an intention of the software application to access specific data (e.g., file data) in a specific pattern; fadvise command can have one or more flags set; flags can include data-access pattern flags, such as (i) FADV_NORMAL indicating that the specific data is to be given no special treatment; (ii) FADV_RANDOM indicating that the specific data is to be accessed in a random order; (iii) FADV_SEQUENTIAL indicating that the specific data is to be accessed in a sequential order; (command includes an indication of random access or sequential access for data access))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar for command transmitted from a device is configured to indicate random access or sequential access as taught by Vyas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vyas for the benefits achieved the flexibility of a system that enables a command to process data utilizing a random access manner or a sequential access manner. (Vyas ¶ 026, ll 1-23)
Adam-Vyas does not explicitly disclose for d): command information for defining a command according to a predetermined communication standard.
However, NageshShetigar discloses for d): wherein the command information includes format information for defining a command format according to a predetermined communication standard between the communication device and the second external device. (NageshShetigar ¶ 063, ll 1-6: command message includes characteristics established for UE (i.e. external device) along with information indicating whether downlink forwarding is enabled; (format of commands))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-Vyas for d): command information for defining a command according to a predetermined communication standard as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas does not explicitly disclose for e): wherein the first data with respect to a write command format includes a slave address, an offset address, a length and data to be written (parameters are utilized to perform a write operation, address, applicable offset, data length and data)).
However, Falik discloses for e) wherein the first data with respect to a write command format includes a slave address, an offset address, a length and data to be written. (Falik ¶ 164: the master writes or reads data from the slave,; ¶ 165: write an internal transaction 536, the master sets a start condition 538, and transmits slave address byte 500. The master then waits for an acknowledgment (ACK) 540 from the slave before proceeding with the transmission of command byte 506. Again, the master waits for ACK 540. If the indicated controller logical device number is not powered (for example V.sub.DD 234 off for selected V.sub.DD powered module 240 or for the parts of configuration module 215 powered by V.sub.DD 234) the slave instead issues a nonacknowledgement (NACK) indication at the end of command byte 506 and the transaction is aborted. If the transaction is not aborted, the master next transmits offset address 522, and waits for ACK 540 before transmitting data byte 524. Again, the master waits for ACK 540. If supported the master sends PEC byte 526 and once the final ACK 540 is received sets a stop condition 542.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for e): wherein the first data with respect to a write command format includes a slave address, an offset address, a length and data to be written as taught by Falik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Falik for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that utilizes multiple parameters such as slave address, offset address, data length and data for processing data. (Falik ¶ 165)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas does not explicitly disclose for a): and b): processing serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses for a): and b): processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for a): and b): processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
Regarding Claim 2, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the first data further includes
a) the final-destination-device-identification-information for identifying a final destination device of data transmitted from the external device is located next to the command information, (Adam ¶ 049, ll 8-10: sequence of commands sent (i.e. transmitted) by source, to destination)
b) final-destination-device-identification-information for identifying a final destination device of data transmitted from the first external device, (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from a wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to a wireless destination apparatus (i.e. final destination device, second external device) via the wireless relay apparatus) and
c) data length information indicating a length of the data transmitted from the first external device. (Adam ¶ 057, ll 6-8: request to send message comprises data on the amount or length of a data message)
Adam does not explicitly disclose for b): internal address of a device, and internal address information is located next to final-destination-device-identification-information, and for c): data length information is located next to internal address information.
However, NageshShetigar discloses:
b) the internal address information is located next to the final-destination-device-identification-information, (NageshShetigar ¶ 025, ll 10-14: for a given UE which is associated with an Internet Protocol (IP) address for UE (source, destination device), which is allocated from a pool of IP addresses) and
c) the data length information is located next to the internal address information. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for b): internal address of a device, and internal address information is located next to final-destination-device-identification-information, and for c): data length information is located next to internal address information as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Adam does not explicitly disclose processing serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
Regarding Claim 4, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 2, including a command. (Adam ¶ 049, ll 8-10: sequence of commands sent by source, to destination)
Adam does not explicitly disclose information for specifying a condition for determining end of data transmitted.
