DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 17/911,244 filed on 08/07/2025
Claims 13 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 13 – 17 and 20 have been amended.
This action is made NON-FINAL
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN109334378A), further in view of Lakshmanan et al. (US 20190050729 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising: (Yang: Page 1, lines 16 – 18: “The invention belongs to vehicle suspension system control fields, especially for the vehicle ISD of the used container technique of application (Inerter-Spring-Damper) suspension system controls.”; Page 1, lines 22 – 23: “Vehicle suspension refers to the general name of all force transmission connections between vehicle body and wheel,”,
Supplemental Note: the damper is equivalent to the vehicle suspension system)
a controller which includes: (Yang: Page 1, lines 46 – 48: “Based on the above reasons, the present invention provides a vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control, which can be used to perform dynamic analysis on multiple components of a vehicle ISD suspension system”)
a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and (Yang: Page 3, lines 6 – 14: “Further, the learning flow of the learning algorithm of step 4) is: 4.1) determining an initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating an error between an actual output and a desired output at a current time; 4.3) if the error is less than The fixed value ends, otherwise it continues; 4.4) the weight coefficient is updated by the learning rule; 4.5) returns to step 4.2). The invention has the beneficial effects that the single neuron PID controller of the suspension system is designed based on the single neuron theory, and the multi-objective genetic algorithm is used to optimize the control parameters, and the suspension control parameters can be actively adjusted according to different inputs of the random road surface.”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller and its components are used to perform the calculation process that is connected to the suspension system)
a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, (Yang: Page 3, lines 44 – 45: “1 is a flow chart of a method for actively controlling a vehicle ISD suspension based on a single neuron PID control, and FIG. 2 is a suspension structure in the method example”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller is part of the suspension structure that is able to apply the target amount onto the suspension structure)
wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure …, wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and (Yang: Page 3, lines 51 – 54: “Referring to FIG. 1, the vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control of the present invention comprises: step 1): establishing a suspension system model; step 2): determining road surface input and suspension basic parameters; step 3): Determine the performance evaluation indicator; Step 4): Determine the single neuron PID controller.”; Page 5, lines 11 – 14: “Wherein, the learning flow of the learning algorithm is: 4.1) determining the initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating the error between the actual output and the expected output at the current time; 4.3) if the error is less than the given value, then ending, otherwise Continue; 4.4) update the weight coefficient by learning the rule; 4.5) return to step 4.2).”; Page 2, line 22 – Page 3, line 4: “Step 4), determine the neuron learning rules as supervised Delta learning rules:
Where rj(k) is the expected output, 𝛗j(k) is the activation value of neuron, 𝛗i(k) is the difference between the expected output rj(k) and the actual output 𝛗j(k), and wij(k) is the weight coefficient between the two neurons. The amount of change, d is the learning speed; Then determine the specific learning algorithm according to the determined learning rules:
Where e(k) is the acceleration error signal, xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the corresponding neuron input xi(k) The weighting system, di(i=1,2,3) is the learning speed of wi(i=1,2,3), K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output of the single neuron PID control. signal; The control flow of the single neuron PID control is: taking the desired vehicle body acceleration r(k) as the input signal, the body acceleration as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) as the acceleration error signal, ie e(k)=r(k) )-y(k), xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) are the input signals of the neurons obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the weight of the input xi(k) of the corresponding neuron. The coefficient is adjusted online by the determined learning rule and the learning algorithm, and u(k) is an output signal of the single neuron PID control for controlling the output force of the linear motor.”,
Supplemental Note: the weight coefficient is acquired by a learning algorithm which is equivalent to deep learning. Pairs of the actual and expected output are used to find the weight coefficient. The steps involve in acquiring the current vehicle state and the road conditions data to be used for evaluation. Furthermore, multiple neurons are used for these calculations, thus interpreted as a multilayer structure by one with knowledge in the art)
