DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 13-14, 20-21, 24, 28, 34-36, 73-77, 79-81, 90, 93, 97 and 103-105 are pending. Claims 8, 14, 20-21, 24, 28, 34-36, 73-77, 79-81, 90, 93, 97 and 103-105 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previously presented rejections.
Election/Restrictions
As per MPEP 803.02, the examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicant’s elected species combination of Panobinostat as a downregulating agent and As26 as the CAPE-related compound is not allowable. Therefore, examination has been limited to claims embracing the elected species which are claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13 have been examined to the extent that they are readable on the elected embodiment. Subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment is therefore withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 8, 14, 20-21, 24, 28, 34-36, 73-77, 79-81, 90, 93, 97 and 103–105 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to exclude Hodgkin’s blood cancers as follows:
On page 10 of the remarks filed September 21st, 2026, Applicant states that claim 1 has been amended to exclude Hodgkin lymphoma from the class of blood cancers but is silent as to where support is provided in the specification for this amendment.
The specification refers to the blood cancers generically using the language of claim 5 which recites the following blood cancers: myeloma, leukemia, and lymphoma (Ex: page 2, paragraph 2). There is no mention of Hodkin’s disease or Hodkin’s blood cancers.
This type of situation is discussed in MPEP 2173.05(i):
Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be explicitly excluded in the claims. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196 (CCPA 1977) ("[the] specification, having described the whole, necessarily described the part remaining."). See also Ex parte Grasselli, 231 USPQ 393 (Bd. App. 1983), aff’d mem., 738 F.2d 453 (Fed. Cir. 1984). In describing alternative features, the applicant need not articulate advantages or disadvantages of each feature in order to later exclude the alternative features. See Inphi Corporation v. Netlist, Inc., 805 F.3d 1350, 1356-57, 116 USPQ2d 2006, 2010-11 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion. However, a lack of literal basis in the specification for a negative limitation may not be sufficient to establish a prima facie case for lack of descriptive support. Ex parte Parks, 30 USPQ2d 1234, 1236 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993). "Rather, as with positive limitations, the disclosure must only 'reasonably convey[] to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.' ... While silence will not generally suffice to support a negative claim limitation, there may be circumstances in which it can be established that a skilled artisan would understand a negative limitation to necessarily be present in a disclosure." Novartis Pharms. Corp. v. Accord Healthcare, Inc., 38 F.4th 1013, 2022 USPQ2d 569 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (quoting Ariad Pharm. Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 589 F.3d 1336, 1351, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1172). Any claim containing a negative limitation which does not have basis in the original disclosure should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
In this situation, the specification does not provide support for the instantly excluded type of blood cancer.
Applicant is further directed to In re Bimeda Research & Dev. Ltd., 107 USPQ2d 1619 (Fed. Cir. 2013), which addressed exclusion of an unnamed species from a broader generic scope. Similarly, the court in Santarus Inc. v. Par Pharmaceutical Inc., 104 USPQ2d 1641 (Fed. Cir. 2012) addressed support for negative limitations as follows on page 1647:
Negative claim limitations are adequately supported when the specification describes a reason to exclude the relevant limitation. Such written description support need not rise to the level of disclaimer. In fact, it is possible for the patentee to support both in the inclusion and exclusion of the same material. The claim limitation that the Phillips formulations contain no sucralfate is adequately supported by statements in the specification expressly listing the disadvantages of using sucralfate. […]
The instant specification fails to disclose either a positive recitation of the presently excluded species or a disclaimer thereof. For these reasons, instant claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13 that are affected by the provision are rejected as containing new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3-4, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 refers to the method of claim 2 which has been cancelled therefore it is unclear exactly what is embraced by the claimed method. Likewise, claim 6 recites the method of claim 5 which has been canceled.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected as they depend from claim 3, which is indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 3 and 6 have been treated as depending from claim 1 in the 35 USC 103 and nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/147718 A1 by Touaibia et al. in view of Bernard, et al. (2008). Targeting cyclooxygenase-2 in hematological malignancies: rationale and promise. Current pharmaceutical design, 14(21), 2051–2060. and Bailey et al. “Panobinostat for the treatment of multiple myeloma: the evidence to date.” Journal of blood medicine vol. 6 269-76. 8 Oct. 2015.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The prior art discloses (title) “modulators of lipoxygenase and cyclooxygenase enzyme activity” including compound 152 which is identical to As26 of instant claim 9 (page 33, Table 9). Compound 152 is represented by the structure below:
.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 9, Touaibia et al. teach a method of treating a lipoxygenase and/or a cyclooxygenase-mediated disease by administering the prior art compound (paragraphs [0019]-[0020]).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Touaibia et al. disclose a method of treating lipoxygenase and/or cyclooxygenase-mediated diseases including some cancers by administering the prior art compound but do not teach that the compound is useful for treating non-Hodgkin blood cancers. Furthermore, the prior art is silent to the use of a downregulating agent and the downregulation effect of CAPE analog wherein the compound reduces the number of cancer cells, tumor burden or tumor growth in the patient.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Bernard et al. discuss (title) “Targeting cyclooxygenase-2 in hematological malignancies: rationale and promise” and teach (abstract):
Malignancies of hematopoietic and non-hematopoietic origin often have increased expression of cyclooxygenase-2 (Cox-2), a key modulator of inflammation. For example, hematological malignancies such as chronic lymphocytic leukemia, chronic myeloid leukemia, Hodgkin’s lymphoma, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and multiple myeloma often highly express Cox-2, which correlates with poor patient prognosis. Expression of Cox-2 enhances survival and proliferation of malignant cells, while negatively influencing anti-tumor immunity. Hematological malignancies expressing elevated levels of Cox-2 potentially avoid immune responses by producing factors that enhance angiogenesis and metastases. Cellular immune responses regulated by natural killer cells, cytotoxic T lymphocytes, and T regulatory cells are also influenced by Cox-2 expression. Therefore, Cox-2 selective inhibitors have promising therapeutic potential in patients suffering from certain hematological malignancies.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to treat additional cyclooxygenase mediated diseases in the method of Touaibia et al. would have been motivated to administer cyclooxygenase inhibitor compound 152 to improve therapeutic outcomes in subjects with blood cancers such as certain leukemias non-Hodgkin’s lymphomas or multiple myeloma.
