DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/28/2025, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed on 07/28/2025, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-3,8-10,12-15 and 18-19 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US PG Pub 20190159337) in further view of Garai (US PG Pub 20200330007).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang teaches a sensing device ([0139]: “FIG. 15 shows a diagram of an example stretchable wearable sensor 1500 in accordance with the present technology. The example stretchable sensor 1500 is shown in FIG. 15 as configured as a 3-electrode electrochemical sensor, and it is understood the example stretchable sensor 1500 can include fewer or greater electrodes, and can be configured for other sensor applications, such as electrophysiological sensing or other.”) comprising:
a sensor which includes a flexible substrate ([0006]: “a stretchable electronics device includes a stretchable substrate”), an electrode disposed on the flexible substrate ([0006]: “a stretchable electronics device includes a stretchable substrate including an elastic and electrically insulative material structured to conform to an outer surface of an object; and an electrode arranged over the stretchable substrate”), and a connection terminal disposed on the flexible substrate and connected to the electrode ([0140]: “The device base 1605 can include supportive electronics units, such as communication and power management, sensor electronics”); and
a stretchable substrate ([0006]: “a stretchable electronics device includes a stretchable substrate” ; [0120]: “a stretchable substrate 1422”) which is connected to the sensor ([0121]: “The example design of the island-bridge structure shown in FIGS. 14A-14D is quite adaptable to various technologies, e.g., especially for electrochemical devices such as batteries, biofuel cells, supercapacitors, and chemical sensors”; [0214]: “Certain features that are described in this patent document in the context of separate embodiments can also be implemented in combination in a single embodiment”) and includes a stretchable base ([0080]: “the example substrate 505 includes a thermoplastic PU sheet 505a that is thermally-bonded to a flexible base substrate”) and a line disposed on the stretchable base ([0107]: “FIG. 11A shows an illustrative diagram depicting an example screen-printing, fabrication method to produce a stretchable IB electronics device using elastic carbon ink as functional islands and followed by elastic, silver bridges in a serpentine configuration (e.g., line width greater than 150 microns)”; Figs. 11B-11J),
wherein the connection terminal of the sensor is connected to the line of the stretchable substrate ([0008]: “a first electrical interconnection structure and a second electrical interconnection structure each attached to the stretchable substrate”).
However, Wang does not teach wherein the line includes a plurality of line layers which are stacked, wherein each of the plurality of line layers includes a support layer embedded in the stretchable base and a metal layer disposed on the support layer, and wherein the connection terminal is disposed on the metal layer.
Garai discloses a sensor for measuring analytes including flexible substrates. Specifically, Garai teaches wherein the line includes a plurality of line layers which are stacked (Figs. 14-23),
wherein each of the plurality of line layers includes a support layer embedded in the stretchable base and a metal layer disposed on the support layer ([0066]: “the substrate 20 is shown to include a top layer 91 and a bottom layer 92. In an exemplary embodiment, the top layer 91 and the bottom layer 92 are a flexible, electrically insulating material, such as polyimide, though other suitable materials may be used”; [0068]: “the substrate 20 includes an intermediate layer 93 between the top layer 91 and the bottom layer 92. In an exemplary embodiment, the intermediate layer 93 is a flexible, electrically insulating material, such as polyimide, though other suitable materials may be used. Flexible conductive layers 94, such as a metallization layers, are located between the intermediate layer 93 and each of the top and bottom layers 91 and 92. The substrate 20 further includes adhesive layers 95 between each respective layer 91, 92, and 93 and the respective conductive layers 94. Exemplary conductive layers 94 are copper, platinum or another suitable metal. As is well known, each conductive layer 94 may be patterned to form a desired circuitry. Further, such patterning may provide for etching or otherwise forming vias through the intermediate layer 93 and for filling the vias with the conductive material of the conductive layers 94”), and
wherein the connection terminal is disposed on the metal layer (Fig. 15; [0069]: “The integrated circuit device 40 is directly electrically connected to, and integrated with, the directly underlying conductive layer 94”). Wang and Garai are analogous arts as they are both related to sensor systems used for monitoring analyte levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the plurality of line layers from Garai into the sensing device from Wang as it allows for more connections, which can improve the function of the sensing device.
Regarding claim 2, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the connection terminal of the sensor is disposed between two line layers among the plurality of line layers (Garai, Figs. 16-17).
Regarding claim 3, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 2, wherein the stretchable base is disposed between adjacent line layers among the plurality of line layers (Garai, Figs. 14-23).
Regarding claim 8, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein: the flexible substrate is divided into an electrode region in which the electrode is disposed and a connection terminal region in which the connection terminal is disposed; and a width of the connection terminal region is greater than a width of the electrode region (Wang, Fig. 16, stretchable battery layer (1601) contains the connection terminals and the device base (1605) contains the electrodes).
