DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed February 10, 2026, claims 7 and 11-13 are amended, claims 7 and 11-13 are amended are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 5 - page 7 paragraph 3, filed February 10, 2026, with respect to claims 7 and 11-13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 7 and 11-13 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the reference being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further presented in view of MolavianJazi (U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/947,543, filed on Dec. 13, 2019., published as US Pub. No.:2021/0184812).
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 7 paragraph 4 - 10, filed February 10, 2026, with respect to claims 7 and 11-13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 7 and 11-13, the applicant argued that, see page 14 lines 15-22, “…Ji fails to remedy the deficiencies of Takeda at least in this regard. … Paragraph [0247] of Ji describes that the terminal transmits the PUCCH by repeating two TRPs and that the terminal may send NACK to the first TRP and ACK to the second TRP. However, this behavior relates only to determining which TRP receives the PUCCH and what ACK/NACK bit is sent. Ji does not describe that the transmitter applies different TCI states to different PUCCH repetition transmissions. Paragraph [0247] of Ji merely describes that the base station updates the TCI state of the first TRP or updates the TCI state of the second TRP. Additionally, Ji remains silent with respect to using different unified TCI states, as required by the above-mentioned limitation. As such, Ji fails to remedy the deficiencies of Takeda to teach the above-mentioned limitation of amended independent claim 7.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. See section 7 below.
Regarding claims amended claim 7 and 11-13, Ji clearly teaches A terminal (see Fig.15, a terminal device, see para. 0256) comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.15, a transceiver 1501, see para. 0257) that performs repetition transmission of PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” (see Fig.8, para. 0145-0149, 0246-0247, when a selected resource index is “00”, whether PDSCH reception is successful indicates NACK, and the terminal transmits the PUCCH by repeating same twice to two TRPs, respectively, which refers to that the TCI update of both TRPs is requested / performs repetition transmission of PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, see also para. 0187-0189, during TCI state configuration via higher layer signaling, the DL TCI and the UL TCI corresponding to the joint TCI have the same reference RS antenna port, information of only one reference RS antenna port is included in DL TCI and UL TCI configuration information, and it is thus possible to reduce overhead according to the TCI configuration, clearly unified TCI states for the DL TCI and the UL TCI, see also para. 0190-0196, 0209, a method of jointly indicating a downlink TCI state and an uplink TCI state, while concurrently indicating that one or more joint TCI indicators are configured in one CORESET, clearly teaches using “different unified TCI states”);
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclose by Takeda, Ji and ZTE reads upon communication to “a processor that, when spatial relation information is not activated, determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); and a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using the different unified TCI states, wherein the unified TCJ states used for the repetition transmission of the PUCCH are included in a plurality of unified TCJ states activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE).” as recites in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, " ... a processor that, when spatial relation information is not activated, determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… a processor that, when spatial relation information is not activated, determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”. Paragraphs 0075-0076 of instant application disclose, “For example, in a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for a PUCCH is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUCCH. In a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for an SRS is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and the SRS.” Note also, paragraphs 0061, 0063 and 0092, disclose “Note that the UL TCI state may be replaced with spatial relation information (spatialrelationinfo). The unified TCI state may mean a TCI state used in common to both DL and UL”.
The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, “... a processor that, when spatial relation information is not activated, determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).” Therefore claims 7 and 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 0061, 0063, 0075-0076, 00092) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Akkarakaran et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/319823), in view of MolavianJazi (U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/947,543, filed on Dec. 13, 2019, published as US Pub. No.:2021/0184812) and further in view of ZTE (ZTE Enhancements on multi-beam operation. 3GPP TSG RAN WGl #99 Rl-1911931, November 22, 2019).
