DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims have been entered.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claims 2-10 and 14-16 are as previously presented. Claims 12-13 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-11 and 14-16 are pending and have been considered in this revised response below.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 8, regarding the objection to the specification has been considered and is persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn in light of amendments to the specification.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 8, regarding the objection to the drawings has been considered and is persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn in light of the replacement sheet filed.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 8, regarding the objection to the claims has been considered and is persuasive. The objection to the claims has been withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 9, p. 4 and pg. 10, p. 1-4, regarding the rejection of claim 1 has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that as Capellini only teaches a single water flow resulting from mixture of water from feeding and bypass ducts that Capellini completely differs from and thus does not teach the pre-infusion system of the claimed invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Capellini discloses “an espresso coffee machine that is able to guarantee the control of the extraction pressure… including the more delicate pre-brewing step” [0020] and that “the two-way proportional bypass valve 44 needs a pressure reducing device 26 appropriately calibrated so that the water inlet pressure is lower than the minimum extraction pressure” [0033]. These citations are construed so that a “pre-brewing step” and use of water with a pressure “lower than the minimum extraction pressure” teach a pre-infusion system. Second, a pre-infusion system is not claimed in amended claim 1, so even if Capellini did not teach a pre-infusion system, which it does, Applicant’s argument is moot. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 10, p. 5 and pg. 11, p. 1, regarding the rejection of claim 1 has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that water from the feeding duct and bypass duct are never mixed but rather separately fed during different phases of the brewing cycle in the claimed invention. Examiner respectfully argues that this feature is not claimed. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 12, p. 1-2, regarding the rejection of claim 1 has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that Coccia fails to disclose a bypass duct branching off into one or more secondary bypass ducts. Examiner respectfully argues that Coccia is not relied on to teach a bypass duct. Capellini is relied on to teach a bypass duct. If one of ordinary skill in the art were to modify Capellini to have multiple brewing groups, the elements of each group (e.g., bypass duct leading into secondary boiler 14) would similarly be multiplied. The bypass duct of Capellini and feeding duct of Coccia are both ducts so one would have been motivated to modify Capellini over Coccia in the manner presented below. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 12, p. 4-5 and pg. 13, p. 1, regarding the rejection of claim 1 has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that Greiwe fails to teach three-way valve communicating with a bypass duct. Examiner respectfully argues that Capellini teaches a bypass duct and that Capellini in view of Greiwe teaches a three-way valve communicating with a bypass duct. Both Capellini and Greiwe disclose ducts containing water and high and low pressures. Capellini recites that “two-way proportional bypass valve 44, being arranged on the bypass circuit 42 that constitutes a derivation of the main delivery flow of the brewing chamber 36, has the ability to influence the coffee extraction pressure without creating any further throttling on the main water inlet circuit 22” [0031]. Capellini does not require the concurrent flow of water through bypass circuit 42 and the main delivery circuit 22 into secondary boiler 14. Thus, the combination of Capellini over Greiwe would not render the former unsuitable for its intended purpose. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 13, p. 2, regarding the rejection of claim 1 has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that as Greiwe only teaches the communication between a brewing group with a first or second duct exclusively that Greiwe completely differs from and thus does not teach the pre-infusion system of the claimed invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A pre-infusion system is not claimed in amended claim 1, so Applicant’s argument is moot. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below.
Applicant’s argument, filed 11/24/2025 on pg. 13, p. 3-5, regarding the rejection of claim 1 has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that Greiwe does not provide motivation to modify Capellini with the amended limitations regarding the time intervals during which the secondary bypass ducts and secondary feeding ducts respectively communicate with the brewing group. Examiner respectfully argues that this argument is moot, as Greiwe is not relied on to teach these features. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below. The rejection of amended claim 1 can be found in this revised response below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappellini (US 20200229634 A1) further in view of Coccia (US 20160278569 A1), Greiwe (US 6199472 B1), and Porzio et al. (US 20130259995 A1), hereinafter Porzio.