Regarding claim 9, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein: the line of the stretchable substrate includes a plurality of pads (Wang, Figs. 13A-13I: functional islands) and a connector configured to connect the plurality of pads (Wang, Figs. 13A-13I: Island-bridges); and a width of the connection terminal is different from a width of the pad (Wang, Figs. 13A-13I).
Regarding claim 10, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 9, further comprising an adhesive portion disposed between the connection terminal and the pad (Wang, [0140]: “FIG. 16 shows a diagram of an example stretchable battery 1600 configured as a stretchable battery layer 1601 attached to an adhesive 1603, which attaches to skin of a user or other surface of an object, and electrically coupled to a support base 1605 of a sensor device, e.g., such as an electronics unit and/or sensor unit. The stretchable battery 1601 can include any of the example embodiments of the stretchable battery in accordance with the present technology. In the example shown in FIG. 16, the stretchable battery layer 1601 can be integrated into the adhesive layer 1603 to form an adhesive patch, which can be applied to any surface, e.g., skin. The device base 1605 can include supportive electronics units, such as communication and power management, sensor electronics, etc., which can be a mounted dongle that attaches to the adhesive patch. The example stretchable device design would extremely reduce the bulk associated with conventional wearable sensors, and make the wearable device more compliant and therefore more comfortable to a user.”).
Regarding claim 18, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 2, wherein the metal layer includes at least one of Au, Cu, Pt and Ag (Wang, [0121]: “The island-bridge array was modified into an interdigitated design of zinc anode and silver (II) oxide cathode, shown in FIG. 14A, e.g., demonstrating the reaction in shown in FIG. 14B. The example silver serpentine connections were printed first onto a polyurethane substrate, where they are all connected by carbon islands.”) and the support layer includes at least one of LCP (liquid crystal polymer), PEEK (poly ether ether ketone) and PI (polyimide) (Garai, [0068]: “the intermediate layer 93 is a flexible, electrically insulating material, such as polyimide, though other suitable materials may be used”).
Regarding claim 19, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 9, wherein the connector includes a repeated curved pattern (Wang, [0206]: “a first electrical interconnection structure and a second electrical interconnection structure each attached to the stretchable substrate and having a periodic curved horseshoe geometry configured to connect unit cell regions positioned on the electrical interconnection structure”; Figs. 13A-13I).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wang/Garai combination as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hoss (US PG Pub 20240415419).
Regarding claim 12, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device according to claim 2.
However, the Wang/Garai combination does not teach wherein the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; the connection terminal of the sensor is disposed on the first surface; and a signal processing circuit pattern configured to process a signal received from the electrode through the connection terminal is further disposed on the first surface.
Hoss discloses analyte measurement systems. Specifically, Hoss teaches wherein:
the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; the connection terminal of the sensor is disposed on the first surface (Claim 17: “a sensor substrate including a first side having a first surface area and defining a first side of the glucose sensor, and a second side having a second surface area and defining a second side of the glucose sensor, a first conductive layer disposed on the first side, wherein the first conductive layer substantially covers the first surface area, a second conductive layer disposed on the second side, wherein the second conductive layer substantially covers the second surface area”); and
a signal processing circuit pattern configured to process a signal received from the electrode through the connection terminal is further disposed on the first surface ([0048]: “The data processing unit 102 performs data processing functions, where such functions may include, but are not limited to, filtering and encoding of data signals, each of which corresponds to a sampled analyte level of the user, for transmission to the primary receiver unit 104 via the communication link 103.”). Wang and Hoss are analogous arts as they are both related to sensor systems used for monitoring analyte levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the layers facing multiple surfaces and the sensing device having a signal processing unit from Hoss into the device from Wang, since it allows the device to have more connections in different directions, as well as allow the device to process the signals it receives to provide further results to the user.
Regarding claim 13, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 2.
However, the Wang/Garai combination does not teach wherein: the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; at least one of a reference electrode, a working electrode, and a counter electrode is disposed on the first surface and the second surface; and a plurality of connection terminals identical to the connection terminal are disposed on at least one of the first surface and the second surface.