As per claim 7, Akkarakaran disclose A terminal (see Fig.2, a UE 210 Fig.1, 9-10, a UE 115, see para. 0240) comprising:
a processor (see Fig.14, a processor 1220) that, when spatial relation information is not configured, determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see para. 0031, 0126-0128, 0130, 0138-0139, 144: an SRI is present even if an SRS is not configured, and the SRI is directly interpreted as an index into a list of beams, e.g., a list of PUCCH beams, a PUCCH spatial relationship IE, an SRS and/or an SRI is absent or undefined, a PUCCH-based default beam is used, following the approach used for PUCCH / a TCI state used in common to both DL and UL."; paragraph 148: the UE 210 then determine a beam cycling scheme for uplink data transmissions based at least in part on the default beam cycling scheme, the beam cycling scheme is the default beam cycling scheme, the UE 210 modify the default beam cycling scheme, see also para. 0108-0116, 0141-0143, 0145-052, Fig.10-13); and
a transmitter (see Fig.12, transceiver 1235) that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH (see Fig.14, para. 0148, the UE 210 then transmit repetitions of the uplink data signal based at least in part on the determined beam cycling scheme, see also para. 0108-0116, 0144-052, Fig.10-13),
wherein the unified TCI states used for the repetition transmission of the PUCCH are included in a plurality of unified TCI states activated by a medium access control - control element (MAC CE) (see para. 0110-0116, the MAC-CE link resource IEs to be used for multi-beam transmission into the list of spatial relation IEs. The spatial relation IEs is listed in the order in which beams are to be cycled through. The base station communications manager 101 cause the base station 105 to transmit the MAC-CE to a UE 115 and the UE communications manager 102 determines the beam cycling scheme based at least in part on a MAC-CE received from the base station 105 / a plurality of TCI states activated by a medium access control - control element (MAC CE)).
Although Akkarakaran disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH;
Akkarakaran however does not explicitly disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”;
MolavianJazi however disclose a transmitter (see Fig. 2, Block diagram of equipment with transceiver, controller/processor and, memory) that performs a repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” (see para. 0124, 0145, 0151-0153, the term “beam indication resource” is defined based on a unified TCI framework for UL and DL beam indication, using a configuration of source/reference RS in the TCI state configuration/definition, a “beam indication resource” is defined as a DL/UL RS resource or a set/group of DL/UL resources that are used to indicate a spatial transmission/reception filter for a signal/channel transmission, or a (DL or UL) TCI state(s) / the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” or an UL TCI state for UL beam indication, or SRS resource(s) or SRS resource set(s ) also per para. 0153, for beam indication for UL CG, a beam indication resource configured for a CG PUSCH/PUCCH transmission (Type-1 and/or Type-2), such as an SRS resource set or an SRS resource, or an associated CSI-RS resource (or associated CSI-RS resource set), or a TCI state (or a set of TCI states) include only periodic or semi-persistent resource(s) in time domain, performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, see para. 0226, As shown in Fig. 12, based on the relative time location (Trans. Occ. #1, #2, #3 etc.) different number of repetitions are used and repetitions of physical channel (PUSCH) which is associated with the particular transmit beam are transmitted using a particular transmit beam from plurality of transmit beams, see also para. 0112, 0152, 0168, plurality of unified TCI states /a repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, see prov. page 20, 27, 28, 36, 43, 54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, as taught by MolavianJazi, in the system of Akkarakaran, so to provide efficient resource utilization means with low control signalling overhead for periodic or semi-persistent traffic, see MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0082-0088.
Although the combination of Akkarakaran and MolavianJazi disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not configured” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH);
The combination of Akkarakaran and MolavianJazi however does not explicitly disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
ZTE however disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see Section 2.1, Proposal 2, When a PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is activated for a PUCCH resource group by a MAC CE for a list of CCs/BWPs, the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is applied for the PUCCH resource group(s) with the same group ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs. - If there is no PUCCH configuration for a CC in the CC list, the MAC-CE command is NOT applied to the CC.- The applicable list of CCs is determined by higher layer parameter simultaneousSpatialRelationCellList and the indicated CCs in the MAC CE, clearly use different Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) will be used when spatial relation information is “not activated” , see also section 2.2, when a Spatial Relation Info is activated for a SP/AP SRS resource by a MAC CE for a set of CCs/BWPs at least for the same band, where the applicable list of CCs is indicated by RRC signalling, the Spatial Relation Info is applied for the SP/AP SRS resource(s) with the same SRS resource ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs, see also proposal 3, clearly when a Spatial Relation Info is (not) activated for a SP/AP SRS resource by a MAC CE for a set of CCs/BWPs at least for the same band, where the applicable list of CCs is indicated by RRC signalling, the Spatial Relation Info is (not) applied for the SP/AP SRS resource(s) with the same SRS resource ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs, and Section 2.4, In RAN1#98bis, the following working assumption on default spatial relation for PUCCH/SRS was reached, where reusing the default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH was agreed as a baseline. The default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS for a CC in FR2, at least when no pathloss RSs are configured by RRC is determined by - Default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH, i.e., • in case when CORESET(s) are configured on the CC, the CORESET with the lowest ID in the most recent monitored downlink slot, or • in case when any CORESETs are not configured on the CC, the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH in the active DL-BWP of the CC, see also Section 2.3.3, PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 without SRI field and Proposal 7, see also Section 2.4, details on UE behavior in the absence of the activated TCI state).