Regarding claim 1, Cappellini teaches a coffee machine (“espresso coffee machine”, [0023], Fig. 1), comprising a water source (“water supply network”, [0025]), one or more brewing groups (at least one dispensing group 10) and a hydraulic circuit (“hydraulic… circuits”, [0023]) connecting the water source to the one or more brewing groups (“A main water inlet circuit 22 for inletting water from the water supply network is hydraulically connected to the main boiler 12, and to the secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10.”, [0025]), wherein a pump (booster pump 28) is arranged in the hydraulic circuit, between the water source and the one or more brewing groups (see position of pump 28 along hydraulic connections (solid lines) and between source 22 and group 10 of Fig. 1), for raising the pressure of water circulating in the hydraulic circuit (“booster pump 28, which applies a predetermined pressure value to the water”, [0028]; Applying a predetermined pressure value is construed as raising a water pressure.), and a boiler (secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10) is arranged in the hydraulic circuit, between the water source and the one or more brewing groups (“main water inlet circuit 22 for inletting water from the water supply network is hydraulically connected to the main boiler 12, and to the secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10”, [0025]), for raising the temperature of water circulating in the hydraulic circuit (“small secondary boiler 14 provided to keep the water for dispensing coffee at a predetermined temperature value”, [0024]; “predetermined temperature value is obtained through the controlled activation of at least one heating element 16”, [0024]; Keeping water at a predetermined temperature value determined by activation of a heating element is construed as raising a temperature, as heating elements should heat when activated.), wherein each of the one or more brewing groups is arranged to receive a filter holder (“each dispensing group 10 comprises, in a known way, a water diffusion shower head, a filter containing the coffee powder and the related filter holder”, [0026]) containing a coffee panel (“coffee powder”, [0026]), wherein the hydraulic circuit comprises a feeding duct (main water inlet circuit 22), connected to the water source (“A main water inlet circuit 22 for inletting water from the water supply network”, [0025]), and a bypass duct (bypass circuit 42), branching off from the feeding duct upstream of the pump (see configuration of circuit 22, bypass circuit 42, and pump 28 in Fig. 1), wherein the feeding duct, downstream of the pump,… and the bypass duct branches off into one or more secondary bypass ducts, one for each brewing group of the coffee machine (“bypass circuit 42 hydraulically connected… to each dispensing group 10 at the opposite end”, [0028]; Fig. 1 shows circuit 42 connected to each secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10. In an embodiment with more than one dispensing group 10, circuit 42 being hydraulically connected to each group 10 is construed as circuit 42 branching off into the respective boiler 14 of each group 10.), wherein the hydraulic circuit comprises one or more valve assemblies (“two-way proportional valve 44”, [0028]), one for each brewing group of the coffee machine (“bypass circuit 42 is provided with at least one two-way proportional valve 44… two-way proportional valve 44 is, in fact, configured to recirculate a part of delivery flow of the booster pump 28 itself on the main water inlet circuit 22 at low pressure and upstream of the booster pump 28, in order to maintain a certain coffee extraction pressure value in each dispensing group 10”, [0029]; In an embodiment with more than one valve 44, more than one valve 44 maintaining pressure in each dispensing group 10 is construed as each brewing group having a respective more than one valve 44.),… each of the one or more secondary bypass ducts are connected to a respective one of the one or more valve assemblies (“two-way proportional bypass valve 44, being arranged on the bypass circuit 42”, [0031]; Being arranged on the circuit 42 is construed as connection.), which… a respective one of the one or more secondary bypass ducts (In this embodiment, a branch of circuit 42 leading into valve 44 on the left side of Fig. 1) with a respective one of one or more outlet ducts (Solid line on right side of valve 44 shown in Fig. 1), which in turn is connected to a respective one of the one or more brewing groups (“This two-way proportional bypass valve 44… constitutes a derivation of the main delivery flow of the brewing chamber 36” of a given dispensing group 10, [0031]).
Cappellini does not teach wherein branches off into one or more secondary feeding ducts, one for each brewing group of the coffee machine… each of the one or more secondary feeding ducts and… are connected… which selectively communicates… a respective one of the one or more secondary feeding ducts or.
