DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 22nd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 26, 28-38, and 40-45 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 28-38, 40-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gert Gutjahr (US 4,000,560 – hereinafter Gutjahr) in view of Herbert Page (US 2,526,153 – hereinafter Page) and Jean Schwab (US 2,395,296 – hereinafter Schwab).
Regarding claim 26, Gutjahr discloses a head element (2) (Col 1, Ln 65; as
illustrated in Fig 1) of a shaving apparatus (Col 1, Ln 62), said head element comprises
a cutter (11) (Col 2, Ln 9; as illustrated in Fig 2), said cutter comprises:
a cylindrical screen (5) (Col 2, Ln 1-2; as illustrated in Fig 1) comprising a plurality of openings (6) (Col 2, Ln 2; as illustrated in Fig 1), an outer surface and an inner surface defining an inner cavity (as illustrated in Fig 1);
a cutting component (11) comprising one or more cutting elements (12) (Col 2, Ln 16; as illustrated in Fig 2), the cutting component positioned adjacent to the inner surface of the cylindrical screen configured to cut hairs that pass through the plurality openings in the screen (Col 2, Ln 42-46; as illustrated in Fig 1); and an inner cradle (16) (Col 2, Ln 28; as illustrated in Fig 1) positioned within the inner cavity, said inner cradle comprising a concave or channel-shaped structure configured to collect cut hair and temporarily retain cut hair during operation (Col 2, Ln 42- 49; as illustrated in Fig 1).
Gutjahr is silent to two end elements comprising one or more apertures on a face of the end elements, said end elements are positioned perpendicularly to the cylindrical screen, at each end thereof.
Page teaches a head element of a shaving apparatus (as illustrated in Fig 6). Page further teaches two end elements (32) comprising one or more apertures (30) on a face of the end elements, said end elements are positioned perpendicularly to the cylindrical screen, at each end thereof (as illustrated in Fig 6). Page further teaches the purpose of the end elements in that they supply structure and support to the cylindrical screen (Col 2, Ln 54-55 and Col 3, Ln 1).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as disclosed by Gutjahr, to include two end elements comprising one or more apertures on a face of the end elements, said end elements are positioned perpendicularly to the cylindrical screen, at each end thereof, as taught by Page, in order to supply structure and support to the cylindrical screen.
Schwab teaches a head element (4) (Col 1, Ln 47; as illustrated in Fig 1) of a shaving apparatus (Col 1, Ln 42; as illustrated in Fig 1). Schwab further teaches end elements (5) (Col 2, Ln 1-2; as illustrated in Fig 2) wherein the end elements are in the form of a wheel (Col 1, Ln 47; as illustrated in Fig.s 3/4) comprising one or more apertures (Fig. 3, apertures through the center of 5), whereby the one or more apertures are positioned and dimensioned to receive cut hair from the cradle (Fig. 3, area inside of 4 for holding hair) and to permit its passage from the inner cavity of the cylindrical screen to outside of the inner cavity (Fig. 3, the hair can be released from the inner cavity via the apertures in 5 when the flap covers 11 are open).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Page, to include end elements wherein the end elements are in the form of a wheel comprising one or more apertures, whereby the one or more apertures allow the movement or clearance of the cut hair from the cradle in the inner cavity of the cylindrical screen outside of the inner cavity, as taught by Schwab, in order to trap hair between the cooperating rotating head element and cylindrical screen and act together to cut the trapped hair.
Regarding Claim 28, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the end elements are substantially round (as illustrated in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 29, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the end elements are essentially similar thereto, in size, shape and/or composition (as illustrated in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 30, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Also as stated above, although Gutjahr is silent to apertures as claimed, Schwab further teaches end elements (5) (Col 2, Ln 1-2; as illustrated in Fig 2) wherein the end elements are in the form of a wheel (Col 1, Ln 47; as illustrated in Fig.s 3/4) comprising one or more apertures (Fig. 3, apertures through the center of 5).
Regarding Claim 31, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr is silent to the cylindrical screen is rotatable around a rotational axis. Schwab teaches the cylindrical screen is rotatable around a rotational axis (Col 1, Ln 52-53).