Examiner Note: Per instant specification, [0074] In Rel. 16 NR, at least one of an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of a PUCCH spatial relation and an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of an SRS spatial relation may not be used.[0075] A default spatial relation is studied as a spatial relation that the UE uses when a spatial relation cannot be used (for example, cannot be specified, is not designated, or is not activated) for UL transmission. Further, a default PL-RS is studied as a PL-RS used when a PL-RS cannot be used (the same as above) for UL transmission or when a default spatial relation is used. [0076] For example, in a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for a PUCCH is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUCCH. In a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for an SRS is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and the SRS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), as taught by ZTE, in the system of Akkarakaran and MolavianJazi, so when a PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is activated for a PUCCH resource group by a MAC CE for a list of CCs/BWPs, the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is applied for the PUCCH resource group(s) with the same group ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs, see ZTE, Section 2.1.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As per claim 12, Akkarakaran disclose A base station (see Fig.1 base station 105, Fig.16, a device 1605, see para. 0273) comprising:
a transmitter (see Fig.16, transceiver 1635) that, when spatial relation information is not available, transmits, to a terminal, information for determining to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see para. 144: "In some examples, an SRI may be present even if an SRS is not configured, and the SRI may be directly interpreted as an ind into a list of beams, e.g., a list of PUCCH beams, a PUCCH spatial relationship IE, etc. In some examples in which an SRS and/or an SRI may be absent or undefined, a PUCCH-based default beam may be use following the approach used for PUCCH."; paragraph 148: "The UE 210 may then determine a beam cycling scheme for uplink data transmissions based at least in part on the default beam cycling scheme. In some examples, the beam cycling scheme may be the default beam cycling scheme. In some other examples, the UE 210 may modify the default beam cycling scheme. For example, the default beam cycling scheme may be a beam cycling scheme associated with a PUCCH beam. The PUCCH beam may use per-N-TTI cycling, where N is an integer.", see also para. 0108-0116, 0144-052, Fig.10-13); and
a receiver (see Fig.16, transceiver 1635) that receives the repetition transmission of the PUCCH (see Fig.14, para. 0148, the UE 210 may then transmit repetitions of the uplink data signal based at least in part on the determined beam cycling scheme / base station receiving, see also para. 0108-0116, 0144-052, Fig.10-13).
Akkarakaran however does not explicitly disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”;
MolavianJazi however disclose a transmitter (see Fig. 2, Block diagram of equipment with transceiver, controller/processor and, memory) that performs a repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” (see para. 0124, 0145, 0151-0153, the term “beam indication resource” is defined based on a unified TCI framework for UL and DL beam indication, using a configuration of source/reference RS in the TCI state configuration/definition, a “beam indication resource” is defined as a DL/UL RS resource or a set/group of DL/UL resources that are used to indicate a spatial transmission/reception filter for a signal/channel transmission, or a (DL or UL) TCI state(s) / the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” or QCL assumption(s), or an UL TCI state for UL beam indication, or SRS resource(s) or SRS resource set(s ) also per para. 0153, for beam indication for UL CG, a beam indication resource configured for a CG PUSCH/PUCCH transmission (Type-1 and/or Type-2), such as an SRS resource set or an SRS resource, or an associated CSI-RS resource (or associated CSI-RS resource set), or a TCI state (or a set of TCI states) include only periodic or semi-persistent resource(s) in time domain, performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, see para. 0226, As shown in Fig. 12, based on the relative time location (Trans. Occ. #1, #2, #3 etc.) different number of repetitions are used and repetitions of physical channel (PUSCH) which is associated with the particular transmit beam are transmitted using a particular transmit beam from plurality of transmit beams, see also para. 0112, 0152, 0168, plurality of unified TCI states /a repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, as taught by MolavianJazi, in the system of Akkarakaran, so to provide efficient resource utilization means with low control signalling overhead for periodic or semi-persistent traffic, see MolavianJazi, paragraphs 0082-0088.