an instruction value acquisition portion configured in such a manner that the specific weight coefficient is set thereto, the instruction value acquisition portion being configured to make the calculation that uses the neural network for learning, and wherein the weight coefficient acquisition portion includes a first map indicating a relationship between the predetermined condition output from a mode switch and a gain scheduling parameter, and a second map indicating a relationship between the weight coefficient and the gain scheduling parameter. (Yang: Page 3, lines 16 – 26: “The schematic diagram of the single neuron PID controller is shown in Figure 4. The expected vehicle acceleration r(k) is used as the input signal, the body acceleration is used as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) is the acceleration error signal, ie e(k). =r(k)-y(k), xi(k)(i=1,2,3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the input of the corresponding neuron xi(k) The weight coefficient is adjusted online by a certain learning rule to realize the dynamic control effect of the single neuron PID controller, K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output signal of the single neuron PID control, which is a straight line. The output force of the motor, the linear motor output force u(k) will change with the change of the road surface input, and the purpose of adjusting the electrical impedance will be changed. The total impedance of the liquid-electric coupling type inertial container will also change with the change of the electrical impedance. When the total impedance matches the input impedance, the performance of the ISD suspension is greatly improved.”; Page 6, lines 10 – 13: “As shown in FIG. 5, it is a comparison diagram between the active controllable ISD performance of the vehicle and the performance of the conventional passive suspension according to the embodiment of the present invention, wherein (a) is the time domain map of the vehicle body acceleration, and (b) is the dynamic deflection of the suspension. The domain map, (c) is the time domain map of the tire dynamic load”,
Supplemental Note: the acceleration of the vehicle and the neuron gain coefficient (equivalent to the gain scheduling parameter) is used by the formula in conjunction with the weight coefficients to calculate the specific weight coefficient needed. These relate to the first and second map as the predetermined conditions regarding the acceleration and the road surface along with the neuron gain coefficient and the weight coefficients are all used in conjunction to find the specific weight coefficient needed)
In sum, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising a controller which includes: a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure, wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and an instruction value acquisition portion configured in such a manner that the specific weight coefficient is set thereto, the instruction value acquisition portion being configured to make the calculation that uses the neural network for learning, and wherein the weight coefficient acquisition portion includes a first map indicating a relationship between the predetermined condition output from a mode switch and a gain scheduling parameter, and a second map indicating a relationship between the weight coefficient and the gain scheduling parameter. Yang however does not teach the multilayer structure having four or more layers whereas Lakshmanan does.
Lakshmanan teaches including four or more layers, (Lakshmanan: Abstract: “Methods and apparatus relating to deep learning solutions for safe, legal, and/or efficient autonomous driving are described.”; Paragraph 0011: “FIG. 10A-10B illustrate layers of exemplary deep neural networks.”; Paragraph 0069: “The exemplary neural networks described above can be used to perform deep learning. Deep learning is machine learning using deep neural networks. The deep neural networks used in deep learning are artificial neural networks composed of multiple hidden layers, as opposed to shallow neural networks that include only a single hidden layer. Deeper neural networks are generally more computationally intensive to train. However, the additional hidden layers of the network enable multistep pattern recognition that results in reduced output error relative to shallow machine learning techniques.”; Paragraph 0070: “Deep neural networks used in deep learning typically include a front-end network to perform feature recognition coupled to a back-end network which represents a mathematical model that can perform operations (e.g., object classification, speech recognition, etc.) based on the feature representation provided to the model. Deep learning enables machine learning to be performed without requiring hand crafted feature engineering to be performed for the model. Instead, deep neural networks can learn features based on statistical structure or correlation within the input data. The learned features can be provided to a mathematical model that can map detected features to an output. The mathematical model used by the network is generally specialized for the specific task to be performed, and different models will be used to perform different task.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yang with the teachings of Lakshmanan with a reasonable expectation of success. Lakshmanan teaches the ability of an autonomous vehicle to utilize deep learning for safe and efficient autonomous driving. The deep learning technique utilizes multiple layers which increase multistep pattern recognition resulting in fewer errors. Yang teaches the ability of utilizing a neural network to control the suspension of the vehicle by dynamically evaluating different vehicle parameters using neurons. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the deep learning multilayer structure of Lakshmanan with the vehicle system of Yang. This combination allows Yang to increase the efficiency and decrease the rate of errors when evaluating different vehicle parameters by the use of the multistep pattern recognition as taught by Lakshmanan. This increases the performance of the PID controllers in determining an electrical impedance to apply based on the vehicle parameters evaluated by the multilayer structure, which in-turn improves the ISD suspension system.
