DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE APPLICATION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants claimed invention, filed 13 September, 2022, in the matter of Application N 17/911,329. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
The present application, filed on or after September 13, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
No additions, amendments, or cancellations have been made to the originally filed claims. The issue of new matter is moot.
Thus, claims 1-16 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Three Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 13 September 2022, 27 October 2023, and 15 November 2023, are acknowledged and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masatoshi et al. (US20090137530) in view of Jones et al. (WO2019246312) and Masaki et al. (JP2016155777) and Shidara et al (JP2002284679).
Masatoshi et al. teach 2-amino-2-[2-(4-heptyloxy-3-trifluoromethylphenyl)-ethyl] propane-1,3-diol as a pharmaceutical agent. The compound of any of 1 to 4, wherein the compound of the formula (I) is any of the following a-e, or a pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt thereof, or a hydrate thereof, or a solvate thereof. 2-amino-2-[2-(4-heptyloxy-3-trifluoromethylphenyl)-ethyl] propane-1,3-diol, or a pharmaceutically acceptable acid addition salt thereof, or a hydrate thereof, or a solvate thereof (See 11a). The chemical or its hydrochloride is described in claim 13, 2-amino-2-[2-(4-heptyloxy-3-trifluoromethylphenyl)-ethyl] propane-1,3-diol. Furthermore, claim 14 states that the compound and a carrier are combined to create a pharmaceutical composition. Masatoshi et al. do not discuss the use of excipients like sodium and calcium hydrogen phosphate (See structure IIa and claims 13 and 14).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Jones et al. teach an S1P modulator serves as the extra agent. The S1P inhibitor is chosen in certain forms from the group that includes fingolimod, KRP203, Siponimod, ponesimod, cenerimod, and amiselimod, as well as their pharmaceutically acceptable salts. Ozanimod, estrasimod, amiselimod, or a pharmaceutically approved salt of these are the S1P modulators in certain formulations (See page 16, lines 29-34 and claims 84 and 85). one or more excipients selected from dibasic calcium phosphate, calcium dihydrogen phosphate, dibasic sodium phosphate and sodium dihydrogen phosphate (See formulations and pharmaceutical formulations paragraph 6, Exemplary formulations paragraph 4 and 5, Aqueous/liquid formulations paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date to use the compound of Masatoshi et al. with the excipients of Jones et al. with the expectation of arriving at a useful pharmaceutical composition.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, 4, Masaki et al. teach the ingredients sugar alcohol, dibasic calcium phosphate, and montelukast or its salt (See abstract). The action of light, temperature, or preparation-based additives can change montelukast sodium into a similar compound. The purpose of this invention is to prevent the creation of the aforementioned linked material in the composition that contains sodium montelukast after it has been manufactured or preserved (See paragraph 8). The current invention offers a mixture of calcium hydrogen phosphate or sugar alcohol and montelukast or a salt of it. Mannitol is preferred above erythritol, xylitol, maltitol, sorbitol, lactitol, and erythritol when choosing a sugar alcohol (See paragraph 5).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Shidara et al. teach thyroid hormone-containing solid preparation composition that contains 0.1 to 5.0% by weight of an inorganic stabilizer and is mostly made up of crystalline cellulose. At least one inorganic stabilizer is chosen from the group that includes sodium hydrogen phosphate, sodium carbonate, and other substances. The above-described solid pharmaceutical composition includes excipients by weight. Lactose, D-mannitol, or anhydrous calcium hydrogen phosphate are examples of excipients (See abstract).
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 16, Masaki et al. teach the content ratio of calcium hydrogen phosphate or sugar alcohol is, for instance, 75 to 97% by mass, preferably 80% based on the total mass of the composition in order to inhibit the development of the substance related to montelukast sodium. 95% by weight is possible, while 85-93% by weight is preferable (See paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 7, Masaki et al. teach under light-shielding conditions, the following procedure was carried out. Iron trioxide, titanium oxide, talc, and yellow ferric oxide are the colorants (See paragraph 44).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Masaki et al. teach the current invention’s solid preparation can be made using a technique that is well-known to experts in the field. A tablet, for instance, would be made by mixing montelukast or a salt of it with sugar alcohol and any additional ingredients, then adding a binder to create granules, which would then be compacted into tablets. It is also possible to produce tablets, powders, tiny granules, granules, and capsules using techniques that are well-known to experts in the field (See paragraph 20).
Regarding claim 17, with respect to the limitation that the gelatin capsule is stored in a polyethylene bottle, the examiner notes that polyethylene bottles are standard pharmaceutical storage containers routinely used for storing oral solid dosage forms, including capsules. Jones teaches pharmaceutical formulations comprising amiselimod and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, and further teaches conventional pharmaceutical packaging materials. Even if polyethylene is not expressly named, plastic and polymeric containers for storing oral dosage forms are well known, with polyethylene (e.g., HDPE) representing a default material choice in the pharmaceutical industry. The selection of a polyethylene bottle for storage of a capsule dosage form would therefore have been an obvious design choice, well within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, when considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation and in view of the teachings of Masatoshi and Jones, the recitation of a gelatin capsule stored in a polyethylene bottle would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and does not render the claimed invention nonobvious.
Regarding claim 18, press-through packs represent a conventional and routine packaging choice for solid oral dosage forms such as gelatin capsules. Selection of a press-through pack for storing capsules would have been an obvious matter of routine pharmaceutical packaging.