However, NageshShetigar discloses wherein the command information includes data-end-determination-condition-information for specifying a condition for determining end of the data transmitted from the first external device. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for information for specifying a condition for determining end of data transmitted as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Regarding Claim 5, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 2, wherein the first data further includes communication frequency information for specifying a communication frequency between the second external device and the final destination device. (Adam ¶ 078, ll 1-4: transmission resource is a frequency channel (i.e. identification and usage information required for communication); ¶ 065, ll 12-13: selection of data transmission resource such as a frequency carrier)
Adam does not explicitly disclose processing serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
Regarding Claim 7, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to transmit, to the first external device, an ACK signal indicating an acknowledge or a NACK signal indicating a negative acknowledge every time the communication circuitry receives each information unit constituting the first external signal from the first external device. (Adam ¶ 062, ll 11-15: packet error rate higher than a threshold, wireless destination proceeds by sending a negative acknowledge (NACK); ¶ 015, ll 13-20: an acknowledgement message (ACK) is transmitted subsequent to transmitting the clear to send message and a successful receipt of a source data message; (i.e. utilization of ACK and NACK messages in communication management protocol))
Regarding Claim 10, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 8.
Adam does not explicitly disclose receiving information indicating that processing of an output signal has been completed, a signal indicating completion of the processing.
However, NageshShetigar discloses wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to transmit the first output signal to the second external device, and stores, upon receiving information indicating that processing on the first output signal has been completed from the second external device, a signal indicating completion of the processing in the storage unit. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for receiving information indicating that processing of an output signal has been completed, a signal indicating completion of the processing as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Regarding Claim 11, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 8, wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to release a storage area of the storage unit on a basis of a command from the first external device. (Adam ¶ 065, ll 4-6; ¶ 065, ll 23-25: relay apparatus receives and stores data message transmitted by source apparatus; when relay apparatus has been selected, relay apparatus transmits stored data message; reservation of relay apparatus resources cancelled, relay apparatus ready for other actions)
Regarding Claim 12, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 1.
Adam-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose processing completion information for an external signal transmitted from an external device in response to a request signal.
However, NageshShetigar discloses wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to output, to the first external device, processing completion information for the second external signal transmitted from the second external device in response to a request signal from the first external device or outputs, to the first external device. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-Vyas-Falik for processing completion information for an external signal transmitted from an external device in response to a request signal as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose an interrupt request flag for performing interrupting processing.
However, Heddes discloses wherein an interrupt request flag for performing interrupting processing on the first external device. (Heddes ¶ 144, ll 15-20: enabled state: status flag provides an indication that no interrupt signal is currently being processed; disabled state: this status flag provides an indication that an interrupt signal is currently being processed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for an interrupt request flag for performing interrupting processing as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
Regarding Claim 13, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 1.
Adam does not explicitly disclose receives information for instructing output of output signal and transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of an external signal is finished.
However, NageshShetigar discloses wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to release, from the first external device, the first external signal including output instruction information for instructing output of the first output signal and transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of the first external signal is finished. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for receives information for instructing output of output signal and transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of an external signal is finished as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Regarding Claim 14, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 2.
Adam does not explicitly disclose received information for specifying a condition for determining end of data transmitted.
However, NageshShetigar discloses wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to recognize, where a first value has been received as data-end-determination-condition-information for specifying a condition for determining end of the data transmitted from the first external device and then transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of the first external signal is finished has been received, that the first external signal to be transmitted from the first external device has ended. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for received information for specifying a condition for determining end of data transmitted as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Regarding Claim 15, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 2.
Adam does not explicitly disclose for a): value received as data-end-determination-condition-information for specifying a condition for determining end of the data transmitted, and for b): transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of an external signal is finished and has been received.