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising: (Yang: Page 1, lines 16 – 18: “The invention belongs to vehicle suspension system control fields, especially for the vehicle ISD of the used container technique of application (Inerter-Spring-Damper) suspension system controls.”; Page 1, lines 22 – 23: “Vehicle suspension refers to the general name of all force transmission connections between vehicle body and wheel,”,
Supplemental Note: the damper is equivalent to the vehicle suspension system)
a controller which includes: (Yang: Page 1, lines 46 – 48: “Based on the above reasons, the present invention provides a vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control, which can be used to perform dynamic analysis on multiple components of a vehicle ISD suspension system”)
a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and (Yang: Page 3, lines 6 – 14: “Further, the learning flow of the learning algorithm of step 4) is: 4.1) determining an initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating an error between an actual output and a desired output at a current time; 4.3) if the error is less than The fixed value ends, otherwise it continues; 4.4) the weight coefficient is updated by the learning rule; 4.5) returns to step 4.2). The invention has the beneficial effects that the single neuron PID controller of the suspension system is designed based on the single neuron theory, and the multi-objective genetic algorithm is used to optimize the control parameters, and the suspension control parameters can be actively adjusted according to different inputs of the random road surface.”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller and its components are used to perform the calculation process that is connected to the suspension system)
a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, (Yang: Page 3, lines 44 – 45: “1 is a flow chart of a method for actively controlling a vehicle ISD suspension based on a single neuron PID control, and FIG. 2 is a suspension structure in the method example”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller is part of the suspension structure that is able to apply the target amount onto the suspension structure)
wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure…, wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and (Yang: Page 3, lines 51 – 54: “Referring to FIG. 1, the vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control of the present invention comprises: step 1): establishing a suspension system model; step 2): determining road surface input and suspension basic parameters; step 3): Determine the performance evaluation indicator; Step 4): Determine the single neuron PID controller.”; Page 5, lines 11 – 14: “Wherein, the learning flow of the learning algorithm is: 4.1) determining the initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating the error between the actual output and the expected output at the current time; 4.3) if the error is less than the given value, then ending, otherwise Continue; 4.4) update the weight coefficient by learning the rule; 4.5) return to step 4.2).”; Page 2, line 22 – Page 3, line 4: “Step 4), determine the neuron learning rules as supervised Delta learning rules:
Where rj(k) is the expected output, 𝛗j(k) is the activation value of neuron, 𝛗i(k) is the difference between the expected output rj(k) and the actual output 𝛗j(k), and wij(k) is the weight coefficient between the two neurons. The amount of change, d is the learning speed;
Then determine the specific learning algorithm according to the determined learning rules:
Where e(k) is the acceleration error signal, xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the corresponding neuron input xi(k) The weighting system, di(i=1,2,3) is the learning speed of wi(i=1,2,3), K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output of the single neuron PID control. signal; The control flow of the single neuron PID control is: taking the desired vehicle body acceleration r(k) as the input signal, the body acceleration as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) as the acceleration error signal, ie e(k)=r(k) )-y(k), xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) are the input signals of the neurons obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the weight of the input xi(k) of the corresponding neuron. The coefficient is adjusted online by the determined learning rule and the learning algorithm, and u(k) is an output signal of the single neuron PID control for controlling the output force of the linear motor.”,
Supplemental Note: the weight coefficient is acquired by a learning algorithm which is equivalent to deep learning. Pairs of the actual and expected output are used to find the weight coefficient. The steps involve in acquiring the current vehicle state and the road conditions data to be used for evaluation. Furthermore, multiple neurons are used for these calculations, thus interpreted as a multilayer structure by one with knowledge in the art)
