DETAILED ACTION
This Office action regarding Application No. 17/911,499 to Kamiyama et al. assigned to SANYO Electric Co., Ltd., Japan, filed 09/14/2022, published as U.S. P.G. Publication 2023/0099870 A1, on 03/30/2023 is in response to applicant's request for continued examination, RCE, filed 05/04/2026.
This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage entry of International Patent Application PCT/JP2021/001689 filed 01/19/2021. It claims priority from Japanese Patent Application JP2020-050939 filed 03/23/2020.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Applicant had previously amended the claims of the application in the after-final response filed 03/06/2026. The status of the claims stand as follows:
Currently amended 1-2
Previously presented 3
Claims 1-3 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et. al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0303695).
Regarding Claim 1 Chen discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery unit array structures 101, 102 electrically connected to each other (Chen Fig. 2, 4, 5, paragraph 0007, 0092) considered equivalent to battery integrated assembly. The battery units have a rectangular shape and are layered (Chen Fig. 2, 5, 8).
Chen discloses the plurality of battery unit array have two end plates 16 located at two ends of the plurality of battery units 11 in the length X direction (Chen Fig. 8, paragraph 0110, 0111) which is the direction of layering of the battery units and, therefore, the end plates sandwich the battery integrated assembly as claimed.
The length X direction upon which the plurality of battery units are layered and is the layering direction is considered equivalent to the claimed vertical direction. Further, the layered battery units have side surfaces that oppose each other in the Y-direction, and the Z-direction (Chen Fig. 2, 5, 8), which considered to be equivalent to the lateral direction, and the height direction.
The X- direction of the array of plurality of battery cell is the direction of layering (Chen Fig. 2, 5, 8, paragraph 0110, 0111) and considered equivalent to vertical direction, and is also orthogonal to the side surfaces of the battery units that opposes each other in the Y direction and the Z direction considered equivalent to the lateral and height directions (Chen Fig 2, 5, 8).
Chen discloses the battery module includes connecting members for fixing the plurality of the batteries (Chen paragraph 0004) and fixing components (Chen paragraph 0014). Chen discloses a first connection portion and second connection portion 133, 143 (Chen Fig. 4), considered equivalent to the pair of side surfaces fixation members provided on respective side surfaces of the secondary battery. Chen also discloses a first upper cover portion and as second upper cover portion 131, 141 (Chen Fig. 4) considered equivalent to an upper surface fixation member provided on an upper surface of the secondary battery, that bridges the end plates.
Chen discloses the secondary battery include a wound-type electrode assembly, and an outer surface of the electrode assembly include two flat surfaces facing each other, and the electrode assembly include a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Chen Fig. 11, paragraph 0010), the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are equivalent to the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and a winding axis of the electrode assembly is parallel to the flat surface (Chen paragraph 0116), considered equivalent to the lateral direction.
Chen discloses in the secondary battery a winding completion end, (i.e. winding ending end) of the first electrode 1111 faces upward in a height direction (Chen Fig. 10, 11), and is positioned between half of a height of the electrode assembly and a top part of a curved portion of the electrode assembly in a cross section orthogonal to the winding axis (Chen Fig. 11).
Chen Fig. 9
Chen Fig. 11
Regarding claim 2 Chen discloses the first electrode plate 1111 is the outermost electrode of the electrode assembly (Chen Fig. 11), and the first electrode plate 1111 is a positive electrode or a negative electrode (Chen paragraph 0113); thus, meeting the claim limitation when the first electrode plate is the negative electrode plate.
Regarding claim 3 Chen discloses a first upper cover portion and as second upper cover portion 131, 141 (Chen Fig. 4) considered equivalent to an upper surface fixation member provided on an upper surface of the secondary battery. Chen discloses the upper cover portion covers the entire upper surface of the battery, that would include the approximate center in the lateral direction of the battery integrated assembly.
Response to Argument
In the after final response filed 03/06/2026 applicant traverses the rejection of the claims and argues that the reference of Chen does not meet the specific directions described the lateral direction and the height direction. Examiner notes that Chen discloses a battery module including a plurality of rectangular secondary batteries that are layered in a layering direction and having a pair of end plates that has the same features as the claimed battery module. The rectangular batteries also have orthogonal sides that are lateral side and height side, and whose directions are also orthogonal to the layering direction of the battery cells. .
Examiner also notes that the designation X, Y, and Z of Chen represent the three-direction of the rectangular batteries, and which are also orthogonal to each other. Chen also discloses layering direction of the battery cells, and each rectangular battery cell has a winding electrode assembly, and a winding axis that is disposed on a lateral direction, and a height direction that is orthogonal to the lateral direction. Examiner also notes that the lateral direction and height direction in any rectangular battery cell have no absolute designation, and are designations used to distinguish between the side surfaces of the rectangular battery cell. Thus, the layered rectangular battery cells of Chen are the same as the claimed layered rectangular battery cell and having the same claimed three-orthogonal dimensions designated as the vertical direction, the lateral direction and the height direction.
The layering direction of the batteries is the same as the claimed vertical direction. The winding axis is disposed in the lateral direction; and the Z-direction is the height direction. All three directions are orthogonal to each other. Further the winding completion end faces up towards the upper surface of the in the height direction, and the top part of the curved portion is along the height direction. Therefore, as shown above in the annotated Fig. 9 and 11 the orientation of the electrode assembly and the layered plurality of battery cell of Chen are the same as in the claimed battery cells and battery module.
Thus, Chen anticipates all the limitations of the claimed battery module.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/OMAR M KEKIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1722