Hoss teaches wherein: the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Claim 17: “a sensor substrate including a first side having a first surface area and defining a first side of the glucose sensor, and a second side having a second surface area and defining a second side of the glucose sensor”); at least one of a reference electrode, a working electrode, and a counter electrode is disposed on the first surface and the second surface ([0018]: “the sensors are double-sided, meaning that both sides of the sensor's substrate are electrochemically functional, i.e., each side provides at least one electrode”); and a plurality of connection terminals identical to the connection terminal are disposed on at least one of the first surface and the second surface (Claim 17: “a sensor substrate including a first side having a first surface area and defining a first side of the glucose sensor, and a second side having a second surface area and defining a second side of the glucose sensor, a first conductive layer disposed on the first side, wherein the first conductive layer substantially covers the first surface area, a second conductive layer disposed on the second side, wherein the second conductive layer substantially covers the second surface area”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the multiple surfaces from Hoss into the device from the Wang/Garai combination, since it allows the device to have more connections in different directions, as well as allow the device to process the signals it receives to provide further results to the user.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wang/Garai combination as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hoss and Wasson (US PG Pub 20160262670).
Regarding claim 14, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 2.
However, the Wang/Garai combination does not teach wherein: the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface and at least one of a reference electrode, a working electrode, and a counter electrode is disposed on the first surface and the second surface.
Hoss teaches wherein: the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Hoss, Claim 17: “a sensor substrate including a first side having a first surface area and defining a first side of the glucose sensor, and a second side having a second surface area and defining a second side of the glucose sensor”), and at least one of a reference electrode, a working electrode, and a counter electrode is disposed on the first surface and the second surface (Hoss, [0018]: “the sensors are double-sided, meaning that both sides of the sensor's substrate are electrochemically functional, i.e., each side provides at least one electrode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the multiple surfaces from Hoss into the device from the Wang/Garai combination, since it allows the device to have more connections in different directions, as well as allow the device to process the signals it receives to provide further results to the user.
However, the Wang/Garai/Hoss combination does not teach wherein the substrate is wound in a spiral shape such that the first surface faces outward and the second surface faces inward.
Wasson discloses a bandage type monitoring system. Specifically, Wasson teaches wherein the substrate is wound in a spiral shape such that the first surface faces outward and the second surface faces inward ([0046]: “A loop, dipole, or other type of antenna can be one or more layers of conductive material patterned on a surface (e.g., 150) of the flexible substrate 110 to form one or more specified conductive shapes (e.g., a ring, a spiral, a curved or straight line, an elliptical or rectangular patch, a fractal)”). Wang, Garai, Hoss, and Wasson are analogous arts as they are all related to sensor systems used for monitoring analyte levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wind the substrate in a spiral shape as it allows the sensor to have more area and range to interact with the area it is sensing, providing more readings and a more accurate result.
Regarding claim 15, the Wang/Garai combination teaches the sensing device of claim 2.
However, the Wang/Garai combination does not teach wherein: the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface and at least one of a reference electrode, a working electrode, and a counter electrode is disposed on the first surface and the second surface.
Hoss teaches wherein: the flexible substrate includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Hoss, Claim 17: “a sensor substrate including a first side having a first surface area and defining a first side of the glucose sensor, and a second side having a second surface area and defining a second side of the glucose sensor”), at least one reference electrode is disposed on the first surface; and at least one working electrode and at least one counter electrode are disposed on the second surface (Hoss, [0018]: “the sensors are double-sided, meaning that both sides of the sensor's substrate are electrochemically functional, i.e., each side provides at least one electrode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the multiple surfaces from Hoss into the device from the Wang/Garai combination, since it allows the device to have more connections in different directions, as well as allow the device to process the signals it receives to provide further results to the user.
However, the Wang/Garai/Hoss combination does not teach wherein the substrate is wound in a spiral shape such that the first surface faces outward and the second surface faces inward.
Wasson teaches wherein the substrate is wound in a spiral shape such that the first surface faces outward and the second surface faces inward ([0046]: “A loop, dipole, or other type of antenna can be one or more layers of conductive material patterned on a surface (e.g., 150) of the flexible substrate 110 to form one or more specified conductive shapes (e.g., a ring, a spiral, a curved or straight line, an elliptical or rectangular patch, a fractal)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wind the substrate in a spiral shape as it allows the sensor to have more area and range to interact with the area it is sensing, providing more readings and a more accurate result.
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s argument regarding the rejections and objections previously set forth have been fully considered and are persuasive unless directly addressed subsequently.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wang does not disclose that there is a connection relationship between the stretchable circuit of Fig. 14 and the sensor of Fig. 15. However, as stated in the 103 rejection of claim 1 above, Wang discloses that the embodiments can be combined into one and that the device of Fig. 14 can be connected with a sensor ([0121]: “The example design of the island-bridge structure shown in FIGS. 14A-14D is quite adaptable to various technologies, e.g., especially for electrochemical devices such as batteries, biofuel cells, supercapacitors, and chemical sensors”; [0214]: “Certain features that are described in this patent document in the context of separate embodiments can also be implemented in combination in a single embodiment”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the support structure and metal layer from claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791