DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s submission filed on April 27, 2026. Claims 5 and 15 were previously canceled. Claims 21 and 22 are new. Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 are pending and rejected.
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on April 27, 2026. The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-14, and 18-19. Claims 21 and 22 are new. Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments (Remarks) filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered, but are moot. Note that this action is made FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remainder of the arguments set forth by the applicant are not persuasive due to the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0120296 A1 to Kariathungal et al. (hereinafter, “Kariathungal”) in view of US 2012/0041791 A1 to Gervais et al. (hereinafter, “Gervais”) and in further view of US 2016/0307063 A1 to Bright et al. (hereinafter, “Bright”) and in further view of WO 2019/026081 A2 to Veidman et al. (hereinafter, “Veidman”).
Regarding claim 1, Kariathungal discloses: A method of maintaining databases of whole slide images (WSIs), comprising:
aggregating, by one or more processors, a plurality of digital pathology records from a plurality of data sources onto a database, each of the plurality of digital pathology records generated by a data source of the plurality of data sources in accordance with a format used by the data source (“The data import function 206 aggregates and cleanses de-identified patient data from multiple sites and then stores the data into a staging area 208. Data received from multiple PCP systems 108 is normalized, checked for validity and completeness. and either corrected or flagged as defective” [0032]; “The method further includes crawling one or more databases associated with one or more clinical information systems to identify relevant data based on the search query” [0014]),
each of the plurality of digital pathology records comprising (i) a and Patient data is sensitive and confidential, and therefore, specific identifying information must be removed prior to transporting it from a PCP site to a central data warehouse” [0009]; “Images and measurements are taken and sent to the CVIS server. The reading physician (e.g., an echocardiographer) sits down at a review station and pulls the patient's TTE study. The echocardiographer then begins to review the images and measurements and creates a complete medical report on the study” [0005]; “Even if clinical or image-related information is organized, current systems often organize data in a format determined by developers that is unusable by one or more medical practitioners in the field. Additionally, information may be stored in a format that does not lend itself to data retrieval and usage in other contexts. Thus, a need exists to structure data and instructions in a way that is easier to comprehend and utilize” [0008]; “Search capabilities may include searching images and/or locating similar images from search results” [0063] [Examiner notes that these texts show that biomedical images derived from samples are included in the digital pathology records of the patient. Also it shows how data stored within the record are associated with the image as well]).
receiving, by the one or more processors from a client device, a query comprising a selection criterion for retrieving digital pathology records from the database (“At step 820, a search query is formed from the one or more search terms. For example, the interface may combine terms in a format suitable for searching. At step 830, the search query is sent to the search engine for searching. For example, the interface routes the query to the search engine for searching” [FIG. 8, 0072]);
accessing, by the one or more processors, the database to identify a subset of digital pathology records from the plurality of digital pathology records using the selection criterion the query (“At step 840, term(s) of the search query are used to search a clinical database, such as an EMR database. A search crawler, for example, may search one or more clinical databases using the search query terms(s) in a free text search” [0073]);
for each digital pathology record of the subset (“Search results are then provided to the search index 640, which may keep a running track of search results” [0068]): and
providing, by the one or more processors to the client device (“At step 850, search results are formatted for output. For example, search results may be formatted for display via a web-based interface” [0074]),
the The formatter may de-identify patient and/or physician data from the search results, for example” [0013] [Examiner notes that after the query is performed (search query), the results that are de-identified digital pathology record that includes the biomedical image]).
