DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 4, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on November 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Claim 4 has been amended to depend from claim 1. As a result, claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter “lateral surface” recited in claims 1 and 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the blow port is arranged along the top panel of the atomization tank more to the one widthwise end of the atomization tank than is the first connection part, and more to the other widthwise end of the atomization tank than is the edge part.” It is suggested to amend to -the blow port is arranged along the top panel of the atomization tank more to the one widthwise end of the atomization tank than -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “blowing element” in claim 1.
In light of the specification, the corresponding structure for the limitation “blowing element” has been interpreted as a fan in light of paragraph [0111].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "sheetlike" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "sheetlike"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites "the send-out port is provided on an inner surface of the atomization tank and, with the connection part put in between, more toward said other widthwise end" in last line. However, it does not specify what the “connection part put in between” refers to or defines its structure or relationship to the other components, so the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 3-5 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 2006/0213508 A1) in view of Xie et al. (CN 109092616A).
With regard to claim 1, Murray discloses a spraying apparatus (40) comprising: an atomization tank (48) enabled for storing a liquid formulation (Fig. 6); an atomizing device (110) being ultrasonic vibration elements (114) arranged in the atomization tank interior (Fig. 6), for atomizing the liquid formulation to generate fine particles (42); a blower (156) furnished with a blowing element enabled for maintaining predetermined rpm (Par. [0050]), for blasting into the atomization tank interior (Fig. 6), through a blow port (74) provided in the atomization tank, conveyance air that is for conveying the fine particles of the liquid formulation (Fig. 6); a send-out port (76), provided in the atomization tank, through which the fine particles are sent out together with the conveyance air (Fig. 6); and a baffle plate (158) arranged in the atomization tank interior so as to receive liquid columns of the liquid formulation (Fig. 6 and Par. [0052]), produced by the ultrasonic vibration elements (114); wherein the baffle plate (158) is constituted by a flat sheetlike element arranged inclined diagonally downward (Fig. 6), directed toward one widthwise end of the atomization tank (right side of atomization tank as seen in Fig. 6), and is furnished with an edge part disposed in the atomization tank spaced apart at a predetermined spacing from a lateral surface along the one widthwise end (Fig. 6), and with a connection part connected to an inner side of a top panel (one end of baffle 158 is in connection with top cover 50) of the atomization tank; the edge part is arranged more to the one widthwise end of the atomization tank than is the connection part (open edge of baffle 158 is arranged closer to the right side of atomization tank as seen in Fig. 6); and the send-out port (76) is provided on an inner surface of the atomization tank (Fig. 6) and, with the connection part put in between, more toward said other widthwise end (sent-out port 87 is arranged closer to left side of atomization tank as seen in Fig. 6).
Murray does not disclose that the blow port is arranged along the top panel of the atomization tank more to the one widthwise end of the atomization tank than is the first connection part, and more to the other widthwise end of the atomization tank than is the edge part.
Xie teaches a spraying apparatus comprising a blow port, wherein the blow port (at fan 6, see Fig. 3) is arranged along the top panel of the atomization tank (Fig. 3) more to the one widthwise end of the atomization tank than the first connection part of the baffle (connection part of baffle 12 is arranged further away to right side of atomization tank as seen in Fig. 3), and more to the other widthwise end of the atomization tank than the edge part of the baffle (open end of baffle 12 is arranged further away to left side of atomization tank as seen in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the baffle of Murray, by incorporating the shape and arrangement of the baffle as taught by Xie, since the vertical angle of the baffle would improve atomization and efficacy (Par. [0028]).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Murray as modified by Xie discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Murray further discloses the send-out port (76) is provided in the top panel of the atomization tank (Fig. 6).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, , the device of Murray as modified by Xie discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Since the device of Murray as modified by Xie discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the device of Murray as modified by Xie will inherently perform all the method steps of claims 4 and 5.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752