an instruction value acquisition portion configured in such a manner that the specific weight coefficient is set thereto, the instruction value acquisition portion being configured to make the calculation that uses the neural network for learning, wherein the target amount is a target damping force, and wherein the control instruction value acquisition portion is a damping force map indicating a relationship between the target damping force and an instruction value to be output to the damper. (Yang: Page 3, lines 16 – 26: “The schematic diagram of the single neuron PID controller is shown in Figure 4. The expected vehicle acceleration r(k) is used as the input signal, the body acceleration is used as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) is the acceleration error signal, ie e(k). =r(k)-y(k), xi(k)(i=1,2,3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the input of the corresponding neuron xi(k) The weight coefficient is adjusted online by a certain learning rule to realize the dynamic control effect of the single neuron PID controller, K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output signal of the single neuron PID control, which is a straight line. The output force of the motor, the linear motor output force u(k) will change with the change of the road surface input, and the purpose of adjusting the electrical impedance will be changed. The total impedance of the liquid-electric coupling type inertial container will also change with the change of the electrical impedance. When the total impedance matches the input impedance, the performance of the ISD suspension is greatly improved.”; Page 1, lines 22 – 23: “Vehicle suspension refers to the general term for all force transmission devices between the body and the wheel. Its components usually include springs, damping and guiding mechanisms.” ,
Supplemental Note: the acceleration of the vehicle and the neuron gain coefficient is used by the formula in conjunction with the weight coefficients to calculate the specific weight coefficient needed. The weight coefficient is used for the calculation of the damping force which is the output of the electrical impedance to the suspension system. As stated, the vehicle suspension system uses damping systems to function, thus the electrical impedance are equivalent to the damping force applied onto the suspension)
In sum, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising: a controller which includes: a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure, wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and an instruction value acquisition portion configured in such a manner that the specific weight coefficient is set thereto, the instruction value acquisition portion being configured to make the calculation that uses the neural network for learning, wherein the target amount is a target damping force, and wherein the control instruction value acquisition portion is a damping force map indicating a relationship between the target damping force and an instruction value to be output to the damper. Yang however does not teach the multilayer structure including four or more layers whereas Lakshmanan does.
Lakshmanan teaches including four or more layers, (Lakshmanan: Abstract: “Methods and apparatus relating to deep learning solutions for safe, legal, and/or efficient autonomous driving are described.”; Paragraph 0011: “FIG. 10A-10B illustrate layers of exemplary deep neural networks.”; Paragraph 0069: “The exemplary neural networks described above can be used to perform deep learning. Deep learning is machine learning using deep neural networks. The deep neural networks used in deep learning are artificial neural networks composed of multiple hidden layers, as opposed to shallow neural networks that include only a single hidden layer. Deeper neural networks are generally more computationally intensive to train. However, the additional hidden layers of the network enable multistep pattern recognition that results in reduced output error relative to shallow machine learning techniques.”; Paragraph 0070: “Deep neural networks used in deep learning typically include a front-end network to perform feature recognition coupled to a back-end network which represents a mathematical model that can perform operations (e.g., object classification, speech recognition, etc.) based on the feature representation provided to the model. Deep learning enables machine learning to be performed without requiring hand crafted feature engineering to be performed for the model. Instead, deep neural networks can learn features based on statistical structure or correlation within the input data. The learned features can be provided to a mathematical model that can map detected features to an output. The mathematical model used by the network is generally specialized for the specific task to be performed, and different models will be used to perform different task.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yang with the teachings of Lakshmanan with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 13 as both state the same language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising: (Yang: Page 1, lines 16 – 18: “The invention belongs to vehicle suspension system control fields, especially for the vehicle ISD of the used container technique of application (Inerter-Spring-Damper) suspension system controls.”; Page 1, lines 22 – 23: “Vehicle suspension refers to the general name of all force transmission connections between vehicle body and wheel,”,
Supplemental Note: the damper is equivalent to the vehicle suspension system)