Coccia teaches branches off into one or more secondary feeding ducts (Fig. 3 shows source duct 52 branching off into cold water ducts 48a, 48b and 48c), one for each (Fig. 3 shows cold water ducts 48a, 48b and 48c connected to plurality of dispensing devices 50a, 50b and 50c.) brewing group (see mapping to Cappellini) of the coffee machine (see mapping to Cappellini)… wherein each of the one or more secondary feeding ducts and… are connected (Fig. 3 shows valves 44a, 44b and 44c are respectively disposed along each cold water duct 48a, 48b and 48c)… a respective one (One of cold water ducts 48a, 48b and 48c) of the one or more secondary feeding ducts or.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the feeding duct of Cappellini to branch off into secondary feeding ducts. Cappellini teaches a main water inlet circuit connected to each secondary boiler 14 of at least one dispensing group 10. Coccia teaches a source duct branching off into multiple ducts for multiple dispensing devices. One would have been motivated to provide secondary feeding ducts. By doing so, one would be able to regulate the water pressure for each dispensing device, as identified by Coccia ([0095]).
Modified Capellini does not teach which selectively communicates.
Greiwe teaches which selectively communicates (“In the first operation mode the first input of the three-way valve Y8, which represents the operation-mode switch apparatus, is opened... The second input of the three-way valve Y8 is closed in the first operation mode… In the second operation mode the first input of the three-way valve Y8 is closed, while the second input of the three-way valve Y8 is opened.”, Col. 5, lines 6-8, 15-19; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the valve of Modified Cappellini to selectively communicate. Cappellini teaches a valve connected to a bypass duct and a main inlet circuit disposed after a pump and boiler connected to a dispensing head. Coccia teaches a source duct branching off into multiple ducts for multiple dispensing devices. Greiwe teaches a three-way valve for selectively engaging two ducts containing water at different pressures. One would have been motivated to provide selective communication between ducts. By doing so, one would be able to produce both pressurized coffee and brewed coffee without extra components like a second pump, as identified by Greiwe (Abstract, Col. 2, lines 63-64).
Modified Capellini teaches the coffee machine, the respective one of the one or more secondary bypass ducts, the respective one of the one or more outlet ducts connected to the respective one of the one or more brewing groups, the respective filter holder containing the respective coffee panel, and the respective one of the one or more secondary feeding ducts but does not teach wherein the coffee machine is equipped with or connected to a control unit having a memory, and wherein the memory of the control unit contains a value for a time interval during which the respective one of the one or more secondary bypass ducts communicates with the respective one of the one or more outlet ducts connected to the respective one of the one or more brewing groups receiving the respective filter holder containing the respective coffee panel, and
wherein the memory of the control unit contains a further value for a further time interval during which the respective one of the one or more secondary feeding ducts communicates with the respective one of the one or more outlet ducts connected to the respective one of the one or more brewing groups receiving the respective filter holder containing the same respective coffee panel.
Porzio teaches wherein the coffee machine is equipped with or connected to a control unit (control unit 18, Fig. 1) having a memory (part of control unit 18 storing time durations related to “dispensing” profile [0052-0053]), and wherein the memory of the control unit contains a value for a time interval (sum of “5 seconds” plus “3 seconds” during which second valve 27 is open [0053]) during which the respective one of the one or more secondary bypass ducts communicates (“in the pre-brewing phase, having a duration of about 5 seconds, control unit 18 initially keeps the first valve 25 closed while leaving the second valve 27 open, and then, for instance after 3 seconds, it opens in pulsed manner the first valve 25 while leaving the second valve 27 open, so that a pressure P3 initially having a value P2 and subsequently a mean value in the range P1 to P2 is present at the dispensing unit” [0053]) with the respective one of the one or more outlet ducts connected to the respective one of the one or more brewing groups receiving the respective filter holder containing the respective coffee panel, and