Although the combination of Akkarakaran and MolavianJazi disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not configured” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH);
The combination of Akkarakaran and MolavianJazi however does not explicitly disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
ZTE however disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see Section 2.1, Proposal 2, When a PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is activated for a PUCCH resource group by a MAC CE for a list of CCs/BWPs, the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is applied for the PUCCH resource group(s) with the same group ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs. - If there is no PUCCH configuration for a CC in the CC list, the MAC-CE command is NOT applied to the CC.- The applicable list of CCs is determined by higher layer parameter simultaneousSpatialRelationCellList and the indicated CCs in the MAC CE, clearly use different Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) will be used when spatial relation information is “not activated” , see also section 2.2, when a Spatial Relation Info is activated for a SP/AP SRS resource by a MAC CE for a set of CCs/BWPs at least for the same band, where the applicable list of CCs is indicated by RRC signalling, the Spatial Relation Info is applied for the SP/AP SRS resource(s) with the same SRS resource ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs, see also proposal 3, clearly when a Spatial Relation Info is (not) activated for a SP/AP SRS resource by a MAC CE for a set of CCs/BWPs at least for the same band, where the applicable list of CCs is indicated by RRC signalling, the Spatial Relation Info is (not) applied for the SP/AP SRS resource(s) with the same SRS resource ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs, and Section 2.4, In RAN1#98bis, the following working assumption on default spatial relation for PUCCH/SRS was reached, where reusing the default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH was agreed as a baseline. The default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS for a CC in FR2, at least when no pathloss RSs are configured by RRC is determined by - Default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH, i.e., • in case when CORESET(s) are configured on the CC, the CORESET with the lowest ID in the most recent monitored downlink slot, or • in case when any CORESETs are not configured on the CC, the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH in the active DL-BWP of the CC, see also Section 2.3.3, PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 without SRI field and Proposal 7).
Examiner Note: Per instant specification, [0074] In Rel. 16 NR, at least one of an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of a PUCCH spatial relation and an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of an SRS spatial relation may not be used.[0075] A default spatial relation is studied as a spatial relation that the UE uses when a spatial relation cannot be used (for example, cannot be specified, is not designated, or is not activated) for UL transmission. Further, a default PL-RS is studied as a PL-RS used when a PL-RS cannot be used (the same as above) for UL transmission or when a default spatial relation is used. [0076] For example, in a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for a PUCCH is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUCCH. In a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for an SRS is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and the SRS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), as taught by ZTE, in the system of Akkarakaran and MolavianJazi, so when a PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is activated for a PUCCH resource group by a MAC CE for a list of CCs/BWPs, the PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo ID is applied for the PUCCH resource group(s) with the same group ID for all the BWPs in the indicated CCs, see ZTE, Section 2.1.
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 7 and claim 12.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 7, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Takeda et al. (US WO 2019/244221, which is further published as US Pub. No.:2021/259004), in view of Ji et al (US Pub. No.:2023/0126574) and further in view of LG (LG Electronics, Feature lead summary of Enhancements on Multi-beam Operations Rl-1912277, November 22, 2019).
As per claim 7, Takeda disclose A terminal comprising:
a processor that, when spatial relation information is not configured, determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see Fig.4, Fig.17, para. 0128, "As shown in FIG. 4, the user terminal determines the spatial relation information of the PUCCH for each repetition based on the value of the ARI field in the DCI", see also para. 0054-0060, 0076-0096, 0126-0133); and
a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH (see Fig.4, Fig.17, para. 0128, the user terminal determines the spatial relation information associated with the PUCCH resource determined based on the ARI field in the DCI),
wherein the TCI states used for the repetition transmission of the PUCCH are included in a plurality of TCI states activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (see para. 0057, 0086-0087, the “spatial relation information” may be restated as the TCI-state, QCL, QCL relation, QCL information, SRS resource indicator (SRI), and the user terminal may have one or more pieces of spatial relation information (for example, one or more pieces of spatial relation information per uplink BWP of the serving cell) configured by higher layer signaling. When the one or more pieces of spatial relation information are configured by RRC signaling, the user terminal may have one piece of spatial relation information activated by a MAC CE).
Although Akkarakaran disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH;
Akkarakaran however does not explicitly disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”;
Ji however disclose A terminal (see Fig.15, a terminal device, see para. 0256) comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.15, a transceiver 1501, see para. 0257) that performs repetition transmission of PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” (see Fig.8, para. 0145-0149, 0246-0247, when a selected resource index is “00”, whether PDSCH reception is successful indicates NACK, and the terminal transmits the PUCCH by repeating same twice to two TRPs, respectively, which refers to that the TCI update of both TRPs is requested / performs repetition transmission of PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, see also para. 0187-0189, during TCI state configuration via higher layer signaling, the DL TCI and the UL TCI corresponding to the joint TCI have the same reference RS antenna port, information of only one reference RS antenna port is included in DL TCI and UL TCI configuration information, and it is thus possible to reduce overhead according to the TCI configuration, clearly unified TCI states for the DL TCI and the UL TCI, see also para. 0190-0196, 0209, a method of jointly indicating a downlink TCI state and an uplink TCI state, while concurrently indicating that one or more joint TCI indicators are configured in one CORESET, clearly teaches using “different unified TCI states”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, as taught by Ji, in the system of Akkarakaran, so as to provide a device and a method capable of efficiently providing a service in a mobile communication system, see Ji, paragraphs 0005-0010.
