DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 12/22/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Takagi does not disclose or suggest monitoring a traveling cable to determine approach of the traveling cable to an elevator car. Therefore, it is believed that Takagi does not disclose or suggest the amended features of Claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Takagi discloses that each counterweight attaches to corresponding car via a traveling cable (item 5) and the position of the weight 2 and the cable are detected accordingly [0041]
Takagi describes an elevator system in which each elevator car has its own
hoistway (Takagi, Fig. 1). Thus, the principle of operation of the system in Takagi relies on the particular configuration of its elevators, namely that each has its own hoistway. Kugiya is asserted to describe an elevator system in which the elevator cars share a same hoistway. Thus, combining Takagi with Kugiya would result in a change of principle of operation of Takagi since the combination requires Takagi to monitor elevator cars that share a hoistway which is different from the original operation of the system in Takagi, which monitors elevators that each has their own hoistway. Such a change in principle of operation cannot form the basis of a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 (MPEP 2143).
The examiner respectfully disagrees there is nothing in Takagi’s teaching which teaches away from vertical stacking and POSITA would have recognized interchangeable layouts to share the same hoistway which enhances simple installation of the elevators. As such, modifying shaft arrangement would have been a predictable varaiation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAGI JPH11199151A (Part of IDS) in a view of Kugiya et al. US 9,394,139 B2.
Regarding claim 5, TAKAGI discloses
An elevator safety monitoring device (Items 9 and 12-14) comprising processing circuitry judge whether movable bodies (Item 2) of an elevator system (Fig. 1) approaches a first car (item 1) or a second car (item 1) (there are multiple item 1) when a maintenance person is riding on a riding portion on one of the first car and the second car in the elevator system to perform safety control for the elevator system so as to secure safety of the maintenance person when the processing circuitry judges that at least one of the movable bodies approaches one of the first car and the second car, wherein the movable bodies include counterweights respectively corresponding to the first car and the second car and a traveling cable [0035, 0041, 0055, 0056] (fig. 1 clearly shows multiple counterweights (item 2). Each counterweight attaches to corresponding car via a traveling cable (item 5) and the position of the weight 2 and the cable are detected accordingly).
TAKAGI does not explicitly say but Kugiya discloses in which the first car (Fig. 1, item 2) and the second car (Item 4) run while being aligned in a vertical direction (Column 3, lines 35-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to run both the cars while aligning in a vertical direction as taught by Kugiya in TAKAGI’s teaching so that both the cars share the same hoistway which enhances simple installation of the elevators.
Regarding claim 6, TAKAGI discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to judge whether a maintenance person is riding on the riding portion on one of the first car and the second car, and wherein in a case where the processing circuitry judges that no maintenance person is riding on the riding portion on one of the first car and the second car, the processing circuitry is configured not to perform the safety control for the elevator system [0055] (It should be noted that a detection signal is only detecting when the worker is performing maintenance work).
Regarding claim 7, TAKAGI discloses
as the safety control, the processing circuitry is configured to cause a notification device provided to the riding portion on at least one of the first car and the second car to notify approach of at least one of the movable bodies [0055, 0056].
Regarding claim 8, TAKAGI discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to judge whether at least one of the movable bodies approaches one of the first car and the second car based on whether a distance between one of the first car and the second car and the at least one of movable bodies, which is represented based on travel of the elevator system, a position of the first car, a position of the second car, and heights of the counterweights, is shorter than an approach judgment reference [0055, 0056].
Regarding claim 9, TAKAGI discloses
wherein as the safety control, the processing circuitry is configured to cause at least one of the first car and the second car to temporarily stop or to temporarily decelerate [0053].
Regarding claim 10, Kugiya discloses wherein as the safety control, the processing circuitry is configured to cause one of the first car and the second car to temporarily stop or to temporarily decelerate and causes another of the first car and the second car to maintain a normal operation (Column 5, lines 14-29. It should be noted that only the trailing car is stopped. The movement of a leading car to be continued).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to o cause one of the first car and the second car to temporarily stop or to temporarily decelerate and causes another of the first car and the second car to maintain a normal operation as taught by Kugiya in TAKAGI’s teaching to provide a multi-car elevator that can stop a trailing car so as to ensure a safe distance from a leading car more reliably when the leading car
stops suddenly. (See column 1, lines 43-47)
Regarding claim 11, TAKAGI discloses
wherein as the safety control, the processing circuitry is configured to cause another of the first car and the second car to maintain a decelerated operation [0053].
Regarding claim 12, TAKAGI and Kugiya discloses wherein the first elevator car and the second elevator car share a same hoistway (Kugiya’s column 3, lines 35-53).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896