Kariathungal does not explicitly disclose: identifying, by the one or more processors, a data source of the plurality of data sources that generated a first file corresponding to the digital pathology record; selecting, by the one or more processors, from a plurality of de-identification policies, a de-identification policy defining a modification to one or more bytes that corresponds to the metadata within the first file corresponding to the first file corresponding to the digital pathology record, (i) a first portion comprising the one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata identifying the subject and modifying, by the one or more processors, the one or more bytes in the first portion within the first file, in accordance with the selected de-identification policy and the format used by the data source to generate a second file corresponding to a de-identified digital pathology record; and the second file corresponding to the deidentified digital pathology record comprising the
However, Gervais discloses: identifying, by the one or more processors, a data source of the plurality of data sources that generated a first file corresponding to the digital pathology record (“The table defines a data source identifier 402, a name 404, a claim amount 406, a policy identifier 408, and a claim status 410” [0046]);
selecting, by the one or more processors, from a plurality of de-identification policies, a deidentification policy defining a modification to one or more bytes that corresponds to the metadata within the first file corresponding to According to still other embodiments, the data de-identification service will store information about the selected obfuscation methods and automatic replacement in connection with the original data. For example, the service might remember which fields contained personal information and which obfuscation methods were used for each of those fields” [0049] [Examiner notes that the methods of obfuscation and the policies to de-identify are inherently used for the same purpose and therefore are seen as equivalent]);
identifying, by the one or more processors, from the first file corresponding to the digital pathology record, (i) a first portion comprising the one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata identifying the subject (“In some embodiments, original data is received from a data store, and metadata data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data. The elements in the inventory may then be searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule. An obfuscation rule may be evaluated, and scripts may be automatically created. The scripts may, for example, be used during a database refresh process to replace the potential personal information in the original data with fictional data in accordance with (i) a result of said evaluation and (ii) an obfuscation method selected from a set of potential obfuscation methods” [0020]; “FIG. 7 illustrates another method according to some embodiments of the present invention. At 702, original data is received from a data store. Metadata data and/or summary data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data at 704, and elements in the inventory are searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule at 706. A character matching rule might be associated with, for example, a number of characters in a string or other data factors (e.g., a size, type, and/or length of data)” [0055] [Examiner notes that the metadata data associated with the data is seen as the portion comprising one or more bytes corresponding to metadata. This metadata identifies the subject as the search can be for personal information, so the metadata naturally includes subject-identifying data]) and
modifying, by the one or more processors, the one or more bytes in the first portion within the first file (“In some embodiments, original data is received from a data store, and metadata data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data. The elements in the inventory may then be searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule. An obfuscation rule may be evaluated, and scripts may be automatically created. The scripts may, for example, be used during a database refresh process to replace the potential personal information in the original data with fictional data in accordance with (i) a result of said evaluation and (ii) an obfuscation method selected from a set of potential obfuscation methods” [0020] [Examiner notes that potential personal information is the kind of data stored in metadata. Since it is replacing it with fictional data the original metadata is overwritten and the underlying bytes storing those values are changed. There is no way to replace data in a file without modifying the bytes that encode it]),
in accordance with the selected de-identification policy and the format used by the data source to generate a second file corresponding to a de-identified digital pathology record (“In this way, the server can later retrieve updated original data from the data source, and then automatically replace potential personal information in the updated original data with fictional data in accordance with the stored information about the selected obfuscation methods and automatic replacement (e.g., so that the replaced fields and the replacement techniques remain consistent when the data is updated” [0049] [Examiner notes that the policy and format here are in accordance with the data as it is in accordance with the stored information in order to stay consistent]; “In this case, a data de-identification service engine 1450 may retrieve information from both a first original data source 1420A and a second original data source 1420B. In some cases, the data de-identification service engine 1450 may retrieve primary information from the first original data source 1420A and supplemental information from the second original data source 1420B. Based on the retrieved information, the data de-identification service engine 1450 creates .clean. versions (without personal information) as a first data store 1422A and a second data store 14228” [0070]); and
the second file corresponding to the deidentified digital pathology record comprising the In some embodiments, original data is received from a data store, and metadata data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data. The elements in the inventory may then be searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule. An obfuscation rule may be evaluated, and scripts may be automatically created. The scripts may, for example, be used during a database refresh process to replace the potential personal information in the original data with fictional data in accordance with (i) a result of said evaluation and (ii) an obfuscation method selected from a set of potential obfuscation methods” [0020] [Examiner notes that potential personal information is the kind of data stored in metadata. Since it is replacing it with fictional data the original metadata is overwritten and the underlying bytes storing those values are changed. There is no way to replace data in a file without modifying the bytes that encode it]; “In this case, a data de-identification service engine 1450 may retrieve information from both a first original data source 1420A and a second original data source 1420B. In some cases, the data de-identification service engine 1450 may retrieve primary information from the first original data source 1420A and supplemental information from the second original data source 1420B. Based on the retrieved information, the data de-identification service engine 1450 creates .clean. versions (without personal information) as a first data store 1422A and a second data store 14228” [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the method of Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse with the added structure of Gervais’ data source specific de-identification warehouse in order to retrieve data in a similar format to the original records as Gervais suggests (“The test data store 122 might include similar information, formatted in a similar way, as the original data source 120 without including, for example, any actual PII or PHI values (or other types of information) that were included in the original data source 120” [0033]).