Gutjahr further discloses the cylindrical screen comprises a metal foil screen (Col 2, Ln 1), however Gutjahr is not explicit to aluminum, however aluminum is known to be resistant to corrosion and easily formable, as would be recognized by a skilled Artisan. Both attributes would suggest the use of aluminum as a metal to produce the foil from.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab, to include an aluminum foil screen, in order to make use of metal foil resistant to corrosion and easily formable for producing the desired shape required for the head element.
Regarding Claim 32, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the openings of the cylindrical screen are cutting edge openings (Col 2, Ln 42-46).
Regarding Claim 33, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr is silent to the cutter comprises a gap between the end elements and the cutting component. Schwab teaches the cutter comprises a gap between the end elements and the cutting component (as illustrated in Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 34, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the cutting component comprises a curved cutting foil (Col 2, Ln 1, Col 2, Ln 42-46; as illustrated in Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 35, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the cylindrical screen comprises a metal foil screen (Col 2, Ln 1 ), however Gutjahr is not explicit to aluminum, however aluminum is known to be resistant to corrosion and easily formable, as would be recognized by a skilled Artisan. Both attributes would suggest the use of aluminum as a metal to produce the foil from.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Page, to include an aluminum foil screen, in order to make use of metal foil resistant to corrosion and easily formable for producing the desired shape required for the head element.
Regarding Claim 36, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the cutting component comprises an array of semi-round slice cutter elements having a space therebetween (as illustrated in Fig.s 1/2) and wherein the cutting component is configured to oscillate along a linear axis to facilitate cutting of the hairs by the cutting elements (Abstract, Ln 4).
Regarding Claim 37, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr is not explicit to the cradle is rigid or semi rigid, however, as illustrated in Fig.s 1/2, the cradle supports the movable cutting component, and if it were not rigid, the function of the apparatus would not be expected to perform desirably.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Page, to include the cradle is rigid or semi rigid, in order to adequately support the movable cutting component.
Regarding Claim 38, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr is not explicit to the material of the cradle, however the handle is made from plastic (Col 1, Ln 64) and the foil is made from metal (Col 2, Ln 1 ), therefore both materials are in use in the apparatus and are available for use for construction of the cradle. No disclosure of Gutjahr prevents the use of either material for construction of the cradle.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Page, to include the cradle is made of plastic, metal, in order to provide a durable construction.
Regarding Claim 40, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the apparatus further comprising a mount (8), (10), wherein the cutter is configured to be mounted or placed onto said mount (as illustrated in Fig 1) and wherein the mount comprises one or more collection chamber openings (16) (as illustrated in Fig 1) configured to receive cut hair from the ends of the inner cradle (Col 2, Ln 42-46).
Regarding Claim 41, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr is not explicit to the cutter is disposable, however, as illustrated in Fig 2, the cutter is removable and therefore disposable.
Regarding Claim 42, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses a shaving apparatus comprising: a handle portion (Fig. 1, Body 1) and the head element according to claim 26.
Regarding Claim 43, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr further discloses the head element is configured to be reversibly mounted on the handle (as illustrated by Fig.s 1/2). Examiner notes the coupling element (8) and base(10) appear to be symmetrical and detachable, which Examiner has interpreted to illustrate the head element is configured to be reversibly mounted on the handle.
Regarding Claim 44, combined Gutjahr/Page/Schwab teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Gutjahr is not explicit to the head element is disposable, however, as illustrated in Fig 2, the head element is removable and therefore disposable.
Regarding Claim 45, combined Gutjahr/Page teaches a method of shaving a skin surface (Col 2, Ln 42-46). Gutjahr is not explicit to the method comprising: pressing a head element of a shaving apparatus onto a skin surface.
Schwab teaches a method of shaving a skin surface, the method comprising:
pressing a head element of a shaving apparatus onto a skin surface (Col 2, Ln 36-40).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as disclosed by Gutjahr, to include pressing a head element of a shaving apparatus onto a skin surf ace, as taught by Schwab, in order to cleanly remove hair from the skin surface.