a controller which includes: (Yang: Page 1, lines 46 – 48: “Based on the above reasons, the present invention provides a vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control, which can be used to perform dynamic analysis on multiple components of a vehicle ISD suspension system”)
a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and (Yang: Page 3, lines 6 – 14: “Further, the learning flow of the learning algorithm of step 4) is: 4.1) determining an initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating an error between an actual output and a desired output at a current time; 4.3) if the error is less than The fixed value ends, otherwise it continues; 4.4) the weight coefficient is updated by the learning rule; 4.5) returns to step 4.2). The invention has the beneficial effects that the single neuron PID controller of the suspension system is designed based on the single neuron theory, and the multi-objective genetic algorithm is used to optimize the control parameters, and the suspension control parameters can be actively adjusted according to different inputs of the random road surface.”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller and its components are used to perform the calculation process that is connected to the suspension system)
a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, (Yang: Page 3, lines 44 – 45: “1 is a flow chart of a method for actively controlling a vehicle ISD suspension based on a single neuron PID control, and FIG. 2 is a suspension structure in the method example”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller is part of the suspension structure that is able to apply the target amount onto the suspension structure)
wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure…, wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and (Yang: Page 3, lines 51 – 54: “Referring to FIG. 1, the vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control of the present invention comprises: step 1): establishing a suspension system model; step 2): determining road surface input and suspension basic parameters; step 3): Determine the performance evaluation indicator; Step 4): Determine the single neuron PID controller.”; Page 5, lines 11 – 14: “Wherein, the learning flow of the learning algorithm is: 4.1) determining the initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating the error between the actual output and the expected output at the current time; 4.3) if the error is less than the given value, then ending, otherwise Continue; 4.4) update the weight coefficient by learning the rule; 4.5) return to step 4.2).”; Page 2, line 22 – Page 3, line 4: “Step 4), determine the neuron learning rules as supervised Delta learning rules:
Where rj(k) is the expected output, 𝛗j(k) is the activation value of neuron, 𝛗i(k) is the difference between the expected output rj(k) and the actual output 𝛗j(k), and wij(k) is the weight coefficient between the two neurons. The amount of change, d is the learning speed;
Then determine the specific learning algorithm according to the determined learning rules:
Where e(k) is the acceleration error signal, xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the corresponding neuron input xi(k) The weighting system, di(i=1,2,3) is the learning speed of wi(i=1,2,3), K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output of the single neuron PID control. signal; The control flow of the single neuron PID control is: taking the desired vehicle body acceleration r(k) as the input signal, the body acceleration as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) as the acceleration error signal, ie e(k)=r(k) )-y(k), xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) are the input signals of the neurons obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the weight of the input xi(k) of the corresponding neuron. The coefficient is adjusted online by the determined learning rule and the learning algorithm, and u(k) is an output signal of the single neuron PID control for controlling the output force of the linear motor.”,
Supplemental Note: the weight coefficient is acquired by a learning algorithm which is equivalent to deep learning. Pairs of the actual and expected output are used to find the weight coefficient. The steps involve in acquiring the current vehicle state and the road conditions data to be used for evaluation. Furthermore, multiple neurons are used for these calculations, thus interpreted as a multilayer structure by one with knowledge in the art)
an instruction value acquisition portion configured in such a manner that the specific weight coefficient is set thereto, the instruction value acquisition portion being configured to make the calculation that uses the neural network for learning, and wherein the instruction value acquisition portion includes a front wheel instruction value acquisition portion for a front wheel included in the wheel, and a rear wheel instruction value acquisition portion for a rear wheel included in the wheel. (Yang; Page 3, lines 16 – 26: “The schematic diagram of the single neuron PID controller is shown in Figure 4. The expected vehicle acceleration r(k) is used as the input signal, the body acceleration is used as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) is the acceleration error signal, ie e(k). =r(k)-y(k), xi(k)(i=1,2,3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the