Kariathungal-Gervais do not explicitly disclose: (ii) one or more second portions comprising image data for the
However, Bright discloses: (ii) one or more second portions comprising image data for the Once the user has drawn the rectangle defining the redaction region, then the user can instruct the PMDD to perform the redaction(s) and display via a live preview GUI, a live preview screen such as is shown in FIG. 6, in order for the user to assess whether the change to the image removes all the sensitive data intended to be removed without removing an excessive amount of other information in the image” [FIG. 5-6, 0054]); “Once the user is happy with the results seen in the preview screen, the de-identifier containing the redaction rule based on the redaction region can be saved and used to de-identify study data, or the user may add one or more additional redaction rules specifying additional redaction regions to the de-identifier” [0054] [Examiner notes that after the query is performed (search query), the results that are de-identified digital pathology record that includes the biomedical image and the policy and format are in accordance with the data as it is in accordance with the stored information in order to stay consistent]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom redaction region with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, in order to in order to retrieve data in a similar format to the original records as Gervais suggests [0033]).
Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright do not disclose: each of the plurality of digital pathology records comprising (i) a WSI tissue sample obtained from one of a plurality of anatomical locations of a subject and (ii) metadata data identifying a the subject from which the tissue sample iscomprising a selection criterion identifying an anatomical location of the plurality of anatomical locations for retrieving digital pathology records from the database; accessing, by the one or more processors, the database to identify a subset of digital pathology records from the plurality of digital pathology records using the anatomical location identified by the selection criterion of the query; the second file corresponding to the deidentified digital pathology record comprising the biomedical image and the modified one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata data identifying the subject, in response to receiving the query the second file corresponding to the deidentified digital pathology record comprising the WSI WSI
However, Veidman discloses: each of the plurality of digital pathology records comprising (i) a WSI tissue sample obtained from one of a plurality of anatomical locations of a subject and (ii) metadata data identifying a the subject from which the tissue sample iscomprising a selection criterion identifying an anatomical location of the plurality of anatomical locations for retrieving digital pathology records from the database; accessing, by the one or more processors, the database to identify a subset of digital pathology records from the plurality of digital pathology records using the anatomical location identified by the selection criterion of the query; the second file corresponding to the deidentified digital pathology record comprising the biomedical image and the modified one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata data identifying the subject, in response to receiving the query the second file corresponding to the deidentified digital pathology record comprising the WSI WSI According to a first aspect, a computer implemented method of computing at least one slide-level tissue type for a tissue image of tissue extracted from a patient, comprises: receiving a tissue image of a slide including tissue extracted from the patient, segmenting tissue objects of the tissue image, creating a plurality of tissue image patches from the segmented tissue objects of the tissue image, classifying, by a patch-level classifier, each of the plurality of tissue image patches into at least one patch-level tissue type, wherein each of the classified tissue image patches is associated with a relative location within the tissue image, analyzing, by a slide-level analysis code, the classified at least one patch-level tissue type and associated relative location for each of the plurality of tissue image patches outputted by the patch-level classifier, for computing at least one slide-level tissue type for the tissue image, and providing the at least one slide-level tissue type” [page 1]; “The instances of the image analysis code may be selected from multiple available types of image analysis code. The selection may be performed manually by the user (e.g., via the GUI, for example, via a menu and/or icons of available image analysis code). The selection may be performed automatically by code that analyzes, for example, the tissue image, metadata of the image, and/or other patient data associated with the image such as procedure being performed (e.g., obtained from a PACS server, DICOM data, and/or electronic medical record)” [pages 26-27]);
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom metadata date pseudonyms with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, with Veidman’s analysis structure in order to incorporate a whole slide image of tissue data for analyzing.
