DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, in line 9, the phrase “wherein the reagent” should be “wherein the first reagent”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an energy source … to heat a liquid in the synthetic jet channel to create a synthetic jet that carries the reagent towards the cells to inject the reagent into the cell” in claims 1, 4, and 6.
“a second energy source … to generate a second synthetic jet that carries the second reagent towards a second cell held in the channel to inject the second reagent in the second cell” in claim 7.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1, 4, and 6-7 are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification as filed shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structures, materials, or acts described in the specification as filed for the following 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) limitations:
“In an example, the energy source 208 may be an inductive heater or a resistor heater. An example of a resistor heater may be a thermal inkjet (TIJ) resistor. A TIJ resistor may include a controllable circuit that includes a resistor heater. When the circuit is activated, current may flow through the resistor heater to generate heat.” (instant specification, paragraph [0024], also in paragraphs [0013], [0046], and [0060])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imran (US 20100051124) in view of Chung (US 20130078163).
Regarding claim 1, Imran discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a channel (Figs. 3-4 between chambers 60 and 70);
a reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]) coupled to the channel (Figs. 3-4 between chambers 60 and 70) to store a reagent (paragraph [0010]);
a synthetic jet channel (Fig. 4, “bubble formation within the carrier fluid”) coupled to the channel (Figs. 3-4 between chambers 60 and 70) and the reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]), the synthetic jet channel (Fig. 4, “bubble formation within the carrier fluid”) fluidly coupled with the channel (Figs. 3-4 between chambers 60 and 70) through a gap in a barrier (annotated Fig. 4) separating the synthetic jet channel from the channel (annotated Fig. 4); and
an energy source (Figs. 2-4, element 72 “heating element”; paragraph [0014]) located in the synthetic jet channel (Figs. 3-4 space comprising chambers 70 and 80 and channel in-between) to heat a liquid in the synthetic jet channel to create a synthetic jet (paragraph [0014]).
Imran, annotated Fig. 4
Imran does not disclose:
a channel comprising an indentation to hold a cell;
the synthetic jet channel coupled between the channel and the reagent chamber; and
the energy source directly aligned with the indentation through the gap in the barrier.
Regarding feature 1, Chung discloses an indentation to hold a cell (abstract).
In the analogous art of single-cell trap arrays, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Imran with the indentation of Chung in order to hold a biological cell in place as it is being treated with chemicals (Chung, abstract).
Regarding feature 2, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Imran with the format of the apparatus as claimed in order to draw reagents through the synthetic jet channel to be pumped to the channel containing an indentation holding a cell so that the cell be grown on aliquots of medium.
Regarding feature 3, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Imran with the format of the apparatus as claimed in order to have the energy source directly aligned with the indentation through the gap in the barrier so as to propel chemical reagents directly from the bubble jet pump (Imran, claim 1) to the trapped cell in order to expose the cells to chemical solutions and manipulation of the cells (Chung, paragraph [0011]).
Regarding the limitation “cell”, the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus claims. MPEP § 2115. This limitation is a manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus and does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures disclosed above.
Regarding the limitations “to hold a cell” and “that carries the reagent towards the cell to inject the reagent into the cell”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of Imran’s microfluidic device.
Regarding claim 2, Imran discloses wherein the energy source comprises a thermal inkjet resistor (paragraph [0014] “heating element 72” … “can be similar to inkjet/bubble jet devices used in ink jet printers”).
Regarding claim 4, Imran discloses a plurality of reagent chambers (Figs. 2-4, elements 40; paragraph [0023]), wherein each one of the plurality of reagent chambers (Figs. 2-4, elements 40; paragraph [0023]) stores a different reagent (paragraph [0019], Figs. 2-4, elements 41 “one or more chemical reactants”); and a plurality of synthetic jet channels (paragraph [0025]), wherein each one of the plurality of synthetic jet channels (paragraph [0025]) comprises a respective energy source (paragraphs [0025] for the synthetic jet channels and paragraph [0014] for how they work with an energy source).
Regarding the limitations “to be injected into the cell” and “to generate a respective synthetic jet”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of Imran’s microfluidic device with a sample input (Imran, paragraph [0016]), reagent chambers (Imran, paragraph [0023]), and bubble jet pumps (Imran, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Imran discloses wherein the reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]) comprises a plurality of different reagents (paragraphs [0016] and [0019]) to be mixed (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding the limitation “before being injected into the cell”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of Imran’s microfluidic device.
