Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/28/2026 has been entered.
Claims 16, 19, 22, 25 and 40-43 have been amended.
Claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 40-43 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 40-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 28, 30, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20180139665 A1) in view of Luo et al. (US 20220217509 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE)(Method of Fig. 13), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (BS), multicast broadcast service (MBS) information of interest of the (MBMS interest Indication comprising a TMGI of an MBMS service, first step of Fig. 13; a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]); wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: include mbms-FreqList and/or set it to include MBMS frequencies of interest sorted by decreasing order of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, [0185]),
receiving, from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (RRC connection Reconfiguration, 4th step of Fig. 13) including radio bearer configuration information (the second base station may transmit to the wireless device, an RRC connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more MBMS configuration parameters for the at least one of the one or more MBMS services, [0254]); wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify, wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message.
In an analogous art, Luo teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (the first message includes PMCH-Info (physical multicast channel information) in a PMCH-InfoList (physical multicast channel information list) in an MBSFNAreaConfiguration of an MCCH-Message, where PMCH-Info supports the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the TMGI, pmch-Config and mbms-SessionInfoList, [0095]) and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify (After receiving the first message, the UE may further correspondingly store the network slice identifier and the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel in the first message, [0101]; When the multicast traffic channel is a DRB, the UE may listen to the multicast data corresponding to the network slice on the DRB corresponding to the network slice, [0103]), wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message (the access network device may alternatively send the first message to the UE by using an RRC re-configuration message, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Luo to provide methods wherein the access network device can send, to the UE by using one message, the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the network slice identifier and the TMGI corresponding to the network slice identifier. Therefore, signaling consumption is reduced as suggested, Luo [0011].
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches a method performed by a base station (BS)( flow diagram of Fig. 15), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), multicast broadcast service (MBS) information of interest of the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (At 1510, a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]); wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: …if SystemInformationBlockType20 is broadcast by a PCell: include mbms-Services and/or set it to indicate a set of MBMS services of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, [0185]);
transmitting, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information regarding data radio bearer (DRB) for the MBS (the second base station may transmit to the wireless device, an RRC connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more MBMS configuration parameters for the at least one of the one or more MBMS service, [0254]; SeNB may employ an MBMS (and/or V2X) interest service list in order to properly configure a UE, [0234]; An SCPTMConfiguration message may contain control information applicable for MBMS services transmitted via SC-MRB (Multimedia Radio Bearer), [0184]);
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify, wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message.
In an analogous art, Luo teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (the first message includes PMCH-Info (physical multicast channel information) in a PMCH-InfoList (physical multicast channel information list) in an MBSFNAreaConfiguration of an MCCH-Message, where PMCH-Info supports the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the TMGI, pmch-Config and mbms-SessionInfoList, [0095]) and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify (After receiving the first message, the UE may further correspondingly store the network slice identifier and the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel in the first message, [0101]; When the multicast traffic channel is a DRB, the UE may listen to the multicast data corresponding to the network slice on the DRB corresponding to the network slice, [0103]), wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message (the access network device may alternatively send the first message to the UE by using an RRC re-configuration message, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Luo to provide methods wherein the access network device can send, to the UE by using one message, the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the network slice identifier and the TMGI corresponding to the network slice identifier. Therefore, signaling consumption is reduced as suggested, Luo [0011].
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (UE 406 of Fig. 4), the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a signal to or from a base station (BS) (communication interface 407);
a memory storing a program and data for repetitive transmission of control information by the UE (memory 409); and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory to (processor 408):
transmit, to the BS, multicast broadcast service (MBS) information of interest of the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (MBMS interest Indication comprising a TMGI of an MBMS service, first step of Fig. 13; a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]), wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: …if SystemInformationBlockType20 is broadcast by a PCell: include mbms-Services and/or set it to indicate a set of MBMS services of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN, [0185]);
receive, from the BS, a radio resource (RRC) reconfiguration message including radio bearer configuration information (RRC connection Reconfiguration, 4th step of Fig. 13); wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify, wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message.
In an analogous art, Luo teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (the first message includes PMCH-Info (physical multicast channel information) in a PMCH-InfoList (physical multicast channel information list) in an MBSFNAreaConfiguration of an MCCH-Message, where PMCH-Info supports the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the TMGI, pmch-Config and mbms-SessionInfoList, [0095]) and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify (After receiving the first message, the UE may further correspondingly store the network slice identifier and the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel in the first message, [0101]; When the multicast traffic channel is a DRB, the UE may listen to the multicast data corresponding to the network slice on the DRB corresponding to the network slice, [0103]), wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message (the access network device may alternatively send the first message to the UE by using an RRC re-configuration message, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Luo to provide methods wherein the access network device can send, to the UE by using one message, the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the network slice identifier and the TMGI corresponding to the network slice identifier. Therefore, signaling consumption is reduced as suggested, Luo [0011].
Regarding claim 25, Park teaches a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Base station 401 of Fig. 4), the BS comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a signal to or from a user equipment (UE) (communication interface 402);
a memory storing a program and data for repetitive transmission of control information by the BS (memory 404); and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory to (processor 403):
receive, from the UE, (MBS) information of interest of the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (a first base station may receive from a wireless device, at least one radio resource control (RRC) message. The at least one RRC message may comprise one or more temporary mobile group identities (TMGIs) of one or more multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) services that the wireless device is receiving or interested to receive, [0250]), wherein the MBS information of the interest of the UE includes a list of MBS broadcast services which the UE is interested to receive (A UE may set the contents of the MBMSInterestIndication message as follows: if a set of MBMS frequencies of interest is not empty: …if SystemInformationBlockType20 is broadcast by a PCell: include mbms-Services and/or set it to indicate a set of MBMS services of interest, [0165]) and a MBS broadcast service identifier (inform upper layers about an establishment of an SC-MRB by indicating a corresponding tmgi and/or sessionId, [0181] and A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, [0185]);
transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including radio bearer configuration information (the second base station may transmit to the wireless device, an RRC connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more MBMS configuration parameters for the at least one of the one or more MBMS services, [0254]); wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further includes packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information associated with the DRB for the MBS (For reconfigurations involving the full configuration option, the PDCP entities may be newly established (SN and HFN may not continue) for dedicated radio bearers irrespective of the RLC mode, [0195]).