Gutjahr further discloses said head element (2) (Col 1, Ln 65; as illustrated in Fig 1) comprises a cutter (11) (Col 2, Ln 9; as illustrated in Fig 2), said cutter comprises:
a cylindrical screen (5) (Col 2, Ln 1-2; as illustrated in Fig 1) comprising a plurality of openings (6) (Col 2, Ln 2; as illustrated in Fig 1), an outer surface and an inner surface defining an inner cavity (as illustrated in Fig 1);
a cutting component (11) comprising one or more cutting elements (12) (Col 2, Ln 16; as illustrated in Fig 2), the cutting component positioned adjacent to the inner surf ace of the cylindrical screen cutting hairs that pass through the openings in the screen by the cutting component (Col 2, Ln 42-46; as illustrated in Fig 1 ); and
an inner cradle (16) (Col 2, Ln 28; as illustrated in Fig 1) positioned within the inner cavity and facing an inner surface of the cutting component, said inner cradle comprising a concave or channel-shaped structure configured to collect cut hair and temporarily retain cut hair during operation (Col 2, Ln 42- 49; as illustrated in Fig 1).
Gutjahr is silent two end elements comprising one or more apertures on a face of the end elements, said end elements are positioned perpendicularly to the cylindrical screen, at each end thereof.
As stated above, Page teaches a head element of a shaving apparatus (as illustrated in Fig 6). Page further teaches two end elements (32) comprising one or more apertures (30) on a face of the end elements, said end elements are positioned perpendicularly to the cylindrical screen, at each end thereof (as illustrated in Fig 6). Page further teaches the purpose of the end elements in that they supply structure and support to the cylindrical screen (Col 2, Ln 54-55 and Col 3, Ln 1).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Schwab, to include two end elements comprising one or more apertures on a face of the end elements, said end elements are positioned perpendicularly to the cylindrical screen, at each end thereof, as taught by Page, in order to supply structure and support to the cylindrical screen.
Schwab further teaches end elements (5) (Col 2, Ln 1-2; as illustrated in Fig 2) wherein the end elements are in the form of a wheel (Col 1, Ln 47; as illustrated in Fig.s 3/4) comprising one or more apertures (Fig. 3, apertures through the center of 5), whereby the one or more apertures are positioned and dimensioned to receive cut hair from the cradle (Fig. 3, area inside of 4 for holding hair) and to permit its passage from the inner cavity of the cylindrical screen to outside of the inner cavity (Fig. 3, the hair can be released from the inner cavity via the apertures in 5 when the flap covers 11 are open).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head element of a shaving apparatus, as taught by combined Gutjahr/Schwab/Page, to include end elements wherein the end elements are in the form of a wheel comprising one or more apertures, whereby the one or more apertures allow the movement or clearance of the cut hair from the cradle in the inner cavity of the cylindrical screen outside of the inner cavity, as taught by Schwab, in order to trap hair between the cooperating rotating head element and cylindrical screen and act together to cut the trapped hair.
Finally, as the Gutjahr/Schwab/Page combination is used to cut hair, and has the structure as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that in use the combination would cut hairs that pass through the openings in the screen with the cutting component and collect the hairs in said inner cradle (examiner notes that the optional limitation, by definition, is not required by the claim, so there need not being any teaching that the hair is moved/cleared from the cradle to a collection chamber).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 26 and 45, applicant argues that Gutjahr does not teach the cradle within the inner cavity of a cylindrical screen, or that the cradle is concave or channel-shaped and configured to temporarily store cut hair during operation. However, Gutjahr is shown in the rejection of claim 26 above to teach a cradle (16) which is channel-shaped and located within the inner cavity of a cylindrical screen (5, located within the cavity which is under and defined by 5), and which temporarily stores hair during operation (Col 2, Ln 42-49).
The rejection of claim 26 has been updated to reflect the amendments and a new item of Schwab is used to teach the cradle as well as the apertures, and as seen in the rejection of claim 26 above the apertures can receive cut hair from the cradle and permit their passage outside of the inner cavity, thus showing the unique flow path mentioned in applicant’s arguments. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, in order to trap hair between the cooperating rotating head element and cylindrical screen and act together to cut the trapped hair.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLA L KEENA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724