DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 30 September 2025 has been entered. Claim 1 remains pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 30 June 2025; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0038,794 to Reddy (“Reddy”) in view of United States Patent No. 10,782,038 to Conrad (“Conrad”), and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0286058 to Lichtenberger (“Lichtenberger”), and United Staes Patent No. 7,686,285 to Murray et. al. (“Murray”).
Regarding claim 1, Reddy discloses a spraying apparatus (Fig. 1, whole device) comprising:
an atomization unit (1 with all contained structures except element 11, see annotated Fig. 1) furnished with
an atomization tank (1) for storing a liquid formulation (3, Fig. 1), the atomization tank provided with a blow port (inherent as Fig. 1 shows the fan is located outside of the atomization tank, thus requiring a port for the air to pass through) and a send-out port (see annotated figure) each either in a top panel of the atomization tank or in an upper part of a side of the atomization tank (fig. 1),
an atomizing device (2) consisting of ultrasonic vibration elements (2 is described as an ultrasonic wave generator, ¶[0002] second sentence) arranged interiorly in the atomization tank (4, Fig. 1), for atomizing the liquid formulation to generate fine particles (¶ [0022] second sentence),
a blower (10) for blasting interiorly into the atomization tank (¶ [0021] last sentence) through the blow port (Fig. 1 shows the fan is located outside of the atomization tank, thus requiring a port for the air to pass through), conveyance air that is for conveying the fine particles of the liquid formulation (¶ [0021] last sentence describes the fan 10 blow outside air into the dispensing chamber),
and a liquid level sensor (6, 7) for measuring a level in the atomization tank ( ¶ [0020] ll. 19-28 of the paragraph);
a tank unit (15) for supplying the liquid formulation to the atomization tank (liquid is supplied through conduit 16; ¶ [0023] second to last sentence);
a supply unit (14/16) arranged between the tank unit and the atomization unit (fig. 1), for supplying the liquid formulation from the tank unit to the atomization tank (par. 20);
a control unit (13) operatively connected to the liquid-level sensor and the supply unit (fig. 1), and to the atomizing device (par. 20), for controlling supply of the liquid formulation from the tank unit to the atomization tank (¶ [0020], ll. 14-17 of the paragraph), operation of the atomization device (see figure 1 wherein there is a line between 2 and 13), the control unit being configured to
operate the supply unit to start supply of the liquid formulation from the tank unit to the atomization tank when the liquid level measured by the liquid-level sensor falls below said predetermined first level (¶ [0020] ll. 20-26 of the paragraph – the level denoted by sensor 6),
halt supply by the supply unit of the liquid formulation from the tank unit to the atomization tank when the liquid level measured by the liquid-level sensor reaches said predetermine second level (¶ [0020] ll. 20-26 of the paragraph - level denoted by sensor 7); and,
a spouting unit (11) connected via a supply pipe (par. 20 – “emitting tube”) to the send-out port in the atomization tank (fig. 1), for spouting out the conveyance air (¶ [0021] last sentence describes dry fog is emitted from 11) and fine particles generated in the atomization unit (¶ [0021] last sentence describes dry fog is emitted from 11).
Fig. 1 (annotated).
Reddy does not expressly disclose:
the blower configured to maintain a predetermined rpm, and
the liquid-level sensor arranged on an external lateral surface of the atomization tank, and, via a flow through-hole provided in the lateral surface, connected to the atomization tank, for measuring a fluid level in the atomization tank;
a halt sensor arranged on an interior part of the atomization tank, for sensing a predetermined third liquid level in the atomization tank lower than said first level,
the control unit operatively connected to the blower for controlling operation of the blower;
the control unit being configured to halt operation of the blower and operation of the atomization device if the halt sensor senses a fall below said third liquid level.