Although the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not configured” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH);
The combination of Takeda and Ji however does not explicitly disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
LG however disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see Section 2.3, Study the spatial relation for the PUCCH/SRS to follow a TCl-state/QCL of PDCCH/CSI-RS/SSB if spatial relation info of PUCCH/SRS is not configured in FR2. At least for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, a default spatial relation for dedicated PUCCH/SRS is applied FFS: Detail on the default spatial relation: At least for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, the applied default spatial relation for the dedicated-PUCCH/SRS is down-selected from the followings in RAN1#98bis Alt. I: default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH (e.g. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESETID)
Alt.2: one of an active TCI state of CORESET
• FFS: details of which TCI state
Alt.3: TCI state of scheduling PDCCH for A-SRS/PU CCH, and default TCI state or QCL assumption of
PDSCH for other than A-SRS/PUCCH
Alt.4: CORESET#0 QCL assumption Alt.5: pathloss reference RS).
Examiner Note: Per instant specification, [0074] In Rel. 16 NR, at least one of an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of a PUCCH spatial relation and an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of an SRS spatial relation may not be used.[0075] A default spatial relation is studied as a spatial relation that the UE uses when a spatial relation cannot be used (for example, cannot be specified, is not designated, or is not activated) for UL transmission. Further, a default PL-RS is studied as a PL-RS used when a PL-RS cannot be used (the same as above) for UL transmission or when a default spatial relation is used. [0076] For example, in a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for a PUCCH is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUCCH. In a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for an SRS is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and the SRS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), as taught by LG, in the system of Takeda and Ji, so that at least for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, a default spatial relation for dedicated PUCCH/SRS is applied, see LG, Section 2.1.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As per claim 12, Takeda disclose A base station (see Fig.1 base station 105, Fig.16, a device 1605, see para. 0273) comprising:
a transmitter that, when spatial relation information is not configured, transmits, to a terminal, information for determining to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see Fig.4, Fig.17, para. 0128, as shown in FIG. 4, the user terminal determines the spatial relation information of the PUCCH for each repetition based on the value of the ARI field in the DCI", see also para. 0054-0060, 0076-0096, 0126-0133); and
a receiver that receives the repetition transmission of the PUCCH (see Fig.4, Fig.17, para. 0128, the user terminal determine the spatial relation information associated with the PUCCH resource determined based on the ARI field in the DCI),
wherein the TCI states used for the repetition transmission of the PUCCH are included in a plurality of TCI states activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (see para. 0057, 0086-0087, the “spatial relation information” may be restated as the TCI-state, QCL, QCL relation, QCL information, SRS resource indicator (SRI), and the user terminal may have one or more pieces of spatial relation information (for example, one or more pieces of spatial relation information per uplink BWP of the serving cell) configured by higher layer signaling. When the one or more pieces of spatial relation information are configured by RRC signaling, the user terminal may have one piece of spatial relation information activated by a MAC CE).
Although Akkarakaran disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH;
Akkarakaran however does not explicitly disclose a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”;
Ji however disclose A terminal (see Fig.15, a terminal device, see para. 0256) comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.15, a transceiver 1501, see para. 0257) that performs repetition transmission of PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states” (see Fig.8, para. 0145-0149, 0246-0247, when a selected resource index is “00”, whether PDSCH reception is successful indicates NACK, and the terminal transmits the PUCCH by repeating same twice to two TRPs, respectively, which refers to that the TCI update of both TRPs is requested. If the selected resource index is “01”, the PDSCH indicates ACK, and the terminal transmits NACK to the first TRP and ACK to the second TRP on the PUCCH. The base station which has received this and performs cooperative communication recognizes the PDSCH as ACK, based on PUCCH information received in the first TRP and information received in the second TRP, and updates the TCI state of the first TRP. If the selected resource index is “10”, the PDSCH indicates ACK, and the terminal transmits NACK to in the second TRP and ACK to the first TRP on the PUCCH. The base station which has received this and performs cooperative communication recognizes the PDSCH as ACK, based on PUCCH information received in the second TRP and information received in the first TRP, and updates the TCI state of the second TRP, see also para. 0248-0253, Also per para. 087-0189, during TCI state configuration via higher layer signaling, the DL TCI and the UL TCI corresponding to the joint TCI have the same reference RS antenna port, information of only one reference RS antenna port is included in DL TCI and UL TCI configuration information, and it is thus possible to reduce overhead according to the TCI configuration, clearly unified TCI states for the DL TCI and the UL TCI);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a transmitter that performs the repetition transmission of the PUCCH by using “different unified TCI states”, as taught by Ji, in the system of Akkarakaran, so as to provide a device and a method capable of efficiently providing a service in a mobile communication system, see Ji, paragraphs 0005-0010.