input of the corresponding neuron xi(k) The weight coefficient is adjusted online by a certain learning rule to realize the dynamic control effect of the single neuron PID controller, K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output signal of the single neuron PID control, which is a straight line. The output force of the motor, the linear motor output force u(k) will change with the change of the road surface input, and the purpose of adjusting the electrical impedance will be changed. The total impedance of the liquid-electric coupling type inertial container will also change with the change of the electrical impedance. When the total impedance matches the input impedance, the performance of the ISD suspension is greatly improved.”; Page 5, lines 54 – 56: “The vehicle single-wheel suspension model is established in Matlab/Simulink. According to the above control method, the m function of the fitness function and the genetic algorithm is written. The individual assigns values sequentially and outputs the most fitness function value, as shown in Table 2.”; Page 1, lines 46 – 48: “the present invention provides a vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control, which can be used to perform dynamic analysis on multiple components of a vehicle ISD suspension system, and determine an optimal solution of control parameters”,
Supplemental Note: the acceleration of the vehicle and the neuron gain coefficient is used by the formula in conjunction with the weight coefficients to calculate the specific weight coefficient needed. The calculation can be done for each single wheel which is interpreted to be able to acquire values of all wheels on the vehicle, being able to be used on multiple components of the vehicle IDS system)
In sum, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising: a controller which includes: a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure, wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and an instruction value acquisition portion configured in such a manner that the specific weight coefficient is set thereto, the instruction value acquisition portion being configured to make the calculation that uses the neural network for learning, and wherein the instruction value acquisition portion includes a front wheel instruction value acquisition portion for a front wheel included in the wheel, and a rear wheel instruction value acquisition portion for a rear wheel included in the wheel. Yang however does not teach a multilayer structure including four or more layers whereas Lakshmanan does.
Lakshmanan teaches including four or more layers, (Lakshmanan: Abstract: “Methods and apparatus relating to deep learning solutions for safe, legal, and/or efficient autonomous driving are described.”; Paragraph 0011: “FIG. 10A-10B illustrate layers of exemplary deep neural networks.”; Paragraph 0069: “The exemplary neural networks described above can be used to perform deep learning. Deep learning is machine learning using deep neural networks. The deep neural networks used in deep learning are artificial neural networks composed of multiple hidden layers, as opposed to shallow neural networks that include only a single hidden layer. Deeper neural networks are generally more computationally intensive to train. However, the additional hidden layers of the network enable multistep pattern recognition that results in reduced output error relative to shallow machine learning techniques.”; Paragraph 0070: “Deep neural networks used in deep learning typically include a front-end network to perform feature recognition coupled to a back-end network which represents a mathematical model that can perform operations (e.g., object classification, speech recognition, etc.) based on the feature representation provided to the model. Deep learning enables machine learning to be performed without requiring hand crafted feature engineering to be performed for the model. Instead, deep neural networks can learn features based on statistical structure or correlation within the input data. The learned features can be provided to a mathematical model that can map detected features to an output. The mathematical model used by the network is generally specialized for the specific task to be performed, and different models will be used to perform different task.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yang with the teachings of Lakshmanan with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 13 as both state the same language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches a vehicle control apparatus employed for a vehicle including a damper configured to adjust a force between a vehicle body of the vehicle and a wheel of the vehicle, the vehicle control apparatus comprising: (Yang: Page 1, lines 16 – 18: “The invention belongs to vehicle suspension system control fields, especially for the vehicle ISD of the used container technique of application (Inerter-Spring-Damper) suspension system controls.”; Page 1, lines 22 – 23: “Vehicle suspension refers to the general name of all force transmission connections between vehicle body and wheel,”,
Supplemental Note: the damper is equivalent to the vehicle suspension system)