With respect to the limitation that the pharmaceutical composition is filled in a gelatin capsule and stored in a press-through pack, the examiner notes that press-through packs are a form of conventional blister packaging routinely used for storing oral solid dosage forms, including gelatin capsule. Even if not expressly recited in the prior art, the selection of a press-through pack would have been an obvious matter of routine pharmaceutical packaging. Moreover, this limitation relates to storage and packaging rather than the structure of the pharmaceutical composition itself and does not confer patentable weight.
Regarding claims 13, and 14, Masaki et al. teach severe test at 60 degrees Celsius, 20 or more tablets of example 1 were kept in a desiccator with a saturated aqueous sodium chloride solution and another desiccator without any saturated aqueous sodium chloride. 60 degrees Celsius and 75% relative humidity for seven days. Following storage, HPLC was used to determine the sample’s fraction of related compounds. From the solvent peak to 35 minutes post-injection, the associated substance’s peak region is a peak area distinct from the montelukast peak. The region of the montelukast peak plus the associated substance peak from the solvent peak to thirty-five minutes post-injection is known as the total peak area (See test example 1, and paragraph 29).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Masaki et al. teach the sugar alcohol is mannitol, or more specifically D-mannitol, to prevent the production of an analog of montelukast sodium (See paragraph 8). The content ratio of calcium hydrogen phosphate or sugar alcohol in the present invention is 75 to 97% by mass, ideally 80%, based on the composition’s total mass. This is done to inhibit the production of a substance related to montelukast sodium. 95% by weight is possible, while 85-93% by weight is preferable (See paragraph 9). One embodiment’s composition consists of montelukast sodium and a sugar alcohol, ideally mannitol, regarding the overall mass of the composition, the content ratio of each component is, for instance, 3 to 8% by mass for montelukast sodium, ideally 4 to 6% by mass, and 85 to 95% by mass for sugar alcohol, ideally 87 to 93% by mass (See paragraph 15).
Masaki et al. teach a mixture that contains calcium hydrogen phosphate, sugar alcohol, or montelukast or a salt of it. Masaki et al. goes on to say that calcium hydrogen phosphate inhibits the production of a montelukast-related compound (See abstract, paragraph 8 and paragraph 5).
Shidara et al. teach a solid preparation composition that contains thyroid hormone and an inorganic stabilizer. Shidara et al. goes on to say that sodium hydrogen phosphate or something similar could be the inorganic stabilizer and that the inorganic stabilizer stabilizes the complex (See abstract).
A person skilled in the art who encountered Masaki et al., Shidara et al., and Masatoshi et al. would find it challenging to configure the invention of the current application because neither author indicates or suggests that calcium hydrogen phosphate and sodium hydrogen phosphate stabilize the compound described in Masaki et al. as described above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Masatoshi et al. discloses the active ingredient amiselimod but does not describe the specific excipients recited in claim 1 (dibasic calcium phosphate, calcium dihydrogen phosphate, dibasic sodium phosphate, and sodium dihydrogen phosphate.
However, a reference need not disclose every claimed element to support a prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). Masatoshi clearly teaches the use of amiselimod as a pharmaceutical active ingredient, thereby establishing the drug substance and its therapeutic context. The claimed invention differs only in the selection of pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, which are taught by jones as discussed below.
Applicant asserts that Jones is directed to a device and method for local administration and therefore is unrelated to the formulation of a small-molecule drug such as amiselimod. This argument is not persuasive.
Jones expressly discloses pharmaceutical formulations comprising immunomodulators and S1P modulators, explicitly listing amiselimod among the suitable active agents. Jones further teaches that such formulations may include pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, including dibasic calcium phosphate, calcium dihydrogen phosphate, dibasic sodium phosphate, and sodium dihydrogen phosphate.
Accordingly, Jones is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely the formulation of amiselimod into a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form, and therefore constitutes analogous art. See In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Applicant emphasizes that Jones contains approximately 859 pages and that only a subset of examples appears late in the specification. This argument is legally irrelevant. There is no requirement that motivation to combine be derived from the examples, nor that a reference be concise. A reference is available for all that it teaches, including disclosures in the specification and claims. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., 874 F.2d 804,807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Jones expressly teaches the use of amiselimod and the claimed excipients in pharmaceutical formulations, regardless of the length or placement of such disclosures.
Applicant argues that neither Masatoshi nor Jones addresses the specific problem of “suppression of the production of related substances of amiselimod” or improved storage stability. This argument is unpersuasive because prior art references are not required to recognize or solve the same problem as the applicant. See KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420 (2007). It is sufficient that the prior art teaches the claimed components and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to combine them. Here, Jones teaches the use of phosphate salts and calcium salts as conventional pharmaceutical excipients, which are well-known buffering and stabilizing agents commonly employed to improve formulation robustness and stability. Selecting such excipients for a known active ingredient (amiselimod) represents routine formulation optimization within the level of ordinary skill. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Masatoshi and Jones to arrive at the claimed invention because: Masatoshi establishes amiselimod as a known pharmaceutical active ingredient. Jones teaches pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, including the claimed phosphate and calcium salts, for use in formulations comprising S1P modulators, expressly including amiselimod. The selection of known excipients for a known active ingredient to achieve acceptable formulation properties is routine and predictable. This rational does not rely on hindsight but on ordinary creativity in pharmaceutical formulation. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 421.
While applicant asserts that it would not have been easy or obvious to arrive at the claimed invention, no comparative data, unexpected results, or criticality of the specific excipient combination has been provided to rebut the prima facie case. The applicant argument alone, unsupported by objective evidence, is insufficient. See In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
After evaluating the totality of the facts and evidence, as required under MPEP 2141 and relevant case law, the examiner finds that applicant has not overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. The combination of Masatoshi and Jones teaches or renders obvious the claimed pharmaceutical composition, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is therefore maintained and made final.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615