Although the combination Takeda and Ji disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not configured” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH);
The combination of Takeda and Ji however does not explicitly disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
LG however disclose a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see Section 2.3, Study the spatial relation for the PUCCH/SRS to follow a TCl-state/QCL of PDCCH/CSI-RS/SSB if spatial relation info of PUCCH/SRS is not configured in FR2. At least for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, a default spatial relation for dedicated PUCCH/SRS is applied
FFS: Detail on the default spatial relation: At least for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, the applied default spatial relation for the dedicated-PUCCH/SRS is down-selected from the followings in RAN1#98bis Alt. I: default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH (e.g. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESETID)
Alt.2: one of an active TCI state of CORESET
• FFS: details of which TCI state
Alt.3: TCI state of scheduling PDCCH for A-SRS/PU CCH, and default TCI state or QCL assumption of
PDSCH for other than A-SRS/PUCCH
Alt.4: CORESET#0 QCL assumption Alt.5: pathloss reference RS).
Examiner Note: Per instant specification, [0074] In Rel. 16 NR, at least one of an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of a PUCCH spatial relation and an MAC CE for activation/deactivation of an SRS spatial relation may not be used.[0075] A default spatial relation is studied as a spatial relation that the UE uses when a spatial relation cannot be used (for example, cannot be specified, is not designated, or is not activated) for UL transmission. Further, a default PL-RS is studied as a PL-RS used when a PL-RS cannot be used (the same as above) for UL transmission or when a default spatial relation is used. [0076] For example, in a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for a PUCCH is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUCCH. In a case where in FR2 neither a spatial relation nor a PL-RS for an SRS is configured or activated, default assumptions of the spatial relation and the PL-RS (a default spatial relation and a default PL-RS) are applied to the PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and the SRS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a processor that, when spatial relation information is “not activated” determines to use different unified Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for transmission occasions included in repetition transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), as taught by LG, in the system of Takeda and Ji, so that at least for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, a default spatial relation for dedicated PUCCH/SRS is applied, see LG, Section 2.1.
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 7 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Samsung (New WID: Further enhancements on MIMO for NR, RP-193133, 2019-12-12) – see Section 4, “1. Enhancement on multi-beam operation, mainly targeting FR2 while also applicable to FRl: a. Identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states: i. Common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL, especially for intra-band CA ii. Unified TCI framework for DL and UL beam indication 111. Enhancement on signaling mechanisms for the above features to improve latency and efficiency with more usage of dynamic control signaling (as opposed to RRC), b. Identify and specify features to facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, considering UL coverage loss mitigation due to MPE, based on UL beam indication with the unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection”.
Xu et al (US Pub. No.:2021/0144720) – see para. 0270-0274, 0286, “A wireless device (e.g., the wireless device 2408) may receive, from a base station (e.g., the base station 2404), one or more indications. The one or more indications may indicate a plurality of repetition transmission occasions and/or a plurality of TCI states. The wireless device 2408 may receive a MAC CE activating one of the plurality of TCI states. The wireless device may receive DCI comprising a PUCCH resource indicator. The wireless device may determine, based on the one of the plurality of TCI states, a first uplink spatial domain transmission filter for a first portion of the plurality of repetition transmission occasions. The wireless device may determine, based on a TCI state associated with the DCI, a second uplink spatial domain transmission filter for a second portion of the plurality of repetition transmission occasions. The wireless device may send/transmit a PUCCH transmission via the first portion using the first uplink spatial domain transmission filter. The wireless device may send/transmit the PUCCH transmission via the second portion using the second uplink spatial domain transmission filter. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be associated with one or more reference signals. The wireless device may determine, based on a spatial domain transmission filter used for a reception of the DCI, the second uplink spatial domain transmission filter for the second portion of the plurality of repetition transmission occasions”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469