Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/06/2026 has been entered.
Claims 16, 19, 22, 25 and 28 have been amended.
Claims 36-39 have been canceled.
Claims 40-43 have been added.
Claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 40-43 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 40-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20180139665 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20210037347 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE)(Method of Fig. 13), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (BS), multicast broadcast service (MBS) information of interest of the (MBMS interest Indication comprising a TMGI of an MBMS service, first step of Fig. 13; a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]); wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: include mbms-FreqList and/or set it to include MBMS frequencies of interest sorted by decreasing order of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, [0185]),
receiving, from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (RRC connection Reconfiguration, 4th step of Fig. 13) including radio bearer configuration information (the second base station may transmit to the wireless device, an RRC connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more MBMS configuration parameters for the at least one of the one or more MBMS services, [0254]); wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS included in the radio bearer configuration information wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (UE and the network exchange an RRC message through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls logical channels, transport channels, and physical channels in relation to the configuration, reconfiguration, and release of RBs. An RB is a logical path provided by the L1 and L2 for data delivery between the UE and the network... The RB is classified into two types, i.e., a signaling RB (SRB) and a data RB (DRB), [0072]) and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS included in the radio bearer configuration information (The configuration of the RB implies a process for specifying a radio protocol layer and channel properties to provide a particular service and for determining respective detailed parameters and operations. The RB is classified into two types, i.e., a signaling RB (SRB) and a data RB (DRB). The SRB is used as a path for transmitting an RRC message in the control plane. The DRB is used as a path for transmitting user data in the user plane, [0072]); wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS (The UE may receive CE level information of the MBMS service of interest (S810)... The CE level information of the MBMS service may be provided for each MBMS service, TMGI, MBSFN area, or G-RNTI, [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Kim to provide methods to smoothly provide the MBMS service to UE as suggested, Kim [0005].
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches a method performed by a base station (BS)( flow diagram of Fig. 15), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), multicast broadcast service (MBS) information of interest of the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (At 1510, a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]); wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: …if SystemInformationBlockType20 is broadcast by a PCell: include mbms-Services and/or set it to indicate a set of MBMS services of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, [0185]);
transmitting, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information regarding data radio bearer (DRB) for the MBS (the second base station may transmit to the wireless device, an RRC connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more MBMS configuration parameters for the at least one of the one or more MBMS service, [0254]; SeNB may employ an MBMS (and/or V2X) interest service list in order to properly configure a UE, [0234]; An SCPTMConfiguration message may contain control information applicable for MBMS services transmitted via SC-MRB (Multimedia Radio Bearer), [0184]);
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (UE and the network exchange an RRC message through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls logical channels, transport channels, and physical channels in relation to the configuration, reconfiguration, and release of RBs. An RB is a logical path provided by the L1 and L2 for data delivery between the UE and the network... The RB is classified into two types, i.e., a signaling RB (SRB) and a data RB (DRB), [0072]); wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS (The UE may receive CE level information of the MBMS service of interest (S810)... The CE level information of the MBMS service may be provided for each MBMS service, TMGI, MBSFN area, or G-RNTI, [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Kim to provide methods to smoothly provide the MBMS service to UE as suggested, Kim [0005].