Regarding claim 7, Imran discloses: wherein the reagent is a first reagent (paragraph [0010]), the reagent chamber is a first reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]), the synthetic jet channel is a first synthetic jet channel (Fig. 4, “bubble formation within the carrier fluid”), and the energy source is a first energy source (Figs. 2-4, element 72 “heating element”; paragraph [0014]), the apparatus further comprising:
a second reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]; Figs. 2-4, elements 40, any two of the three corresponding to a first and second reagent chamber) coupled to store a second reagent (paragraph [0019]; and, Figs. 2-4, purportedly elements 41-43);
a second synthetic jet channel (paragraph [0016] “connecting bubble jet pumps”) coupled to the second reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]; Figs. 2-4, elements 40, any two of the three corresponding to a first and second reagent chamber) and the channel (Figs. 3-4 between chambers 60 and 70); and
a second energy source (paragraph [0014] “heating element 72” … “can be similar to inkjet/bubble jet devices used in ink jet printers”) located in the second synthetic jet channel (paragraph [0016] “connecting bubble jet pumps”) to generate a second synthetic jet (paragraph [0016] “connecting bubble jet pumps”) that carries the second reagent (paragraph [0019]; and, Figs. 2-4, elements 41) wherein the reagent (paragraph [0019]; and, Figs. 2-4, elements 41) and the second reagent (paragraph [0019]; and, Figs. 2-4, purportedly elements 41-43) are injected (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding the limitation “a second [feature]”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding the limitation “cell”, the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus claims. MPEP § 2115. This limitation is a manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus and does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures disclosed above.
Regarding the phrase “towards a second cell held in the channel to inject the second reagent into the second cell” and “simultaneously in the channel”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of Imran’s microfluidic device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imran (US 20100051124) in view of Chung (US 20130078163) as applied to claim 1, in view of McGuinness (US 20160334323).
Regarding claim 6, Imran discloses the reagent chamber (paragraph [0010]) moving towards the synthetic jet channel (Figs. 3-4 space comprising chambers 70 and 80 and channel in-between) and energy source (Figs. 2-4, element 72 “heating element”; paragraph [0014]).
Imran does not disclose a pump inside of the reagent chamber to move the reagent towards the synthetic jet channel and the energy source to be injected into the cell.
McGuinness discloses a pump (paragraph [0033]; and, Fig. 2, element 202 “pump”) inside of the reagent chamber (paragraph [0033]; and, Fig. 2, element 200 “source reservoir”) to move the reagent (paragraph [0033]).
In the analogous art of microfluidic sensing device, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Imran with the pump of McGuinness in order to draw fluid and particles from the source reservoir along channel (McGuinness, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding the limitation “to be injected into the cell”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures of Imran’s microfluidic device.
Regarding the limitation “cell”, the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus claims. MPEP § 2115. This limitation is a manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus and does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Imran would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structures disclosed above.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is withdrawn, see below.
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Batt (US 20200070514) – This invention is a system and method for laser induced forward transfer with a microfluidic chip print head.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding primary reference Xu and the non-statutory double patenting rejection over Govyadinov, these rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendments, as the prior art required to reject the claim limitations does not provide a solid motivation or suggestion to be combined. However, the rejections under primary reference Imran remain for the reasons provided below.
Regarding Applicant remarks, pg. 5 of 9, the remarks regarding the previous claim objections have been noted.
Regarding Applicant remarks, pg. 5 of 9, the non-statutory double patenting rejection is withdrawn for the reasons given above.
Regarding Applicant remarks, pg. 7 of 9, Chung discloses an indentation for holding a cell, as claimed. The remaining limitations are rejected under Imran. Additionally, Imran discloses a synthetic jet channel coupled to the channel and the reagent chamber. For the limitation, “a synthetic jet channel coupled between the channel and the reagent chamber”, rearrangement of parts is obvious, per the Office Action’s motivation statement above and MPEP § 2144.04. Imran discloses an energy source located in the synthetic jet channel (Imran, Figs. 2-4, element 72 “heating element”; paragraph [0014]). Again, rearrangement of parts is obvious for the limitation “directly aligned with the indentation through the gap in the barrier”, and motivation for this format is given above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799