DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 7/13/2026 in which claims 1, 9, 10, and 13 were amended, claim 4 was cancelled, and claims 16-21 were added. The USC 112 rejection has been overcome. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-10, and 12-21 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tanaka fails to disclose “warming hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic circuit during charging of the battery using power from the external charging device such that the hydraulic fluid is at a target hydraulic fluid temperature at the return to work time.” Moreover, none of the cited references alone, or in combination, teaches or suggests a method in which all of the battery temperature, the state of charge, and hydraulic fluid temperature are all timed to be at a target value at the return to work time. The examiner disagrees. Tanaka ¶11 discloses the hydraulic fluid warming during battery charging utilizing external power. It is the Koji reference that discloses the battery temperature adjustment ¶45-46 and battery SOC targets ¶46 to be done at the return to work time ¶30 and ¶38 as claimed. Applicant further argues that none of the cited references alone, or in combination, teaches or suggests at least these features, “upon the charge mode received at the user interface being the storage mode,” and “before adjusting the state of charge, adjusting the temperature of the battery at the heat exchange start time such that the battery is at the target temperature at the charging start time.”
The examiner disagrees. Rhodes discloses in fig 4 and ¶3 the storage mode limitation and Koji discloses ¶46 the adjustment of the battery temperature. Applicant further argues none of the cited references alone, or in combination, teaches or suggests a battery charging controller configured to “upon the second data received at the user interface indicating the storage mode: . . . selecting a storage charge rate based on the charge mode, the targeted charge change, and the duration of immobilization.”
The examiner disagrees. Koji discloses a duration of immobilization ¶30 and Rhodes discloses the storage charging mode based on the charge change and duration of immobilization fig 4 and ¶3.
It also appears that the applicant is using piecemeal analysis and using conclusory statements without providing any evidence as to why the prior art fails to disclose the claimed limitations. As such, the rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji et al. JP 2012044813 in view of Tanaka et al. JP 2008236871 further in view of Rhodes et al. US 20160221456 further in view of Das et al. US 20140184163.
With regards to claim 1 Koji discloses, a method for managing state of charge of a battery of an electric work vehicle [fig 1 vehicle 1] upon connection to an external charging device [fig 1 charging plug 7 and ¶8 “charging means that charges the battery using power from an external power source”] to be ready to return to work at a return to work time that coincides with an end of a duration of immobilization [¶30 “the control device 3 receives a signal from a time setting unit 8 indicating a scheduled driving start time at which the driving of the vehicle is to be started. When the scheduled driving start time is sent from the time setting unit 8, the time may be input directly by the user or may be based on information set in the navigation device" discloses the claimed return to work time”], the method comprising:
receiving, via a user interface, a user input indicative of a charge mode [¶30 above], the electric work vehicle having at least one normal charge mode [¶40 “In addition, in this charging operation, the rate at which power is charged to the battery module 2 is set so that the current SOC reaches the required SOC at the latest immediately before the scheduled driving time of the vehicle” which reasonably reads on the “normal charge mode”];
upon the charge mode received at the user interface being the at least one normal charge mode [¶30 and ¶40 above]:
using an initial state of charge value of the battery and a target operational state of charge value of the battery to calculate a targeted charge increase [¶38 "Next, in step 30, a predetermined control program uses the various information set and read in steps 10 and 20 to calculate the current amount of stored electricity (also simply referred to as the "current SOC") and the amount of stored electricity (also simply referred to as the "required SOC") that should be stored in the battery module 2 at the vehicle operation start time, and using this battery state and the scheduled vehicle operation start time, calculates the charging start time in order to complete charging by the scheduled vehicle operation start time"];
selecting a charge cycle based on the charge mode and the targeted charge increase, wherein the charge cycle comprises a charge rate [¶40 above],
calculating a charging start time based on the charge rate and the targeted charge increase, such that at the return to work time an actual state of charge of the battery corresponds to the target operational state of charge value [¶40 above];
using an initial temperature of the battery and a target temperature of the battery to calculate a targeted temperature change [¶45 "The required amount of heating is calculated, for example, by calculation using a map stored in advance in the ROM of the control device 3, the current battery temperature, a target battery temperature, and the like. To obtain this required amount of heating, the battery heating time can be secured for a period of time calculated by dividing the required amount of heating by the heating capacity (amount of heating per unit time) of the heating means"];
using the targeted temperature change to calculate a heat exchange start time such that the battery is at the target temperature before the charging start time [¶45 above];
adjusting the temperature of the battery at the heat exchange start time such that the battery is at the target temperature at the charging start time [¶46 "Step 51 is repeated until the heating start time arrives, and when the heating start time arrives, the heating operation of the battery module 2 is started (step 54)"];
starting the charge cycle using power from the external charging device at the charging start time such that the battery is at the target operational state of charge at the return to work time [¶46 "In addition, in this charging operation, the rate at which power is charged to the battery module 2 is set so that the current SOC reaches the required SOC at the latest immediately before the scheduled driving time of the vehicle"]; and
before adjusting the state of charge, adjusting the temperature of the battery at the heat exchange start time such that the battery is at the target temperature at the charging start time [¶53-54 disclose the temperature adjustment being performed prior to the start of the charging operation].