However, NageshShetigar discloses:
a) wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to recognize, where a second value has been received as data-end-determination-condition-information for specifying a condition for determining end of the data transmitted from the first external device (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission)), and
b) then output instruction information for instructing output of the first output signal and transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of the first external signal is finished have been received, that the first external signal transmitted from the first external device has ended regardless of a value of the data-end-determination-condition-information that is received after receiving the second value. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for a): value received as data-end-determination-condition-information for specifying a condition for determining end of the data transmitted, and for b): transmission finishing information indicating that transmission of an external signal is finished and has been received as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Regarding Claim 16, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 8, wherein the communication circuitry is further configured to transmit the first output signal to the second external device and then releases a storage area of the storage unit. (Adam ¶ 065, ll 4-6; ¶ 065, ll 23-25: relay apparatus receives, and stores data message transmitted by source apparatus; when relay apparatus has been selected, relay apparatus transmits stored data message; reservation of relay apparatus resources cancelled, relay apparatus ready for other actions)
Regarding Claim 18, Adam discloses a communication system, comprising:
a) a Master SerDes including a first communication circuitry; and b) a Slave SerDes including a second communication circuitry, wherein c) the first communication circuitry is configured to: generate a first output signal on a basis of a first external signal from a first external device, wherein the first output signal includes data, and wherein the frist external signal includes first data, output the first output signal to the Slave SerDes, (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to wireless destination apparatus (i.e. second external device) via wireless relay apparatus; ¶ 055, ll 1-7: mobile device (i.e. external device) implemented as wireless source apparatus, wireless destination apparatus; ¶ 056, ll 1-7: wireless apparatus comprises a controller, a transmitter section, and a receiver section; (communication Master SerDes to Slave SerDes))
generate a second output signal on a basis of a second external signal from the Slave SerDes wherein the second output signal includes second data , and wherein the second external signal includes second data, and output the second output signal to the first external device, (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to wireless destination apparatus (i.e. second external device) via wireless relay apparatus; ¶ 055, ll 1-7: mobile device (i.e. external device) implemented as wireless source apparatus, wireless destination apparatus; ¶ 056, ll 1-7: wireless apparatus comprises a controller, a transmitter section, and a receiver section; (communication Slave SerDes to Master))
d) the second communication circuitry is configured to: generate the second external signal on a basis of a third external signal from a third external device, output the second external signal to the Master SerDes, (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to wireless destination apparatus (i.e. second external device) via wireless relay apparatus; ¶ 055, ll 1-7: mobile device (i.e. external device) implemented as wireless source apparatus, wireless destination apparatus; ¶ 056, ll 1-7: wireless apparatus comprises a controller, a transmitter section, and a receiver section; (communication Slave to Master SerDes))
generate a third output signal on a basis of the first output signal from the Master SerDes, and output the third output signal to the third external device (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to wireless destination apparatus (i.e. second external device) via wireless relay apparatus; ¶ 055, ll 1-7: mobile device (i.e. external device) implemented as wireless source apparatus, wireless destination apparatus; ¶ 056, ll 1-7: wireless apparatus comprises a controller, a transmitter section, and a receiver section; (communication Master SerDes to Slave)), and
e) the first data includes command information indicating content of a command transmitted from the first external device, (Adam ¶ 049, ll 8-10: sequence of commands sent (i.e. transmitted) by source, to destination) and
f) final-destination-device-identification-information for identifying the Slave. (Adam ¶ 049, ll 8-10: sequence of commands sent by source, to destination)
Adam does not explicitly disclose for g): command transmitted from a device is configured to indicate random access or sequential access.
However, Vyas discloses for g): wherein the command transmitted from the first external device is configured to indicate random access or sequential access. (Vyas ¶ 026, ll 1-23: software application transmits a fadvise command to kernel; by calling an fadvise function; fadvise command can indicate an intention of the software application to access specific data (e.g., file data) in a specific pattern; fadvise command can have one or more flags set; flags can include data-access pattern flags, such as (i) FADV_NORMAL indicating that the specific data is to be given no special treatment; (ii) FADV_RANDOM indicating that the specific data is to be accessed in a random order; (iii) FADV_SEQUENTIAL indicating that the specific data is to be accessed in a sequential order: (command includes an indication of random access or sequential access))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for command transmitted from a device is configured to indicate random access or sequential access as taught by Vyas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vyas for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a command to process data utilizing a random access manner or a sequential access manner. (Vyas ¶ 026, ll 1-23)
Adam-Vyas does not explicitly disclose for h): command information for defining a command according to a predetermined communication standard.