wherein the memory of the control unit contains a further value for a further time interval (“15 seconds” [0054]) during which the respective one of the one or more secondary feeding ducts communicates (“in the brewing phase, having a duration of about 15 seconds, control unit 18 closes the second valve 27 and keeps the first valve 25 open, so that a pressure P3 equal to P1 is present at the dispensing unit” [0054]) with the respective one of the one or more outlet ducts connected to the respective one of the one or more brewing groups receiving the respective filter holder containing the same respective coffee panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coffee machine of Modified Cappellini to include a control unit with memory storing selective duct communication timings. Cappellini teaches a valve connected to a bypass duct and a main inlet circuit disposed after a pump and boiler connected to a dispensing head. Coccia teaches a source duct branching off into multiple ducts for multiple dispensing devices. Greiwe teaches a three-way valve for selectively engaging two ducts containing water at different pressures. Porzio teaches a control unit storing recipes which dictate valve opening and closing times to supply differing pressures to a common brewing group (dispensing unit 14). One would have been motivated to provide a control unit with memory storing selective duct communication timings. By doing so, one would be able to easily repeat a coffee brewing operation that ensures that “an optimal "cooking" of the coffee powder dose is performed” [0054], as identified by Porzio.. Regarding claim 2, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the coffee machine (Capellini; “espresso coffee machine”, [0023], Fig. 1) comprises two or more brewing groups (Capellini; at least one dispensing group 10). Regarding claim 3, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein each valve assembly (Capellini; “at least one two-way proportional valve 44”, [0029], Fig. 1) consists of a three-way valve (Greiwe; three-way valve Y8, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the valves of Cappellini to be three-way valves. Cappellini teaches a two-way proportional valve connecting a bypass duct and dispensing head. Coccia teaches proportional electro-valves connecting pumped water with dispensing devices. Greiwe teaches a three-way valve for selectively engaging two ducts containing water at different pressures. One would have been motivated to introduce a three-way valve. By doing so, one would be able to obtain the hydraulic circuitry for producing both pressurized coffee and brewed coffee without extra components like a second pump, as identified by Greiwe (Abstract, Col. 2, lines 63-64). Regarding claim 4, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the boiler (Capellini; secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10, Fig. 1) is arranged in the hydraulic circuit (Capellini; “hydraulic… circuits”, [0023]) downstream (Fig. 1 shows arrangement of secondary boiler 14 on right side, which is downstream, of valve 44) of the one or more valve assemblies (Capellini; “at least one two-way proportional valve 44”, [0029], Fig. 1). Regarding claim 5, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the one or more outlet ducts (Capellini; Solid line on right side of valve 44 shown in Fig. 1) pass through the boiler (Fig. 1 shows line extending from right side of valve 44 entering boiler 14) and are provided with respective heat exchangers (at least one heating element 16, Fig. 1) at the boiler (Capellini; secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10, Fig. 1). Regarding claim 6, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a brewing group valve (Capellini; dispensing valve 34, Fig. 1) is provided on each of the one or more outlet ducts (Capellini; Solid line on right side of valve 44 shown in Fig. 1), the brewing group valve selectively allowing or preventing the connection of the respective outlet duct to the respective brewing group (“that in turn determines the start and the end of dispensing, making the brewing water pass from the secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10 to a brewing chamber 36 of said dispensing group 10”, [0026]).
Capellini teaches a brewing group valve and one or more outlets ducts but does not teach wherein a brewing group valve is provided on each of the one or more outlet ducts. The courts have held rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance if the arrangement does not modify the operation of the device. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Dispensing valve 34 of Capellini would retain its ability to selectively pass water from a secondary boiler 14 to a brewing chamber 36 of a dispensing group 10 on either side of said grouping head. Regarding claim 7, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein each secondary feeding duct (Coccia; cold water ducts 48a, 48b and 48c, Fig. 3) with the corresponding secondary bypass duct (Capellini; “bypass circuit 42 hydraulically connected… to each dispensing group 10 at the opposite end”, [0028]; Fig. 1 shows circuit 42 connected to each secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10. In an embodiment with more than one dispensing group 10, left side circuit 42 leading into valve 44, wherein each dispensing head has a valve 44, is construed as a corresponding secondary bypass duct.) and the corresponding valve assembly (Capellini; “at least one two-way proportional valve 44”, [0029]) forms a pre-infusion sub-system (Combination of cold water ducts 48a, 48b, 48c of Coccia and at least one valves 44 and ends of bypass duct 42 leading into said valves of Cappellini) for the