DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claims 21, 36, and 37 now require that “the bowl unit and the heating element, while the bowl unit is attached to the heating element, is configured to be submersible in liquid while the heating element is disconnected from the removable control unit” (p. 2). The Office does not find that this limitation has adequate support in the original disclosure. It also puts the Office in a bind, as a heating element like the one disclosed would be overwhelmingly likely to be damaged by being submerged in water since it is not designed as an immersion heater and it likely has parts that would suffer from rusting. Therefore, the Office has to decide whether to understand Applicant’s claim literally (where the heating element would be water-resistant), or understand it as misdrafted (since there is nothing in the original disclosure suggesting that the bowl unit and heating element, together, would be washed by submerging them in water). Since Applicant makes no effort to emphasize the water resistance of the heating element, and given that ¶ 6 of the as-filed specification clearly provides that “the cooking vessel, which includes a bowl unit (e.g., a pot) and a base unit, can be submersible and easily washed without exposing control or power components to liquids during cleaning” (further suggesting that the disclosure recognizes that water would damage electrical parts, which the heating element is part of), the Office will understand that the claims are misdrafted, and will understand them as best as it can.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 112
Claims 31–38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Each of independent claims 21, 36, and 37 now recite that “the bowl unit and the heating element, while the bowl unit is attached to the heating element, is configured to be submersible in liquid while the heating element is disconnected from the removable control unit.” The Office has closely reviewed the original disclosure for support for this limitation, but does not find it. ¶¶ 6 and 8, and original claim 4, mention that the cooking vessel is submersible, but no part of the disclosure mentions the submergibility of the heating element. Additionally, ¶¶ 6 and 8 of the as-filed specification include language which suggests that electronic components can be damaged by water. See also the Response to Arguments above, where the Office explains that it finds it more likely than not that the claims have been misdrafted.
Claims 22–35, 38, and 40 are rejected due to dependency upon a rejected claim.
Comment: The Office also recognizes that the independent claims may be suggesting that the bowl unit and heating element are attached, i.e. affixed, to each other. However, the original disclosure does not seem to go so far as to suggest this, since ¶ 10 of the as-filed specification, and original claim 20, seem to clearly suggest that when “attaching a heating unit to the bowl unit,” the “heating unit when attached is in contact with a lower portion of the bowl unit.” The disclosure does not clearly go so far as to suggest that the heating element is somehow friction fit onto the bowl unit. Even where ¶ 9 of the as-filed specification, and original claim 14, describe that “the heating element is at least partially embedded or recessed within a channel of the lower portion of the cooking vessel,” this does not go so far as to likely mean that there is a friction fit, since a heating element sitting in such a channel would be considered to be embedded within even without a friction fit. Such a reading of the original disclosure is also unlikely, since these sorts of coil heating elements are not ordinarily resilient enough to handle the stress of a friction fit, particularly where such a heating coil friction fit connection would be repeatedly stressed by attachment to, and detachment from, the bowl unit channel.
However, these remarks are not in play in this Office action, since the Office is understanding the way that “the bowl unit is attached to the heating element” broadly, i.e. to mean that they are touching.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 21–26, 30, and 33–36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gyeong (KR 10-0896318 B1).