However, NageshShetigar discloses for h): wherein the command information includes format information for defining a command format according to a predetermined communication standard between the communication device and the Master SerDes and the slave Master SerDes. (NageshShetigar ¶ 063, ll 1-6: command message includes characteristics established for UE (i.e. external device) along with information indicating whether downlink forwarding is enabled; (format of commands))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-Vyas for h): command information for defining a command according to a predetermined communication standard as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas does not explicitly disclose for e): wherein the first data with respect to a write command format includes a slave address, an offset address, a length and data to be written (parameters are utilized to perform a write operation, address, applicable offset, data length and data)).
However, Falik discloses for e) wherein the first data with respect to a write command format includes a slave address, an offset address, a length and data to be written. (Falik ¶ 164: the master writes or reads data from the slave,; ¶ 165: write an internal transaction 536, the master sets a start condition 538, and transmits slave address byte 500. The master then waits for an acknowledgment (ACK) 540 from the slave before proceeding with the transmission of command byte 506. Again, the master waits for ACK 540. If the indicated controller logical device number is not powered (for example V.sub.DD 234 off for selected V.sub.DD powered module 240 or for the parts of configuration module 215 powered by V.sub.DD 234) the slave instead issues a nonacknowledgement (NACK) indication at the end of command byte 506 and the transaction is aborted. If the transaction is not aborted, the master next transmits offset address 522, and waits for ACK 540 before transmitting data byte 524. Again, the master waits for ACK 540. If supported the master sends PEC byte 526 and once the final ACK 540 is received sets a stop condition 542.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for e): wherein the first data with respect to a write command format includes a slave address, an offset address, a length and data to be written as taught by Falik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Falik for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that utilizes multiple parameters such as slave address, offset address, data length and data for processing data. (Falik ¶ 164; ¶ 165)
Adam-Vyas-NageshShetigar-Falik does not disclose processing serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-Vyas-NageshShetigar-Falik for processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
Regarding Claim 19, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 2.
Adam does not explicitly disclose data-end-position-information indicating an end position of the data transmitted.
However, NageshShetigar discloses wherein the data length information further indicates an end position of the data transmitted from the first external device. (NageshShetigar ¶ 012, ll 5-8: communicating an end marker indication message from source node to target node including count of packets forwarded to target node; (indication of end of data transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for data-end-position-information indicating an end position of the data transmitted as taught by NageshShetigar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of NageshShetigar for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the efficient management within a network environment of critical communication resources. (NageshShetigar ¶ 003, ll 6-7)
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adam in view of Nagesh Shetigar (referred to as ”NageshShetigar”) and further in view of Vyas and Falik and Heddes and Kagan et al. (US PGPUB No. 20130205022).
Regarding Claim 6, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 1.
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose protocol-converting a command of I2C (Inter-Integrated Circuit) communication into a command of a predetermined communication standard.
However, Kagan discloses wherein the first data includes a command obtained by protocol-converting a command of I2C (Inter-Integrated Circuit) communication into a command of a predetermined communication standard between the communication device and the second external device. (Kagan ¶ 084, ll 1-9: processor formats processed data into various network protocols and formats; protocols and formats consist of web server HTML or XML formats, Modbus TCP, RS-485, FTP or e-mail; network formatted data is available to users at computers through network communication, which connects via network interfaces; ¶ 085, ll 40-54: protocol conversion functions are used to format and protocol convert different network protocol messages to a common format understood by other functional entities; any "commands" or data which are to be passed to other functional entities are formatted and protocol converted to a common format for processing; commands or data coming from the entities for transfer over network are pre-processed by this function into proper format before being sent to appropriate network task for transmission over the network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for protocol-converting a command of I2C (Inter-Integrated Circuit) communication into a command of a predetermined communication standard as taught by Kagan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kagan for the benefits achieved from a system that enables the flexibility of processing input data comprising multiple formats and utilizing format conversion of input data before processing. (Kagan ¶ 085, ll 40-54)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not disclose processing serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
6. Claims 8, 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Nagesh Shetigar (referred to as ”NageshShetigar”) and further in view of Vyas and Falik and Heddes and Bosch et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170099131).