a controller which includes: (Yang: Page 1, lines 46 – 48: “Based on the above reasons, the present invention provides a vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control, which can be used to perform dynamic analysis on multiple components of a vehicle ISD suspension system”)
a calculation processing portion configured to make a predetermined calculation based on an input vehicle state amount and output a target amount; and (Yang: Page 3, lines 6 – 14: “Further, the learning flow of the learning algorithm of step 4) is: 4.1) determining an initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating an error between an actual output and a desired output at a current time; 4.3) if the error is less than The fixed value ends, otherwise it continues; 4.4) the weight coefficient is updated by the learning rule; 4.5) returns to step 4.2). The invention has the beneficial effects that the single neuron PID controller of the suspension system is designed based on the single neuron theory, and the multi-objective genetic algorithm is used to optimize the control parameters, and the suspension control parameters can be actively adjusted according to different inputs of the random road surface.”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller and its components are used to perform the calculation process that is connected to the suspension system)
a control instruction value acquisition portion configured to acquire a control instruction value for controlling the damper based on the target amount, (Yang: Page 3, lines 44 – 45: “1 is a flow chart of a method for actively controlling a vehicle ISD suspension based on a single neuron PID control, and FIG. 2 is a suspension structure in the method example”,
Supplemental Note: the PID controller is part of the suspension structure that is able to apply the target amount onto the suspension structure)
wherein the calculation processing portion makes the calculation using a learning result that is acquired by causing the calculation processing portion to learn pairs of a plurality of target amounts acquired using a predetermined evaluation method prepared in advance with respect to a plurality of different vehicle state amounts as pairs of pieces of input and output data, wherein the learning result is a weight coefficient acquired by deep learning, which uses a neural network for the learning, the neural network having a multilayer structure…, and wherein the calculation processing portion includes a weight coefficient acquisition portion configured in such a manner that a plurality of different weight coefficients acquired by applying the deep learning using a plurality of different weights is set thereto, the weight coefficient acquisition portion being configured to acquire a specific weight coefficient among the plurality of different weight coefficients according to an input predetermined condition, and (Yang: Page 3, lines 51 – 54: “Referring to FIG. 1, the vehicle ISD suspension active control method based on single neuron PID control of the present invention comprises: step 1): establishing a suspension system model; step 2): determining road surface input and suspension basic parameters; step 3): Determine the performance evaluation indicator; Step 4): Determine the single neuron PID controller.”; Page 5, lines 11 – 14: “Wherein, the learning flow of the learning algorithm is: 4.1) determining the initial weight coefficient wi(0); 4.2) calculating the error between the actual output and the expected output at the current time; 4.3) if the error is less than the given value, then ending, otherwise Continue; 4.4) update the weight coefficient by learning the rule; 4.5) return to step 4.2).”; Page 2, line 22 – Page 3, line 4: “Step 4), determine the neuron learning rules as supervised Delta learning rules:
Where rj(k) is the expected output, 𝛗j(k) is the activation value of neuron, 𝛗i(k) is the difference between the expected output rj(k) and the actual output 𝛗j(k), and wij(k) is the weight coefficient between the two neurons. The amount of change, d is the learning speed;
Then determine the specific learning algorithm according to the determined learning rules:
Where e(k) is the acceleration error signal, xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) is the input signal of the neuron obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the corresponding neuron input xi(k) The weighting system, di(i=1,2,3) is the learning speed of wi(i=1,2,3), K is the neuron gain coefficient, and u(k) is the output of the single neuron PID control. signal; The control flow of the single neuron PID control is: taking the desired vehicle body acceleration r(k) as the input signal, the body acceleration as the feedback signal y(k), and e(k) as the acceleration error signal, ie e(k)=r(k) )-y(k), xi(k)(i=1, 2, 3) are the input signals of the neurons obtained by the conversion of the acceleration error, and wi(k) is the weight of the input xi(k) of the corresponding neuron. The coefficient is adjusted online by the determined learning rule and the learning algorithm, and u(k) is an output signal of the single neuron PID control for controlling the output force of the linear motor.”,
Supplemental Note: the weight coefficient is acquired by a learning algorithm which is equivalent to deep learning. Pairs of the actual and expected output are used to find the weight coefficient. The steps involve in acquiring the current vehicle