Claim 11 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, in the form of a system for maintaining databases of biomedical images implementing the corresponding method, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11. Furthermore, Gervais discloses: identifying, by the one or more processors, for the first file corresponding to the the first portion comprising the one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata metadata The plurality of potential obfuscation methods might include, for example, a random assignment to de-identify information in the original data source (e.g., random characters might replace actual characters or a random name might be selected to replace an actual customer name). Other types of obfuscation methods might include concatenation, truncation (e.g., replacing an actual telephone number with .{555) 555-nnnn. where .n. represents the actual integers of the customer's telephone number” [Gervais 0045]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to combine the method of Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse with the added structure of Gervais’ data source specific de-identification warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, in order to protect personal information as Gervais suggests (“For example, Personally Identifiable Information (PII) and/or Personal Health Information (PHI) as defined in various US governmental regulations must be protected in accordance with specific sets of rules” [0003]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kariathungal and Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Gervais discloses: identifying, by the one or more processors, using pattern recognition, additional information to modify from the digital pathology record subsequent to modifying the metadata Metadata data and/or summary data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data at 704, and elements in the inventory are searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule at 706” [Gervais 0055]); and
modifying, by the one or more processors, the additional information in the digital pathology record to obtain the de-identified digital pathology record (“Moreover, the system, a user, or a system designer might define a way to recognize potential personal information and/or define how an obfuscation method should be selected” [Gervais FIG. 5, 0053]).
The reason for obviousness is stated above in claims 2/12.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11. Furthermore, Gervais discloses: identifying, by the one or more processors for a second digital pathology record of the subset, a third file containing second metadata and a fourth file containing a second In this case, a data de-identification service engine 1450 may retrieve information from both a first original data source 1420A and a second original data source 1420B. In some cases, the data de-identification service engine 1450 may retrieve primary information from the first original data source 1420A and supplemental information from the second original data source 1420B” [Gervais 0070] [Examiner notes that it has already been taught that the file could contain a biomedical image above]; “In some embodiments, original data is received from a data store, and metadata data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data. The elements in the inventory may then be searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule. An obfuscation rule may be evaluated, and scripts may be automatically created. The scripts may, for example, be used during a database refresh process to replace the potential personal information in the original data with fictional data in accordance with (i) a result of said evaluation and (ii) an obfuscation method selected from a set of potential obfuscation methods” [Gervais 0020] [Examiner notes that potential personal information is the kind of data stored in metadata. Since it is replacing it with fictional data the original metadata is overwritten and the underlying bytes storing those values are changed. There is no way to identify and replace data in a file without modifying the bytes that encode it]); and
modifying, by the one or more processors, the second metadata contained in the first file separate from the second file in accordance with the de-identification policy selected for the second digital pathology record (“Based on the retrieved information, the data de-identification service engine 1450 creates .clean. versions (without personal information) as a first data store 1422A and a second data store 14228” [Gervais 0070]; “In some embodiments, original data is received from a data store, and metadata data associated with the original data is analyzed to create an inventory of elements in the original data. The elements in the inventory may then be searched for potential personal information based on at least one character matching rule. An obfuscation rule may be evaluated, and scripts may be automatically created. The scripts may, for example, be used during a database refresh process to replace the potential personal information in the original data with fictional data in accordance with (i) a result of said evaluation and (ii) an obfuscation method selected from a set of potential obfuscation methods” [Gervais 0020] [Examiner notes that potential personal information is the kind of data stored in metadata. Since it is replacing it with fictional data the original metadata is overwritten and the underlying bytes storing those values are changed. There is no way to identify and replace data in a file without modifying the bytes that encode it]).
The reason for obviousness is stated above in claim 1.
Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright do not disclose: WSI
However, Veidman discloses: WSI According to a first aspect, a computer implemented method of computing at least one slide-level tissue type for a tissue image of tissue extracted from a patient, comprises: receiving a tissue image of a slide including tissue extracted from the patient, segmenting tissue objects of the tissue image, creating a plurality of tissue image patches from the segmented tissue objects of the tissue image, classifying, by a patch-level classifier, each of the plurality of tissue image patches into at least one patch-level tissue type, wherein each of the classified tissue image patches is associated with a relative location within the tissue image, analyzing, by a slide-level analysis code, the classified at least one patch-level tissue type and associated relative location for each of the plurality of tissue image patches outputted by the patch-level classifier, for computing at least one slide-level tissue type for the tissue image, and providing the at least one slide-level tissue type” [page 1]; “The instances of the image analysis code may be selected from multiple available types of image analysis code. The selection may be performed manually by the user (e.g., via the GUI, for example, via a menu and/or icons of available image analysis code). The selection may be performed automatically by code that analyzes, for example, the tissue image, metadata of the image, and/or other patient data associated with the image such as procedure being performed (e.g., obtained from a PACS server, DICOM data, and/or electronic medical record)” [pages 26-27]);
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom metadata date pseudonyms with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, with Veidman’s analysis structure in order to incorporate a whole slide image of tissue data for analyzing.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11. Furthermore, a combination of Kariathungal-Gervais disclose: aggregating a plurality of location identifiers from the plurality of data sources, the plurality of location identifiers identifying the metadata In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the following identifiers are removed or transformed in order to create de-identified data that would be classified under the HIPAA definition as fully de-identified data… unified resource locator (URL)” [Kariathungal 0036] [Examiner notes that in applicant’s specification (paragraph 0042), a URL is seen as an example of a location identifier in order to identify the biomedical medical and/or file of the data source present]), and
wherein accessing the database further comprises retrieving the subset of digital pathology records from one or more of the plurality of data sources using a subset of location identifiers corresponding to the subset of digital pathology records (“For example, when the original data is associated with a spreadsheet or database (e.g., a multidimensional hypercube of business information), the automatic search performed at 304 might be based on schema information, table information, metadata, and/or summary data” [Gervais 0044]).
The reason for obviousness is stated above in claim 1.
Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright do not disclose: WSI
However, Veidman discloses: WSI According to a first aspect, a computer implemented method of computing at least one slide-level tissue type for a tissue image of tissue extracted from a patient, comprises: receiving a tissue image of a slide including tissue extracted from the patient, segmenting tissue objects of the tissue image, creating a plurality of tissue image patches from the segmented tissue objects of the tissue image, classifying, by a patch-level classifier, each of the plurality of tissue image patches into at least one patch-level tissue type, wherein each of the classified tissue image patches is associated with a relative location within the tissue image, analyzing, by a slide-level analysis code, the classified at least one patch-level tissue type and associated relative location for each of the plurality of tissue image patches outputted by the patch-level classifier, for computing at least one slide-level tissue type for the tissue image, and providing the at least one slide-level tissue type” [page 1]; “The instances of the image analysis code may be selected from multiple available types of image analysis code. The selection may be performed manually by the user (e.g., via the GUI, for example, via a menu and/or icons of available image analysis code). The selection may be performed automatically by code that analyzes, for example, the tissue image, metadata of the image, and/or other patient data associated with the image such as procedure being performed (e.g., obtained from a PACS server, DICOM data, and/or electronic medical record)” [pages 26-27]);
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom metadata date pseudonyms with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, with Veidman’s analysis structure in order to incorporate a whole slide image of tissue data for analyzing.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11. Furthermore, Kariathungal discloses: accessing the database to identify the subset of digital pathology records from the plurality of digital pathology records, each of the subset of digital pathology records having an indication of permission for use (“For instance, an administrator may have access to the entire system and have authority to modify portions of the system and a PCP staff member may only have access to view a subset of the data warehouse records for particular patients” [Kariathungal 0029]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11. Furthermore, Gervais discloses: maintaining the plurality of digital pathology records retrieved from the plurality of data sources, without removal of the metadata Note that it might be beneficial for the enterprise to allow access to information in the original data store 120, including personal information, even when the information is not needed to process a transaction with a customer” [Gervais 0032]).
The reason for obviousness is stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Gervais discloses: aggregating the plurality of digital pathology records, each of the plurality of digital pathology records identifying a part description, an image identifier, and a descriptor (“Note that automatic search for potential personal information may utilize any type of information within, or about, the data source. For example, when the original data is associated with a spreadsheet or database (e.g., a multidimensional hypercube of business information), the automatic search performed at 304 might be based on schema information, table information, metadata, and/or summary data” [Gervais 0044]).
Kariathungal-Gervais do not explicitly disclose: aggregating the plurality of digital pathology records, each of the plurality of digital pathology records identifying the data identifying a date at which the tissue sample from the subject is acquired, a part description, an image identifier, and a descriptor.