Claim 21: Gyeong discloses a modular cooking appliance (primarily focusing on the embodiment in fig. 7, with joinable features from other embodiments mentioned), the modular cooking appliance comprising:
a bowl unit (15b; “container 15b may be used any one of a frying pan, a meat roasting plate, a hot pot container, and a steaming container selected according to the type or use of the food to be cooked”) having an interior for receiving food to be cooked, the bowl unit configured to attach to a heating element (13) at a lower portion of the bowl unit (the bowl unit being attached to, by sitting on, the heating element is clearly shown in fig. 6), wherein the heating element is configured to heat the bowl unit at least partially by conduction when the heating element is energized (given the outlined portion of 13, as well as the base of 15, shown in fig. 6, conduction is evident);
the heating element having an operative electrical connector (14);
a base unit (12a) for supporting the bowl unit, the base unit including an opening (11) for providing access to the operative electrical connector; and
a
able control unit (20) having a control electrical connector (the part of 20 that interfaces with the heating element power supply terminal 14) and a user input device (20a), the removable control unit being selectively insertable through the opening of the base by the user to extend at least partially within the base unit (evident at least by observing fig. 2 (with a partially analogous embodiment) and fig. 7) and as supported in position by the base unit for selective operative electrical connection of the control electrical connector to the operative electrical connector of the heating element (ibid.), the user input device configured to control one or more cooking aspects (clearly evident from “temperature control knob 20a”), wherein the removable control unit is configured to interface with and selectively provide power to the heating element such that the bowl unit of the modular cooking appliance is selectively heatable by the heating element according to the user input device when the control electrical connector of the control unit is connected to the operative electrical connector of the bowl unit by the user (the temperature control knob 20a facilitates selective power provision and heating of the heating element);
wherein the bowl unit and the heating element, while the bowl unit is attached to the heating element, is configured to be submersible in liquid while the heating element is disconnected from the removable control unit (the bowl unit 15b of Gyeong is naturally submersible in water; regarding the submergibility of the heating element, see the § 112(a) rejection and Response to Arguments above).
Claim 22: Gyeong discloses that the bowl unit and base unit are attached to each other (evident from 12a and 15b in fig. 7; Applicant’s own disclosure suggest that the term “attached” broadly means interconnected with, and does not require any positive affixing of the elements to each other) with the removable control unit being removable relative to the attached bowl unit and base unit combination (appreciable from figs. 2 and 7).
Claim 23: Gyeong discloses that the bowl unit and base unit are selectively separable from each other with each of the removable control unit, the bowl unit, and the base unit separable from the others (appreciable from figs. 2 and 7).
Claim 24: Gyeong discloses that the control electrical connector of the control unit operatively connects to the operative electrical connector of the bowl unit using a probe-like connection (power supply terminal features two probe-like connections, see fig. 2).
Claim 25: Gyeong discloses that the operative electrical connector of the bowl unit comprises at least two electrical leads (two electrical leads of 14 clearly shown in fig. 2).
Claim 26: Gyeong discloses that the base unit is configured to be submersible in liquid when disconnected from the removable control unit (given its structure, 15b is clearly submersible in liquid).
Claim 30: Gyeong discloses a lid (21) configured to rest on an upper rim of the bowl unit in order to at least partially seal an open top of the bowl unit (depicted in fig. 5).
Claim 33: Gyeong discloses that the heating element is a resistive heating element (Gyeong discloses one example of heat source 13 is a “halogen heat lamp,” which qualifies as a resistive heating element).
Claim 34: Gyeong discloses that at least one of the bowl unit and the base unit is configured to thermally insulate the heating element from a supporting surface (structure of 12a beneath 13 that would thermally insulate the heating element from a supporting surface is clearly shown in at least fig. 7).
Claim 35: Gyeong discloses that the control unit comprises a second connector complementary to the operative electrical connector (power plug 20 would have two connectors to connect to the two prongs of power supply terminal 2).
Claim 36: Gyeong discloses a method of making a modular cooking appliance (primarily focusing on the embodiment in fig. 7, with joinable features from other embodiments mentioned), comprising:
providing a heating element (13) to a bowl unit (15b; “container 15b may be used any one of a frying pan, a meat roasting plate, a hot pot container, and a steaming container selected according to the type or use of the food to be cooked”) having an interior for receiving food to be cooked, the heating element being at least partially in contact with the bowl unit (given the outlined portion of 13, as well as the base of 15, shown in fig. 6, conduction is evident) and having an operative electrical connector (14) extending from a lower portion of the bowl unit (at 11);
attaching a base unit (12a) to the bowl unit for supporting the bowl unit, the base unit including an opening (11) for providing access to the operative electrical connector of the heating element; and
inserting a removable control unit (20) having a control electrical connector (the part of 20 that interfaces with the heating element power supply terminal 14) at least partially through the opening of the base unit (evident at least by observing fig. 2 (with a partially analogous embodiment) and fig. 7) to connect the control electrical connector with the operative electric connector of the heating element, wherein the removable control unit comprises a user input device (20a) configured to control one or more cooking aspects of the modular cooking appliance (clearly evident from “temperature control knob 20a”), wherein the removable control unit is configured to interface with and selectively provide power to the heating element such that the bowl unit of the modular cooking appliance is selectively heatable by the heating element according to the user input device when the control electrical connector of the removable control unit is connected to the operative electrical connector of the bowl unit (the temperature control knob 20a facilitates selective power provision to, and heating of, the heating element);
wherein the bowl unit and the heating element, while the bowl unit is attached to the heating element, is configured to be submersible in liquid while the heating element is disconnected from the removable control unit (the bowl unit 15b of Gyeong is naturally submersible in water; regarding the submergibility of the heating element, see the § 112(a) rejection and Response to Arguments above).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of De’ Longhi (WO 2018/216042).