Regarding instant claims 1, 3-4, and 13, the patent’s claims are silent to contacting the blood cancer cells with a downregulating agent such as an HDAC inhibitor however MPEP 2144.06 suggests:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)
Bailey et al. teach the following regarding Panobinostat for treating blood cancers (page 70):
Panobinostat (LBH589) is a pan-deacetylase inhibitor belonging to hydroxamic acid family of compounds and is active against class I, II, and IV HDAC enzymes.19 Panobinostat has potent cytotoxic activity against tumor cells, while displaying minimal toxicity against normal cells.19 It inhibits the removal of acetyl groups by HDAC enzymes, leading to maintenance of acetylation of histone and nonhistone proteins. As a result, accumulation of histones and other proteins occurs, causing cell cycle arrest and apoptosis of cancer cells of various cancer types. Panobinostat has demonstrated potent preclinical activity in several hematologic malignancies such as acute myeloid leukemia, cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, chronic myeloid leukemia, and multiple myeloma…
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to treat blood cancers including leukemia or multiple myeloma in the method of Touaibia et al. and Bernard et al. would have been motivated to administer Compound 152 in combination with the HDAC inhibitor panobinostat in order to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Although the prior art does not explicitly recite the intended use and effects of the instant claims a compound and its properties are inseparable so the properties of the instant compound would be inherent in the prior art given that the compounds are identical. Thus, the instant method of treating a non-Hodgkin’s blood cancer by administering a CAPE analog and downregulating agent to downregulate a cancer gene or protein target expression is obvious in view of the method of Touaibia et al., Bernard et al. and Bailey et al. which involves administering the instant combination to treat said cancer. A person of ordinary skill performing the combined could expect to achieve the same reduction in cancer cells, tumor burden, etc. recited by administering compound 152 and Panobinostat as taught in the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,605,352 in view Bailey et al. “Panobinostat for the treatment of multiple myeloma: the evidence to date.” Journal of blood medicine vol. 6 269-76. 8 Oct. 2015.
Claim 1 of the patent discloses a method of inhibiting the growth of blood cancer cells by contacting the cells with As26 which identical to As26 of instant claim 9 (Col. 20); this method embraces the instant method of treating blood cancers by administering CAPE analog As26. Claims 2, 5, and 9 of the patent further teach that the blood cancer cells are multiple myeloma cells, lymphoma cells, or leukemia cells which corresponds to instant claims 1 and 6 (Col. 20).
Regarding instant claims 1, 3-4, and 13, the patent’s claims are silent to contacting the blood cancer cells with a downregulating agent such as an HDAC inhibitor however MPEP 2144.06 suggests:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)
Bailey et al. teach the following regarding Panobinostat for treating blood cancers (page 270):
Panobinostat (LBH589) is a pan-deacetylase inhibitor belonging to hydroxamic acid family of compounds and is active against class I, II, and IV HDAC enzymes.19 Panobinostat has potent cytotoxic activity against tumor cells, while displaying minimal toxicity against normal cells.19 It inhibits the removal of acetyl groups by HDAC enzymes, leading to maintenance of acetylation of histone and nonhistone proteins. As a result, accumulation of histones and other proteins occurs, causing cell cycle arrest and apoptosis of cancer cells of various cancer types. Panobinostat has demonstrated potent preclinical activity in several hematologic malignancies such as acute myeloid leukemia, cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, chronic myeloid leukemia, and multiple myeloma…
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to inhibit the growth of multiple myeloma or leukemia cells in the patent’s method would have been motivated to administer As26 in combination with the HDAC inhibitor panobinostat in order to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Conclusion
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626