Regarding Claim 8, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein
a) the communication circuitry includes a storage unit that stores first data corresponding to the first data and a second data corresponding to the second data, (Adam ¶ 065, ll 4-6; ¶ 065, ll 23-25: relay apparatus receives, and stores data message transmitted by source apparatus; when relay apparatus has been selected, relay apparatus transmits stored data message; reservation of relay apparatus resources cancelled, relay apparatus ready for other actions) and
b) the communication circuitry is further configured to collectively perform, where reception of the first external signal from the first external device is finished, the first data that have been received and stored in the storage unit and then generates the first output signal. (Adam ¶ 065, ll 4-6; ¶ 065, ll 23-25: relay apparatus receives, and stores data message transmitted by the source apparatus; when relay apparatus has been selected, relay apparatus transmits stored data message; reservation of relay apparatus resources cancelled, relay apparatus ready for other actions)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose protocol-conversion (associated with TDD).
However, Bosch discloses wherein protocol-conversion. (Bosch ¶ 092, ll 9-13: smart transceivers provide capabilities such as protocol conversion for time division multiplexing over packets (i.e. analogous to time division duplexing (TDD)); ¶ 003, ll 6-8: telecommunications networks bandwidth modifications, time division duplexing (TDD) mode)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for protocol-conversion as taught by Bosch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Bosch for the benefits achieved from a system that enables data processing utilizing multiple types of communications protocols such as TDD. (Bosch ¶ 092, ll 9-13)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not disclose processing for a): and b): serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses for a): and b): processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for a): and b): processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
Regarding Claim 9, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 8.
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose protocol-conversion compatible with TDD (Time Division Duplex).
However, Bosch discloses wherein the protocol-conversion performed by the communication circuity is protocol-conversion compatible with TDD (Time Division Duplex). (Bosch ¶ 092, ll 9-13: smart transceivers provide capabilities such as protocol conversion for time division multiplexing over packet (i.e. analogous to time division duplex (TDD)); ¶ 003, ll 6-8: telecommunications networks bandwidth modification: time division duplexing (TDD) mode)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for protocol-conversion compatible with TDD (Time Division Duplex) as taught by Bosch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Bosch for the benefits achieved from a system that enables data processing utilizing multiple types of communications protocols such as TDD. (Bosch ¶ 092, ll 9-13)
Regarding Claim 17, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 8, wherein the LINK performs,
a) the communication circuitry is further configured to perform, a predetermined number of times or within a predetermined time, at least one of outputting of a signal obtained on the second output signal in response to a signal based on the second data stored in the storage unit to the first external device for each information unit (Adam ¶ 065, ll 4-6; ¶ 065, ll 23-25: relay apparatus receives and stores data message transmitted by the source apparatus; when relay apparatus has been selected, relay apparatus transmits stored data message; reservation of relay apparatus is cancelled, relay apparatus is ready for other actions) and
b) receiving of each information unit constituting the first data output from the first external device. (Adam ¶ 012, ll 1-9: provide a transmission channel from a wireless source apparatus (i.e. first external device) to a wireless destination apparatus (i.e. second external device) via the wireless relay apparatus)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose performing protocol conversion (associated with TDD).
However, Bosch discloses wherein performing protocol-conversion. (Bosch ¶ 092, ll 9-13: smart transceivers provide capabilities such as protocol conversion for time division multiplexing over packet; (analogous to time division duplex); ¶ 003, ll 6-8: telecommunications networks bandwidth modification: time division duplexing (TDD) mode)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for performing protocol-conversion as taught by Bosch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Bosch for the benefits achieved from a system that enables data processing utilizing multiple types of communications protocols such as TDD. (Bosch ¶ 092, ll 9-13)
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not disclose for a): and b): processing serialized and deserialized data.