Lichtenberger however teaches: a blower configured to maintain a predetermined rpm, (Lichtenberger, ¶ [0041] second sentence; describes the air flow rate should be controlled as to high a rate produces large droplets and too low a rate will not properly treat spaces have large volumes. ¶ [0044] describe a value for the flow rate. As fan rpm helps determines flow rate of a fan, Lichtenberger teaches maintaining a predetermined rpm).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the blower of Reddy to be configured to maintain a predetermined rpm in order to control the air flow as taught by Lichtenberger to ensure proper droplet size and volume coverage. (Lichtenberger, ¶[0041]).
Lichtenberger further teaches
on an interior part of the atomization tank (Lichtenberger Fig. 2), a halt sensor (Lichtenberger 24, Fig. 2a) for sensing a predetermined third liquid level (low solution safety level, ¶[0042] last sentence) lower than said first level is arranged, and
a control unit configured to, if the halt sensor arranged on the interior part of the atomization tank senses a fall below said third liquid level, halt operation of the atomization device. (Lichtenberger, [0042] last sentence, and Fig. 6, describes limit switch integrated into a control circuit to turn off ultrasonic packs if liquid level falls too low, for safety reason. One of ordinary skill may implement a similar switch in Reddy to protect atomization device.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reddy with the halt sensor of Lichtenberger for safety reason (Lichtenberger, [0042]) and to protect the atomization device as Reddy recognized the importance of atomization device covered (Reddy, [0020] ll. 8-10).
Conrad further teaches a liquid-level sensor that is a float liquid-level sensor (Conrad, 4283) arranged on an external lateral surface (fig. 10 – bottom surface of 292) of the atomization tank (Conrad, Fig. 10, atomization occurs within tank 224 of Conrad, so the float liquid level sensor is in an external part of the atomization tank) via a flow through-hole (Conrad, 444, col.28 ll.53-56) provided in a lateral surface (Conrad, 440, Fig. 10) of the atomization tank, for measuring fluid level in the atomization tank (Conrad, col. 28, ll. 45-48); (As the float sensor of Conrad senses a high or low level, one of ordinary skill may replace sensors 6 and 7 of Reddy with the single float sensor of Conrad).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reddy by replacing the sensors 6 and 7 of Reddy with the float sensor as taught by Conrad as a simple substitution. The functions of sensors 6 and 7 of Reddy along with the function of the float sensor 4283 of Conrad were known in the art as evidenced in the rejection set forth above. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the sensors of Reddy with the float sensor of Conrad to achieve the predictable result of sensing fluid levels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Reddy to include a float liquid level sensor as taught by Conrad as the courts have held that substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
It would also be obvious to move the inner chamber of Reddy to an external portion of the atomization tank, as taught by Conrad, as it would not affect the operation of Reddy or the float sensor, thus amounting to a rearrangement of parts, which has been found to be within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.03 (VI) (C).
Murray however teaches a control unit for controlling operation of the blower; (Murray, Fig. 7, shows the power supply to the blower controlled by a PID controller through solid state relay, thus controlling the operation of the blower via its power supply), and the control unit halts operation of the blower ( Murray, Fig. 7,col. 10 ll. 22-25).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to link the atomization unit and blower as taught by Murray for more precise control dry fog levels. (Murray col. 10, ll. 34-36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to modify Reddy to arrange the liquid-level sensor on an external lateral surface of the atomization tank because Reddy requires the sensor to be arranged within the inner chamber, which is inside the atomization tank. In response, it is noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In particular, the inner chamber of Reddy is not required to be arranged within the atomization tank as long as it is fluidly connected to it and able to fill as the tank is filled.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Lastly, Applicant further argues that none of Reddy, Lichtenberger, or Conrad discloses a halt sensor. This is not found persuasive because Lichenstein teaches that sensor, element 24, is provided to control atomizing device to “turn off” (interpreted to be “halt”) when the liquid level in the tank drops below a certain level (par. 42). Applicant’s arguments do not specifically address why this element of Lichenstein cannot be interpreted under the principle of broadest reasonable interpretation to be a halt sensor. Therefore, this is considered to be a “halt sensor” as recited in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752