respective brewing group, which pre-infusion sub-system can be driven and controlled separately from and independently of the pre-infusion sub-systems of the remaining brewing groups (Coccia; “if the hydraulic circuit of each dispensing device is provided with a hydraulic valve whose output flow rate of water can be regulated, it is possible to provide a system for controlling the dispensing pressure which is able to control the supply from each dispensing device in an independent manner”, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-infusion systems of Modified Cappellini to be separately controllable. Cappellini teaches a coffee machine with at least one dispensing head. Coccia teaches independently controllable dispensing heads. Greiwe teaches a three-way valve for selectively engaging two ducts containing water at different pressures. One would have been motivated to modify a coffee machine to independently control water entering a given dispensing head. By doing so, one would be able to reduce brewing time by pre-infusing in a second dispensing device without affecting dispensing in a first dispensing device, as identified by Coccia ([0068]). Regarding claim 8, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a pressure reducer (Greiwe; pressure reducer D11, Fig. 2) is arranged in the bypass duct (Cappellini; bypass circuit 42, Fig. 1) or in one or more of said secondary bypass ducts (Capellini; “bypass circuit 42 hydraulically connected… to each dispensing group 10 at the opposite end”, [0028]; Fig. 1 shows circuit 42 connected to each secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10. In an embodiment with more than one dispensing group 10, left side circuit 42 leading into valve 44, wherein each dispensing head has a valve 44, is construed as a corresponding secondary bypass duct.).
Cappellini teaches a pressure reducer disposed before a pump. Coccia teaches controlling water pressure. Greiwe teaches a pressure reducer along one path downstream of a pump. One would have been motivated to modify a coffee machine comprise a pressure reducer along a bypass duct. By doing so, one would be able to improve system accuracy and obtain water with a pressure corresponding to a specified output pressure, as identified by Greiwe (Col. 4, lines 48-49). Regarding claim 9, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a pressure reducer (Cappellini; pressure reducing device 26, Fig. 1) is arranged in (Fig. 1 shows device 26 arranged along line of circuit 22) the feeding duct (Cappellini; main water inlet circuit 22, Fig. 1) or in one or more of said the one or more secondary feeding ducts (Coccia; cold water ducts 48a, 48b and 48c, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the water source (Capellini; “water supply network”, [0025]) consists of a reservoir (Greiwe; water tank 3, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the coffee machine (Cappellini; “espresso coffee machine”, [0023], Fig. 1) is an espresso coffee machine (Cappellini; “espresso coffee machine”, [0023], Fig. 1). Regarding claim 14, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a pressure reducer (Greiwe; pressure reducer D11, Fig. 2) is arranged in one or more of the one or more secondary bypass ducts (Capellini; “bypass circuit 42 hydraulically connected… to each dispensing group 10 at the opposite end”, [0028]; Fig. 1 shows circuit 42 connected to each secondary boiler 14 of each dispensing group 10. In an embodiment with more than one dispensing group 10, left side circuit 42 leading into at least one valve 44, wherein each dispensing head has a valve 44, is construed as a corresponding secondary bypass duct.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bypass ducts of Modified Cappellini to include a pressure reducer. Cappellini teaches a pressure reducer disposed before a pump. Coccia teaches controlling water pressure. Greiwe teaches a pressure reducer along one path downstream of a pump. One would have been motivated to include a pressure reducer along a bypass duct. By doing so, one would be able to improve system accuracy and obtain water with a pressure corresponding to a specified output pressure, as identified by Greiwe (Col. 4, lines 48-49). Regarding claim 15, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a pressure reducer (Coccia; “respective hydraulic variable-flow valve 44a, 44b and 44c”, [0091], Fig. 3; “it possible to regulate the value of the pressure during the dispensing step of the coffee for each dispensing device by acting on the flow rate of water output from the variable-flow valve via the control unit 41”, [0095]; Valves 44a-44c may be controlled to regulate a water pressure and thus are construed as pressure reducers) is arranged in one or more of the one or more secondary feeding ducts (Coccia; cold water ducts 48a, 48b and 48c, Fig. 3). Regarding claim 16, Cappellini, Coccia, Greiwe, and Porzio teach the coffee machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the water source (Capellini; “water supply network”, [0025]) consists of a connecting element (inlet of main water inlet circuit 22) for connection to a water mains (“water supply network”, [0025]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761