Gyeong discloses that the control unit comprises a temperature or time based cooking control (20a is temperature-based), wherein the control unit is configured to receive a user input at the user input device via analog or digital interface (20a is an analog interface), and wherein the control unit is configured to receive the user input at the user input device via manual or automatic interface (20a is a manual interface).
Gyeong arguably does not disclose that the control unit selectively provides the modular cooking appliance functionality of a multi-cooker or a slow cooker.
However, De’ Longhi discloses a similar apparatus with a control unit (24) that selectively provides the modular cooking appliance functionality of a multi-cooker or a slow cooker (p. 4, ll. 5–9, “cooking in a pan (slow cooker) or in a multicooker, steaming (in a steamer) or grilling (on the grill)”; this passage clearly suggests different heat and power levels for these different modes).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the functionality of a multi-cooker or slow cooker, as taught by De’ Longhi, into the control unit of Gyeong to allow for more varied modes of operation.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Wagner (US Pat. 7,167,642).
Gyeong does not disclose that the bowl unit comprises only anodized aluminum.
However, Wagner discloses a similar apparatus including a bowl unit (20) that comprises only anodized aluminum (“anodized aluminum” mentioned repeatedly in col. 5, ll. 29–63).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the bowl unit of Gyeong out of the anodized aluminum taught by Wagner as a known material with suitable weight and heat transfer properties.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Leon et al. (US Pub. 2007/0137449).
Gyeong does not disclose that the bowl unit comprises at least one handle.
However, Leon discloses a similar apparatus with a bowl unit (16) that comprises at least one handle (¶ 39, “tabs 30 can function as handles”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the handle taught by Leon to the bowl unit of Gyeong to make the bowl unit easier to handle.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Patterson et al. (US Pub. 2003/0173352).
Gyeong discloses the control unit comprises a power unit configured to receive alternating current from a wall power socket via a power cord (a plug for a mains is clearly shown in fig. 7).
Gyeong does not explicitly disclose that its power unit converts the alternating current to direct current.
However, converting AC to DC is common in the art. Patterson discloses a similar apparatus that converts AC to DC for heating unit (see claim 9; see also ¶ 67).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the AC to DC conversion taught by Patterson into the power unit of Gyeong to supply a suitable form of electric power to the heating element.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Cao (US Pub. 2020/0008601).
Gyeong does not disclose that the heating unit is at least partially embedded or recessed within a channel of the lower portion of the cooking vessel.
However, this feature is already known in the art, as disclosed in Cao (see heat conducting groove 58 in fig. 10, its interaction with a second heating element 6 described in ¶ 38).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the lower portion channel taught by Cao into the bowl unit of Gyeong to improve heater transfer from the heating element.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong in view of DuBois et al. (US Pat. 4,195,560).