However, Heddes discloses for a): and b): processing serialized data and deserialize data. (Heddes ¶ 049: In the ingress direction, the block 36 receives data over multiple serial channels, recovers clock and data signals from the multiple channels, deserializes the recovered data, and outputs the deserialized data to the Gigabit Interface block 35; The resultant encoded data is output to Block 36, which serializes the encoded data and transmits the serialized encoded data over multiple serial channels; ¶ 249: encodes and serializes the received data and transmits the serialized encoded data over the respective serial transmit channels; For ingress signals, block 36 receives the serialized encoded data over respective serial receive channels and deserializes and decodes the received data for output as received data words to the NoC bridge 37; (serializes input data for output; deserializes received output data); ¶ 128: communication unit 211 also includes control logic that interfaces to the processing cores via a shared system bus as shown; The control logic is preferably realized by application-specific circuitry; (communication circuitry))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for a): and b): processing serialized and deserialized data as taught by Heddes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Heddes for the benefits achieved from a system that enables efficient sharing of stored data by multiple processing elements and utilizing interrupt management techniques. (Heddes ¶ 008, ll 10-15)
7. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Nagesh Shetigar (referred to as ”NageshShetigar”) and further in view of Vyas and Falik and Heddes and Kawanabe et al. (US PGPUB No. 20020001100).
Regarding Claim 20, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses the communication device according to claim 19.
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik does not explicitly disclose information of one or more lower bits of the length of data, the data length information further indicates a start position, the start position is second information of one or more upper bits of the length of data.
However, Kawanabe discloses wherein the end position is first information of one or more lower bits of the length of data, the data length information further indicates a start position of the data transmitted from the first external device, the start position is second information of one or more upper bits of the length of data, and a combination of the first information and the second information indicates the length of the data. (Kawanabe ¶ 343, ll 1-19: indicating a function request at head position; a variable-length character string "Cmd" which indicates a command that expresses details of the request using a predetermined character string; variable-length data "Data" is data associated with the command; data associated with the command are listed after 2-byte "length information", indicating information size in "Data"; "length information" of this embodiment expresses the number of bytes using 16 bits, in which the first byte designates lower 8 bits, and the next byte designates upper 8 bits; "length information" value expresses the information size that follows the "length information" in the number of bytes)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik for information of one or more lower bits of the length of data, the data length information further indicates a start position, the start position is second information of one or more upper bits of the length of data as taught by Kawanabe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kawanabe for the benefits achieved from a system that provides command length information associated with the command implementation information. (Kawanabe ¶ 343, ll 1-19)
8. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Nagesh Shetigar (referred to as ”NageshShetigar”) and further in view of Vyas and Falik and Heddes and Matsukawa (US PGPUB No. 20110209003).
Regarding Claim 21, Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas-Falik-Heddes discloses wherein the communication device according to claim 1.
Adam-NageshShetigar-Vyas does not explicitly disclose a lower three bits of the command information indicates the command format information, wherein the lower three bits of 000, indicates the write command format, indicates the read command format, indicates the ACK/NACK command format, indicates the read response command format, and indicates the reserved command format.
However, Matsukawa discloses wherein a lower three bits of the command information indicates the command format information, wherein the lower three bits of 000 indicates the write command format, wherein the lower three bits of 001 indicates the read command format, wherein the lower three bits of 010 indicates the ACK/NACK command format, wherein the lower three bits of 011 indicates the read response command format, and wherein the lower three bits of 1XX indicates the reserved command format. (Matsukawa ¶ 057, ll 1-21: The command that is issued by the external tool and executed by the microcontroller is transferred in the transfer format; according to a read command transfer format, the code of the command CMD is allocated to bits 1 to 2 and bits 3 to 8 are not used; according to a read data transfer format, transferred 8-bit read data is allocated to bits 1 to 8; According to a write command transfer format, the code of the command CMD is allocated to bits 1 to 2 and bits 3 to 8 are not used; According to a write data transfer format, the transferred 8-bit write data is allocated to bits 1 to 8; (selected: write command format, read command format; bit configuration for read, write commands, and analogous commands such as ACK/NACK, read response, write response, and reserved commands))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adam for a lower three bits of the command information indicates the command format information, wherein the lower three bits of 000, indicates the write command format, indicates the read command format, indicates the ACK/NACK command format, indicates the read response command format, and indicates the reserved command format as taught by Matsukawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Matsukawa for the benefits achieved from a system that provides for command enabling read commands, write commands processing data. (Matsukawa ¶ 057, ll 1-21)
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments are moot due to the disclosures in the Office Action.
Conclusion
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 8-22-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447