DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Acknowledgment is made of the present application as a National Stage (371) entry of PCT Application No. PCT/US21/22156, filed March 12, 2021, which claims benefit under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/989,341, filed March 13, 2020.
Requirement for Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group II (claims 10-15), directed to a method of treating an illness caused by a coronavirus, swine flu, or avian flu in a subject comprising administering systemically to the subject a non-antibacterial tetracycline compound, and the election of incyclinide (also known as “CMT-3/COL-31” as acknowledged by Applicant at p.2 of the Reply filed 12/08/25) as the single disclosed species of non-antibacterial tetracycline compound, to which examination on the merits will be confined, as stated in the reply filed December 8, 2025, is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Therefore, for the reasons above and those made of record at p.2-6 of the Office Action dated October 8, 2025, the requirement remains proper and is hereby made FINAL.
Claims 1-9 and 15-17 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 C.F.R. §1.142(b) as being directed to non-elected subject matter.
The claims that are drawn to the elected invention and elected species are claims 10-14 and such claims are herein acted on the merits infra.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the present application as a National Stage (371) entry of PCT Application No. PCT/US21/22156, filed March 12, 2021, which claims benefit under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/989,341, filed March 13, 2020. The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original non-provisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of prior-filed U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/989,341, filed March 13, 2020, fails to provide adequate written support and/or enabling guidance as set forth under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §112 for one or more claims of the present application. Specifically, the ‘341 disclosure fails to clearly disclose the systemic administration of a “non-antibacterial tetracycline compound” for the treatment of any illness that is caused by “a coronavirus [including COVID-19], swine flu or avian flu” (claim 10), particularly when administered in an amount that is specifically “effective to treat” this broad scope of “illness”, but with “substantially no antibacterial activity” (claim 10). As a result, Applicant’s claims are not entitled to the benefit of the earlier effective filing date of this ‘341 application.
Accordingly, the effective filing date of claims 10-14 is March 12, 2021 (the filing date of PCT Application No. PCT/US21/22156).
The Examiner will revisit the issue of priority as necessary each time the claims are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed September 26, 2024 (two pages total) has been received and entered into the present application. As reflected by the attached, completed copy of form PTO/SB/08a, the Examiner has considered the cited references.
Objection to the Claims
Claims 11-14 are objected to for reciting “[a] method according to [c]laim 10”, which is grammatically awkward as it does not use the proper antecedent basis to refer to prior claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant may wish to consider amending each of claims 11-14 to recite ---[t]he method according to [c]laim 10--- to obviate the instant objection, but is reminded that the adoption of such suggestion does not necessarily equate to the obviation of any other objection and/or rejection set forth infra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) (Pre-AIA Second Paragraph)
(1) Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s claim 10 is directed to “[a] method of treating an illness caused by a coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu, in a subject in need thereof” by “administering systemically to the subject a non-antibacterial tetracycline compound in an amount that is effective to treat an illness caused by a coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu, but has substantially no antibacterial activity”.
It is unclear if the instantly claimed method treats “a coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu” per se, or a concomitant illness that results from one of such viral infections (e.g., pneumonia, cough).
Clarification is required.
Also, it is unclear if the subject must exhibit viral infection by a coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu, or simply “an illness” known to be associated with such viral infections.
Clarification is required.
It is also unclear what amounts of the “non-antibacterial tetracycline compound” are effective to yield the treatment of “an illness caused by a coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu”, but with “substantially no antibacterial activity”. Neither Applicant’s original disclosure nor the claims define the amounts of the non-antibacterial tetracycline compounds that function in the manner claimed to reasonably apprise the ordinarily skilled artisan of the objective boundaries of this genus of amounts (and, thus, what amounts are included, or excluded, from the scope of the claims). Applicant’s failure to additionally define what constitutes “substantially no antibacterial activity” (e.g., the determinative threshold of what level of activity constitutes “antibacterial” or “non-antibacterial” activity) further complicates the interpretation of the amounts of this non-antibacterial tetracycline compound that are included (or excluded) from the claim scope. Without such clarity, the determination of the scope of amounts of such compound that function in the manner claimed would rely on the subjective interpretation of the ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and, thus, fails to clearly or precisely define the objective boundaries of the claimed subject matter.
MPEP §2173.05(b)(IV) clearly states that “[c]laim scope cannot depend solely on the unrestrained subjective opinion of a particular individual purported to be practicing the invention” (citing to Datamize LLC v. Plumtree Software, Inc., 417 F.3d 1342, 1350, 75 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2005)).
Clarification is required.
Applicant’s claim 11 is directed to “[a] method according to [c]laim 10, wherein the illness is COVID-19, and wherein treatment is begun before the onset of COVID-19”.
The intent to begin treatment for COVID-19 “before the onset of COVID-19” appears to circumscribe a prophylactic therapy, which then complicates the identification of “a subject in need” of treatment for “an illness caused by a coronavirus” in which the method is practiced. If the subject does not yet have COVID-19, then it is unclear how the ordinarily skilled artisan identifies those subjects – out of all subjects – that are going to develop COVID-19 infection and be “in need” of treatment for an illness caused by such coronavirus infection, unless Applicant’s method intends to circumscribe the treatment of any subject prophylactically prior to onset of COVID-19.
Clarification is required.