Gyeong discloses a method of using a modular cooking appliance (primarily focusing on the embodiment in fig. 7, with joinable features from other embodiments mentioned) that comprises a bowl unit (15b; “container 15b may be used any one of a frying pan, a meat roasting plate, a hot pot container, and a steaming container selected according to the type or use of the food to be cooked”) having an interior for receiving food to be cooked, the bowl unit configured to attach to a heating element (13; the bowl unit being attached to, by sitting on, the heating element is clearly shown in fig. 6) having an operative electrical connector (14) at a lower portion of the bowl unit (at 11), wherein the heating element is configured to heat the bowl unit at least partially by conduction when the heating element is energized (given the outlined portion of 13, as well as the base of 15, shown in fig. 6, conduction is evident); a base unit (12a) for supporting the bowl unit, the base unit including an opening (11) for providing access to the operative electrical connector; and a removable control unit (20) having a control electrical connector (the part of 20 that interfaces with the heating element power supply terminal 14) and a user input device (20a), the removable control unit insertable through the opening of the base unit to extend at least partially within the base unit (evident at least from fig. 2 (with a partially analogous embodiment) and fig. 7) and as supported in position by the base unit for selective operative electrical connection of the control electrical connector to the operative electrical connector of the heating element according to the user input device (ibid.), the user input device configured to control one or more cooking aspects of the modular cooking appliance (clearly evident from “temperature control knob 20a”), wherein the removable control unit is configured to interface with and selectively provide power to the heating element such that the bowl unit of the modular cooking appliance is selectively heatable by the heating element when the control electrical connector of the control unit is connected to the operative electrical connector of the bowl unit (the temperature control knob 20a facilitates selective power provision and heating of the heating element), the method comprising:
receiving a user input at the user input device (the ordinary operation of 20a);
cooking food within the interior of the bowl unit according to the received user input by providing electrical power to the heating element and transferring heat to the bowl unit and to the food (the ordinary operation of 13, 15b, and 20); and
removing the removable control unit after the food is cooked as desired according to the received user input by disinserting the removable control unit from within the opening of the base unit and thus separating the control electrical connector from the operative electrical connector of the heating element (this ordinary functionality of 20 shown in fig. 2);
wherein the bowl unit and the heating element, while the bowl unit is attached to the heating element, is configured to be submersible in liquid while the heating element is disconnected from the removable control unit (the bowl unit 15b of Gyeong is naturally submersible in water; regarding the submergibility of the heating element, see the § 112(a) rejection and Response to Arguments above).
Gyeong never explicitly discloses powering off the heating element by the user input device of the removable control unit.
However, powering off a heating element is a well-known feature of controls. DuBois discloses an apparatus with a similar control unit input (76) that allows an associated heating element to be powered off (col. 5, ll. 8–11, “knob 76 provided on the end of the control shaft 72 permits rotation of the knob 76 between an “off” position, a “warming” position, a “frying” position and a “crepe making” position”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “off” position taught by DuBois onto the control of the removable control unit of Gyeong to allow a user to conveniently power off the heating element without having to disconnect the control unit.
Claims 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gyeong in view of DuBois as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Goto (JP H06-38828 U, cited by the Office).
Claim 38: Gyeong does not disclose washing the bowl unit and the base unit without the removable control unit.
However, Goto discloses a highly similar apparatus with an element analogous to the claimed bowl unit (12) and a base unit (11). Goto further discloses that its element analogous to the claimed bowl unit is removable for purposes of washing (“Since the receiving member is detachably attached to the heating and cooking device, when the cleaning is required, the receiving member can be appropriately removed and cleaned”).
Goto does not disclose washing the base unit. However, the benefits of washing components are generally understood in the art, at least as evidenced by the washing explicitly taught in Goto, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been willing to wash the base unit of Goto for common reasons, e.g. sanitary effect and aesthetic effect.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to wash the bowl unit and the base unit of Gyeong without the removable control unit, as suggested by Goto, to make it easier to clean these parts.
Comment: If this claim was narrowed such that the washing involved submerging the base in liquid, the Office would argue that one of ordinary skill in the art would have drawn, at least from the structure of support members 25 of Goto in fig. 1, that Goto’s own heating element 24 could, or could be modified to, be removable, to permit a safe, more intense washing of the base. As the claim is, these parts may be washed by soapy and wet paper towels to satisfy the washing step.
Claim 40: Modified as per claim 38 above, Goto discloses detaching and separating its element analogous to the bowl unit and the base unit from each other, wherein the washing is conducted on the bowl unit (“Since the receiving member is detachably attached to the heating and cooking device, when the cleaning is required, the receiving member can be appropriately removed and cleaned”) when it is separated from the base unit. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to clean the base unit when separated, at least since it would give easier access to parts of the base.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761