Koji fails to disclose, wherein the electric work vehicle comprises a hydraulic circuit for effecting movement of a machine work tool and warming hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic circuit during charging of the battery using power from the external charging device such that the hydraulic fluid is at a target hydraulic fluid temperature at the return to work time.
However, Tanaka discloses wherein the electric work vehicle comprises a hydraulic circuit for effecting movement of a machine work tool [Fig 2 hydraulic circuit 25] and warming hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic circuit during charging of the battery using power from the external charging device such that the hydraulic fluid is at a target hydraulic fluid temperature at the return to work time [¶11 “The present invention utilizes a charging means for a battery supplied with external power and can utilize part of that power as heating energy, so that the pressurized oil flowing through the hydraulic circuit can be preheated during charging without the need to add a special power circuit for preheating or relying on a timer”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Koji and Tanaka to utilize the external power for a heating means in order to simplify the system and allow heating to begin more quickly.
Koji fails to disclose, a storage mode, upon the charge mode received at the user interface being the storage mode: using a storage state of charge value and the initial state of charge value of the battery to calculate a targeted charge change of the battery; selecting a storage charge rate based on the charge mode and the targeted charge change, adjusting the state of charge of the battery to the storage state of charge value at the storage charge rate; and maintaining the state of charge of the battery at the storage state of charge value using power from the external charging device.
However, Rhodes discloses, a storage mode [abstract “during a storage duration” and fig 4 discloses storage SOC which reads on the storage mode], upon the charge mode received at the user interface being the storage mode: using a storage state of charge value and the initial state of charge value of the battery to calculate a targeted charge change of the battery; selecting a storage charge rate based on the charge mode and the targeted charge change; adjusting the state of charge of the battery to the storage state of charge value at the storage charge rate; and maintaining the state of charge of the battery at the storage state of charge value using power from the external charging device [¶3 "A battery charging system includes a charger coupled to a battery of a vehicle and configured to charge and discharge the battery, and a controller programmed to operate the charger based on a state of charge of the battery to, during a storage duration, maintain the state of charge at a partial charge level, and to, upon expiration of the storage duration, maintain the state of charge at an operating charge level and fig 4 steps 210-222 where the battery is held at the storage SOC].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Koji with Rhodes to provide a long-term/storage charging setting in order to prevent degradation of the battery.
Koji fails to disclose, the charge rate being the slowest rate capable of charging the battery to the target operational state of charge value at the return to work time.
However, Das disclose, the charge rate being the slowest rate capable of charging the battery to the target operational state of charge value at the return to work time [¶33 “The charge routines may include one or more fast-charge routines which charge the battery at a relatively high charge rate and one or more slow charge routines which charge the battery at a relatively low charge rate”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koji with Das to slowly charge the battery in order to extend the battery lifespan.
With regards to claims 3 and 12, the combination discloses, the method of claim 1 wherein adjusting the state of charge of the battery to the storage state of charge value includes discharging the battery upon the storage state of charge being less than the initial state of charge value [Rhodes fig 4 step 210 SOC is checked and 212 battery is discharged to reach the storage SOC].
Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 5 and 14 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1wherein the storage state of charge value is between 40% and 50% [Rhodes ¶28 "The battery 24 may be maintained at the partial charge level during periods of inactivity and brought to the operating charge level immediately prior to use. The partial charge level may be optimized to improve battery life during periods of storage or non-use. The partial charge level may vary depending upon the particular battery chemistry and architecture. For example, for a lithium-ion battery, a partial charge level of approximately 50% may be selected"].
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claims 6 and 15 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1 further comprising comparing the targeted charge increase to a charge threshold, wherein in an event that the targeted charge increase is smaller than the charge threshold the targeted charge increase is zero [Rhodes ¶28 above where "the battery 24 may be maintained at the partial charge level" which discloses that if the battery is already at the "threshold" no charging of the battery is done so the charge increase is zero as claimed].
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, a battery charging controller for managing state of charge of a battery of an electric work vehicle [Koji fig 1 vehicle 1] upon connection to an external charging device [Koji fig 1 charging plug 7 and ¶8 “charging means that charges the battery using power from an external power source”] to be ready to return to work at a return to work time that coincides with an end of a duration of immobilization [Koji ¶30 “the control device 3 receives a signal from a time setting unit 8 indicating a scheduled driving start time at which the driving of the vehicle is to be started. When the scheduled driving start time is sent from the time setting unit 8, the time may be input directly by the user or may be based on information set in the navigation device" discloses the claimed return to work time”], wherein the electric work vehicle comprises a hydraulic circuit for effecting movement of a machine work tool [Tanaka Fig 2 hydraulic circuit 25], the battery charging controller configured to:
receive first data comprising an initial state of charge value of the battery [Koji ¶38];
receive second data from a user interface, wherein the second data is indicative of a charge mode, the electric work vehicle having at least one normal charge mode [Koji ¶30] and a storage mode [Rhodes abstract “during a storage duration” and fig 4 discloses storage SOC which reads on the storage mode];
receive third data comprising an initial temperature of the battery [Koji ¶45];
upon the second data received at the user interface indicating the at least one normal charge mode:
use the first data and a target operational state of charge of the battery to calculate a targeted charge increase [Koji ¶38];
select a charge cycle based on the second data and the targeted charge increase, wherein the charge cycle comprises a charge rate [Koji ¶40];
calculate a charging start time based on the charge rate and the targeted charge increase, such that at the return to work time an actual state of charge of the battery is the target operational state of charge value [Koji ¶40], the charge rate being the slowest rate capable of charging the battery to the target operational state of charge value at the return to work time [Das ¶33];
use the third data and a target temperature of the battery to calculate a targeted temperature change [Koji ¶45];
use the targeted temperature change to calculate a heat exchange start time such that the battery is at the target temperature before the charging start time [Koji ¶45];
adjust the temperature of the battery at the heat exchange start time such that the battery is at the target temperature at the charging start time [Koji ¶46]; and
start the charge cycle using power from the external charging device at the charging start time such that the battery is at the target operational state of charge at the return to work time [Koji ¶46]; and
warm hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic circuit during charging of the battery using power from the external charging device such that the hydraulic fluid is at a target hydraulic fluid temperature at the return to work time [Tanaka ¶11]; and
upon the second data received at the user interface indicating the storage mode:
using a storage state of charge value and the initial state of charge value of the battery to calculate a targeted charge change of the battery [Rhodes ¶3];
selecting a storage charge rate based on the charge mode, the targeted charge change, and the duration of immobilization [Rhodes ¶3 and ¶33 discloses the storage duration which reasonably reads on the claimed duration of immobilization];
adjusting the state of charge of the battery to the storage state of charge value at the storage charge rate [Rhodes ¶3]; and
maintaining the state of charge of the battery at the storage state of charge value using power from the external charging device [Rhodes ¶3].