As claims 12-14 do not remedy these points of ambiguity in the claims, they must also be rejected on the same grounds applied thereto such claims.
For these reasons, the claims fail to meet the tenor and express requirements of 35 U.S.C. §112(b) (pre-AIA second paragraph) and are, thus, properly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(2) Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duncan (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0203881 A1; 2003), citing to Alberti et al. (“Guillain-Barré Syndrome Related to COVID-19 Infection”, Neurology: Neuroimmunology & Neuroinflammation, 2020 July, 7(4):1-3) as factual evidence.
Duncan et al. teaches a method of treating a neurologic disorder, such as Guillain-Barré Syndrome by administering an effective amount of a tetracycline compound, in which the tetracycline compound is a non-antibiotic tetracycline (p.1, para.[0010]-[0013]). Duncan et al. teaches that the non-antibiotic tetracyclines have little or no antibiotic activity, and include the species of 6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-dedimethylaminotetracycline (p.1, para.[0013]-[0014]). Duncan et al. teaches that the amount of the compound to be administered is effective to inhibit microglial expression or activity by reducing microglial cell production and yields an anti-inflammatory effect (p.2, para.[0018]). Duncan et al. teaches that the compound is administered systemically and may also be used in the form of a pharmaceutical composition that includes both the compound and a suitable pharmaceutical carrier or excipient (p.2, para.[0022]-[0024]).
The teachings of Alberti et al. are cited as factual evidence of the relationship between Guillain-Barré Syndrome and COVID-19 (col.2, para.2, p.2), thereby establishing Guillain-Barré Syndrome as “an illness caused by a coronavirus” - in particular, COVID-19 – as instantly claimed.
MPEP §2131.01 states that “[n]ormally, only one reference should be used in making a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102”, but that it is proper to apply a second reference when the extra reference is cited for the purpose of “show[ing] that a characteristic not disclosed in the reference is inherent”.
Therefore, instant claims 10-14 are properly anticipated under AIA 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1).
Double Patenting
(3) Claims 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-10 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/601,258.
Claims 1 and 8 of the ‘258 application are specifically directed to a method of treating Charcot-Marie-Tooth Disease (CMTD) in a human in need thereof comprising systemically administering to the human a non-antibacterial tetracycline compound, wherein the non-antibacterial tetracycline compound is “CMT-3” (also known as 6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-dedimethylaminotetracycline) (copending claims 1, 3-10).
In instant claim 10, Applicant recites “[a] method of treating an illness caused by coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu, in a subject in need thereof” via “administering systemically to the subject” the non-antibacterial tetracycline compound CMT-3 (also known as 6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-dedimethylaminotetracycline) in an amount that is effective to treat an illness caused by a coronavirus, swine flu or avian flu, but has substantially no antibacterial activity.
In claim 11, Applicant specifies that the “illness is COVID-19” and “treatment is begun before the onset of COVID-19”.
Applicant’s recitation in claim 11 that the “treatment is begun before the onset of COVID-19” indicates that the subject of the method does not yet have COVID-19 and is receiving a prophylactic administration of the non-antibacterial tetracycline compound.
In this case, the CMTD subject of the method of the ‘258 copending claims receiving systemic administration of CMT-3 (also known as 6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-dedimethylaminotetracycline) meets Applicant’s instantly claimed limitations directed to the systemic administration of this same compound to a subject that has not yet experienced onset of COVID-19 (or, thus, an illness associated therewith). The resultant effect of “treating an illness” caused by COVID-19 must necessarily yield from the practice of the ‘258 method because products of identical chemical composition (in this case, 6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-dedimethylaminotetracycline) must yield the same properties or effects when used in an identical manner. MPEP §2112.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Rejection of claims 10-14 is proper.
Claims 1-9 and 15-17 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b).
No claims of the present application are allowed.
Applicant is requested to specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure in response to this Office action, including the claims (M.P.E.P. §§ 714.02 and 2163.06). In doing so, applicant is requested to refer to pages and line (or paragraph) numbers (if available) in the as-filed specification, not the published application. Due to the procedure outlined in M.P.E.P. § 2163.06 for interpreting claims, other art may be applicable under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) once the aforementioned issue(s) is/are addressed.
Applicant is reminded that MPEP §2001.06(b) clearly states that “[t]he individuals covered by 37 C.F.R. 1.56 have a duty to bring to the attention of the examiner, or other Office official involved with the examination of a particular application, information within their knowledge as to other copending United States applications which are "material to patentability" of the application in question." See Armour & Co. v. Swift & Co., 466 F.2d 767, 779, 175 USPQ 70, 79 (7th Cir. 1972). MPEP §2001.06(b) clearly indicates that “if a particular inventor has different applications pending in which similar subject matter but patentably indistinct claims are present that fact must be disclosed to the examiner of each of the involved applications.” See Dayco Prod. Inc. v. Total Containment, Inc., 329 F.3d 1358, 1365-69, 66 USPQ2d 1801, 1806-08 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
/Leslie A. Royds Draper/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629
March 21, 2026
1 Applicant further identifies the compound “CMT-3” in the Specification as being synonymous with the chemical name “6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-de(dimethylamino)tetracycline” at p.4, l.16-17. Any reference to “CMT-3”, “incyclinide” or “6-demethyl-6-deoxy-4-de(dimethylamino)tetracycline” will be understood to constitute a reference to the elected species.