Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (“Development of the current bypassing methods into the transverse direction…”). In view of Morita (US 6344956)
Tanaka teaches a no-insulation magnet (2. Experiment and setup) comprising a superconducting coil having electrical terminals for coupling to a power supply, wherein receipt of a current from the supply through the terminals causes the coil to generate a magnetic field (fig. 1: a pancake HTS coil with current leads A and B), a heating element disposed in proximity to a portion of the superconducting coil wherein operation of the element causes the portion to lose its superconducting characteristic and become resistive, thereby inducing a quench of the NI magnet,
Tanaka fails to teach a resistive bypass wire coupled between the terminals of the coil.
Morita, however, teaches a superconducting coil (abstract; col. 5, lines 35-47) wherein a bypass is placed between two terminals of the superconducting coil for the purpose of providing quench protection (provided on the elemental line, therefore between the terminals of the coil; col. 4, lines 20-65, col. 5, lines 35-47)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide bypass wire placed between two terminals of the superconducting coil of Tanka in order to provide quench protection as taught by Morita.
Additionally, it appears that any material contemplated by Morita meets the limitation of resistive as every material has some amount of resistivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 20-38 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a superconductive bypass wire between terminals which is activated by a cooler. Specifically, Morita teaches a bypass, but fails to teach that the bypass attached to the terminals is superconducting. See above citations.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735