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (UE 406 of Fig. 4), the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a signal to or from a base station (BS) (communication interface 407);
a memory storing a program and data for repetitive transmission of control information by the UE (memory 409); and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory to (processor 408):
transmit, to the BS, multicast broadcast service (MBS) information of interest of the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (MBMS interest Indication comprising a TMGI of an MBMS service, first step of Fig. 13; a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]), wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: …if SystemInformationBlockType20 is broadcast by a PCell: include mbms-Services and/or set it to indicate a set of MBMS services of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN, [0185]);
receive, from the BS, a radio resource (RRC) reconfiguration message including radio bearer configuration information (RRC connection Reconfiguration, 4th step of Fig. 13); wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS included in the radio bearer configuration information wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (UE and the network exchange an RRC message through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls logical channels, transport channels, and physical channels in relation to the configuration, reconfiguration, and release of RBs. An RB is a logical path provided by the L1 and L2 for data delivery between the UE and the network... The RB is classified into two types, i.e., a signaling RB (SRB) and a data RB (DRB), [0072]) and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS included in the radio bearer configuration information (The configuration of the RB implies a process for specifying a radio protocol layer and channel properties to provide a particular service and for determining respective detailed parameters and operations. The RB is classified into two types, i.e., a signaling RB (SRB) and a data RB (DRB). The SRB is used as a path for transmitting an RRC message in the control plane. The DRB is used as a path for transmitting user data in the user plane, [0072]); wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS (The UE may receive CE level information of the MBMS service of interest (S810)... The CE level information of the MBMS service may be provided for each MBMS service, TMGI, MBSFN area, or G-RNTI, [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Kim to provide methods to smoothly provide the MBMS service to UE as suggested, Kim [0005].
Regarding claim 25, Park teaches a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Base station 401 of Fig. 4), the BS comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a signal to or from a user equipment (UE) (communication interface 402);
a memory storing a program and data for repetitive transmission of control information by the BS (memory 404); and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory to (processor 403):
receive, from the UE, (MBS) information of interest of the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]), wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: …if SystemInformationBlockType20 is broadcast by a PCell: include mbms-Services and/or set it to indicate a set of MBMS services of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, [0185]);
transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including radio bearer configuration information (the second base station may transmit to the wireless device, an RRC connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more MBMS configuration parameters for the at least one of the one or more MBMS services, [0254]); wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on signaling radio bearer (SRB) and information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (UE and the network exchange an RRC message through the RRC layer. The RRC layer controls logical channels, transport channels, and physical channels in relation to the configuration, reconfiguration, and release of RBs. An RB is a logical path provided by the L1 and L2 for data delivery between the UE and the network... The RB is classified into two types, i.e., a signaling RB (SRB) and a data RB (DRB), [0072]); wherein the information on the DRB for the MBS includes temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) information related with the DRB for the MBS (The UE may receive CE level information of the MBMS service of interest (S810)... The CE level information of the MBMS service may be provided for each MBMS service, TMGI, MBSFN area, or G-RNTI, [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Kim to provide methods to smoothly provide the MBMS service to UE as suggested, Kim [0005].
Regarding claim 28, Park as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier MBS (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 30, Park as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 32, Park as modified by Kim teaches the UE of claim 22, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 34, Park as modified by Kim teaches the BS of claim 25, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 40, Park as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: releasing the at least one DRB for the MBS based on the radio bearer configuration information (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]), wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (Upon SC-MRB release, a UE may: release an RLC entity as well as a related MAC and/or physical layer configuration; and/or inform upper layers about a release of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, Park [0181]).
Regarding claim 41, Park as modified by Kim teaches the method of the method of wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]), wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (Upon SC-MRB release, a UE may: release an RLC entity as well as a related MAC and/or physical layer configuration; and/or inform upper layers about a release of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, Park [0181]).
Regarding claim 42, Park as modified by Kim teaches the UE of claim 22, wherein the processor further configured to execute the program stored in the memory to: release the at least one DRB for the MBS based on the radio bearer configuration information (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]), wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (Upon SC-MRB release, a UE may: release an RLC entity as well as a related MAC and/or physical layer configuration; and/or inform upper layers about a release of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, Park [0181])..
Regarding claim 43, Park as modified by Kim teaches the BS of The BS of wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]), wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (Upon SC-MRB release, a UE may: release an RLC entity as well as a related MAC and/or physical layer configuration; and/or inform upper layers about a release of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, Park [0181]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 20190268879 A1): Disclosed are a method by which a terminal receives multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) control information through a beam in a wireless communication system, and a device for supporting the same. The method can comprise the steps of: selecting a beam; transmitting, to a base station, an MBMS control information request message including a beam index for indicating the selected beam; and receiving, from the base station, the MBMS control information through the beam according to the MBMS control information request message.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641