However, Park does not clearly teach wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify, wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message.
In an analogous art, Luo teaches wherein the radio bearer configuration information includes information on data radio bearer (DRB) for an MBS (the first message includes PMCH-Info (physical multicast channel information) in a PMCH-InfoList (physical multicast channel information list) in an MBSFNAreaConfiguration of an MCCH-Message, where PMCH-Info supports the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the TMGI, pmch-Config and mbms-SessionInfoList, [0095]) and configuring at least one DRB for the MBS based on the information on the DRB for the MBS including first information on a list of DRBs for the MNS to add or modify (After receiving the first message, the UE may further correspondingly store the network slice identifier and the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel in the first message, [0101]; When the multicast traffic channel is a DRB, the UE may listen to the multicast data corresponding to the network slice on the DRB corresponding to the network slice, [0103]), wherein the DRB for the MBS served by a radio link control (RLC) bearer is identified based on RLC bearer configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration message (the access network device may alternatively send the first message to the UE by using an RRC re-configuration message, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park with the bearer information of Luo to provide methods wherein the access network device can send, to the UE by using one message, the configuration information of the multicast traffic channel corresponding to the network slice identifier and the TMGI corresponding to the network slice identifier. Therefore, signaling consumption is reduced as suggested, Luo [0011].
Regarding claim 28, Park as modified by Luo teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier MBS (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 30, Park as modified by Luo teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 32, Park as modified by Luo teaches the UE of claim 22, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Regarding claim 34, Park as modified by Luo teaches the BS of claim 25, wherein the TMGI includes at least one public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier and at least one service identifier (A sessionId may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session. The field may be included when upper layers have assigned a session identity i.e. one may be available for an MBMS session in E-UTRAN. A serviceId may identify an identity of an MBMS service within a PLMN. The field may contain octet 3-5 of an IE Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). A first octet may contain a third octet of the TMGI, a second octet may contain a fourth octet of the TMGI and so on, Park [0185]).
Claims 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20180139665 A1) in view of Luo et al. (US 20220217509 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180199163 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Park as modified by Luo teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: releasing the at least one DRB for the MBS based on the radio bearer configuration information (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]).
However, Park and Luo do not teach including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Dao teaches including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS (release the drb-identity. This will retain the eps-bearerIdentity but remove the DRBs including drb-identity of these bearers from the current UE configuration and trigger the setup of the DRBs within the AS in Section 5.3.10.3 using the new configuration, [0378]-[0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park and Luo with the DRB release of Chen to provide methods for efficiently generating and managing interest indications for broadcast and multicast services as suggested, Chen [0003].
Regarding claim 41, Park as modified by Luo teaches the method of the method of wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]).
However, Park and Luo do not teach including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Dao teaches including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS (release the drb-identity. This will retain the eps-bearerIdentity but remove the DRBs including drb-identity of these bearers from the current UE configuration and trigger the setup of the DRBs within the AS in Section 5.3.10.3 using the new configuration, [0378]-[0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park and Luo with the DRB release of Chen to provide methods for efficiently generating and managing interest indications for broadcast and multicast services as suggested, Chen [0003].
Regarding claim 42, Park as modified by Luo teaches the UE of claim 22, wherein the processor further configured to execute the program stored in the memory to: release the at least one DRB for the MBS based on the radio bearer configuration information (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]).
However, Park and Luo do not teach including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Dao teaches including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS (release the drb-identity. This will retain the eps-bearerIdentity but remove the DRBs including drb-identity of these bearers from the current UE configuration and trigger the setup of the DRBs within the AS in Section 5.3.10.3 using the new configuration, [0378]-[0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park and Luo with the DRB release of Chen to provide methods for efficiently generating and managing interest indications for broadcast and multicast services as suggested, Chen [0003].
Regarding claim 43, Park as modified by Luo teaches the BS of The BS of wherein the radio bearer configuration information further includes information associated with release of the DRB for the MBS (the purpose of RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, Park [0198]).
However, Park and Luo do not teach including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Dao teaches including second information on a list of DRBs for the MBS to release, wherein the second information includes an identifier of the DRB for the MBS (release the drb-identity. This will retain the eps-bearerIdentity but remove the DRBs including drb-identity of these bearers from the current UE configuration and trigger the setup of the DRBs within the AS in Section 5.3.10.3 using the new configuration, [0378]-[0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the MBMS message of Park and Luo with the DRB release of Chen to provide methods for efficiently generating and managing interest indications for broadcast and multicast services as suggested, Chen [0003].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dao et al. (US 20190223250 A1): Methods and Systems for modifying or releasing a Multicast/Broadcast (MB) session for delivery of MB Data to a plurality of Electronic Devices (EDs) connected to a (Radio) Access Network (R)AN node is disclosed. The method includes receiving one or more triggers, and instructing the various network functions and (R)AN nodes to modify (or release) the MB session dependent on the received trigger.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641