Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The following is in repones to the applicant’s remarks filed 10/27/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) by Kobayashi, US20020192539A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a method for manufacturing a carbon fiber electrode substrate by feeding a sheet-like an oxidized fiber substrate through a carbonization furnace to carbonize the oxidized fiber substrate [0004],
the method comprising: feeding, through (i) a pre-drying furnace upstream of the carbonization furnace (pre-carbonization furnace)[0051] and having a lower temperature than the carbonization furnace (carbonization furnace)[0052] and (ii) the carbonization furnace,
a plurality of oxidized fiber substrates in a state of being stacked in a thickness direction of the oxidized fiber substrates (stacked fiber substrates)[0080][fig. 15].
Regarding claim 22, Kobayashi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the oxidized fiber substrates are made of felt or a woven fabric (felt or fabric)[0059]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Kobayashi, US20020192539A1 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19, Kobayashi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the temperature of the pre-drying furnace is set 50 to 300°C lower than the carbonization furnace [0051][0052]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 20, Kobayashi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the temperature of the pre-drying furnace is set at 300°C or more to less than 400°C (400 – 900 °C)[0051], and the temperature of the carbonization furnace is set at 400°C or more (900 – 1500 °C)[0052]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 21, 23, 24 - 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Kobayashi, US20020192539A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki, US20160130732A1 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 21, Kobayashi teaches the method according to claim 1.
Kobayashi does not teach wherein the plurality of oxidized fiber substrates are fed through a first carbonization furnace and a second carbonization furnace in sequence from upstream in a direction in which the plurality of oxidized fiber substrates are fed.
Suzuki teaches a method and apparatus for manufacturing a carbon fiber substrate [0001] wherein the method comprises a first (15) and second (17) carbonization furnace from upstream in a direction in which the plurality of oxidized fiber substrates are fed [fig. 1]. Further, Suzuki teaches that having a second carbonization furnace allows for processing of carbon fibers with less occurrence of breakages [0032]. Then, it would have been obvious to combine the second furnace of Suzuki into the method of Chida to reduce the occurrence of breakages in the carbon fibers.
Regarding claim 23, Kobayashi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein feeding of the oxidized fiber substrates is performed continuously (continuous fabric)[0088][fig. 15].
Kobayashi does not teach wherein feeding of the oxidized fiber substrates through the pre-drying furnace and the carbonization furnace is performed continuously (batch carbonization)[0088].
Suzuki teaches a method and apparatus for manufacturing a carbon fiber substrate [0001] wherein a feeding unit configured to continuously feed through the pre-drying furnace and the carbonization furnace (feeding rollers)[0016]. Further, Suzuki teaches the continuous process increase production efficiency [0042]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the feeder unit of Suzuki which allows for continuous processing into the apparatus of Kobayashi to increase production speed.
Regarding claim 24, Kobayashi teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a carbon fiber electrode substrate by feeding a sheet-like oxidized fiber substrate through a carbonization furnace to carbonize the oxidized fiber substrate [0004],
the apparatus comprising: the carbonization furnace; a pre-drying furnace disposed upstream of the carbonization furnace and having a lower temperature than the carbonization furnace [0050]; and feeding through the pre-drying furnace [0050] and the carbonization furnace [0051],
a plurality of oxidized fiber substrates in a state of being stacked in a thickness direction of the oxidized fiber substrates (stacked substrates)[fig. 15]
Kobayashi does not teach a feeding unit configured to feed through the pre-drying furnace and the carbonization furnace
Suzuki teaches a method and apparatus for manufacturing a carbon fiber substrate [0001] wherein a feeding unit configured to feed through the pre-drying furnace and the carbonization furnace (feeding rollers (13)(19))[0016][fig. 1]. Further, Suzuki teaches the continuous process increase production efficiency [0042]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the feeder unit of Suzuki which allows for continuous processing into the apparatus of Kobayashi to increase production efficiency.
Regarding claim 25, combined Kobayashi teaches the apparatus according to claim 24.
Further, Kobayashi teaches wherein the temperature of the pre-drying furnace is set 50 to 300°C lower than the carbonization furnace [0051][0052]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 26, combined Kobayashi teaches the apparatus according to claim 24.
Further, Kobayashi teaches wherein the temperature of the pre-drying furnace is set at 300°C or more to less than 400°C (400 – 900 °C)[0051], and the temperature of the carbonization furnace is set at 400°C or more (900 – 1500 °C)[0052]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 27, combined Kobayashi teaches the apparatus according to claim 24.
Kobayashi does not teach wherein the carbonization furnace includes a first carbonization furnace and a second carbonization furnace in sequence from upstream in a direction in which the plurality of oxidized fiber substrates are fed.
Suzuki teaches a method and apparatus for manufacturing a carbon fiber substrate [0001] wherein the method comprises a first (15) and second (17) carbonization furnace from upstream in a direction in which the plurality of oxidized fiber substrates are fed [fig. 1]. Further, Suzuki teaches that having a second carbonization furnace allows for processing of carbon fibers with less occurrence of breakages [0032]. Then, it would have been obvious t to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the second furnace of Suzuki into the method of Chida to reduce the occurrence of breakages in the carbon fibers.
Regarding claim 28, combined Kobayashi teaches the apparatus according to claim 24.
Further, Kobayashi teaches wherein the oxidized fiber substrates are made of felt or a woven fabric (felt or fabric)[0059].
Regarding claim 29, combined Kobayashi teaches the apparatus according to claim 24.
Further, Suzuki teaches wherein feeding of the oxidized fiber substrates through the pre-drying furnace and the carbonization furnace is performed continuously [0016][0042].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724