However, Bright discloses: aggregating the plurality of digital pathology records, each of the plurality of digital pathology records identifying the data identifying a date at which the tissue of the sample from the subject is acquired, a part description, an image identifier, and a descriptor (“The pseudonym value for a metadata element that is a date or time associated with the production of the DICOM image may be a different date or time that is offset from the value of the metadata element by an offset value, where the de-identification program generates pseudonym values for all metadata element values that are dates or times associated with the production of the DICOM image by adding the same offset value to the metadata element values” [Bright 0022]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom metadata date pseudonyms with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, in order to in order to allow for consistent pseudonym values between documents with the same patient as Bright suggests (“The values of the metadata element specified by the substitution rule may be indexed in the pseudonym memory by DICOM patient ID, and a stored pseudonym value may then be considered to be suitable if it has previously been used to replace the value of the metadata element in a DICOM file associated with the same patient ID” [0020]).
Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright do not disclose: WSI
However, Veidman discloses: WSI According to a first aspect, a computer implemented method of computing at least one slide-level tissue type for a tissue image of tissue extracted from a patient, comprises: receiving a tissue image of a slide including tissue extracted from the patient, segmenting tissue objects of the tissue image, creating a plurality of tissue image patches from the segmented tissue objects of the tissue image, classifying, by a patch-level classifier, each of the plurality of tissue image patches into at least one patch-level tissue type, wherein each of the classified tissue image patches is associated with a relative location within the tissue image, analyzing, by a slide-level analysis code, the classified at least one patch-level tissue type and associated relative location for each of the plurality of tissue image patches outputted by the patch-level classifier, for computing at least one slide-level tissue type for the tissue image, and providing the at least one slide-level tissue type” [page 1]; “The instances of the image analysis code may be selected from multiple available types of image analysis code. The selection may be performed manually by the user (e.g., via the GUI, for example, via a menu and/or icons of available image analysis code). The selection may be performed automatically by code that analyzes, for example, the tissue image, metadata of the image, and/or other patient data associated with the image such as procedure being performed (e.g., obtained from a PACS server, DICOM data, and/or electronic medical record)” [pages 26-27]);
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom metadata date pseudonyms with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, with Veidman’s analysis structure in order to incorporate a whole slide image of tissue data for analyzing.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11.
Furthermore, Gervais discloses: storing, by the one or more processors, for each digital pathology record of the subject, the de-identified digital pathology record onto the database to replace the corresponding digital pathology record of the subject (“According to other embodiments, the data de-identification service engine 150 might instead re-write .scrubbed. data back into the original data source 120 and/or use a copy of the original data source 120 and/or the test data store 122” [Gervais 0033]).
The reason for obviousness is stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright disclose all limitations of claims 1/11.
Kariathungal-Gervais-Bright do not disclose: wherein identifying the first portion further comprises identifying, within a plurality of bytes of the first file corresponding the WSI of the digital pathology record, the one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata in the first portion of the first file.
However, Veidman discloses: wherein identifying the first portion further comprises identifying, within a plurality of bytes of the first file corresponding the WSI of the digital pathology record, the one or more bytes corresponding to the metadata in the first portion of the first file (“The instances of the image analysis code may be selected from multiple available types of image analysis code. The selection may be performed manually by the user (e.g., via the GUI, for example, via a menu and/or icons of available image analysis code). The selection may be performed automatically by code that analyzes, for example, the tissue image, metadata of the image, and/or other patient data associated with the image such as procedure being performed (e.g., obtained from a PACS server, DICOM data, and/or electronic medical record)” [pages 26-27] [Examiner notes that this text teaches automatically analyzing metadata associated with the image. A POSITA would have understood that before metadata can be analyzed, it must first be located and read from the digital image file. Since the image file is composed of bytes, locating the metadata would have involved identifying the bytes corresponding to the metadata as a routine file-parsing operation]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to integrate Bright’s dicom metadata date pseudonyms with Kariathungal’s medical data warehouse, modified by Gervais’ data source specific de-identification, with Veidman’s analysis structure in order to parse the file efficiently.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
be directed to SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU whose telephone number is (703)756-1761. The
examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 6:30pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA)
or 571-272-1000.
/SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU/Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408