DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 depends on cancelled claim 2. For the purpose of examination it will be considered that claim 5 depends on claim 1, but appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugaya (US 2012/0156226, June 2012, cited from IDS) and in further view of Gibbings et al (WO 2017/054085, April 2017, of record).
Concerning claim 1 Sugaya teach methods of treating cancer by administering nanog modulating agent such as siRNA or ribozyme (see paragraph [0007]). Such methods are specifically targeted to cancer stem cells expressing nanog (see paragraph [0011]). By definition of siRNA it is a double-stranded RNA. Concerning claim 5 such siRNA downregulates expression of nanog (see paragraph [0065]). Limitation of claim 5 is expected to happen in the absence of evidence to the contrary upon practicing method of claim 1. Concerning claims 3-4 such therapy is administered before, during or after conventional therapy such as chemotherapy (see paragraph [0007]). Concerning claim 6 cancer to treat can be breast carcinoma (see paragraph [0006]).
Sugaya do not teach loading stemness modulating agent such as siRNA into exosome.
Gibbings teach producing exosomes comprising gene silencing nucleic acids (see lines 5- 10 on page 6), such silencing nucleic acid can be siRNA (see lines 17-20 on page 8). The exosomes can be used for delivery of the nucleic acids to cells (see lines 3-5 on page 6).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to load exosomes as taught by Gibbings with siRNA taught by Sugaya for delivery to cancer cells. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Gibbings teach an effective method of siRNA delivery to cells using loading siRNA into exosomes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous 112 and 102 rejections are withdrawn in view of new amendments, arguments are moot.
Concerning 103 rejection Applicant argues that Gibbings reference do not teach any stemness modulating agents for cancer treatment. In response such agent is taught by Sugaya reference. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637