With regards to claim 13 the combination discloses, the battery charging controller of claim 12 wherein the controller is further configured to, upon the second data received at the user interface indicating the storage mode: (i) adjust the temperature of the battery such that the battery is at the target temperature; and (ii) adjust the state of charge of the battery to the storage state of charge value after adjusting the temperature of the battery to the target temperature [Koji 39 “In step 40, it is determined whether the battery module 2 is at a temperature at which efficient charging can be performed at the time when the charging operation is started, and if the temperature is such that efficient charging cannot be performed, it is determined whether the battery module 2 should be heated or cooled” and ¶30 above where the user indicates the scheduled time, which reasonably reads on the battery being at the appropriate temperature for any kind of charging operation].
With regards to claim 16 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein the normal charge mode is corresponds to a predetermined duration of immobilization [Rhodes ¶2 reasonably discloses that there is a “duration of immobilization” during a “normal charge” where when a vehicle is being charged that vehicle is in a “duration of immobilization”. This also appears to be an inherent mechanism in vehicle charging, where in order to charge the vehicle there is a “predetermined duration of immobilization” or downtime required to charge the vehicle].
With regards to claim 17 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein the electric work vehicle has the at least one normal charge mode, the storage mode, and an overnight mode [Rhodes discloses normal charge mode ¶2 and storage mode and overnight mode in ¶37].
With regards to claim 18 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein the selected charge cycle includes a plurality of different charge rates [Koji ¶40 discloses variable charging rates].
With regards to claim 19 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein each charge mode includes a pre-programmed list of one or more charge cycles [Das ¶33 discloses charge routines stored in memory].
With regards to claim 20 the combination discloses, the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on the charge mode, to warm the hydraulic fluid [Koji ¶30 and 40 disclose the charge mode and Tanaka fig 2 and ¶11 discloses the hydraulic fluid warming during battery charging].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji et al. JP 2012044813 in view of Tanaka et al. JP 2008236871 further in view of Rhodes et al. US 20160221456 further in view of Das et al. US 20140184163 further in view of Park US 20210349156.
With regards to claim 8 the combination fails to disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein the method further comprises obtaining data indicative of battery health.
However, Park discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the method further comprises obtaining data indicative of battery health [Abstract "A system for estimating a state of health (SOH) of a battery using big data, may include a big data server receiving vehicle driving-related data generated from a vehicle and a result of determining the SOH of the battery, processing the received vehicle driving-related data, and generating and storing a factor related to the SOH of the battery mounted in the vehicle; and a controller mounted in the vehicle and determining the SOH of the battery referring to the factor stored in the big data server"].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Koji in view of Tanaka, Rhodes, and Das with Park to obtain the state of health of the battery in order to improve reliability of battery charging and to prevent damage to the battery.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji et al. JP 2012044813 in view of Tanaka et al. JP 2008236871 further in view of Rhodes et al. US 20160221456 further in view of Das et al. US 20140184163 further in view of King et al. US 20140277869.
With regards to claim 9 the combination fails to disclose, the method of claim 1 wherein the charging start time may be further based on external factors which vary over the expected duration of immobilization, wherein the external factors comprise one or more of: cost of electricity; and temperature of the environment.
However, King discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the charging start time may be further based on external factors which vary over the expected duration of immobilization, wherein the external factors comprise one or more of: cost of electricity (¶54 "The controller 26 may receive a user profile input at 210 regarding cost settings at 222 such as whether to charge now, charge as needed, or to minimize cost of charging"); and
temperature of the environment (¶44 "When the ambient temperature is outside the environmental temperature range, there is a high likelihood that the battery 50 will need to be heated or cooled based on the additional thermal effect on the battery temperature from the environment. If the battery is not conditioned during charging, energy from the battery may need to be used to cool or heat the battery when the vehicle operates. By conditioning the battery, energy used for heating or cooling the battery for the start of the trip comes from the charger 80, and less energy is then required from the battery 50 itself to thermally regulated the battery temperature while the vehicle is driving").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Koji in view of Tanaka with King to take into account the cost and temperature in order to minimize costs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose, “comparing the duration of immobilization to a storage threshold, wherein the state of charge of the battery is adjusted to the storage state of -charge value when the duration of immobilization exceeds the storage threshold.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859